DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a first action on the merits in response to the application filed 29 March 2024. Claims 1-22 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 27 March 2025 and 11 August 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. reads as follows:
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data without significantly more. Independent claim 1 recites a product for communicating job order data, and independent claim 11 recites a system for matching service providers with multiple job orders.
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
communicating, over one or more networks, with a network system to receive job order data for a plurality of job orders, the job order data including each of service information for each of the plurality of job orders, and one of multiple priority designations associated with each of the plurality of job orders; and
providing a user interface to display the service information for each job order of the plurality job orders, the user interface being provided in one of multiple modes at a given time, the multiple modes including (i) a focus mode in which service information for only one of the plurality of job orders is displayed at a time, the job order being pre-selected based on the priority designation of that job order; and (ii) a browse mode in which the service information for multiple job orders of the plurality of job orders is displayed at one time.
Claim 11 recites the following limitations:
identifying a plurality of service providers for matching, each service provider of the plurality of service providers operating a corresponding service provider device that transmits location information to the network system;
identifying a plurality of job orders for matching, each job order of the plurality of job orders including service information that includes one or more service locations indicated in a corresponding transport service request; and
matching each service provider of the plurality of service providers with multiple job orders of the plurality of job orders, wherein for each service provider of the plurality of service providers,
matching includes associating one of multiple priority designations for each matched job order, the multiple priority designations including an exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers; and
transmitting, over one or more networks, a corresponding set of job order data to the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers, wherein for each of the plurality of service providers,
the corresponding set of job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device includes the service information and the associated priority designation of each of the multiple job orders that are matched to that service provider.
Under Step 1, independent claims 1 and 11 recite at least one step or act, including communicating with a network system to receive job order data (claim 1) and identifying a plurality of service providers for matching (claim 11). Thus, the claims fall within one of the statutory categories of invention.
Under Step 2A Prong One, the limitations recited in claim 1 for communicating with a network system to receive job order data and providing a user interface to display the service information for each job order; and the limitations recited in claim 11 for identifying service providers and job orders for matching, matching each service provider with multiple job orders, and transmitting a corresponding set of job order data to the service provider device, as drafted, illustrate a process that under its broadest reasonable interpretation is a method of organizing human activity because the claims are directed to matching a service provider with a job, determining the service providers interest in the job, and tracking the movement of a service providers device and job order activity of a service provider. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within the organizing human activities grouping of abstract concepts.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception of claim 1 and 11 is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite a processor, interface, communication network, and storage device for performing the recited steps. These elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For example, Applicant’s specification at paragraphs [0017-0018] states: “… one or more examples described may be implemented, in whole or in part, on computing devices such as servers, desktop computers, cellular or smartphones, laptop computers, printers, digital picture frames, network equipment (e.g., routers), wearable computing devices, and tablet devices. Memory, processing, and network resources may all be used in connection with the establishment, use, or performance of any example described herein (including with the performance of any method or with the implementation of any system).” The Specification does not provide additional details about the computer system, network, or interface that would distinguish it from any generic processing devices that communicate with one another in a network environment. Adding generic computer components to perform generic functions, such as data gathering, performing calculations, and outputting a result would not transform the claim into eligible subject matter. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, the functionalities recited by claims 1 and 11 are recited at a high level of generality that do not set forth limited rules for implementing the functionalities sufficient to confer patent eligibility. The focus of Applications invention is not to improve the performance of computers or any underlying technology, instead, the focus is to use generic computer components as tools to gather, analyze, and transmit business data to a service provider to perform a service based on received data from the user or user device.
