DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on May 26th, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 1 of “Remarks” that “It appears to Applicant that the Office Action takes individual claim elements piecemeal and applies a reference just because it seems to fit an elements. Whatever advantage the reference provide then becomes part of the rationale for include the reference as a part of a combination of references. Such an approach fails to consider the invention as a whole, as required. MPEP 2141.02 I. Each individual element may be known in the art. But it is necessary to view the invention as a whole - all of the elements together- in order to determine properly whether it would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan to combine prior art references for a rejection under 45 U.S.C 103.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner believes that the advantages stated in the obviousness analysis constitute reasons for combination, as outlined in MPEP 2143 I G. The combined invention as a whole has been considered as per the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, and the examiner believes that the cited references in combination teach the claimed invention. This will be discussed more later with respect to specific arguments.
Applicant argues on page 1 of “Remarks” that “The Examiner's reliance on any of the cited art appears to be based almost solely on analogousness among technical fields to which the different references belong. The analogousness among technical fields then becomes the reason for adding whatever alleged advantage that a reference provides… None of [the reasons for combining references listed on pages 1-2 of “Remarks”] provides any reasoning, besides allegation of analogousness, for making the asserted combination. Each asserted advantage is provided as justification for including a references as part of the overall combination. Such an approach is tantamount to selecting a reference just because it exists, and not because there is a proper reason to bring the reference into a combination. That is not nearly enough for a prima facie case of obviousness.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2143 provides a list of examples of rationales which may support a conclusion of obviousness. Rationale G states that if a reference provides some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the prior art and that there is a reasonable expectation of success, that the rejection is proper. Examiner believes that the cited advantages for combining references provide a suggestion that the prior art could be combined to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applicant argues on page 2 of “Remarks” that “On numbered page 3 of the Office Action, the Examiner acknowledges that Culotta does not deal with scanned documents. Applicant believes this to be significant, because the Examiner's stated rationale for applying other prior art references is that they are in the field of image processing or OCR, neither of which is relevant to Culotta in the least", and argues on page 3 of “Remarks” that "None of [the previously stated] rationales applies to Culotta, and as Applicant noted, the Office Action contains no rationale whatsoever for applying Culotta.”, and that “Because Culotta has nothing to do with images or image processing or scanned documents or scanned financial documents, Applicant submits that Culotta is not a reference to which the ordinarily skilled artisan would have referred. As a result, the whole asserted prior art combination breaks down.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in MPEP 2141.01(a), a reference relied upon in a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection must be analogous to the claimed invention. So while Culotta may not be in the same field of OCR or image processing, the rationales for combination rely upon the fact that the secondary references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Furthermore, while Culotta may not perform image processing or OCR, the claimed invention is directed to more than just that. In fact, the claimed invention is directed towards completion of incomplete or obscured information by using a dictionary to search for partial information, and when a match is found, completing this partial information in the dictionary. This is the same field of endeavor as Culotta, as Culotta teaches that if partial information is found (J Conrad for example) the address book can be used to complete this information.
Applicant argues that “As the Examiner acknowledges on page 4 of the Office Action, the referenced “address book” is a system output. It is not a dictionary of information that the extracted name information is used to access. There is no concept of decipherable and indecipherable information, which elements c) and e) recite. The Office Action again acknowledges that Culotta lacks this feature. Id. And it would make sense for Culotta to lack this feature, because Culotta is not using any kind of image information, so there would be nothing that would be indecipherable; all would be decipherable. Culotta's non-use of image information - the lack of image processing - means that there would have to be some reason, besides the existence of an image processing reference, to add that reference to Culotta.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Culotta teaches in section 2 that when partial names are found, the address book can be accessed and a matching name can be found, specifically it teaches that when the name “J Conrad” is extracted, the dictionary entry containing the name “Joseph Conrad” can be merged to also include “J Conrad”. Furthermore, while Culotta lacks explicit decipherable and indecipherable information, it does teach that partial names (such as “J Conrad”) are also processed. This partial information is analogous to obscured information, as they both are data points which only contain some of the full data.
