DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-final Office Action dated 04/22/2026, filed with the office on 08/21/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims, the rejections of record under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims, the claims now recite a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the rejections of record under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are pending. Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-11 are amended. Claim 8 is cancelled. Claim 12 is new.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following minor informalities:
The claims read “notification the screen”. Examiner believes the limitation should recite “notification
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of independent Claims 1, 10 and 11, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura (US 2020/0034964 A1) in view of Tezuka et al. (US 2017/0352154 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimamura teaches, A dynamic image analysis apparatus comprising: a hardware processor, (Shimamura, ¶0013: “a dynamic image analysis apparatus includes a hardware processor”) wherein the hardware processor, acquires a dynamic image obtained by radiographing (Shimamura, ¶0057: “analysis apparatus according to this embodiment receives an X-ray dynamic image”) a dynamic state of a subject, (Shimamura, ¶0067: “images indicating the dynamic state of the object”) analyzes the dynamic image using one or more types of analysis parameters, generates an analysis result image, (Shimamura, ¶0012: “obtain a blood flow analysis image using a relatively simple method which analyzes a dynamic image”; analysis type is interpreted as blood flow analysis) determines whether an analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters needs to be corrected, (Shimamura, ¶0086: “information indicating whether the body has moved due to the shaking of the body or breathing… the amount of movement calculated from the movement information so as to be associated with the dynamic image in order to prevent an imaging error”; analysis parameter is interpreted as movement due to breathing) notifies a user of the analysis parameter determined to require correction by displaying the analysis parameter determined to require correction (Shimamura, ¶0159: “a warning indicating that there is movement that becomes a blood flow artifact is preferably displayed to warn the user”) on an analysis parameter correction notification the screen (Shimamura, ¶0314: “a scroll bar (not illustrated) is disposed on the display 34 and is displayed in parallel to an image such that the user can adjust the image while checking”) together with at least one of a type of the analysis parameter determined to require correction, (Shimamura, ¶0085: “it may be detected whether or not the breath holding is properly performed using, for example, a camera image or a pressure sensor and the detection result may be displayed on, for example, a display”) a cause of necessity of correction, (Shimamura, ¶0160: “blood flow artifact in the analysis target frame range may be displayed such that the user can objectively determine the degree of blood flow artifact”). Although Shimamura teaches receiving a user input— Shimamura, ¶0099: “an instruction signal input by a key operation for the keyboard or a mouse operation of the user to the hardware processor”, Shimamura does not explicitly teach, display a correction method corresponding to the analysis parameter, receives, as an input from a user, correction information for correcting the analysis parameter determined to require correction, corrects, based on the input from the user, the analysis parameter determined to require correction, and re-analyzes the dynamic image using the corrected analysis parameter and generates an analysis result image again.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Tezuka teaches, display a correction method corresponding to the analysis parameter, (Tezuka, ¶0062: “the analysis result is sent from the analysis device 3 and displayed on the viewer screen. From the viewer screen, the process specifying screen to set/adjust a/the parameter set for the analysis process can be opened”) receives, as an input from a user, correction information for correcting the analysis parameter determined to require correction, (Tezuka, ¶0049: “in response to a command (instruction) from the operation unit 43, there accepts adjustment of parameters in response to input from the operation unit 43”) corrects, based on the input from the user, the analysis parameter determined to require correction, (Tezuka, ¶0062: “the operator operates the operation unit 43 to open the process specifying screen from the viewer screen, and there adjusts the parameter set”) and re-analyzes the dynamic image using the corrected analysis parameter and generates an analysis result image again. (Tezuka, ¶0062: “requests the analysis device 3 to reanalyze the dynamic image with the adjusted parameter set (reanalysis process) and send the reanalysis result for display”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimamura using the teachings of Tezuka to introduce adjusting a dynamic image analysis parameter. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of improving the performance of the dynamic image analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Shimamura and Tezuka to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Shimamura in view of Tezuka teaches, The dynamic image analysis apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor, calculates reliability of the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters, (Shimamura, ¶0285: “remove the frame range with low reliability from the blood flow analysis target”) and determines a necessity of correction of the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters based on the calculated reliability. (Shimamura, ¶0331: “since the reliability of the calculation result is not secured for the frame range… it is desirable to remove the frame range”).
Regarding claim 3, Shimamura in view of Tezuka teaches, The dynamic image analysis apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the hardware processor determines that the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters needs to be corrected (Shimamura, ¶0154: “the frame image including movement which becomes a blood flow artifact is excluded from the frame range to be subjected to blood flow analysis”; the correction is interpreted as frame exclusion in accordance with 4th column of fig. 4 in the instant application) when the calculated reliability is lower than a predetermined threshold value. (Shimamura, ¶0138: “a threshold value indicating whether a frame image can be used for blood flow analysis).
Regarding claim 4, Shimamura in view of Tezuka teaches, The dynamic image analysis apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the hardware processor calculates the reliability of the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters based on a number of analysis parameters matching the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters among a plurality of analysis parameters (Shimamura, ¶0179: “the blood flow scintigraphic examination whose reliability has already been ensured is obtained as an image, there is an advantage that it is easy to verify the correctness of the analysis result”) of the same type as the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters (Shimamura, ¶0380: “obtain information close to the result of the blood flow scintigraphic examination whose reliability has already been ensured”) acquired by different methods. (Shimamura, ¶0012: “obtain a blood flow analysis image using a relatively simple method which analyzes a dynamic image”; ¶0043: “a graph illustrating an example of the frequency characteristics of the lung field”; ¶0287: “the dynamic image includes, for example, movement caused by a body motion which becomes low-frequency noise or panel noise”).
