DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-12, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towata (US 20170171431 A1) in view of Sohma (US 20210243329 A1).
Referring to claims 1-2, 8-12, 16-17, and 20:
Towata discloses a system comprising a multifunction printer and an authentication server configure to perform a method comprising:
the multifunction printer having a processor (par. 24, 26: MFP 111) configured to perform the method steps of:
receiving a request to execute one or more of a print job and a scan job (par. 24, 26, 30: implied MFP 111 receives requests to execute applications 311 for scanning or printing at the MFP or from client computer 113);
forwarding a request to an authentication server for authorization to execute one or more of the print job and the scan job received by the multifunction printer (par. 31: image forming apparatus 111 . . . requests the login to the authentication server 120; par. 49: In S706, the image forming apparatus 111 transmits a login request to the authentication server 120);
receiving a response from the authentication server for the authorization to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job received by the multifunction printer (par. 31: Thereby, the function of the image forming apparatus 111 is provided to the user; par. 49: In S707, the authentication server 120 transmits the login response to the image forming apparatus 111);
executing the one or more of the print job and the scan job when the response from the identity server authorizes the execution of the one or more of the print job and the scan job (par, 51: In S710, the user uses a desired function of the image forming apparatus 111);
sending a user identity associated with the request to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job to the authentication server (par. 49: In S706, the user ID is contained is the login request); and
receiving the response from the authentication server for the authorization to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job received based on the user identity with the request to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job (par. 49: In S707, the authentication server 120 transmits the login response to the image forming apparatus 111); and
the authentication server having a processor (par. 25-26: server 120) configure to perform the method steps of:
receiving a request for authorization to execute one or more of a print job and a scan job from the multifunction printer (par. 31, 49, S706 as indicated above);
sending a response to the request for authorization to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job to the multifunction printer with approval or denial of the request for authorization to execute the one or more of the print job or the scan job based on the determination of the retrieved one or more permissions for the one or more of the print job and the scan job (par. 49: In S707 as indicated above);
receiving a user identifier associated with the request for authorization to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job from the multifunction printer (par. 49: In S706 as indicated above); and
determining if the multifunction printer is authorized to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job based on the received user identifier (par. 49: In S707 as indicated above).
Towata does not disclose the authentication server as a decentralized identity server, nor such a server retrieving from a distributed ledger, which is a blockchain, one or more permissions for the one or more of the print job and the scan job, determining if the multifunction printer is authorized to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job based on the retrieved one or more permissions for the one or more of the print job and the scan job from the distributed ledger, receiving the one or more permissions for the one or more of the print job and the scan job, recording the one or more permissions for the one or more of the print job and the scan job on the distributed ledger, or sending a notification to one or more users associated with the request for authorization received from the multifunction printer to execute the one or more of the print job and the scan job.
However, Sohma discloses a multifunction printer or MFP (image forming apparatus 101) and a decentralized identity server (blockchain apparatus 111) which retrieves from a distributed ledger (blockchain), permissions or authority for a requesting user to perform the functions of printing a document (print job) or scanning a document (scan job) on the MFP (par. 26, 45-55). The decentralized identity server (blockchain apparatus 111) records permissions for the print job and the scan job on the distributed ledger (par. 97, 136: reads on registering information on a printing or scanning process in the blockchain). The decentralized identity server (blockchain apparatus 111) notifies users associated with the request for authorization received from the MFP to execute the print job and the scan job (par. 76-84, reads on the registration screens displayed to the user for document scanning or printing).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Towata in view of Sohma to have used a decentralized identity server and distributed ledger (blockchain) as recited above in order to provide a data management method highly resistant to falsification (par. 60-61).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towata and Sohma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smits (US 20150227790 A1) and Moua (US 10893156 B1).
Referring to claims 6-7:
Towata discloses the multifunction printer authenticating a user of the multifunction printer associated with the one or more of the print job and the scan job based on a biometric identifier of the user, and the biometric identifier is from a biometric authenticator device associated the multifunction printer, the biometric authenticator device including a sensor (camera 131), the biometric identifier of the user being a physiological characteristic of the user, and the physiological characteristic is face recognition (abstract, par. 27, 46-47).