Applicant argues on page 3 of “Remarks” that “The Office Action alleges that Culotta teaches constructing a key in response to identification of one or more text and/or data fields containing desired information. This allegation of what Culotta purportedly teaches is a prime example of looking at claim elements piecemeal. The identification that the independent claims identify is the results of identifying fields in a scanned document. The Examiner acknowledges that Culotta does not disclose scanned documents. Without the context of scanning, however, the identification of fields loses its meaning as part of the overall claim.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Culotta teaches extracting data from a form field of an email. While this may not be the same as a scanned document, scanned document form fields are treated as text once they have been recognized by an OCR engine. Then, the teachings of Culotta could be applied to the OCRed text the same way they would be applied to the text from the form fields of the email.
Applicant argues on page 3-4 of “Remarks” that “On page 5 of the Office Action, the Examiner says that it would have been obvious to modify Culotta with Gopisetty to provide the advantage of image compression. But Culotta has nothing to do with image compression, nor with images. Culotta is not in the field of image processing. Culotta has no need of scanned documents, which Gopisetty allegedly provides. Again, Culotta relates to text on Web pages, and has nothing to do with images or scanned documents. Consequently, Applicant submits that the Examiner has not provided a prima facie rationale to combine Culotta with Gopisetty, much less a prima facie rationale to apply Culotta in the first place.” and that “The Office Action states that Gopisetty provides the advantage of image compression, so it would have been obvious to add Gopisetty to Culotta. But nothing in the claims of the present application has anything to do with image compression, and nothing in Culotta motivates or requires image compression. Consequently, there simply would be no reason for the ordinarily skilled artisan to have considered adding Gopisetty to Culotta.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Culotta does not pertain to image processing, it does pertain to using incomplete information to match to a dictionary to find complete information, similarly to the claimed invention. Furthermore, the combination of Culotta with Gopisetty suggests that the document which would be used as input to the system of Culotta could be a scanned document. No requirement of Culotta renders the scanned input document as incompatible. Instead, the scanned and OCRed document of Gopisetty would be treated as text when input into Culotta, similarly to how the scanned input document of the claimed invention is OCRed and then processed as text. Once information is extracted from the scanned document, the information is the same as information extracted from an email. As per the argument with respect to the advantage of image compression, the Examiner has updated the rationale to combine.
Applicant argues on page 4 of “Remarks” that "Assuming for the sake of argument that Placidi teaches what the Examiner says it does, there still is no reason to use Placidi in a combination with Culotta and Gopisetty. Beyond the deficiencies Applicant already has cited, Culotta does not have indecipherable information, and certainly says nothing about indecipherable information. Consequently, Placidi would be unnecessary in Culotta. And again, similarly to Gopisetty, Placidi is in the image processing field, while Culotta is not. This would be another reason not to combine Placidi with Culotta. Even if it were appropriate to combine Gopisetty with Placidi, no such combination would be relevant to Culotta because Culotta has nothing to do with image processing." Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed previously, Culotta teaches that partial name (such as “J Conrad”) can be used to match with full name in an address book. This teaching of partial information is analogous to obscured information, as they both represent portions of a full data point. Placidi is stated to be analogous to the claimed invention and, when modifying, is used to modify Culotta in view of Gopisetty, which includes the teaching of a scanned document as taught by Gopisetty.
Applicant argues that “It appears that the Examiner has cited Wai solely for the proposition of extracting and displaying a record. But Wai does not do this in response to any match between a dictionary record and a constructed key. Rather, Wai scans a document and if there is address information, Wai presents it to a user for selection. There may be a comparison of the extracted information with a dictionary, but there is nothing about extracting and displaying a record in response to a match between a dictionary record and the constructed key. User notification, an asserted advantage of Wai, has nothing to do with any of the other references, and nothing to do with any element of any claim in the present application. That disconnect is an important reason why the ordinarily skilled artisan would not have looked to Wai to remedy any of the deficiencies of the combination of the other three references. And again, the primary reference, Culotta, has nothing to do with image processing or OCR. As a result, there would be no motivation for the ordinarily skilled artisan to have looked to Wai, much less combine it with Gopisetty and Placidi, much less still apply a combination of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wai to a non-image processing reference like Culotta.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wai states "At block 316, the MFP determines whether the OCRed image includes address or routing information. For example, the MFP can determine if OCRed characters from the document match the format of fax numbers, email addresses, or network addresses among other possible suitable address formats. The MFP can optionally match OCRed recipients with entries in the user's address book 314." This teaching suggests that when an OCRed document is scanned, OCRed recipients that match an entry in the address book would be displayed to the user for selection. This is analogous to displaying a record in response to a match between a dictionary record and the OCRed constructed key, as the address book is compared to before the extracted information is displayed. Furthermore, the advantage of Wei shows a teaching that suggests a reason to use Wei, which would be user notification for errors between stored and OCRed data.
