DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication(s) filed on 7/7/2026.
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are currently being examined.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-15, 17-18, and 20 are newly amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 5, 8-12 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian; Yuan et al. (hereinafter Tian – US 20210273894 A1) in view of Szczepanski; Rafat et al. (hereinafter Szczepanski – US 20240036710 A1).
Independent Claim 1:
Tian teaches:
A computer implemented method, comprising:
generating a mobile device graphical user interface (GUI) including a video [message] and a GUI object corresponding to a list of chat channels, […];(on a terminal, such as a smartphone [mobile device], ¶¶ 55-56, a GUI including function region 31 is displayed [generating a mobile device graphical user interface (GUI)] which includes a “chat group button” [a GUI object corresponding to a list of chat channels], that serves as a trigger for display a chat group list 32 [list of chat channels], together with a chat message interface 33, ¶¶ 82-83 and fig. 3. The GUI reflects an integration of multi-format messaging, e.g., by specifically mentioning chat interface includes messages of “at least one of text, an emoji, a picture, an audio, a video, a file, and a link”, where these elements are exchanged concurrently [“at least one”] with a digital meeting, ¶¶ 4 and 70.)
receiving a user interaction with the GUI object; (The chat group list 32 is a list displayed when the chat group button is triggered, ¶ 83)
updating the mobile device GUI to display the list of chat channels simultaneously with the video [message]; (the mobile device displays the list 32 together with the chat interface 33, see fig. 3, and as mentioned above, the chat interface can display multiple items concurrently [simultaneously], because the chat interface includes “at least one of text, an emoji, a picture, an audio, a video, a file, and a link”, ¶ 70)
receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a user selection of a chat channel from the list of chat channels; (a user selects at least one chat group, ¶¶ 12, 215 and 218 and figs. 12 and 13)
retrieving messages corresponding to the chat channel corresponding to the user selection; (Displaying multiple messages for a user-selected chat group, ¶¶ 12, 215 and 218, by adding messages that satisfy a predefined condition, such as a keyword match or semantic topic, to a concatenated message window ¶¶ 228, 230, and 293)
generating a chat panel corresponding to the chat channel, wherein the chat panel includes the messages; (see below)
and updating the mobile device GUI to display the chat panel simultaneously with the video [message]. (¶¶ 218-225 describe a process where, upon receiving a user selection of a chat group (step 1202), the system “retrieves” and filters messages based on semantic distance to identify relevant topics, subsequently adding these structured messages into a "concatenated message window", ¶¶ 219, 220 and 223, which acts as a specialized chat panel, displayed in conjunction with a chat message window, ¶ 225. Here, the user selection initiates retrieval of messages, while the concatenated message window functions as the chat panel to display these messages.)
Tian does not appear to expressly teach, but Szczepanski teaches:
that the video message includes a “video conference stream” (an online meeting facility that integrates a chat facility alongside concurrent live audio/video streams within a shared interactive virtual canvas, ¶¶ 47 and 50-51.)
the video conference stream comprising live video of one or more users participating in the video conference stream (an online meeting facility configured to present two or more live audio/video streams originating from user devices that allow users to see and hear each other, ¶ 47).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the video message and/or chat tool in method of Tian to include that the video message includes a “video conference stream” and the video conference stream comprising live video of one or more users participating in the video conference stream, as taught by Szczepanski.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the functionalities afforded by the method by including information known in the art as being includable with chat interfaces, including information that create shared visual awareness in a collaborative workspace interaction, like real-time sight and sound in live video feeds, Szczepanski, ¶¶ 47 and 50-51.
Claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian, as modified, further teaches:
further comprising:
updating the mobile device GUI to display the video conference stream, the list of chat channels, and the chat panel simultaneously (text and video messages in the chat interface 33, are displayed simultaneously with the list of chat channels, and the chat panel [see items 32, 33 and 34], Tian ¶¶ 70 and 82-84, and fig. 3. Additionally, Szczepanski’s chat facility, ¶¶ 47 and 50-51, is interpreted as a chat panel which displays together with the video conferencing streams, because it functions as a displayed portion of the web conferencing user interface that supports live user interactions and is included within the active area of the online meeting facility. It was well within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the art to have realized that the list of channels in which is triggered to display simultaneously with the chat interfaces in Tian, when combined with Szczepanski’s chat panel and live video feeds concept, would effectively suggest updating the display to display the video conference stream, the list of chat channels, and the chat panel simultaneously, when the list of chat channels is triggered to display).
Claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian, as modified, further teaches:
further comprising:
receiving a selection of a file within the chat panel; (displaying a "first chat message" within a "concatenated message window" configured to group messages by topic, Tian ¶ 77, and a message is sent based on an interaction with a transmission or send button 344, Tian ¶ 167, which together act as a mechanism for selecting, identifying, and displaying specific content, such as a file, from within a broader set of communications for sending, Tian ¶¶ 70, 78 and 167.)
in response to receiving the selection of the file, transmitting a message including the file to the one or more users participating in the video conference stream. (Checking the "also send to a current chat" visible range setting control (3451) ensures that when the selected file, which and be “one or more chat messages”, Tian ¶ 78, including a file, Tian ¶ 70, the interaction message containing that file is transmitted to a current chat group, Tian ¶ 174, which as explained above for Szczepanski, include a “video conference stream”)
Claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian, as modified, further teaches:
further comprising:
receiving a selection of a file within the chat panel; (displaying a "first chat message" within a "concatenated message window" configured to group messages by topic, Tian ¶ 77, and a message is sent based on an interaction with a transmission or send button 344, Tian ¶ 167, which together act as a mechanism for selecting, identifying, and displaying specific content, such as a file, from within a broader set of communications for sending, Tian ¶¶ 70, 78 and 167.)
in response to receiving the selection of the file, transmitting a message including the file to one or more users within the chat channel corresponding to the chat panel, the chat channel differing from another chat channel corresponding to the video conference stream. (When a user wants to share an interaction message with another chat, they can tap a "visible range setting control" (such as a share button) called “Share to other chats”, which action allows the user to select one or more existing chats to share the message with, beside the current chat, Tian ¶ 175, which as explained above for Szczepanski, include a “video conference stream”)
Independent Claims 8 and 15:
Claim(s) 8 and 15 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 1, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claims 9 and 16:
The rejection of claims 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 9 and 16 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 2, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claims 10 and 17:
The rejection of claims 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 10 and 17 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 3, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claims 11 and 18:
The rejection of claim 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 11 and 18 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 4, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claims 12 and 19:
The rejection of claim 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 12 and 19 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 5, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim 14:
The rejection of claim 8 is incorporated. Claim(s) 14 is directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 7, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (US 20210273894 A1) in view of Szczepanski (US 20240036710 A1), as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Paul; Sohom et al. (hereinafter Paul – US 20230246924 A1).
Claim 3:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian further teaches
further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a search term […]; (a user can perform a key word search for a topic, ¶ 136)
identifying one or more chat channels, wherein the one or more chat channels include a message having a file corresponding to the search term; (that a message includes a file, ¶ 70.)
and updating the mobile device GUI to include identification corresponding to the one or more chat channels. (the concatenated messages include a Chat name, e.g., “User A group”, and/or FromChat ID, e.g., “Chat 2” [identification], ¶ 120 and Table 2 at top of Page 7 and fig. 13:34. Or as shown in Fig. 13, “from chat group 1” and “from chat group 2” [identification corresponding to the one or more chat channels] )
Tian reflects a search bar in group list area 32, fig. 13.
However, Tian, as modified, does not appear to expressly teach, but Paul teaches:
that the search term can be entered “in a search bar” (user can search using a search bar by entering query text, ¶¶ 38 and 52, and figs. 2-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method of Tian to include that the search term can be entered “in a search bar”, as taught by Paul.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the practicality of the performing a key word search for a topic, Tian ¶ 136, in any known and effective manner, including using entering a search bar, Paul ¶¶ 38 and 52 and figs. 2-4.
Claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian, as modified, does not appear to expressly teach, but Paul further teaches:
further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a selection of an add user button; in response to receiving the button selection, updating the mobile device GUI to display an add user interface to receive an identification of a user to add to the video conference stream (Selecting a button element within the channel canvas triggers the system to detect this action as a workflow or object update, prompting the user interface to instantly display the necessary input fields for identifying and adding a new user to the channel, ¶¶ 61 and 82 and figs. 3 and 5A-C.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method of Tian to include further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a selection of an add user button; in response to receiving the button selection, updating the mobile device GUI to display an add user interface to receive an identification of a user to add to the video conference stream, as taught by Paul.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the usability, functionality, and user experience afforded by the method, e.g., by allowing user to easily make changes to channel settings, including channel membership, Paul ¶ 5.