Towata further discloses the client device (client computer 113) can be a mobile device, such as a smart phone (par. 24), but does not disclose a configuration with a biometric authenticator device being associated a client device, nor the multifunction printer communication with the client device of the user via a wireless communication protocol, the wireless protocol being a near-field communication (NFC) or a Bluetooth technology standard.
However, a biometric authenticator device being associated a client device (e.g., camera on a smart phone) and communication between a multifunction printer and such a client device via wireless communication protocols such as near-field communication (NFC) or a Bluetooth technology standard are well known. Smits discloses authenticating a user of a device using a biometric camera 126 including an imaging sensor on mobile device 100 such as a smartphone (abstract, par. 29-33, 54-55). Moua discloses a scan file and user identification associated therewith of the scanning operation, the system including a mobile phone 600 and MFP 700 that can communicate via wireless communication protocols such as near field communication protocol (NFC) or Bluetooth (col. 14, lines 24-30 and col. 17, lines 32-55).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Towata and Sohma in view of Smits and Moua to include a biometric authenticator device being associated a client device (e.g., camera on a smart phone) and communication between the multifunction printer and the client device via wireless communication protocols as indicated above in order to gain the advantage of using a mobile smartphone or other mobile device that reduces power consumption and increases biometric imaging specificity for authenticating a user and provides safe and convenient user operation communicating with the multifunction printer using a wireless communication protocol that provides continuous data transfer over a secure medium-range to short-range wireless connection.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towata and Sohma as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Moua (US 10893156 B1).
Referring to claim 13:
Towata does not discloses the decentralized identity server receiving a decentralized identity code from the multifunction printer, the decentralized identity code being on contents of a scanned document, determining if the multifunction printer is authorized to execute the scan job based on the decentralized identity code and permissions associated with the decentralized identity code, and sending the response to the request for authorization to execute the scan job to the multifunction printer with approval or denial of the request for authorization to execute the scan job.
However, Moua discloses systems and methods for scan authorization including a memory storing a keyword (a code), a permission in a profile, and an action to be performed responsive to a scanning operation of a document including the keyword. A scan file and a user identification associated therewith of the scanning operation are obtained, a recognition operation is performed on an image in the scan file, and a check for the keyword in a recognized content obtained from the image is performed. Responsive to recognizing the keyword in the recognized content, a check for the permission having the user identification is performed and the action for the scanning operation is performed responsive to an outcome of the checking for the permission (see abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Towata and Sohma in view of Moua to include the feature of the decentralized identity server receiving a decentralized identity code from the multifunction printer and further responding as indicated above in order to ensure authorization to scan a particular document, in contrast to authorization to use a scanner.
Claims 3-5, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towata and Sohma as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Elhassen et al (US 20180309898 A1) and well-known prior art (MPEP2144.03).
Referring to claims 3-5, 14, and 18-19:
The combination of Towata and Sohma do not disclose the multifunction printer printing the print job with a decentralized identity code on contents of the printed print job, wherein the decentralized identity code is one or more of a uniform resource locator, a quick response code, and a user identifier, sending the decentralized identity code from the printed print job to the decentralized identity server for authorization to execute the scanning of the printed print job, receiving the response from the decentralized identity server for the authorization to execute the scan job based on the decentralized identify code, reading the decentralized identity code on the contents of the printed print job, and sending the read decentralized identity code on the contents of the printed print job to the decentralized identity server. The combination of Towata and Sohma also do not disclose the decentralized identity server recording on the distributed ledger, a history for the one or more of the print job and the scan job that have been printed or scanned including when printed or scanned and an identifier associated with the history for the one or more of the print job and the scan job that have been printed or scanned.
However, Elhassen et al disclose a document management method and system to monitor activity associated with a processed document, apply security controls to a document, and provide a full organizational audit history of documents processed. The document management system provides the ability to intercept documents as they are processed in order to identify their content and usage, and correlate any prior activity of the original or later version of the content or document, create a life cycle view of an organization's use of content and documents across their enterprise, read, recognize and extract embedded data from a secure marking technology such as glyph, image or QR code to identify and categorize the specific content and document being used in relation to other known content and documents processed, and automatically apply a document specific marking on print, copy, scan, fax, and other that represent document details such as document form, owner, user, date, time, and destination. In addition, users will not unknowingly violate an information and security violation based on configured document controls, clients have access to usage trends, history and behaviors detailing who, when and how frequent their user community uses specific organizational data and documents, and clients are able to see opportunities for process and document workflow optimization (par. 70).