For at least the reasons stated above, the 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Extracting social networks and contact information from email and the Web” (herein after referred to by its primary author, Culotta) in view of “Automated forms processing software and services” (herein after referred to by its primary author, Gopisetty), “Scene Text Recognition with Semantics” (herein after referred to by its primary author, Placidi), and US10834286 (herein after referred to by its primary author, Wai).
In regards to claim 1, Culotta teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: a) responsive to receipt of an input Culotta Section 2 “The system’s input is the set of email messages in a user’s inbox… 1. Person name extraction. Names are extracted from the headers of email messages by first locating the header of the email, and then using a set of patterns to find people’s names and email addresses.”); b) responsive to identification of one or more text and/or data fields containing desired Culotta Section 2 “1. Person name extraction. Names are extracted from the headers of email messages by first locating the header of the email, and then using a set of patterns to find people’s names and email addresses.”); d) using the constructed key to access a dictionary of company information (Culotta Section 2 “The output is an automatically-filled address book of people and their contact information, with keywords describing each person, and links between people defining the user’s social network” Examiner note: In Section 1, a person’s name (analogous to the constructed key) is extracted from an email. This constructed key is used to check within the address book.); and e) responsive to a match between at least one record in the dictionary and the constructed key, Culotta Section 2 “2. Name coreference. A set of string matching rules are used to resolve multiple mentions of the same person. For example, we create rules that will merge people with the names ‘Joseph Conrad’ and ‘J Conrad’.” Examiner note: When a name is found that already exists in the address book (in this example, J. Conrad is queried and Joseph Conrad is found to already exist), the matching information is stored in the address book alongside the original information).
Culotta fails to teach an input scanned financial document; identification of one or more text and/or data fields containing desired financial information; c) wherein at least one of the identified one or more text and/or data fields has at least some of its information obscured or otherwise illegible or undecipherable, and wherein the constructing comprises using the company and/or financial information that is not obscured or is otherwise legible or decipherable; and extracting and displaying the record.
Gopisetty teaches an input scanned financial document (Gopisetty Figure 1 “Input forms”); and identification of one or more text and/or data fields containing desired financial information (Gopisetty Figure 1 “Form dropout”; System overview section “The next task is to extract images of fields that are to be recognized. The input image is carefully registered (i.e., aligned) with its matching blank form (the template image), which is stored in the system during the forms training phase. The template image is then subtracted from the registered input image, leaving only the filled in data. This is done in the "form-dropout" stage.”).
Gopisetty is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of form image processing. Furthermore, Culotta teaches performing extraction from form fields of a document, but does not teach extracting data from form fields of a scanned financial document, where the extracted data represents financial information. Gopisetty then teaches extracting data from form fields of a scanned financial document, where the form fields represent financial information. When combining these references, each reference merely performs the same function that it performs separately; Gopisetty performs a process of using intelligent character recognition to extract financial form field data from a scanned financial document, and Culotta merely treats the input document from Gopisetty as text and performs the process of creating the address book from the text data. This would yield the predictable result of an address book which contains financial company information that was created from a scanned financial document. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the process of Culotta to the scanned financial documents of Gopisetty.
Furthermore, Placidi teaches c) wherein at least one of the identified one or more text and/or data fields has at least some of its information obscured or otherwise illegible or undecipherable, and wherein the constructing comprises using the company and/or financial information that is not obscured or is otherwise legible or decipherable (Placidi Section 1 “In this work we are interested in more challenging scenarios where text contains significant distortion and obstruction to the point that some characters can be completely obscured from the image, we refer to this as hard text. Figure 1 shows examples of each text category.”)
