DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication(s) filed on 3/29/2024.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Amend the Specification, without adding new matter, to clearly describe updating “the mobile device GUI to expand or minimize the video conference stream relative to at least one of the list of chat channels or the chat panel” in response to receiving a selection of “an activity feed button”, as reflected in Claims 6, 13 and 20, or remove the subject matter from the claims.
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are currently being examined.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent.
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a video conference service configured to facilitate a video conference stream between a plurality of users;
a messaging service configured to facilitate chat channel communications;
a messaging database configured to store a plurality of files; and
a mobile GUI service configured to: generate a mobile device GUI including the video conference stream and a GUI object corresponding to a list of chat channels; receive a user interaction with the GUI object; update the mobile device GUI to display the list of chat channels simultaneously with the video conference stream; receive, via the mobile device GUI, a user selection of a chat channel from the list of chat channels; retrieve messages corresponding to the chat channel corresponding to the user selection; generate a chat panel corresponding to the chat channel, wherein the chat panel includes the messages; and update the mobile device GUI to display the chat panel simultaneously with the video conference stream. (all of claim 8)
Furthermore, all of the limitations of claims 9-14, are also found to invoke 112(f), as they further define function performed by the “mobile GUI service”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or 112(2nd)
Claim(s) 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The following claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
a video conference service configured to facilitate a video conference stream between a plurality of users;
a messaging service configured to facilitate chat channel communications;
a messaging database configured to store a plurality of files; and
a mobile GUI service configured to: generate a mobile device GUI including the video conference stream and a GUI object corresponding to a list of chat channels; receive a user interaction with the GUI object; update the mobile device GUI to display the list of chat channels simultaneously with the video conference stream; receive, via the mobile device GUI, a user selection of a chat channel from the list of chat channels; retrieve messages corresponding to the chat channel corresponding to the user selection; generate a chat panel corresponding to the chat channel, wherein the chat panel includes the messages; and update the mobile device GUI to display the chat panel simultaneously with the video conference stream. (all of claim 8)
Furthermore, all of the limitations of claims 9-14, are also found to invoke 112(f), as they further define function performed by the “mobile GUI service”.
However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure for the claimed services and database that are capable of performing the claimed functions.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
NOTE: The 112(b) rejection for 112(f) limitations can be overcome by specifying that the system is a “computer system”, and that one or more processors of the computer system perform the claimed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian; Yuan et al. (hereinafter Tian – US 20210273894 A1) in view of Paul; Sohom et al. (hereinafter Paul – US 20230246924 A1).
Independent Claim 1:
Tian teaches:
A computer implemented method, comprising:
generating a mobile device graphical user interface (GUI) including a video [message] and a GUI object corresponding to a list of chat channels; (on a terminal, such as a smartphone [mobile device], ¶¶ 55-56, a GUI including function region 31 is displayed [generating a mobile device graphical user interface (GUI)] which includes a “chat group button” [a GUI object corresponding to a list of chat channels], that serves as a trigger for display a chat group list 32 [list of chat channels], together with a chat message interface 33, ¶¶ 82-83 and fig. 3. The GUI reflects an integration of multi-format messaging, e.g., by specifically mentioning chat interface includes messages of “at least one of text, an emoji, a picture, an audio, a video, a file, and a link”, where these elements are exchanged concurrently [“at least one”] with a digital meeting, ¶¶ 4 and 70.)
