DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action in response to the amendment filed 20 May 2026. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-22 remain pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 May 2026, 17 June 2026, and 17 August 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to clams 1 and 11 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendment is insufficient to overcome the pending 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. The rejection remains pending and is updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Applicant’s amendment is insufficient to overcome the pending 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection. The rejection remains pending and is updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the amended claims are patent eligible because they do not recite an abstract idea because the limitations address the technical problem of service provider’s resource environment to view and evaluate job orders while they are operating a vehicle by providing a specific, structured graphical user interface paired with a prescribed functionality for displaying a limited set of information to a user in a manner analogous to Trading Technologies and Core Wireless. Applicant further asserts that the amended claims recite additional elements which integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application and amount to significantly more than any alleged abstract idea when considered as an ordered combination or individually. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The amended language of claim 1 recites steps for applying a filter criterion to filter out job orders for display to a user, and recites a functional result without technical implementation details. As a result, the claim language is construed as generic filtering upon the occurrence of a certain trigger or result. The claim language “based at least in part on the computing device detecting a user is operating the computing device in a moving vehicle” describes the conditional trigger, but does not include technological or functional language for how it is achieved such that the steps are actively claimed as part of the inventive concept. Generic filtering is a longstanding and well-known method of organizing human activity that does not make these claims patent eligible. The claim limitation is focused on providing information to a user recipient of a job order, not on improving computers or interface functionality technology. The claim language does not improve the functioning of the user device, make it operate more efficiently, or solve any technical problem. The amended claim language describes the nature of data (viewing pre-selected job orders), not how the process functionally enforces interface interactivity or how the processing technology achieves the “mode” implementing result. Therefore the limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and when considered as a whole or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea.
Similarly, the amended claim language of independent claim 11 recites language for filtering data displayed to a service provider based on a priority designation. No technological implementation details are recited. The Specification at [0086] describes that prioritization can be a ranking based on criteria described in paragraph [0031]. Paragraph [0086] states: “ the user interface 300 can implement a prioritization schema where an exclusive categorization for a job order is also associated with the highest priority designation. When the focus mode is implemented, the user interface 300 pre-selects the job order to present while that mode is active. … Alternatively, the determination as to which card has the highest priority designation (for display in the focus mode) can be based on a ranking, or defined by the prioritization schema (e.g., which may be defined by the service provider’s preference, etc.).” Filtering offers for service jobs based on pre-defined criteria is a process of managing commercial interactions, which falls within certain methods of organizing human activities. Claim 11 does not improve the functioning of the computer itself or an improvement in any other technology or technical field. As such, claims 1 and 11 recite receiving, generating, processing, analyzing, and transmitting data using for making provider service offers, and not a technological implementation or application of that idea.
The holding in Core Wireless illustrates why the claims here are not patent eligible. The claims improved user interfaces by specifying a particular manner that a summary window could be accessed. Core Wireless, 880 F.3d at 1362. The claims recited a specific way to display a limited set of information to enable a user to access functions and related data without scrolling or drilling down through layers as in conventional interfaces. Id. at 1363; see also Int’l Bus. Machs., 50 F.4th at 1381 (the asserted claims in Core Wireless were directed to an improved user interface that was patentable because it addressed problems specific to navigating applications on small screens, as emphasized by the specification, which indicated the claims are directed to an improvement in the functioning of computers, particularly those with small screens) (citation omitted).
The claims do not recite structure associated with the interface, only data content. In one of the precedential Trading Technologies cases, in response to a similar argument that the claims provide a particular graphical user interface that improves usability, visualization, and efficiency, the Court determined that “[t]he claims are focused on providing information to traders in a way that helps them process information more quickly, not on improving computers or technology. . . . The ‘tool for presentation’ here . . . is simply a generic computer.” Trading Techs. Int’l, Inc. v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d at 1384–85 (citations omitted). Similarly, here the claims are not focused on an interface, but on providing information to users in a way that helps them process information more quickly, not on improving computers or technology and the tool for presentation is a generic computer. As a result the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is proper, maintained, and updated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data without significantly more. Independent claim 1 recites a product for communicating job order data, and independent claim 11 recites a system for matching service providers with job orders.
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
communicating, over one or more networks, with a network system to receive job order data for a plurality of job orders, the job order data including (i) each of service information for each of the plurality of job orders, and (ii) one of multiple priority designations associated with each of the plurality of job orders;
providing a user interface to display the service information for each job order of the plurality job orders, the user interface being provided in one of multiple modes at a given time, the multiple modes including (i) a focus mode in which service information for only one of the plurality of job orders is displayed at a time, the job order being pre-selected based on the priority designation of that job order; and (ii) a browse mode in which the service information for multiple job orders of the plurality of job orders is displayed at one time;
and wherein providing the user interface to display the service information includes, based at least in part on the computing device detecting a user is operating the computing device in a moving vehicle, automatically implementing the focus mode to enable the user to view the service information for the pre- selected one of the plurality of job orders without enabling the user to interact with the user interface to view service information for any other job order of the plurality of job orders.