Regarding claim 7, Shimamura in view of Tezuka teaches, The dynamic image analysis apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor further notifies a cause of necessity of correction of the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters (Shimamura, ¶0159: “a warning indicating that there is movement that becomes a blood flow artifact is preferably displayed to warn the user”) and a correction method. (Shimamura, ¶0158: “in a case in which a frame image including movement that becomes a blood flow artifact is excluded from the frame range to be subjected to blood flow analysis”).
Regarding claim 10, it recites a computer-readable recording medium including program instructions corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited program instructions of the computer-readable recording medium claim 15 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the apparatus claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Shimamura and Tezuka presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Shimamura additionally teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium including a program for causing a computer used in a dynamic image analysis apparatus (Shimamura, Claim 12: “A non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a program that causes a computer of a dynamic image analysis apparatus to implement”).
Regarding claim 11, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of method claim 11 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in apparatus claim 3. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Shimamura and Tezuka presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Shimamura teaches, A dynamic image analysis method comprising (Shimamura, Claim 11: “A dynamic image analysis method comprising”)
Regarding claim 12, Shimamura in view of Tezuka teaches, The dynamic image analysis apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor provides a user interface allowing a user to correct the analysis parameter determined to require correction, (Shimamura, ¶0099: “The operation interface 33 of the analysis apparatus 3 includes a keyboard including, for example, cursor keys, numeric input keys, and various function keys and a pointing device, such as a mouse”) the user interface further including a correction completion input allowing a user to enter that the correction is completed, a correction unnecessary input allowing a user to enter that correction is not necessary, and a re-imaging input allowing a user to enter that re-imaging is to be performed. (Shimamura, ¶0099: “the operation interface 33 outputs an instruction signal input through the touch panel to the hardware processor 31”; user generated instruction signal inputs may be customized to perform various desired functions).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura (US 2020/0034964 A1) in view of Tezuka et al. (US 2017/0352154 A1) and in further view of Ooida et al. (US 2022/0139564 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Shimamura in view of Tezuka teaches, The dynamic image analysis apparatus according to claim 2. However, The combination of Shimamura and Tezuka does not explicitly teach, wherein the hardware processor, for the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters, acquires a plurality of analysis parameter candidates serving as candidates for the analysis parameter by a plurality of different methods, and calculates the reliability of each of the analysis parameter candidates based on a number each of the plurality of acquired analysis parameter candidates matches another of the analysis parameter candidates, and determines the analysis parameter candidate having the highest calculated reliability as the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Ooida teaches, wherein the hardware processor, for the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters, acquires a plurality of analysis parameter candidates serving as candidates for the analysis parameter by a plurality of different methods, (Ooida, ¶0096: “in a plurality of pieces of the processing, the first acquisition function 155a acquires a plurality of the estimated shapes by estimating the estimated shapes using a plurality of different parameters”) and calculates the reliability of each of the analysis parameter candidates (Ooida, ¶0096: “a parameter at the time when the evaluation value closest to the reference value in the repeated processing or a parameter that is lastly calculated, and advance the process to Step S6”) based on a number each of the plurality of acquired analysis parameter candidates matches another of the analysis parameter candidates, (Ooida, ¶0094: “the calculation function 155b may estimate a parameter with which the calculated evaluation value comes closer to the reference value”) and determines the analysis parameter candidate having the highest calculated reliability as the analysis parameter of the one or more types of analysis parameters. (Ooida, ¶0094: “estimate a parameter that is the most effective to cause the evaluation value to be closer to the reference value”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimamura in view of Tezuka using the teachings of Ooida to introduce choosing a parameter from a plurality of parameters. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of employing the most effective parameter for image analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Shimamura, Tezuka and Ooida to obtain the invention in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Shimamura in view of Tezuka and in further view of Ooida teaches, The dynamic image analysis apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the hardware processor excludes, from a target used to calculate the reliability, (Ooida, ¶0071: “In a case in which the reliability is equal to or smaller than the threshold… the parameter that is automatically acquired is not used”) the analysis parameter candidate that is not within a predetermined appropriate range among the analysis parameter candidates. (Ooida, ¶0071: “the calculation function 155b may determine whether the reliability is low by determining whether the reliability is equal to or smaller than a threshold”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimamura in view of Tezuka and in further view of Ooida using the additional teachings of Ooida to introduce excluding unreliable parameters. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of improving the image analysis quality by only using reliable parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Shimamura, Tezuka and Ooida to obtain the invention in claim 6.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura (US 2020/0034964 A1) in view of Tezuka et al. (US 2017/0352154 A1) and in further view of Huijbers et al. (US 2023/0181117 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Shimamura in view of Tezuka teaches, The dynamic image analysis apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor calculates reliability of the corrected analysis parameter, (Shimamura, ¶0375: “performance of the filtering process makes it possible to remove noise from the image, to reduce the influence of, for example, movement caused by a body motion, and to perform blood flow analysis with higher reliability”). However, the combination of Shimamura and Tezuka does not explicitly teach, and in a case where the reliability of the corrected analysis parameter is smaller than a predetermined threshold value, provides a notification prompting re-imaging.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Huijbers teaches, in a case where the reliability of the corrected analysis parameter is smaller than a predetermined threshold value, provides a notification prompting re-imaging. (Huijbers, ¶0055: “determine whether the medical image should be re-acquired based on the quality control indicator and present a recommendation of whether to re-acquire the medical image to the operator”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimamura in view of Tezuka using the teachings of Huijbers to introduce re-imaging. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of improving the image analysis function by recapturing an image to replace a defective image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Shimamura, Tezuka and Huijbers to obtain the invention in claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662