receiving a user interaction with the GUI object; (The chat group list 32 is a list displayed when the chat group button is triggered, ¶ 83)
updating the mobile device GUI to display the list of chat channels simultaneously with the video [message]; (the mobile device displays the list 32 together with the chat interface 33, see fig. 3, and as mentioned above, the chat interface can display multiple items concurrently [simultaneously], because the chat interface includes “at least one of text, an emoji, a picture, an audio, a video, a file, and a link”, ¶ 70)
receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a user selection of a chat channel from the list of chat channels; (a user selects at least one chat group, ¶¶ 12, 215 and 218 and figs. 12 and 13)
retrieving messages corresponding to the chat channel corresponding to the user selection; (Displaying multiple messages for a user-selected chat group, ¶¶ 12, 215 and 218, by adding messages that satisfy a predefined condition, such as a keyword match or semantic topic, to a concatenated message window ¶¶ 228, 230, and 293)
generating a chat panel corresponding to the chat channel, wherein the chat panel includes the messages; (see below)
and updating the mobile device GUI to display the chat panel simultaneously with the video [message]. (¶¶ 218-225 describe a process where, upon receiving a user selection of a chat group (step 1202), the system “retrieves” and filters messages based on semantic distance to identify relevant topics, subsequently adding these structured messages into a "concatenated message window", ¶¶ 219, 220 and 223, which acts as a specialized chat panel, displayed in conjunction with a chat message window, ¶ 225. Here, the user selection initiates retrieval of messages, while the concatenated message window functions as the chat panel to display these messages.)
Tian does not appear to expressly teach, but Paul teaches:
that the video message includes a “video conference stream” (A channel (e.g., a group-based communication channel) may provide a virtual space for a group of users to communicate via messages, hangouts, video or audio calls [video conference stream], files, or any other means of communication, ¶ 32).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method of Tian to include that the video message includes a “video conference stream”, as taught by Paul.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the flexibility and versatility of the method of Tian by including any known means of communication, e.g., including real-time audio/visual communication such as video calls, Paul ¶ 32.
Claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian-Paul further teaches:
further comprising:
updating the mobile device GUI to display the video conference stream, the list of chat channels, and the chat panel simultaneously (text and video messages in the chat interface 33, are displayed simultaneously with the list of chat channels, and the chat panel [see items 32, 33 and 34], Tian ¶¶ 70 and 82-84, and fig. 3. As explained above, Paul teaches a channel (e.g., a group-based communication channel) may provide a virtual space for a group of users to communicate via messages, hangouts, video or audio calls [video conference stream], files, or any other means of communication, ¶ 32).
Claim 3:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian further teaches
further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a search term […]; (a user can perform a key word search for a topic, ¶ 136)
identifying one or more chat channel, wherein the one or more chat channels include a message having a file corresponding to the search term; (that a message includes a file, ¶ 70.)
and updating the mobile device GUI to include identification corresponding to the one or more chat channels. (the concatenated messages include a Chat name, e.g., “User A group”, and/or FromChat ID, e.g., “Chat 2” [identification], ¶ 120 and Table 2 at top of Page 7 and fig. 13:34. Or as shown in Fig. 13, “from chat group 1” and “from chat group 2” [identification corresponding to the one or more chat channels] )
Tian reflects a search bar in group list area 32, fig. 13. However, Tian does not appear to expressly teach, but Paul further teaches:
that the search term can be entered “in a search bar” (user can search using a search bar by entering query text, ¶¶ 38 and 52, and figs. 2-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method of Tian to include that the search term can be entered “in a search bar”, as taught by Paul.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the practicality of the performing a key word search for a topic, Tian ¶ 136, in any known and effective manner, including using entering a search bar, Paul ¶¶ 38 and 52 and figs. 2-4.
Claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian-Paul further teaches:
further comprising:
receiving a selection of a file within the chat panel; (displaying a "first chat message" within a "concatenated message window" configured to group messages by topic, Tian ¶ 77, and a message is sent based on an interaction with a transmission or send button 344, Tian ¶ 167, which together act as a mechanism for selecting, identifying, and displaying specific content, such as a file, from within a broader set of communications for sending, Tian ¶¶ 70, 78 and 167.)