Elhassen et al disclose the document management system shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7 provides a system in which users converting a document in analog form (paper document) into a digital form (an electronic document) are access controlled (restricted to copy, scan, fax, print, etc.), and prohibited from doing so if the access control does not allow such behavior. Special markers (e.g., glyphs, micro-text, bar code, Quick Response (QR) code, etc.) either identify the document or contain access control information within them. For this workflow, the access rights of the person performing the operation on a document are verified against access rules embedded within the document before completing the requested operation on the document using the requested device. A rule based system verifies the access rights. The system generates a full document lifecycle across the digital/physical boundary and provides enhanced protection of scan-based workflows (Scan, Copy, Fax). By registering with the document management system an organization's known secure markings with associated levels of access and governance each marking represents, paper documents can be secured and controlled based on the image recognition of the existing secure markings and application of controls that align with those marking(s). Users attempting to process (scan) a document with an existing secure mark printed on it, such as a watermark, glyph, micro-text, or registered QR Code are restricted to what that secure marking process and their associated user permissions have been pre-configured to allow. Control can be extended to operations such as copy, scan, fax, and print from (par. 71-72).
The audit history of processed documents recorded by the docket management system in Elhassen et al, as reflected for example by the updating of document activity logs or records in steps described with respect to Figs. 5, 7, and 10A-10B, relates to the recording history step recite in claim 14. The user's experience of interacting with the document management system in Elhassen et al, specifically control of compliant activities as described with respect to steps 502-506, 704, 706, 708, 710, and 522 in Fig. 7 (par. 84-86), as well as similar steps in Figs. 10A-10B), relates to the steps recited in claims 3-5 and 18-19. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Towata and Sohma in view of Elhassen et al to have modified the decentralized identity server to record a history on the distributed ledger as recited in claim 14 and to have modified the multifunction printer to print the print job with a decentralized identity code on contents of the printed print job, wherein the decentralized identity code is a quick response code and a user identifier (e.g., owner), and sending the decentralized identity code from the printed print job to the decentralized identity server for authorization as recited in claims 3-5 and 18-19 in order to provide a full audit history of processed documents for improved document monitoring, control, and security compliance and to provide physical security of a paper documents by preventing users from violating any information and security policies or ownership rights associated with the document.
While Elhassen et al do not recite the decentralized identity code a uniform resource locator (URL), it is notoriously old and well know to incorporate a URL in a QR code whereby documents and/or other required or useful information can be located easily and dynamically on the web, securely or otherwise. For that reason, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Towata, Sohma and Elhassen et al in view of the well-known prior art whereby the decentralized identity code can include a uniform resource locator.
Referring to claim 15:
While Sohma and Elhassen et al discloses performing user and/or administrator notifications, the combination with Towata does not include the decentralized identity server sending a notification to one or more users that the one or more of the print job or the scan job has been determined to be obsolete based on a predetermined setting associated with the one or more of the print job or the scan job.
However, it is notoriously old and well-known to notify users or administrators of documents files that have become obsolete, e.g., beyond a predetermined retention date. It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Towata, Sohma and Elhassen et al in view of the well-known prior art whereby such a notification is performed in order to mitigate legal risks, improve operational efficiency, and reduce costs associated with prolonged storage of unnecessary data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Referring to claim 5 (depending on claim 4):
While it is clear that the decentralized identity code from the printed print job sent to the decentralized identity server in claim 4 is further limited by claim 5 to be the decentralized identity code read on the contents of the printed print job, it is unclear that the code would be sent [again] to the decentralized identity server. The claim language is at best indefinite on that interpretation and should be made definite.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(IDS) submitted on 29 March 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner. Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) summarized below.
Madden (US 20150356523 A1) discloses systems and methods that allow participants in cryptocurrency networks to exchange cryptocurrency for traditional currency legally and safely without requiring the use of a traditional exchange or online brokerage as a fiduciary. The invention accomplishes this through the use of a decentralized identity verification protocol that allows a service provider to verify the identity of a participant and then publish an identity signature on the participant's cryptocurrency address or addresses.