Claim 11 recites the following limitations:
identifying a plurality of service providers for matching, each service provider of the plurality of service providers operating a corresponding service provider device that transmits location information to the network system;
identifying a plurality of job orders for matching, each job order of the plurality of job orders including service information that includes one or more service locations indicated in a corresponding transport service request; and
matching each service provider of the plurality of service providers with multiple job orders of the plurality of job orders, wherein for each service provider of the plurality of service providers,
matching includes associating one of multiple priority designations for each matched job order, the multiple priority designations including an exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers;
transmitting, over one or more networks, a corresponding set of job order data to the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers, wherein for each of the plurality of service providers,
the corresponding set of job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device includes the service information and the associated priority designation of each of the multiple job orders that are matched to that service provider;
and causing the associated service provider device of a first service provider of the plurality of service providers that is matched to a job order of the plurality of job orders having an exclusive priority designation to implement a mode that enables the first service provider to view the service information for the matched job order having the exclusive priority designation without enabling the first service provider to interact with the associated service provider device to view service information for any other job order of the multiple job orders that are matched to the service provider.
Under Step 1, independent claims 1 and 11 recite at least one step or act, including communicating with a network system to receive job order data (claim 1) and identifying a plurality of service providers for matching (claim 11). Thus, the claims fall within one of the statutory categories of invention.
Under Step 2A Prong One, the limitations recited in claim 1 for communicating with a network system to receive job order data, providing a user interface to display the service information for each job order, and displaying service information for the pre-selected one of the plurality of job orders; and the limitations recited in claim 11 for identifying service providers and job orders for matching, matching each service provider with multiple job orders, transmitting a corresponding set of job order data to the service provider device, and enabling the first provider to view the service information for the matched job order having the exclusive priority designation as drafted, illustrate a process that under its broadest reasonable interpretation is a method of organizing human activity because the claims are recite steps for matching a service provider with a job, determining the service providers interest in the job, tracking the movement of a service providers device and job order activity of a service provider, and filtering service offers based on pre-determined rules and conditions. Filtering offers for service jobs based on pre-defined criteria and rules is a process of managing commercial interactions, which falls within certain methods of organizing human activities. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within the organizing human activities grouping of abstract concepts.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception of claims 1 and 11 is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite a processor, interface, service provider device, communication network, and storage device for performing the recited steps. These elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For example, Applicant’s specification at paragraphs [0017-0018] states: “… one or more examples described may be implemented, in whole or in part, on computing devices such as servers, desktop computers, cellular or smartphones, laptop computers, printers, digital picture frames, network equipment (e.g., routers), wearable computing devices, and tablet devices. Memory, processing, and network resources may all be used in connection with the establishment, use, or performance of any example described herein (including with the performance of any method or with the implementation of any system).” The Specification does not provide additional details about the computer system, network, or interface that would distinguish it from any generic processing devices that communicate with one another in a network environment. Adding generic computer components to perform generic functions, such as data gathering, performing calculations, and outputting a result would not transform the claim into eligible subject matter. See MPEP 2106.05(h). The focus of Applications invention is not to improve the performance of computers or any underlying technology, instead, the focus is to use generic computer components as tools to gather, analyze, and transmit business data to a service provider in the form of an offer to perform a service based on data received from the user or user device.
Regarding the interface of Claim 1 and the claim language for “the user interface being provided in one of multiple modes at a given time, the multiple modes including (1) a focus mode … and (ii) a browse mode,” the claim limitation fails to provide technical details regarding how the claimed multiple modes are provided in a manner that goes beyond generic interface data presentation and display technology, as a result, the interface functionality is construed as generic and does not provide a practical application. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The amended language of claim 1 recites steps for applying a filter criterion to filter out job orders for display to a user, and recites a functional result without technical implementation details. As a result, the claim language is construed as generic filtering upon the occurrence of a certain trigger or result. The claim language “based at least in part on the computing device detecting a user is operating the computing device in a moving vehicle” describes the conditional trigger, but does not include technological or functional language for how it is achieved such that the steps are actively claimed as part of the inventive concept. Generic filtering is a longstanding and well-known method of organizing human activity that does not make these claims patent eligible. The claim limitation is focused on providing information to a user recipient of a job order, not on improving computers or interface functionality technology. Similarly, the amended claim language of independent claim 11 recites language for filtering data displayed to a service provider based on a priority designation. No technological implementation details are recited. The Specification at [0086] describes that prioritization can be a ranking based on criteria described in paragraph [0031]. The limitations of claims 1 and 11 do not improve the functioning of the computer itself , and do not improve any other technology or technical field. As such, claims 1 and 11 recite receiving, generating, processing, analyzing, and transmitting data using for making provider service offers, and not a technological implementation or application of that idea.