Placidi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of image processing with blocked text. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Culotta in view of Gopisetty to include the teachings of Placidi, to provide the advantage of a system which considers the whole context of an image when performing OCR of blocked text (Placidi Section 1 “Previous STR works are focused on regular text and irregular text [1, 2, 18, 23, 24, 28, 30]. While high performance has been achieved on these tasks, past approaches struggle with imperfect and noisy input images (hard text). In this work we look at common failure cases in STR models and how models can be designed to be more robust to them. Conventional approaches to STR [1, 3, 19, 35] only consider the cropped text image when making predictions and discard the larger but useful scene, which implicitly provides information that can aid STR, particularly on hard text samples.”)
Lastly, Wai teaches extracting and displaying the record. (Wai Figure 3 316-328 Examiner note: In step 316, OCRed characters are matched against entries in an address book. The matches are then sent to a user who can select one or more, from the displayed list of matches.)
Wai is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of OCR. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Culotta in view of Gopisetty and Placidi to include the teachings of Wai, to provide the advantage of user notification when an OCRed key does not match a key in the database (Wai Column 4 Lines 51-60 “If desired, entries of the list of potential recipients are suitably compared against existing address information, such as information in a stored address book. Such comparison may identify discrepancies or errors between extracted destination information and stored information. A user is suitably prompted relative to the discrepancy. Depending on the discrepancy, the user may correct extracted information to account for erroneously entered information or information that was incorrectly OCRed.”)
In regards to claim 2, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: f) responsive to no match between at least one record in the dictionary and the constructed key, using the constructed key to correct or add one or more entries to the dictionary (Culotta Section 2 “The output is an automatically-filled address book of people and their contact information, with keywords describing each person, and links between people defining the user’s social network... 1. Person name extraction. Names are extracted from the headers of email messages by first locating the header of the email, and then using a set of patterns to find people’s names and email addresses.” Examiner note: The first time a name is found, it is added to the address book along with any identifying information such as an email address.); and g) repeating e) (Culotta Figure 1 “Name Coreference”; Section 2 “4. Contact information and person name extraction… Newly extracted people who are coreferent to people we have already discovered are resolved as in step 2.” Examiner note: The name coreference step is repeated when a new name is found that is coreferent to an existing name in the address book. This happens after the name has been found, as seen if figure 1, bottom arrow labeled ‘names’).
In regards to claim 3, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: h) repeating f) and g) until e) produces a match (Culotta Figure 1 Examiner note: In this reference, step e (name coreference) is repeated when a name is found that is coreferent to a person already discovered. Therefore, when step e is repeated, a match will be found. So, this reference teaches repeating e once, after which a match will be found and processing can continue to the next name).
In regards to claim 6, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising correcting the scanned financial document before a), the correcting including orienting and/or deskewing one or more pages of the financial document (Placidi Section 3.1 “Normalisation Word images are first processed by an image normalisation module which is used to transform a cropped text bounding box image X into a normalised image X. We use the thin-plate spline (TPS) variation of a spatial transformation network originally proposed by [30] and used more recently by [1, 18]. This normalisation essentially allows for subsequent modules to focus less on distortion correction and instead treat inputs as more regular in shape.”).
In regards to claim 7, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches the method of claim 2, wherein correction is carried out manually (Gopisetty System Overview “If the form type cannot be identified automatically, the data must be keyed in manually.”).
In regards to claim 8, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches the method of claim 2, wherein correction is carried out using a machine learning system (Placidi Section 3.1 “Normalisation Word images are first processed by an image normalisation module which is used to transform a cropped text bounding box image X into a normalised image X. We use the thin-plate spline (TPS) variation of a spatial transformation network originally proposed by [30] and used more recently by [1, 18]. This normalisation essentially allows for subsequent modules to focus less on distortion correction and instead treat inputs as more regular in shape.”).