Soundararajan et al (US 20210126796 A1) disclose a blockchain IoT system that includes a blockchain IoT device that generates event data and attests the event data using a decentralized identity provisioned to the blockchain IoT device. The blockchain IoT system further includes a blockchain network coupled to the blockchain IoT device via a network. The blockchain network includes a blockchain IoT management sub-system to receive the event data from the blockchain IoT device, verify the decentralized identity associated with the blockchain IoT device, and upon successful verification of the decentralized identity, process the event data. The blockchain network also includes a blockchain ledger sub-system to verify the processed event data and, upon successful verification of the processed event data, store the processed event data in a distributed ledger.
Soundararajan et al (US 20220006651 A1) disclose methods and systems for implementing Blockchain-based verifiable claims for use with assets in a physical world, such as Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices, are described. Verifiable claims are integrated with Root of Trust (RoT) technology, in a manner that allows verifiable claims to be linked with physical assets and a “proof” of provisioning of decentralized identity to be established. A system integrates Blockchain and IoT technologies, including Blockchain IoT device with hardware RoT implemented thereon. A validation process leverages RoT of the device to establish a decentralized “proof” of RoT on the Blockchain, which can then be used as a verifiable claim for the device. The validation process can also use the “proof” of RoT to further validate data obtained from the Blockchain IoT device, and to validate business logic allowing context based control of any subsequent transactions. Further, the validation process achieves automation with respect to trustability.
Rao et al (US 20230259918 A1) disclose techniques facilitating secure communication of private user data between different entities via an intermediary platform. In some embodiments, a computer system executes an identity service to receive via an issuer service of the identity service, credentials of a holder entity. The identity service stores the credentials in a wallet of the holder. The identity service receives, via a verifier service of the identity service, a verification request for the holder based on the credentials. In response to the holder approving the verification request, the identity service evaluates, via a blockchain using at least a decentralized identifier (DID) of an issuer entity utilizing the issuer service, the verification request, including verifying portions of user data included in the credentials. The identity service sends, via the verifier service, a response to the verification request that does not include an entirety of the credentials stored in the holder wallet.
Rao et al (US 20230259922 A1) disclose techniques facilitating secure communication of private user data between different entities for a verification process conducted during an electronic interaction between the user and a verifier entity. In disclosed embodiments, a verification service executing on a server computer system for a verification session for verifying a holder entity on behalf of a verifier entity receives a verification request from a remote computer system. The verification request includes an attestation proof generated from one or more credentials and the verification service communicates with a holder service that manages an identity storage storing credentials for the holder entity. The verification service transmits, to the verifier service, the attestation proof and then receives, from the verifier service based on the proof, verification results that are usable by the verifier to determine whether to process an action requested by the holder prior to requesting verification.
Both Rao et al references teach the general technique of a decentralized identity verification server accessing a blockchain (distributed ledger) determining whether to process (permit) an action requested by a holder.
Cited Art
The prior art and other references made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lovat et al (US 8060930 B2) disclose systems, methods and devices for imaging device credential submission wherein credentials are extracted by scanning graphical indicia on user documents using a primary document scanner to allow or deny user access to resources on a secure network, such as a document management system, from an imaging device such as an MFP.
Takeda (US 8413257 B2) disclose a document management system that executes a user manipulation specified by the certain user based on a communication between a portable identification unit and a document manipulation unit. If the user gives a command of manipulation of copy, scan, FAX transmission, etc., for the paper document 220 with the public key embedded therein, the execution control section 110 executes right authentication, namely, and determines whether or not the user is permitted to perform the manipulation for the document.
Susuki (US 8253972 B2) discloses an authorized person information management apparatus and an image processing apparatus. A document is printed with an ID code 110 (e.g., QR code) as described with respect to Fig. 4. That document is scanned to acquire the document ID and determine rights of user with respect to that document. See description of embodiments with respect to Figs. 6, 9, 12, 14, and 16.
Kim et al (US 9513857 B2) disclose a printing device includes a locked print module that is configured to examine print data received by the printing device and determine whether the print data should be processed as locked print data. If so, then the print data is stored on the printing device and not immediately processed for printing. The locked print module also authenticates a user and allows the user to request printing of the print data. The user is queried for a password and if successfully verified, the locked print module determines a password type of the password associated with the print data and identifies password control data stored on the printing device that corresponds to the password type. The locked print module processes the print data based upon the password control data to generate processed print data and causes the processed print data to be printed at the printing device.