Under Step 2B claims 1 and 11 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor and storage device amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-22 include the abstract ideas of the independent claims. The limitations of the dependent claims merely narrow the method of organizing human activity abstract idea by describing the type of job order related data that is collected, transmitted, and presented to a service provider. The limitations of the dependent claims are not integrated into a practical application because none of the additional elements set forth any limitations that meaningfully limit the abstract idea implementation. There are no additional elements that transform the claim into a patent eligible idea by amounting to significantly more. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, independent claims 1 and 11 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 U.S.C. 101. Therefore, claims 1 -22 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catino et al. (US 2023/0360099) in view of Weyl et al. (US 2009/0204470), and in further view of van Os et al. (US 2018/0088795).
Regarding Amended Claim 1, Catino et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations that include: (.. a platform for both a service user and a service provider to complete labor transactions based on service provider qualifications and service user needs. Catino et al. [para. 0023-0024]. … portions of the processes described herein can be performed using instructions stored on a computer readable medium or media that direct or otherwise instruct a computer system to perform the process steps. Non-transitory computer-readable media, as used herein, comprises all computer-readable media except for transitory, propagating signals. … The web server 114 can provide a graphical web user interface through which various users of the system can interact with the LME computing system 102. … The processor 104 may be embodied as any type of processor capable of performing the functions described herein. Catino [para. 0038-0043]);
communicating, over one or more networks, with a network system to receive job order data for a plurality of job orders, (The service user can create a user profile on the LME and disclose can general information about the company and its selection preferences including, but not limited to, preferred experience of the service provider, preferred wage to be paid, preferred skills, preferred rating and preferred distance from the service user. … the service user can search for construction workers using any suitable searching technique…Once the search has been made, in one embodiment the construction workers that meet all of the preferences can be displayed in ascending order of time for the service provider to travel to the job site. The service user can sort or filter based on any other suitable parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0026-0027, 0035]. … The preferences section 510 can include, for example, labor preferences that have been provided by the service provider 144 to the LME computing system 102. These preferences can be updated in real time by the service provider 144 and can be used by the LME computing system 102 when matching particular service providers 144 to search queries. … FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0069- 0073; Fig. 6-9]);
the job order data including (i) each of service information for each of the plurality of job orders, (The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]);
and (ii) one of multiple priority designations associated with each of the plurality of job orders; ( The service user can sort or filter based on any other suitable parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0027]. … The search results module 206 can be configured to list a selection of service providers 144 who meet some or all requirements of a search query. The list of service providers can be ordered or ranked based on any number of parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0053]);
providing a user interface to display the service information for each job order of the plurality job orders, the user interface being provided in one of multiple modes at a given time, the multiple modes including (i) a focus mode in which service information for only one of the plurality of job orders is displayed at a time,…; and (ii) a browse mode in which the service information for multiple job orders of the plurality of job orders is displayed at one time. ( As it is to be appreciated, activation of various selectable elements 402 can initiate various modules, as depicted in FIG. 2, to offer certain functionality to the service provider 144. In the illustrated embodiment, the service provider home screen 400 comprises a current availability status indicator 404. … FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. … FIG. 8 depicts an example calendar screen 800 through which a service provider 144 can view upcoming service appointments 702. … FIG. 9 depicts an example search screen 900 through which a service provider 144 can search for available service needs. Catino et al. [para. 0071-0076]. … FIG. 17 depicts an example service complete screen 1700 for the service provider 144. Catino et al. [para. 0084, 0088-0089; Fig. 6-9, 17, 47, 48-50 (tap to view gig from company/accept/decline), 51 (gig detail (singular gig, accept/decline option), 55-63 (requester confirmation, gig status tracking, location tracking, map/navigation), 221A, 234A]).
While Catino et al. discloses ranking service providers that match a service order (Catino et al. [para. 0027, 0037, 0053, 0080]), Catino et al. fails to explicitly disclose the job order being pre-selected based on the priority designation of that job order. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (The worker module 270 of the work management server 160 sends 814 information about tasks eligible to the worker via the network 100 to the worker's user terminal 130 or 140. The worker may want to narrow down the tasks by one or more filtering parameters (e.g., wages higher than certain amount)…The work management server 160 filters the eligible tasks according to the filtering parameters and presents 822 the filtered tasks to the workers. … FIG. 9 is a graphic representation of a user interface 900 displayed to a worker for searching tasks. … the worker module 270 operates with the user terminal 130 or 140 to present two separate windows on the worker's user interface. … the display of tasks and allocation of tasks to workers are prioritized based on the highest-paying job for which the worker is qualified. … Workers may also control the tasks displayed in the first window via an advanced search feature that allows users to prioritize tasks based on criteria. … In one embodiment, the work management server 160 presents tasks similar to those selected, preferred or previously performed by the worker. Weyl et al. [para. 0143-0152, 0197 (filtering tasks based on worker location radius)]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. to include the job order being pre-selected based on the priority designation of that job order as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
While Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined disclose filtering service information data for presentation to a service provider based on user defined constraints (service user and service provider can interact with the LME through any suitable user interfaces. Catino et al. [para. 0023]. … The work near me module 224 can be configured to allow a service provider 144 to view various types of information about recent labor transactions and requests within a certain radius of their location. Catino et al. [para. 0062]), Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose steps for detecting a user is operating the computing device in a moving vehicle. Van Os et al. discloses the limitation wherein providing the user interface to display the service information includes, based at least in part on the computing device detecting a user is operating the computing device in a moving vehicle, automatically implementing the focus mode to enable the user to view the service information for the pre- selected one of the plurality of job orders without enabling the user to interact with the user interface to view service information for any other job order of the plurality of job orders. ( … an electronic device includes a display unit and a processing unit coupled with the display unit. The processing unit is configured to: enable display a first mode of a plurality of modes of the device, wherein: the plurality of modes of the device includes the first mode and a second mode; the first mode of the device is active when a first set of time and/or device location criteria are met; and the second mode of the device is active when a second set of time and/or device location criteria, distinct from the first set of time and/or device location criteria. van Os et al. [para. 0009-0010]. … FIG. 5A illustrates mode affordances 5002, 5004, 5006 corresponding to an activity mode, a work mode, and a drive mode, respectively, of the device in accordance with some embodiments. Van Os et al. [para. 0184-0186; Fig. 5]. … one or more information items of a mode interface are constrained to have a minimum area and/or minimum font size. Larger interface features are provided to improve safety when drive mode interface 5030 is active and/or when the device determines that it is located in a moving vehicle. … In some embodiments, different mode interfaces are configured to display different information originating from the same application. van Os et al. [para. 0194-0198]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mobile device context aware determinations to modify the data filtering and presentation steps of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include providing the user interface to display the service information includes, based at least in part on the computing device detecting a user is operating the computing device in a moving vehicle, automatically implementing the focus mode to enable the user to view the service information for the pre- selected one of the plurality of job orders without enabling the user to interact with the user interface to view service information for any other job order of the plurality of job orders as disclosed by van Os et al. to improve safety when drive mode interface 5030 is active and/or when the device determines that it is located in a moving vehicle (van Os et al. [para. 0195]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 2, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and van Os et al. combined disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the operations further comprise: detecting one or more conditions; (… the service provider can check-in or “clock-in” once he or she has arrived at the work site. In some embodiments, a GPS function within the LME can confirm the service provider's location relative to the site of the service before proving the service provider with the option to clock-in. The LME can be configured to not allow the service provider to check-in until the ETA based on the GPS system is a minute or less, or other suitable period of time. Catino et al. [para. 0032]. … The LME computing system 102 can generate user interfaces (e.g., user interfaces illustratively shown in FIGS. 3-17) based on the user (e.g., a service user 142, a service provider 144, and an administrator (not shown) of the LME computing system 102)…. As schematically depicted in FIG. 1, a real-time, or substantially real-time, geographic position of each user 142, 144 can be provided to the LME computing system 102, such as through GPS data received by the communications devices 120 and provided to the LME computing system 102. Catino et al. [para. 0037; Fig. 1);
and automatically implementing one of the focus mode or the browse mode in response to detecting the one or more conditions. van Os et al. discloses these limitations. (( … an electronic device includes a display unit and a processing unit coupled with the display unit. The processing unit is configured to: enable display a first mode of a plurality of modes of the device, wherein: the plurality of modes of the device includes the first mode and a second mode; the first mode of the device is active when a first set of time and/or device location criteria are met; and the second mode of the device is active when a second set of time and/or device location criteria, distinct from the first set of time and/or device location criteria. van Os et al. [para. 0007-0010]. … FIG. 5A illustrates mode affordances 5002, 5004, 5006 corresponding to an activity mode, a work mode, and a drive mode, respectively, of the device in accordance with some embodiments. Van Os et al. [para. 0184-0186; Fig. 5]. … one or more information items of a mode interface are constrained to have a minimum area and/or minimum font size. Larger interface features are provided to improve safety when drive mode interface 5030 is active and/or when the device determines that it is located in a moving vehicle. … In some embodiments, different mode interfaces are configured to display different information originating from the same application. van Os et al. [para. 0194-0198]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface modes of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include automatically implementing one of the focus mode or the browse mode in response to detecting the one or more conditions as disclosed by van Os et al. to provide different operating modes with context-based functionality (van Os et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 3, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and van Os et al. combined disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein detecting the one or more conditions includes detecting that the computing device is in a moving vehicle. (… one or more information items of a mode interface are constrained to have a minimum area and/or minimum font size. Larger interface features are provided to improve safety when drive mode interface 5030 is active and/or when the device determines that it is located in a moving vehicle. … In some embodiments, different mode interfaces are configured to display different information originating from the same application. van Os et al. [para. 0194-0198])). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface modes of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include detecting the one or more conditions includes detecting that the computing device is in a moving vehicle as disclosed by van Os et al. to provide different operating modes with context-based functionality (van Os et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 4, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and van Os et al. combined disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein detecting that the computing device is in the moving vehicle is based on sensor input from one or more sensors of the computing device. (… Device 100 optionally also includes one or more accelerometers 167, gyroscopes 168, and/or magnetometers 169 (e.g., as part of an inertial measurement unit (IMU)) for obtaining information concerning the position (e.g., attitude) of the device. van Os et al. [para. 0057]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface modes of Catino et al. and Weyl et al. combined to include detecting that the computing device is in the moving vehicle is based on sensor input from one or more sensors of the computing device disclosed by van Os et al. to provide different operating modes with context-based functionality (van Os et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 5, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and van Os et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the user interface includes a plurality of cards, each of the plurality of cards including service information for a corresponding job order of the plurality of job orders, and wherein each card includes or is associated with a feature for enabling the user to transmit a response communication to the network system for the corresponding job order. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6-7]).