In regards to claim 9, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the information about the company comprises company name and address information, and contact information (Culotta Section 2 “1. Person name extraction. Names are extracted from the headers of email messages by first locating the header of the email, and then using a set of patterns to find people’s names and email addresses.”).
In regards to claim 10, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the contact information comprises a telephone and/or facsimile number, or one or more email addresses (Culotta Section 2 “1. Person name extraction. Names are extracted from the headers of email messages by first locating the header of the email, and then using a set of patterns to find people’s names and email addresses.”).
In regards to claim 11, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches a system comprising: a processor; and non-volatile memory connected to said processor, said non-volatile memory containing instructions which, when the processor executes them, perform the following method (Wai Column 2 Lines 9-19 “In accordance with an example embodiment, a multifunction peripheral includes a scanning engine configured to scan a document, a memory configured to store the scanned document, and a processor configured to use optical character recognition (OCR) on the scanned document to determine recipient contact information and generate a list of recipients, and a user interface configured to present the list to the user and prompt the user to select a recipient from the determined recipient contact information. The processor then transmits the scanned document to the selected recipients.”) and renders obvious the remaining claim language as in the consideration of claim 1.
In regards to claim 12, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 2.
In regards to claim 13, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 3.
In regards to claim 16, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 6.
In regards to claim 17, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 7.
In regards to claim 18, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 8.
In regards to claim 19, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 9.
In regards to claim 20, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 10.
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei, and further in view of US6243480 (herein after referred to by its primary author, Zhao).
In regards to claim 4, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the key comprises information about a bank with which the company has one or more accounts, the information including at least a bank account number.
However, Zhao teaches wherein the key comprises information about a bank with which the company has one or more accounts, the information including at least a bank account number (Zhao Column 11 lines 5-13 “The bank verifies the check by detecting the watermark from the digital check., decrypting the digital signature with the payer's public key, and comparing the bank account number and the amount from the image with the bank account number and the amount on the face of the check. A digital check can be used in either electronic form or paper form. In the latter case, a scanner (including OCR technology and watermark reader) is needed to read the watermark from the paper check.” Examiner note: This references teaches that bank account information can be OCRed and compared against other data. This reference, when considered in combination with Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wei, suggests that the OCRed bank account number could be used as a key for a database query.).
Zhao is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of OCR. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, and Wai to include the teachings of Zhao, to provide the advantage of an OCR system which accounts for what is expected in certain contexts (Zhao Column 9 Lines 16-22 “For example, many errors can be eliminated if what is being read is specific fields, for example in a check or identification card, and the OCR equipment is programmed to take the nature of the field's contents into account. For example, if a field contains only numeric characters, the OCR equipment can be programmed to treat the letters o and O as the number 0 and the letters l,i, or I as the number 1. Moreover, if a match fails and the semantic information contains a character that is easily confused by the OCR equipment, the character may be replaced by one of the characters with which it is confused, the digest may be recomputed, and the match may again be attempted with the recomputed digest.”)
In regards to claim 5, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, Wei, and Zhao teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the dictionary of company information contains bank address information and/or bank branch address information with which to match up the bank account number (Culotta Section 2 “The output is an automatically-filled address book of people and their contact information, with keywords describing each person, and links between people defining the user’s social network.”; Zhao Column 11 lines 5-13 “The bank verifies the check by detecting the watermark from the digital check., decrypting the digital signature with the payer's public key, and comparing the bank account number and the amount from the image with the bank account number and the amount on the face of the check. A digital check can be used in either electronic form or paper form. In the latter case, a scanner (including OCR technology and watermark reader) is needed to read the watermark from the paper check.” Examiner note: The address book of Culotta could include bank account information, as this could be included in their contact information of links. Zhao then suggests that a database containing financial information could be searched using a bank account number).
In regards to claim 14, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, Wei, and Zhao renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 4.
In regards to claim 15, Culotta in view of Gopisetty, Placidi, Wei, and Zhao renders obvious the claim language as in the consideration of claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
“On the Use of an Extended Relational Model to Handle Changing Incomplete Information” teaches creating a database of information which can handle incompleteness and can later be updated to be completed.
/CALEB L ESQUINO/Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677