Sun et al (US 10007472 B2) disclose a printing system includes a server, an electronic device and a print apparatus. The electronic device includes a central processing unit (CPU) and a storage device storing a printer driver. The CPU executes the printer driver to function as an authentication unit, a user information storage unit, and a job transmitter. The authentication unit transmits authentication information of a user and receives user information from the server. The user information storage unit stores the user information received by the authentication unit. The job transmitter uses the user information received by the authentication unit to transmit an instruction execution type print job to the print apparatus. If the user information is not received by the authentication unit, the job transmitter transmits the instruction execution type print job corresponding to print regulation information included in the user information stored in the user information storage unit to the print apparatus.
Nobutani et al (US 10178255 B2) disclose an image processing system includes a reception unit that receives an image forming instruction from a user, a retaining unit that retains the image forming instruction in association with the user, an acceptance unit that accepts an execution instruction from the user, an authentication unit that performs authentication of the user, and an image forming unit that executes the image forming instruction retained by the retaining unit in association with the authenticated user without accepting the execution instruction by the acceptance unit in a case where the authentication unit completes the authentication.
Nobutani et al (US 10642555 B2) disclose an image processing system includes a reception unit that receives an image forming instruction from a user, a retaining unit that retains the image forming instruction in association with the user, an acceptance unit that accepts an execution instruction from the user; an authentication unit that performs authentication of the user, and an image forming unit that executes the image forming instruction retained by the retaining unit in association with the authenticated user. The image forming unit executes the image forming instruction without accepting the execution instruction by the acceptance unit in a case where the authentication unit completes the authentication and cancellation of execution by the user is not present within a holding time.
Nobutani et al (US 10965837 B2) disclose an authentication device includes: an image capturing unit that captures an image of a person around an apparatus including the authentication device; an authentication unit that performs authentication by a facial image captured by the image capturing unit; and a selection unit, when the image capturing unit captures facial images of plural persons, that selects a facial image of a person who is determined to have a high possibility of using the apparatus from the facial images of the plural persons.
Sen et al (US 11281787 B2) disclose an electronic device includes a sensor to detect a first code and initiate a first digital scan of a print medium; a scanner to perform the first digital scan of the print medium upon detection of the first code by the sensor; and a processor to correlate the first code with a first digital scan of the print medium; identify a second code detected by the sensor; detect a second digital scan of the print medium by the scanner; and compare the first code with the second code.
Kim et al (US 11283957 B2) disclose an image forming device and an operating method of an image forming device are provided. The operating method includes receiving first authentication information corresponding to an account of a first user, when the account of the first user is authenticated according to the first authentication information, preparing an operation of the image forming device according to usage authorization of the first user; receiving a request to provide job information of the first user, obtaining a first job list of the first user from a ledger on which job information of a user with respect to a certain image forming job is recorded, based on a blockchain in which the ledger is distributed and managed, and performing a first image forming job selected from the first job list.
Su et al (US 12530158 B2) disclose a system and method for distributed storage and release of print jobs with a networked fleet of multifunction peripherals (MFSs) employs the Interplanetary File System (IPFS) for document storage with document metadata and document transactions stored on a blockchain housed on nodes formed by the multifunction peripherals. A user sends a print job to the network via a print driver on their local device. The print job is stored in the IPFS by the print driver, and the metadata and document transactions are hashed and stored to the blockchain which is managed by MFP consensus. The print job may be accessed via its content at any MFP for release and printing. Access and printing information is also added to the blockchain.
Jeran et al (US 20040027604 A1) disclose a document management method. A document is printed with a printing device configured to automatically label the document with a machine-readable code. The machine-readable code contains information, and the printing device is in data communication with a database so that the information contained in the machine-readable code on the document is also recorded in the database. The document is scanned with a scanning machine configured to extract at least some of the information from the machine-readable code. Subsequently, some of the information extracted from the machine-readable code by the scanning machine is compared with information in the database to track the document. In another aspect, the invention encompasses a document management system. Such system comprises a printing device configured to print text on documents as well as to automatically print machine-readable code on the documents. The system further comprises a database in data communication with the printing device, and which records the information printed in machine-readable code on the documents. Additionally, the system comprises a scanning machine configured to scan documents and extract at least some information from the machine-readable code, and a processor configured to compare information extracted by the scanning machine with information in the database.