Regarding the interface of Claim 1 and the claim language for “the user interface being provided in one of multiple modes at a given time, the multiple modes including (1) a focus mode … and (ii) a browse mode,” the claim limitation fails to provide technical details regarding how the claimed multiple modes are provided in a manner that goes beyond generic interface data presentation and display technology, as a result, the interface functionality is construed as generic and does not provide a practical application. Displaying a browser, website, or specific data on a device or computer constitutes insignificant extra-solution activity. Storing data, such as collected sensor data and sensor parameters, is also a form of data gathering used to provide input for data processing. Outputting or transmitting data is insignificant post-solution activity because merely presenting the results of abstract processes of collecting and analyzing information, without more, is abstract as an ancillary part of such collection and analysis. See MPEP § 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Under Step 2B claims 1 and 11 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor and storage device amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-22 include the abstract ideas of the independent claims. The limitations of the dependent claims merely narrow the method of organizing human activity abstract idea by describing the type of job order related data that is collected, transmitted, and presented to a service provider. The limitations of the dependent claims are not integrated into a practical application because none of the additional elements set forth any limitations that meaningfully limit the abstract idea implementation. There are no additional elements that transform the claim into a patent eligible idea by amounting to significantly more. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, independent claims 1 and 11 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 U.S.C. 101 based upon the same analysis applied to claim 1 above. Therefore claims 1 -22 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catino et al. (US 2023/0360099) in view of Weyl et al. (US 2009/0204470).
Regarding Claim 1, Catino et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations that include: (.. a platform for both a service user and a service provider to complete labor transactions based on service provider qualifications and service user needs. Catino et al. [para. 0023-0024]. … portions of the processes described herein can be performed using instructions stored on a computer readable medium or media that direct or otherwise instruct a computer system to perform the process steps. Non-transitory computer-readable media, as used herein, comprises all computer-readable media except for transitory, propagating signals. … The web server 114 can provide a graphical web user interface through which various users of the system can interact with the LME computing system 102. … The processor 104 may be embodied as any type of processor capable of performing the functions described herein. Catino [para. 0038-0043]);
communicating, over one or more networks, with a network system to receive job order data for a plurality of job orders, (The service user can create a user profile on the LME and disclose can general information about the company and its selection preferences including, but not limited to, preferred experience of the service provider, preferred wage to be paid, preferred skills, preferred rating and preferred distance from the service user. … the service user can search for construction workers using any suitable searching technique…Once the search has been made, in one embodiment the construction workers that meet all of the preferences can be displayed in ascending order of time for the service provider to travel to the job site. The service user can sort or filter based on any other suitable parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0026-0027, 0035]. … The preferences section 510 can include, for example, labor preferences that have been provided by the service provider 144 to the LME computing system 102. These preferences can be updated in real time by the service provider 144 and can be used by the LME computing system 102 when matching particular service providers 144 to search queries. … FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0069- 0073; Fig. 6-9]);
the job order data including each of service information for each of the plurality of job orders, (The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]);
and one of multiple priority designations associated with each of the plurality of job orders; ( The service user can sort or filter based on any other suitable parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0027]. … The search results module 206 can be configured to list a selection of service providers 144 who meet some or all requirements of a search query. The list of service providers can be ordered or ranked based on any number of parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0053]);
and providing a user interface to display the service information for each job order of the plurality job orders, the user interface being provided in one of multiple modes at a given time, the multiple modes including (i) a focus mode in which service information for only one of the plurality of job orders is displayed at a time,…; and (ii) a browse mode in which the service information for multiple job orders of the plurality of job orders is displayed at one time. ( As it is to be appreciated, activation of various selectable elements 402 can initiate various modules, as depicted in FIG. 2, to offer certain functionality to the service provider 144. In the illustrated embodiment, the service provider home screen 400 comprises a current availability status indicator 404. … FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. … FIG. 8 depicts an example calendar screen 800 through which a service provider 144 can view upcoming service appointments 702. … FIG. 9 depicts an example search screen 900 through which a service provider 144 can search for available service needs. Catino et al. [para. 0071-0076]. … FIG. 17 depicts an example service complete screen 1700 for the service provider 144. Catino et al. [para. 0084, 0088-0089; Fig. 6-9, 17, 47, 48-50 (tap to view gig from company/accept/decline), 51 (gig detail (singular gig, accept/decline option), 55-63 (requester confirmation, gig status tracking, location tracking, map/navigation), 221A, 234A]).
