DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 3-4, “the outer circular piece” lacks proper antecedent basis, and should be amended to “the outer circular metal piece”; and
In lines 5-6, “the inner circular piece” lacks proper antecedent basis, and should be amended to “the inner circular plastic piece”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by von Badinski et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0220109 A1 (“von Badinski”).
As to Claim 1, von Badinski teaches the following:
A finger wearable device (“wearable computing device (WCD)”) 110 for health monitoring (see “The present disclosure describes a wearable computing device (WCD) in the form of a ring that can be worn on the finger of a human user.” in Abstract; see “FIG. 1A is a perspective view 100 of a WCD 110 illustrating an exterior window 120 in accordance with some embodiments, and FIG. 1B is a perspective view 102 of the WCD 110 of FIG. 1A illustrating an interior window 130.” in para. [0157]; and see fig. 1), the finger wearable device 110 comprising:
an outer circular piece (“outer ring”) 812A (see “Also shown in FIGS. 7 and 8 is an alternative design of the housing for the WCD where the ring includes an outer ring 812a, an inner ring 812b, and insulators 814a and 814b.” in para. [0181]), the outer circular piece 812A having two opposing ends (“outer ring 812A” has two opposing ends that correspond to the radial planes of the cylinder on both side ends of the ring, as seen in Fig. 8);
an inner circular piece (“inner ring”) 812B (see “Also shown in FIGS. 7 and 8 is an alternative design of the housing for the WCD where the ring includes an outer ring 812a, an inner ring 812b, and insulators 814a and 814b.” in para. [0181]), the inner circular piece having two opposing ends (“inner ring 812B” has two opposing ends that correspond to the radial planes of the cylinder on both side ends of the ring, as seen in Fig. 8);
sensor electronics (“example”) 500 including a printed circuit board (PCB) (“flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board”) 515 and electronic components (“modules”) 210-270 connected to the PCB 515 (see “In order to reduce the cost of manufacturing different sizes of printed circuits, in some embodiments, the modules 210-270 (of FIG. 2) are formed on a flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board, an example 500 of which is shown as FPC 515 in FIG. 5.” in para. [0187]), the sensor electronics 210-270 encapsulated in a cavity (“internal space”) 1220 between the outer circular piece 812A and the inner circular piece 812B (see “The WCD 1200 can include an overall housing 1210 that includes an internal housing 1212 and an external potting or encapsulant 1214. Together, the internal housing 1212 and external potting 1214 combine to form the overall form factor of the WCD 1200, in addition to providing a housing for one or more electronic components stored within the housing 1210 of the WCD 1200, as will be described in greater detail below.” in para. [0193]; and see “As shown, the internal housing 1212 can have a generally U-shaped internal surface 1212a to accommodate one or more internal components and can define a pair of flanges 1212b and 1212c. The external potting 1214 can extend between the flanges 1212b and 1212c of the internal housing to provide an internal space 1220 to accommodate one or more components. By virtue of the external potting 1214, the internal space 1220 defined by the internal surface 1212a and the external potting 1214 can be hermetically sealed, thereby preventing debris, dust, moisture, or any other unwanted fluids or materials from interacting with the internal components of the WCD 1200. Although not depicted, the internal components can reside within the internal space 1220, and the external potting 1214 can be disposed immediately atop the components to provide the seal.” in para. [0197]);
wherein the outer circular piece 812A and the inner circular piece 812B include attachment features (“potting layers”) 1502 and 1504 that are complementary to each other and configured to enable the outer circular piece 812A and the inner circular piece 812B to mate together at the attachment features 1502 and 1504 such that the outer circular piece 812A and the inner circular piece 812B are held together by the attachment features 1502 and 1504 and such that the outer circular piece 812A and the inner circular piece 812B create the cavity 1220 within which the sensor electronics 500 are encapsulated (see “Also shown in FIGS. 7 and 8 is an alternative design of the housing for the WCD where the ring includes an outer ring 812a, an inner ring 812b, and insulators 814a and 814b.” in para. [0181], and see fig. 8; and see “FIG. 15B is an exploded view of the WCD 1500. As shown, the WCD can include internal housing and external housing 1512 and 1514. The WCD can further include a PCB 1540 and components 1550. Once the housings 1512-1514 are assembled and the PCB 1540 and components 1550 are assembled within space defined between the housings 1512-414, potting layers 1502 and 1504 can be applied to seal the WCD at both sides thereof to ensure a secure seal.” in para. [0211], and see fig. 15B); and
an encapsulant (“external potting”) 1214 in the cavity 1220 between the outer circular piece 812A and the inner circular piece 812B (see “By virtue of the external potting 1214, the internal space 1220 defined by the internal surface 1212a and the external potting 1214 can be hermetically sealed, thereby preventing debris, dust, moisture, or any other unwanted fluids or materials from interacting with the internal components of the WCD 1200. Although not depicted, the internal components can reside within the internal space 1220, and the external potting 1214 can be disposed immediately atop the components to provide the seal.” in para. [0197]).