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (US 20210273894 A1) in view of Szczepanski (US 20240036710 A1), as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Kawata; Haruka et al. (hereinafter Kawata – US 20240179259 A1).
Claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Tian, as modified, does not appear to expressly teach, but Kawata teaches:
further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a selection of at least one of a full-screen button, a minimize button, or a return button; in response to receiving the button selection, updating the mobile device GUI to expand or minimize the video conference stream relative to at least one of the list of chat channels or the chat panel. (in an example of a live gallery viewing screen viewed using the remote attendee terminals, ¶ 272, a full-screen button 422 in a live view 401, displaying simultaneous elements, is used to switch to a full-screen live view 403, ¶ 284 and fig. 10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method of Tian to include further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device GUI, a selection of at least one of a full-screen button, a minimize button, or a return button; in response to receiving the button selection, updating the mobile device GUI to expand or minimize the video conference stream relative to at least one of the list of chat channels or the chat panel, as taught by Kawata.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the usability of the system by allowing the viewing of the live video on a size that is easier to see, Kawata ¶¶ 284 and 416 and fig. 10.
Claims 13 and 20:
The rejection of claim 8 and 15 are incorporated. Claim(s) 13 and 20 are directed to a system and computer-readable device for accomplishing the steps of the method in claim 6, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Comments/Response to Arguments
Previous 112(f) interpretation of claims 9-14, objections to the specification, and 112(b) rejections of claim 8-14 no longer apply due to claim amendments.
Applicant's 103 arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, and/or are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection discussed above.
First, the applicant alleges that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not combine Tian and Paul because Paul's dispersed call data is incompatible with Tian's topic-centered message aggregation system, and this person would not be able incorporate Paul’s video or audio calls into Tian’s user interface because Paul’s video or audio calls could not be easily aggregated based on a topic in, or replace, Tian’s concatenated message interface, Remarks Pg(s) 13-14.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because:
Concerning claim 1, this argument is moot, since Paul is no longer used for claim 1.
Although Paul is no longer used for claim 1, due to new grounds of rejections presented above, Paul is still usable for claim 1 and other claims, because the applicant incorrectly assumes that combining the references requires cramming incompatible audio-visual call data into a rigid topic sorting window rather than logically linking or co-locating separate interface elements. Furthermore, the applicant’s argument underestimates the capability of a person having ordinary skill in the art to adapt metadata and overlooks that minor functional friction does not constitute an absolute technical impossibility.
As shown above in reference to newly added reference (Szczepanski), the simultaneous display of chat interfaces with live video feeds is known in the art.
As such, it wouldn’t be difficult to integrate the display of chat interface and live video feeds, as taught by Szczepanski.
Second, the applicant alleges that replacing Tian's essential concatenated message interface with Paul's calls would undermine the technical purpose of Tian's design, and Paul provides no layout guidance for such a combination, Remarks Pg(s) 14-15.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because:
Concerning claim 1, this argument is moot, since Paul is no longer used for claim 1.
Although Paul is no longer used for claim 1, due to new grounds of rejections presented above, Paul is still usable for claim 1 and other claims. The applicant makes a potentially accurate statement in alleging that a POSA would not have replaced Tian’s concatenated message interface. However, this argument is irrelevant. The implementing combination rationale for concepts of Paul and Tian does not involve replacing Tian’s concatenated message interface, and there is nothing in Tian that mentions that displaying the chat interface with additional features, such as live video feeds, would make the concatenated message function difficult, and much less, impossible.
Third, the applicant relies on the argument(s) above to allege patentability of the remaining claims. Remarks Pg(s) 15.
The examiner respectfully disagrees for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Below is a list of these references, including why they are pertinent:
Priya; Bhaskar et al. US 20140129614 A1, is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing rendering messages and video simultaneously, ¶ 3.
Enete; Noel et al. US 9100538 B2, is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing simultaneous video and textual message, Enete Claim 18.
/Gabriel Mercado/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171