While Catino et al. discloses ranking service providers that match a service order (Catino et al. [para. 0027, 0037, 0053, 0080]), Catino et al. fails to explicitly disclose the job order being pre-selected based on the priority designation of that job order. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (The worker module 270 of the work management server 160 sends 814 information about tasks eligible to the worker via the network 100 to the worker's user terminal 130 or 140. The worker may want to narrow down the tasks by one or more filtering parameters (e.g., wages higher than certain amount)…The work management server 160 filters the eligible tasks according to the filtering parameters and presents 822 the filtered tasks to the workers. … FIG. 9 is a graphic representation of a user interface 900 displayed to a worker for searching tasks. … the worker module 270 operates with the user terminal 130 or 140 to present two separate windows on the worker's user interface. … the display of tasks and allocation of tasks to workers are prioritized based on the highest-paying job for which the worker is qualified. … Workers may also control the tasks displayed in the first window via an advanced search feature that allows users to prioritize tasks based on criteria. … In one embodiment, the work management server 160 presents tasks similar to those selected, preferred or previously performed by the worker. Weyl et al. [para. 0143-0152, 0197 (filtering tasks based on worker location radius)]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. to include the job order being pre-selected based on the priority designation of that job order as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 5, Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the user interface includes a plurality of cards, each of the plurality of cards including service information for a corresponding job order of the plurality of job orders, and wherein each card includes or is associated with a feature for enabling the user to transmit a response communication to the network system for the corresponding job order. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6-7]).
Regarding Claim 6, Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein in the focus mode, the plurality of cards are arranged in a stack that allows the user to view service information provided on one card at a time. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6-7]).
Regarding Claim 7, Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein user interface enables the user to interact with one card at a time to navigate through the stack and view individual cards of the plurality of cards. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6-7]).
Regarding Claim 8, Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the plurality of cards are ordered in the stack in accordance with the priority designation of each of the plurality of job orders. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (… the display of tasks and allocation of tasks to workers are prioritized based on the highest-paying job for which the worker is qualified. … Workers may also control the tasks displayed in the first window via an advanced search feature that allows users to prioritize tasks based on criteria. … FIG. 9 illustrates the "pay" filter being selected where drop-down menu 932 is displayed to allow the worker to filter the available tasks based on base pay. Weyl et al. [para. 0143-0152, 0197 (filtering tasks based on worker location radius)]; Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. to include the plurality of cards are ordered in the stack in accordance with the priority designation of each of the plurality of job orders as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 9, Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein in the browse mode, the plurality of cards are arranged to allow the user to view service information provided on multiple cards at one time. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6-7]. … FIG. 9 depicts an example search screen 900 through which a service provider 144 can search for available service needs. Catino et al. [para. 0076; Fig. 9]).
Regarding Claim 10, Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a user activity with respect to individual cards of the plurality of cards, the user activity indicating whether the user has viewed or not viewed the service information of the card; and transmitting activity data that indicates the user activity data to the network system. (… the service provider that is selected by the service user can be notified of his or her selection and can have a certain period of time to respond to the request before it times out or otherwise expires. … If the service provider declines the request, or otherwise does not respond within the allotted time, the service user can be sent a notification via any suitable technique (e.g., in-app messaging, text message, instant message, email, etc.) and be directed … to select another service provider. If the newly selected service provider accepts the service request, the service appointment can be placed on both the calendar of the service user (i.e., the person from the construction company requesting labor in this example scenario) and the service provider. Catino et al. [para. 0029]).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catino et al. (US 2023/0360099) in view of Weyl et al. (US 2009/0204470), and in further view of Graham et al. (US 2023/0367452).