in response to receiving the selection of the file, transmitting a message including the file to one or more users participating in the video conference stream. (Checking the "also send to a current chat" visible range setting control (3451) ensures that when the selected file, which and be “one or more chat messages”, Tian ¶ 78, including a file, Tian ¶ 70, the interaction message containing that file is transmitted to a current chat group, Tian ¶ 174, which as explained above for Paul, include a “video conference stream”)
Claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian-Paul further teaches:
further comprising:
receiving a selection of a file within the chat panel; (displaying a "first chat message" within a "concatenated message window" configured to group messages by topic, Tian ¶ 77, and a message is sent based on an interaction with a transmission or send button 344, Tian ¶ 167, which together act as a mechanism for selecting, identifying, and displaying specific content, such as a file, from within a broader set of communications for sending, Tian ¶¶ 70, 78 and 167.)
in response to receiving the selection of the file, transmitting a message including the file to one or more users within the chat channel corresponding to the chat panel, the chat channel differing from another chat channel corresponding to the video conference stream. (When a user wants to share an interaction message with another chat, they can tap a "visible range setting control" (such as a share button) called “Share to other chats”, which action allows the user to select one or more existing chats to share the message with, beside the current chat, Tian ¶ 175, which as explained above for Paul, include a “video conference stream”)
Claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian does not appear to expressly teach, but Paul further teaches:
further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a selection of an add user button; in response to receiving the button selection, updating the mobile device GUI to display an add user interface to receive an identification of a user to add to the video conference stream (Selecting a button element within the channel canvas triggers the system to detect this action as a workflow or object update, prompting the user interface to instantly display the necessary input fields for identifying and adding a new user to the channel, ¶¶ 61 and 82 and figs. 3 and 5A-C.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method of Tian to include further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a selection of an add user button; in response to receiving the button selection, updating the mobile device GUI to display an add user interface to receive an identification of a user to add to the video conference stream, as taught by Paul.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the usability, functionality, and user experience afforded by the method, e.g., by allowing user to easily make changes to channel settings, including channel membership, Paul ¶ 5.
Independent Claims 8 and 15:
Claim(s) 8 and 15 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 1, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claims 9 and 16:
The rejection of claims 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 9 and 16 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 2, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claims 10 and 17:
The rejection of claims 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 10 and 17 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 3, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claims 11 and 18:
The rejection of claim 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 11 and 18 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 4, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claims 12 and 19:
The rejection of claim 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 12 and 19 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 5, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim 14:
The rejection of claim 8 is incorporated. Claim(s) 14 is directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 7, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (US 20210273894 A1) in view of Paul (US 20230246924 A1), as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Kawata; Haruka et al. (hereinafter Kawata – US 20240179259 A1).
Claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian-Paul does not appear to expressly teach, but Kawata teaches:
further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a selection of at least one of a full-screen button, a minimize button, an activity feed button, or a return button; in response to receiving the button selection, updating the mobile device GUI to expand or minimize the video conference stream relative to at least one of the list of chat channels or the chat panel. (in an example of a live gallery viewing screen viewed using the remote attendee terminals, ¶ 272, a full-screen button 422 in a live view 401, displaying simultaneous elements, is used to switch to a full-screen live view 403, ¶ 284 and fig. 10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method of Tian to include further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a selection of at least one of a full-screen button, a minimize button, an activity feed button, or a return button; in response to receiving the button selection, updating the mobile device GUI to expand or minimize the video conference stream relative to at least one of the list of chat channels or the chat panel, as taught by Kawata.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the usability of the system by allowing the viewing of the live video on a size that is easier to see, Kawata ¶¶ 284 and 416 and fig. 10.
Claims 13 and 20:
The rejection of claim 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 13 and 20 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 6, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Below is a list of these references, including why they are pertinent:
Priya; Bhaskar et al. US 20140129614 A1, is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing rendering messages and video simultaneously, ¶ 3.
Enete; Noel et al. US 9100538 B2, is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing simultaneous video and textual message, Enete Claim 18.
/Gabriel Mercado/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171