Regarding Claim 6, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and van Os et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein in the focus mode, the plurality of cards are arranged in a stack that allows the user to view service information provided on one card at a time. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6-7]).
Regarding Claim 7, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and van Os et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein user interface enables the user to interact with one card at a time to navigate through the stack and view individual cards of the plurality of cards. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6-7]).
Regarding Claim 8, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and van Os et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the plurality of cards are ordered in the stack in accordance with the priority designation of each of the plurality of job orders. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (… the display of tasks and allocation of tasks to workers are prioritized based on the highest-paying job for which the worker is qualified. … Workers may also control the tasks displayed in the first window via an advanced search feature that allows users to prioritize tasks based on criteria. … FIG. 9 illustrates the "pay" filter being selected where drop-down menu 932 is displayed to allow the worker to filter the available tasks based on base pay. Weyl et al. [para. 0143-0152, 0197 (filtering tasks based on worker location radius)]; Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. and van Os et al. combined to include the plurality of cards are ordered in the stack in accordance with the priority designation of each of the plurality of job orders as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 9, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and van Os et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein in the browse mode, the plurality of cards are arranged to allow the user to view service information provided on multiple cards at one time. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6-7]. … FIG. 9 depicts an example search screen 900 through which a service provider 144 can search for available service needs. Catino et al. [para. 0076; Fig. 9]).
Regarding Claim 10, Catino et al., Weyl et al., and Abramson et al. combined disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a user activity with respect to individual cards of the plurality of cards, the user activity indicating whether the user has viewed or not viewed the service information of the card; and transmitting activity data that indicates the user activity data to the network system. (… the service provider that is selected by the service user can be notified of his or her selection and can have a certain period of time to respond to the request before it times out or otherwise expires. … If the service provider declines the request, or otherwise does not respond within the allotted time, the service user can be sent a notification via any suitable technique (e.g., in-app messaging, text message, instant message, email, etc.) and be directed … to select another service provider. If the newly selected service provider accepts the service request, the service appointment can be placed on both the calendar of the service user (i.e., the person from the construction company requesting labor in this example scenario) and the service provider. Catino et al. [para. 0029]).
Claims 11-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catino et al. (US 2023/0360099) in view of Lye et al. (US 2021/0082074), and in further view of Petrillo et al. (US 2015/0317607).
Regarding Amended Claim 11, Catino et al. discloses a network system comprising: one or more processors; a memory to store a set of instructions; wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to perform operations that include: (.. a platform for both a service user and a service provider to complete labor transactions based on service provider qualifications and service user needs. Catino et al. [para. 0023-0024]. … portions of the processes described herein can be performed using instructions stored on a computer readable medium or media that direct or otherwise instruct a computer system to perform the process steps. Non-transitory computer-readable media, as used herein, comprises all computer-readable media except for transitory, propagating signals. … The web server 114 can provide a graphical web user interface through which various users of the system can interact with the LME computing system 102. … The processor 104 may be embodied as any type of processor capable of performing the functions described herein. Catino [para. 0038-0043]);
identifying a plurality of service providers for matching, each service provider of the plurality of service providers operating a corresponding service provider device that transmits location information to the network system; (Once the search has been made, in one embodiment the construction workers that meet all of the preferences can be displayed in ascending order of time for the service provider to travel to the job site. The service user can sort or filter based on any other suitable parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0026-0027, 0035].… The search results module 206 can be configured to list a selection of service providers 144 who meet some or all requirements of a search query. The list of service providers can be ordered or ranked based on any number of parameters, such as real-time proximity to the job site. Catino et al. [para. 0053, 0069- 0073; Fig. 6-9]. … The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]. …, a GPS function within the LME can confirm the service provider's location relative to the site of the service before proving the service provider with the option to clock-in. Catino et al. [para. 0032]);
identifying a plurality of job orders for matching, each job order of the plurality of job orders including service information that includes one or more service locations indicated in a corresponding transport service request. (The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]. … , an industrial-based service user can utilize an LME to identify potential service providers to perform industrial tasks (e.g., manual labor, delivery, cleaning, etc.). In other implementations, a residential-based service user can utilize an LME to identify potential service providers to perform domestic or housekeeping tasks for the user (e.g., babysitting, lawn care, handyman services, etc.). Catino et al. [para. 0024]);
and matching each service provider of the plurality of service providers with multiple job orders of the plurality of job orders, (The preferences section 510 can include, for example, labor preferences that have been provided by the service provider 144 to the LME computing system 102. These preferences can be updated in real time by the service provider 144 and can be used by the LME computing system 102 when matching particular service providers 144 to search queries. … FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. Catino et al. [para. 0069- 0073; Fig. 6-9])
wherein for each service provider of the plurality of service providers, matching includes associating one of multiple priority designations for each matched job order, (The service user can sort or filter based on any other suitable parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0027]. … The search results module 206 can be configured to list a selection of service providers 144 who meet some or all requirements of a search query. The list of service providers can be ordered or ranked based on any number of parameters. Catino et al. [para. 0053]);