Regarding Claim 2, Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the operations further comprise: detecting one or more conditions; (… the service provider can check-in or “clock-in” once he or she has arrived at the work site. In some embodiments, a GPS function within the LME can confirm the service provider's location relative to the site of the service before proving the service provider with the option to clock-in. The LME can be configured to not allow the service provider to check-in until the ETA based on the GPS system is a minute or less, or other suitable period of time. Catino et al. [para. 0032]. … The LME computing system 102 can generate user interfaces (e.g., user interfaces illustratively shown in FIGS. 3-17) based on the user (e.g., a service user 142, a service provider 144, and an administrator (not shown) of the LME computing system 102)…. As schematically depicted in FIG. 1, a real-time, or substantially real-time, geographic position of each user 142, 144 can be provided to the LME computing system 102, such as through GPS data received by the communications devices 120 and provided to the LME computing system 102. Catino et al. [para. 0037; Fig. 1);
Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose and automatically implementing one of the focus mode or the browse mode in response to detecting the one or more conditions. Graham et al. discloses these limitations. (… configuring the first setting for the computer system to have a user-selected configuration based on the first set of one or more user inputs, … after detecting the first set of one or more user inputs, detecting a second set of one or more user inputs for ceasing to display the first user interface. The method includes in response to detecting the second set of one or more user inputs for ceasing to display the first user interface: ceasing to display the first user interface; and in accordance with a determination that the first setting for the computer system was configured without configuring the second setting for the computer system, automatically configuring the second setting for the respective mode of the computer system with the default configuration for the second setting, while the first setting for the respective mode of the computer system has the user-selected configuration based on the first set of one or more user inputs. Graham et al. [para. 0007-0012]. … Device 100 optionally includes, in addition to accelerometer(s) 168, a magnetometer and a GPS (or GLONASS or other global navigation system) receiver for obtaining information concerning the location and orientation (e.g., portrait or landscape) of device 100. Graham et al. [para. 0064-0065, 0077]. … FIGS. 5A-5AC illustrate example user interfaces for switching between different focus modes in accordance with some embodiments. FIGS. 6A-6R illustrate example user interfaces for configuring a focus mode in accordance with some embodiments. FIGS. 7A-7Z illustrate example user interfaces for emphasizing content by default while a focus mode is active, and changing emphasized content while the focus mode remains active, in accordance with some embodiments. FIGS. 8A-8E are flow diagrams of a process for switching between different focus modes, in accordance with some embodiments. Graham et al. [para. 0032, 0037, 0190-0201 (various modes and mode triggers)]. … smart activation criteria 6076 (e.g., for automatically activating the “Work” mode when the portable multifunction device 100 detects that the user is driving (e.g., based on location data, or based on a Bluetooth connection with a vehicle)). Graham et al. [para. 0219, 0227]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface modes of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include automatically implementing one of the focus mode or the browse mode in response to detecting the one or more conditions as disclosed by Graham et al. for electronic devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for providing adjusting provision of notifications, e.g., by providing different focus modes (Graham et al. [para. 0005]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 3, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and Graham et al. combined disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein detecting the one or more conditions includes detecting that the computing device is in a moving vehicle. (… smart activation criteria 6076 (e.g., for automatically activating the “Work” mode when the portable multifunction device 100 detects that the user is driving (e.g., based on location data, or based on a Bluetooth connection with a vehicle)). Graham et al. [para. 0219, 0227]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface modes of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include detecting the one or more conditions includes detecting that the computing device is in a moving vehicle as disclosed by Graham et al. for electronic devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for providing adjusting provision of notifications, e.g., by providing different focus modes (Graham et al. [para. 0005]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 4, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and Graham et al. combined disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein detecting that the computing device is in the moving vehicle is based on sensor input from one or more sensors of the computing device. (… smart activation criteria 6076 (e.g., for automatically activating the “Work” mode when the portable multifunction device 100 detects that the user is driving (e.g., based on location data, or based on a Bluetooth connection with a vehicle)). Graham et al. [para. 0219, 0227]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface modes of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include detecting that the computing device is in the moving vehicle is based on sensor input from one or more sensors of the computing device disclosed by Graham et al. for electronic devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for providing adjusting provision of notifications, e.g., by providing different focus modes (Graham et al. [para. 0005]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Claims 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catino et al. (US 2023/0360099) in view of Lye et al. (US 2021/0082074), and in further view of Weyl et al. (US 2009/0204470).