Fujii (US 20080033955 A1) disclose a document management server 400 creates a distribution document that includes a document identifier in an encoded form. The document identifier is a character string of a predetermined format indicating the location of the document on the management server 400 and is encoded in a printable form such as a one-dimensional bar code, or a two-dimensional Quick Response (QR) code and is embedded in the document. See process described with respect to Fig. 14 in par. 121-129.
Iida (US 20080079990 A1) discloses a document processing device is disclosed which includes: an acquiring unit acquiring restricting information that stipulates, per user, whether execution of processing relating to a document is permitted or restricted; a converting unit converting the restricting information acquired by the acquiring unit into an optically-readable restricting information image; and an embedding unit embedding the restricting information image into information of the document, such that the restricting information image is also printed when the document is printed. Also disclosed are a document processing system including the document processing device, and a storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to execute functions of the aforementioned respective units. See Fig. 5 in particular.
Boo et al (US 20110200233 A1) disclose a low-cost method of biometric reading by using an optical scan portion of an All-In-One (AIO) type device. When generating the biometric reading, the users place a finger stationary while a scan bar of the AIO device sweeps across the placed finger to perform the scanning. User authentication is performed by a host with biometric information sent from the AIO (an MFP).
Parks et al (US 20150055182 A1) disclose an image-processing system comprising a peripheral device 10, a web server 12 associated with the peripheral device 10 an application server 13 and a mobile phone 11. The web server 12 is configured to send a registration request to register communication parameters of the peripheral device 10 in association with a piece of identification information at the application server 13. The mobile device 11 is configured to determine the piece of identification information and to send a request to the application server 13 with the determined piece of identification information. The application server 13 is configured to associate the registered details of the peripheral device 10 with the request from the mobile device 11 thereby allowing a connection to be configured between the mobile device 11 and the peripheral device 10. There is provided a mobile device comprising a printing/scanning function for sending a file for printing and/or for receiving a scanned file, the printing/scanning function including: means for reading and decoding a machine readable code in order to determine a piece of identification information; and means for sending a request to a server including the determined piece of identification information.
Kawano (US 20150264191 A1) disclose an image forming apparatus 176 capable of easy log-in to a desired cloud service includes a print engine communicable with a cloud server 170 for printing a print job received from cloud server 170, a reader/writer 174 capable of proximity communication with a portable terminal 172, and a log-in executing device receiving log-in information to cloud server 170 from portable terminal 172 through reader/writer 174, for executing the log-in process to cloud server 170 using the log-in information.
Sun et al (US 20180220043 A1) disclose a system includes an electronic device and a login system. The electronic device ensures a login in response to login information for a login received from outside of the system. The login system transmits the login information to the electronic device. The login system includes a camera, an authentication unit, a login information management unit, and an information transmitting unit. The authentication unit authenticates a user. The login information management unit manages the login information for each user. The information transmitting unit transmits the login information managed by the login information management unit for a user authenticated by the authentication unit, to the electronic device. The authentication unit authenticates the user based on a face image obtained with the camera.
Krukar et al (US 20190373137 A1) disclose blockchannel systems use encryption and block chains to create channels between sensors and monitors such as data rendering devices. For example, a document scanner (sensor) creates encrypted documents by scanning items, encrypting the scans, and publishing using a blockchain. A second device, such as a printer, actively monitors the blockchain looking for documents it can decrypt, decrypts them, and prints them. This technique negates much of the present day access coordination because the printer doesn't require a print server or print queue. A publicly accessible blockchain can be print server and print queue for every printer without requiring trust between printers, scanners, or other devices having access to the blockchain. The sensor can be a document scanner, sensor, video recorder, environmental sensor, intrusion detector, etc. The monitor can be a data rending device (printer, electronic display), data analysis equipment, fire alarm, intrusion alarm, alarm monitor, data fusion system, Al, etc.
Such Vicente et al (US 20220405352 A1) disclose receiving data encrypted using an encryption key, querying a digital ledger sever for rights associated with the received data, recording, at the digital ledger server, a request to perform an access/process operation on the data, decrypting the data using a decryption key, and determining, using the rights, whether a rendering device is authorized to access and/or process the data.
/Scott A Rogers/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
04 March 2026