Catino et al. fails to explicitly disclose the multiple priority designations including an exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers. Lye et al. discloses this limitation. (… method of managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, by means of a processor device having a CPU cooperating with an input device and an output device, under control of stored instructions, the method comprising receiving service requests at the input device, assign service requests received in successive time periods to respective batches of requests; access stored service provider data to identify available service providers from among a pool of service providers; after completing the assignment of requests to a batch, perform a matching process to endeavour to match each service request of the batch of requests with a service provider; and for each service provider for whom a match is made, output a notification of the respective potential match from the output device. Lye et al. [para. 0008-0014, 0062-0063]. … configured to select high priority service requests 51c from among the candidate service request data 51b and to control, manage, and select high priority service providers. … high priority service requests 51c and high priority service provider data 53c are passed to a matching engine. … The matching engine output is a matching pair of available service providers and service requests. Lye et al. [para. 0080-0096, 110-111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of matching service providers with job orders before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data gathering and analysis steps of Catino et al. to include the multiple priority designations including an exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers as disclosed by Lye et al. for managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, including the dynamic matching of service requests to service providers (Lye et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
transmitting, over one or more networks, a corresponding set of job order data to the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers, wherein for each of the plurality of service providers, the corresponding set of job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device includes the service information (The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]);
Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose the corresponding set of job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device includes the associated priority designation of each of the multiple job orders that are matched to that service provider; and causing the associated service provider device of a first service provider of the plurality of service providers that is matched to a job order of the plurality of job orders having an exclusive priority designation to implement a mode that enables the first service provider to view the service information for the matched job order having the exclusive priority designation without enabling the first service provider to interact with the associated service provider device to view service information for any other job order of the multiple job orders that are matched to the service provider. Petrillo et al. discloses these limitations. (… the method may include causing, by the processor, to receive a list of one or more matched job-postings where each of the matched job-postings has an associated score value and where the list of the matched job-postings and the associated score values has been determined at least in part using a portion of the preference-selections and a portion of the one or more priority inputs. The list of matched job-postings may be displayed and organized based on a given score value associated to each of the list of the one or more matched job-postings. Petrillo et al. [para. 011-0115]. … The application 106 interfaces with a remote server 102 that uses the preference and priority prompted information to identify job opportunities that meet the candidates preferences. … the remote server 102 compares the prompted preference and priority information with the job postings to identify job-opportunities that matches such preferences. The identified job-opportunities may be ranked according to a score value determined for each job-opportunity. The remote server 102 may transmit the identified job-opportunities to the application 106. Petrillo et al. [para. 0038]. … the profile may be analyzed or matched to a repository of job listings to be presented to the candidate. For example, the career concierge system 100 may employ the candidate's profile to select the job opportunities from a set of opportunities stored in a repository to present to the candidate. Petrillo et al. [para. 0049-0053]. … A cluster-notification 600 includes one or more job opportunities that have been aggregated based on one or more given attributes received as a preference-selection or priority input. In some implementations, the career concierge system 100 may combine a pre-defined number of top matched job-opportunities as a cluster 602 where the top matched are grouped according to their determined score. Petrillo et al. [para. 0075]. … The list of matched job-postings 502 may be displayed and organized based on a given score value 516 associated to each of the list of the one or more matched job-postings. Petrillo et al. [para. 0077-0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of matching service providers with job orders before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data gathering and analysis steps of Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined to include associated priority designation of each of the multiple job orders that are matched to that service provider; and causing the associated service provider device of a first service provider of the plurality of service providers that is matched to a job order of the plurality of job orders having an exclusive priority designation to implement a mode that enables the first service provider to view the service information for the matched job order having the exclusive priority designation without enabling the first service provider to interact with the associated service provider device to view service information for any other job order of the multiple job orders that are matched to the service provider as disclosed by Petrillo et al. for matching a job candidate to a job opportunity (Petrillo et al. [para. 0001]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 12, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein for each service provider of the plurality of service providers, making a determination as to whether the service provider is or is not interested in one or more job orders of the multiple job orders that are matched to that service provider; (… the service provider that is selected by the service user can be notified of his or her selection and can have a certain period of time to respond to the request before it times out or otherwise expires. … If the service provider declines the request, or otherwise does not respond within the allotted time, the service user can be sent a notification via any suitable technique (e.g., in-app messaging, text message, instant message, email, etc.) and be directed … to select another service provider. If the newly selected service provider accepts the service request, the service appointment can be placed on both the calendar of the service user (i.e., the person from the construction company requesting labor in this example scenario) and the service provider. Catino et al. [para. 0029]);
and wherein transmitting the corresponding set of job order data to the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers includes transmitting updated job order data to the associated service provider device of each of one or more service providers based on the determination made for that service provider as to whether the service provider is or is not interested in the one or more job orders of the multiple job orders. (Throughout the searching, matching, and tracking processes, the labor marketplace exchange can facilitate various means of communication between the selected service provider and the service user. These means of communication can include, without limitation, in-app messaging, text messaging, email messaging, instant messaging, telephone calls, video calls, multimedia messaging, among of forms of communication. Continuing with the non-limiting example scenario, the service provider can check-in or “clock-in” once he or she has arrived at the work site. In some embodiments, a GPS function within the LME can confirm the service provider's location relative to the site of the service before proving the service provider with the option to clock-in. The LME can be configured to not allow the service provider to check-in until the ETA based on the GPS system is a minute or less, or other suitable period of time. Catino et al. [para. 0032]).