Regarding Claim 11, Catino et al. discloses a network system comprising: one or more processors; a memory to store a set of instructions; wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to perform operations that include: (.. a platform for both a service user and a service provider to complete labor transactions based on service provider qualifications and service user needs. Catino et al. [para. 0023-0024]. … portions of the processes described herein can be performed using instructions stored on a computer readable medium or media that direct or otherwise instruct a computer system to perform the process steps. Non-transitory computer-readable media, as used herein, comprises all computer-readable media except for transitory, propagating signals. … The web server 114 can provide a graphical web user interface through which various users of the system can interact with the LME computing system 102. … The processor 104 may be embodied as any type of processor capable of performing the functions described herein. Catino [para. 0038-0043]);
identifying a plurality of service providers for matching, each service provider of the plurality of service providers operating a corresponding service provider device that transmits location information to the network system; (Once the search has been made, in one embodiment the construction workers that meet all of the preferences can be displayed in ascending order of time for the service provider to travel to the job site. The service user can sort or filter based on any other suitable parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0026-0027, 0035].… The search results module 206 can be configured to list a selection of service providers 144 who meet some or all requirements of a search query. The list of service providers can be ordered or ranked based on any number of parameters, such as real-time proximity to the job site. Catino et al. [para. 0053, 0069- 0073; Fig. 6-9]. … The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]. …, a GPS function within the LME can confirm the service provider's location relative to the site of the service before proving the service provider with the option to clock-in. Catino et al. [para. 0032]);
identifying a plurality of job orders for matching, each job order of the plurality of job orders including service information that includes one or more service locations indicated in a corresponding transport service request. (The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]. … , an industrial-based service user can utilize an LME to identify potential service providers to perform industrial tasks (e.g., manual labor, delivery, cleaning, etc.). In other implementations, a residential-based service user can utilize an LME to identify potential service providers to perform domestic or housekeeping tasks for the user (e.g., babysitting, lawn care, handyman services, etc.). Catino et al. [para. 0024]);
and matching each service provider of the plurality of service providers with multiple job orders of the plurality of job orders, (The preferences section 510 can include, for example, labor preferences that have been provided by the service provider 144 to the LME computing system 102. These preferences can be updated in real time by the service provider 144 and can be used by the LME computing system 102 when matching particular service providers 144 to search queries. … FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0069- 0073; Fig. 6-9])
wherein for each service provider of the plurality of service providers, matching includes associating one of multiple priority designations for each matched job order, (The service user can sort or filter based on any other suitable parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0027]. … The search results module 206 can be configured to list a selection of service providers 144 who meet some or all requirements of a search query. The list of service providers can be ordered or ranked based on any number of parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0053]);
Catino et al. fails to explicitly disclose the multiple priority designations including an exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers. Lye et al. discloses this limitation. (… method of managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, by means of a processor device having a CPU cooperating with an input device and an output device, under control of stored instructions, the method comprising receiving service requests at the input device, assign service requests received in successive time periods to respective batches of requests; access stored service provider data to identify available service providers from among a pool of service providers; after completing the assignment of requests to a batch, perform a matching process to endeavour to match each service request of the batch of requests with a service provider; and for each service provider for whom a match is made, output a notification of the respective potential match from the output device. Lye et al. [para. 0008-0014, 0062-0063]. … configured to select high priority service requests 51c from among the candidate service request data 51b and to control, manage, and select high priority service providers. … high priority service requests 51c and high priority service provider data 53c are passed to a matching engine. … The matching engine output is a matching pair of available service providers and service requests. Lye et al. [para. 0080-0096, 110-111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of matching service providers with job orders before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data gathering and analysis steps of Catino et al. to include the multiple priority designations including an exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers as disclosed by Lye et al. for managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, including the dynamic matching of service requests to service providers (Lye et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
and transmitting, over one or more networks, a corresponding set of job order data to the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers, wherein for each of the plurality of service providers, the corresponding set of job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device includes the service information (The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]);
Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose the corresponding set of job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device includes the associated priority designation of each of the multiple job orders that are matched to that service provider. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (… the display of tasks and allocation of tasks to workers are prioritized based on the highest-paying job for which the worker is qualified. … Workers may also control the tasks displayed in the first window via an advanced search feature that allows users to prioritize tasks based on criteria. … FIG. 9 illustrates the "pay" filter being selected where drop-down menu 932 is displayed to allow the worker to filter the available tasks based on base pay. Weyl et al. [para. 0143-0152, 0197 (filtering tasks based on worker location radius); Fig. 9]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined to include the corresponding set of job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device includes the associated priority designation of each of the multiple job orders that are matched to that service provider as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 12, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein for each service provider of the plurality of service providers, making a determination as to whether the service provider is or is not interested in one or more job orders of the multiple job orders that are matched to that service provider; (… the service provider that is selected by the service user can be notified of his or her selection and can have a certain period of time to respond to the request before it times out or otherwise expires. … If the service provider declines the request, or otherwise does not respond within the allotted time, the service user can be sent a notification via any suitable technique (e.g., in-app messaging, text message, instant message, email, etc.) and be directed … to select another service provider. If the newly selected service provider accepts the service request, the service appointment can be placed on both the calendar of the service user (i.e., the person from the construction company requesting labor in this example scenario) and the service provider. Catino et al. [para. 0029]);
and wherein transmitting the corresponding set of job order data to the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers includes transmitting updated job order data to the associated service provider device of each of one or more service providers based on the determination made for that service provider as to whether the service provider is or is not interested in the one or more job orders of the multiple job orders. (Throughout the searching, matching, and tracking processes, the labor marketplace exchange can facilitate various means of communication between the selected service provider and the service user. These means of communication can include, without limitation, in-app messaging, text messaging, email messaging, instant messaging, telephone calls, video calls, multimedia messaging, among of forms of communication. Continuing with the non-limiting example scenario, the service provider can check-in or “clock-in” once he or she has arrived at the work site. In some embodiments, a GPS function within the LME can confirm the service provider's location relative to the site of the service before proving the service provider with the option to clock-in. The LME can be configured to not allow the service provider to check-in until the ETA based on the GPS system is a minute or less, or other suitable period of time. Catino et al. [para. 0032]).
Regarding Claim 13, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein making the determination includes receiving, over one or more networks, job order activity data from the associated service provider device of a first service provider, the job order activity data indicating that the first service provider viewed or navigated past, but did not act, on a first job order of the multiple job orders that is matched to the first service provider. (If the service provider declines the request, or otherwise does not respond within the allotted time, the service user can be sent a notification via any suitable technique (e.g., in-app messaging, text message, instant message, email, etc.) and be directed to matches from their original search, which can in some cases include newly added service providers, in order to select another service provider. Catino et al. [para. 0029-0030, 0085]).
Regarding Claim 14, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the updated job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device of the first service provider excludes job order data for the first job order. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (The worker module 270 of the work management server 160 sends 814 information about tasks eligible to the worker via the network 100 to the worker's user terminal 130 or 140. The worker may want to narrow down the tasks by one or more filtering parameters (e.g., wages higher than certain amount). The parameters for filtering the eligible tasks are received 818 from the worker. … If further refinements are needed, the process returns to receiving 818 modified filtering parameters from the worker and repeats the process. Weyl et al. [para. 0143-147; Fig. 8]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined to include the updated job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device of the first service provider excludes job order data for the first job order as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 15, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the multiple priority designations include a non-exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched, or designated to be concurrently matched, to multiple service providers of the plurality of service providers during a matching time interval. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (The published task descriptions are viewed by workers. Workers interested in the task then apply for the task. It is then determined 430 if applications for the task are received from qualified workers. If no application is received from a qualified applicant, the process may return to modifying 418 the task descriptions, as describe below in detail with reference to FIG. 15A. If there are one or more applications for the task, the process proceeds to determine 434 if the job owner approves the worker. If the worker is not approved, the process returns to determine 430 if applications are received from other qualified workers. Weyl et al. [para. 0102-0105]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined to include the multiple priority designations include a non-exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched, or designated to be concurrently matched, to multiple service providers of the plurality of service providers during a matching time interval as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 16, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the corresponding set of job order data causes the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers to preselect the service information of the matched job order that is associated with the exclusive priority designation for display on a priority user interface panel. Lye et al. discloses this limitation. (for each service provider for whom a match is made, output a notification of the respective potential match from the output device. Lye et al. [para. 0008-0014, 0062-0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of matching service providers with job orders before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data gathering and analysis steps of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include the corresponding set of job order data causes the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers to preselect the service information of the matched job order that is associated with the exclusive priority designation for display on a priority user interface panel as disclosed by Lye et al. for managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, including the dynamic matching of service requests to service providers (Lye et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 17, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein matching includes matching each service provider to no more than one job order having the exclusive priority designation, such that each job order having the exclusive priority designation is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers. Lye et al. discloses this limitation. (… method of managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, by means of a processor device having a CPU cooperating with an input device and an output device, under control of stored instructions, the method comprising receiving service requests at the input device, assign service requests received in successive time periods to respective batches of requests; access stored service provider data to identify available service providers from among a pool of service providers; after completing the assignment of requests to a batch, perform a matching process to endeavour to match each service request of the batch of requests with a service provider; and for each service provider for whom a match is made, output a notification of the respective potential match from the output device. Lye et al. [para. 0008-0014, 0062-0063]. … configured to select high priority service requests 51c from among the candidate service request data 51b and to control, manage, and select high priority service providers. … high priority service requests 51c and high priority service provider data 53c are passed to a matching engine. … The matching engine output is a matching pair of available service providers and service requests. Lye et al. [para. 0080-0096, 110-111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of matching service providers with job orders before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data gathering and analysis steps of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include matching includes matching each service provider to no more than one job order having the exclusive priority designation, such that each job order having the exclusive priority designation is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers as disclosed by Lye et al. for managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, including the dynamic matching of service requests to service providers (Lye et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 18, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the operations include: receiving, over one or more networks, a response communication from the associated service provider device of a first service provider of the plurality of service providers, the response communication indicating that the first service provider accepts a first job order having the exclusive priority designation; and in response to receiving the response communication, assigning the first service provider to the first job order. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. … If the service provider 144 accepts the service request 602 it can be added to the calendar of both the service provider 144 and the service user 142 requesting the service. Catino et al. [para. 0073]).