Regarding Claim 13, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein making the determination includes receiving, over one or more networks, job order activity data from the associated service provider device of a first service provider, the job order activity data indicating that the first service provider viewed or navigated past, but did not act, on a first job order of the multiple job orders that is matched to the first service provider. (If the service provider declines the request, or otherwise does not respond within the allotted time, the service user can be sent a notification via any suitable technique (e.g., in-app messaging, text message, instant message, email, etc.) and be directed to matches from their original search, which can in some cases include newly added service providers, in order to select another service provider. Catino et al. [para. 0029-0030, 0085]).
Regarding Claim 14, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the updated job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device of the first service provider excludes job order data for the first job order. Petrillo et al. discloses this limitation. (… the score may be determined using the preference-selections 202 and priority inputs 302 information … the system 100 may designate a value of “1” if an attribute is rated positively (for example, “thumbs up”), a value of “1” if the attribute is not rated (for example, no selection of “like” or “dislike”), and a value of “0” if the attribute is rated negatively (for example, “thumbs down”). Petrillo et al. [para. 0041-0042, 0067]. … The prompting (for the preference-selections) may display the GUI widgets 202 as part of a presented job opportunity. A portion of the one or more GUI widgets 202 may be received as a Boolean input. A portion of the one or more GUI widgets 202 may be presented as a “like” or “dislike” indicator. Petrillo et al. [para. 0077-0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined to include the updated job order data transmitted to the associated service provider device of the first service provider excludes job order data for the first job order as disclosed by Petrillo et al. to reduce the complexity of the job search, the GUI preferably displays the preference with corresponding widgets (Petrillo et al. [para. 0041]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 15, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the multiple priority designations include a non-exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched, or designated to be concurrently matched, to multiple service providers of the plurality of service providers during a matching time interval. Petrillo et al. discloses this limitation. (In some implementations, the widgets 202 may have a third state indicating no preference. To this end, a candidate may select a given widget 202 to connote a selection and select the same widget to un-select the selection. Petrillo et al. [para. 0040-0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al. and Lye et al. combined to include the multiple priority designations include a non-exclusive priority designation in which the associated job order is matched, or designated to be concurrently matched, to multiple service providers of the plurality of service providers during a matching time interval as disclosed by Petrillo et al. to reduce the complexity of the job search, the GUI preferably displays the preference with corresponding widgets (Petrillo et al. [para. 0041]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 16, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the corresponding set of job order data causes the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers to preselect the service information of the matched job order that is associated with the exclusive priority designation for display on a priority user interface panel. Lye et al. discloses this limitation. (for each service provider for whom a match is made, output a notification of the respective potential match from the output device. Lye et al. [para. 0008-0014, 0062-0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of matching service providers with job orders before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data gathering and analysis steps of Catino et al. and Petrillo et al. combined to include the corresponding set of job order data causes the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers to preselect the service information of the matched job order that is associated with the exclusive priority designation for display on a priority user interface panel as disclosed by Lye et al. for managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, including the dynamic matching of service requests to service providers (Lye et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 17, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein matching includes matching each service provider to no more than one job order having the exclusive priority designation, such that each job order having the exclusive priority designation is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers. Lye et al. discloses this limitation. (… method of managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, by means of a processor device having a CPU cooperating with an input device and an output device, under control of stored instructions, the method comprising receiving service requests at the input device, assign service requests received in successive time periods to respective batches of requests; access stored service provider data to identify available service providers from among a pool of service providers; after completing the assignment of requests to a batch, perform a matching process to endeavour to match each service request of the batch of requests with a service provider; and for each service provider for whom a match is made, output a notification of the respective potential match from the output device. Lye et al. [para. 0008-0014, 0062-0063]. … configured to select high priority service requests 51c from among the candidate service request data 51b and to control, manage, and select high priority service providers. … high priority service requests 51c and high priority service provider data 53c are passed to a matching engine. … The matching engine output is a matching pair of available service providers and service requests. Lye et al. [para. 0080-0096, 110-111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of matching service providers with job orders before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data gathering and analysis steps of Catino et al. and Petrillo et al. combined to include matching includes matching each service provider to no more than one job order having the exclusive priority designation, such that each job order having the exclusive priority designation is matched to only one service provider of the plurality of service providers as disclosed by Lye et al. for managing a plurality of transport-related service requests, including the dynamic matching of service requests to service providers (Lye et al. [para. 0002]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 18, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the operations include: receiving, over one or more networks, a response communication from the associated service provider device of a first service provider of the plurality of service providers, the response communication indicating that the first service provider accepts a first job order having the exclusive priority designation; and in response to receiving the response communication, assigning the first service provider to the first job order. (FIG. 6 depicts an example service requests screen 600 through which a service provider 144 can selectively respond to service requests 602 submitted by various service users 142. … If the service provider 144 accepts the service request 602 it can be added to the calendar of both the service provider 144 and the service user 142 requesting the service. Catino et al. [para. 0073]).