Regarding Claim 19, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the operations include: receiving, over one or more networks, a response communication from the associated service provider device of a first service provider, the response communication indicating the first service provider accepts a first job order having the non-exclusive priority designation; and in response to receiving the response communication, making a determination as to whether to assign the first service provider or another service provider to the first job order. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (The published task descriptions are viewed by workers. Workers interested in the task then apply for the task. It is then determined 430 if applications for the task are received from qualified workers. If no application is received from a qualified applicant, the process may return to modifying 418 the task descriptions, as describe below in detail with reference to FIG. 15A. If there are one or more applications for the task, the process proceeds to determine 434 if the job owner approves the worker. If the worker is not approved, the process returns to determine 430 if applications are received from other qualified workers. Weyl et al. [para. 0102-0105]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined to include receiving, over one or more networks, a response communication from the associated service provider device of a first service provider, the response communication indicating the first service provider accepts a first job order having the non-exclusive priority designation; and in response to receiving the response communication, making a determination as to whether to assign the first service provider or another service provider to the first job order as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 20, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, matching the plurality of service providers to the plurality of job orders based on the location information transmitted by the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers, and the service information of each of the plurality of job orders. (The LME can also utilize geolocation information to aid in providing matches to a service user as well as provide the service user with substantially real-time updates of the service provider's geolocation position. Catino et al. [para. 0020]. … The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]).
Regarding Claim 21, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the service information of the individual job orders includes one or more service locations identified with the corresponding transport service request. (The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]).
Regarding Claim 22, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Weyl et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the operations include: initiating, for the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers, a timer that provides a time interval for each service provider to provide a response communication to accept or select one of the multiple job orders that are matched to the service provider, before transmitting the updated job order data to the associated service provider device. (… the service provider that is selected by the service user can be notified of his or her selection and can have a certain period of time to respond to the request before it times out or otherwise expires. If the service user is selected for on-demand service, he or she may have a relatively short amount of time to respond to the service request, such as a matter of minutes. If the request is for a scheduled service, there can be more time given to respond, as can be determined by the LME and/or the service user. If the service provider declines the request, or otherwise does not respond within the allotted time, the service user can be sent a notification via any suitable technique (e.g., in-app messaging, text message, instant message, email, etc.) and be directed to matches from their original search, which can in some cases include newly added service providers. Catino et al. [para. 0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. (US 2021/0272044) – processor configured to execute the instructions to receive a list of delivery tasks, the list of delivery tasks based on a stored set of preferences, display the list of delivery tasks, and receive, on the display device, an interaction with a user interface element to accept a delivery task; forward a task identifier associated with the accepted task to the server and receive a message in response including a code associated with a first delivery site for accomplishing the accepted delivery task; receive an interaction to confirm presence at the first delivery site; scan an indicia associated with the first delivery site, and determine whether the indicia matches the received code; and provide an indication that the accepted delivery task is performed at the first delivery site.
Spielman et al. (US 2021/0192663) - method may match transportation requestor devices to transportation provider devices pre-request by using the same matching process employed by a matching engine that is capable of predicting transportation swaps and walks. Multiple matches may be showcased on user devices, and offline transportation providers may see an exact match to a requestor, with an ability to go online and accept the pre-request match.
/L.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3623 /RUTAO WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3623