Regarding Claim 20, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, matching the plurality of service providers to the plurality of job orders based on the location information transmitted by the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers, and the service information of each of the plurality of job orders. (The LME can also utilize geolocation information to aid in providing matches to a service user as well as provide the service user with substantially real-time updates of the service provider's geolocation position. Catino et al. [para. 0020]. … The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]).
Regarding Claim 21, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the service information of the individual job orders includes one or more service locations identified with the corresponding transport service request. (The service requests 602 can include relevant information, such as the type of service, the location of the job site, the amount (for fixed fee work) or the hourly rate, the requesting service user, and so forth. Catino et al. [para. 0073; Fig. 6]).
Regarding Claim 22, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined disclose the network system, wherein the operations include: initiating, for the associated service provider device of each of the plurality of service providers, a timer that provides a time interval for each service provider to provide a response communication to accept or select one of the multiple job orders that are matched to the service provider, before transmitting the updated job order data to the associated service provider device. (… the service provider that is selected by the service user can be notified of his or her selection and can have a certain period of time to respond to the request before it times out or otherwise expires. If the service user is selected for on-demand service, he or she may have a relatively short amount of time to respond to the service request, such as a matter of minutes. If the request is for a scheduled service, there can be more time given to respond, as can be determined by the LME and/or the service user. If the service provider declines the request, or otherwise does not respond within the allotted time, the service user can be sent a notification via any suitable technique (e.g., in-app messaging, text message, instant message, email, etc.) and be directed to matches from their original search, which can in some cases include newly added service providers. Catino et al. [para. 0029]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catino et al. (US 2023/0360099) in view of Lye et al. (US 2021/0082074), in view of Petrillo et al. (US 2015/0317607), and in further view of Weyl et al. (US 2009/0204470).
Regarding Claim 19, Catino et al. Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose the network system, wherein the operations include: receiving, over one or more networks, a response communication from the associated service provider device of a first service provider, the response communication indicating the first service provider accepts a first job order having the non-exclusive priority designation; and in response to receiving the response communication, making a determination as to whether to assign the first service provider or another service provider to the first job order. Weyl et al. discloses this limitation. (The published task descriptions are viewed by workers. Workers interested in the task then apply for the task. It is then determined 430 if applications for the task are received from qualified workers. If no application is received from a qualified applicant, the process may return to modifying 418 the task descriptions, as describe below in detail with reference to FIG. 15A. If there are one or more applications for the task, the process proceeds to determine 434 if the job owner approves the worker. If the worker is not approved, the process returns to determine 430 if applications are received from other qualified workers. Weyl et al. [para. 0102-0105]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of providing an interface for job order presentation and selection, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the job opportunity presentation of Catino et al., Lye et al., and Petrillo et al. combined to include receiving, over one or more networks, a response communication from the associated service provider device of a first service provider, the response communication indicating the first service provider accepts a first job order having the non-exclusive priority designation; and in response to receiving the response communication, making a determination as to whether to assign the first service provider or another service provider to the first job order as disclosed by Weyl et al. for managing a job in an online work management system (Weyl et al. [para. 0006]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Abramson et al. (US 2015/0141043) - in certain implementations one or more of the interfaces that may be used to control various functionalities of the device (e.g., a touch interface, etc.) can be selectively (or fully) restricted. For example, a device determined to be operated by/associated with a driver of a vehicle (such as in a manner described herein) may be restricted such that a particular interface of the device (e.g., touch/touchscreen interface) may not be allowed and/or that such an interface may be restricted with respect to a particular application
Webster et al. (US 2015/0254359) - processor being configured to: display a list of one or more job search filtering scenarios within a search filtering section of a searching view of a first webpage; display a first list of one or more job openings within a job board search result section of the searching view of the first webpage based on a first set of job search filters of a first scenario selected from the list of one or more job search filtering scenarios; and in response to selecting a second scenario within the search filtering section of the first webpage, display a second list of one or more job openings within the job board search result section of the first webpage based on a second set of job search filters of the second scenario.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3623
/WILLIAM S BROCKINGTON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623