As to Claim 2, von Badinski teaches the following:
the attachment features (at least “potting layers”) 1502 and 1504 of the inner circular piece 812B are located at the two opposing ends of the inner circular piece 812B (see fig. 15B); and
the attachment features 1502 and 1504 of the outer circular piece 812A are located at the two opposing ends of the outer circular piece 812A (see fig. 15B).
As to Claim 3, von Badinski teaches the following:
the attachment features (at least “potting layers”) 1502 and 1504 of the inner circular piece 812B are located at the two opposing ends of the inner circular piece 812B (see fig. 15B);
the attachment features 1502 and 1504 of the outer circular piece 812A are located at the two opposing ends of the outer circular piece 812A (see fig. 15B); and
the attachment features at the two opposing ends of the inner circular piece 812B include protrusions (“flanges”) 1312b-c that create ridges (see “The external housing includes flanges 1312b-c that extend toward each other, beyond portions of the internal surface 1312a, to define a partially enclosed internal space 1320.” in para. [0202], and see fig. 13).
As to Claim 4, von Badinski teaches the following:
the attachment features (at least “potting layers”) 1502 and 1504 of the inner circular piece 812B are located at the two opposing ends of the inner circular piece 812B (see fig. 15B);
the attachment features 1502 and 1504 of the outer circular piece 812A are located at the two opposing ends of the outer circular piece 812A (see fig. 15B);
the attachment features 1502 and 1504 at the two opposing ends of the inner circular piece 812B include protrusions (“flanges”) 1312b-c that create ridges (see “The external housing includes flanges 1312b-c that extend toward each other, beyond portions of the internal surface 1312a, to define a partially enclosed internal space 1320.” in para. [0202], and see fig. 13); and
the attachment features at the two opposing ends of the outer circular piece include cavities to receive the ridges of the protrusions 1312b-c of the inner circular piece 812B (see “The external housing includes flanges 1312b-c that extend toward each other, beyond portions of the internal surface 1312a, to define a partially enclosed internal space 1320.” in para. [0202], and see fig. 13).
As to Claim 5, von Badinski teaches the following:
wherein the attachment features (at least “potting layers”) 1502 and 1504 include attachment features 1502 and 1504 at the two opposing ends of the outer circular piece 812A and attachment features 1502 and 1504 at the two opposing ends of the inner circular piece 812B (see fig. 15B).
As to Claim 6, von Badinski teaches the following:
the attachment features (at least “potting layers”) 1502 and 1504 of the inner circular piece 812B include protrusions (“flanges”) 1312b-c that create ridges at the two opposing ends of the inner circular piece 812B (see figs. 13 and 15B); and
the attachment features 1502 and 1504 of the outer circular piece 812A include surfaces at the two opposing ends of the outer circular piece 812A that mate with the ridges 1312b-c at the opposing ends of the inner circular piece 812B (see figs. 13 and 15B).
As to Claim 15, von Badinski teaches the following:
wherein the electronic components (“modules”) 210-270 include a curved battery (“battery”) 480 (see curved “battery 480” in fig. 4, and see “The battery can be a thin, flexible lithium ceramic chemistry battery. In another example, the battery can be a circular formed lithium polymer or lithium ion battery.” in para. [0182]), a photodetector (“one or more concentrated photovoltaic (CPV) cells”) 320c, and two LED banks (“light emitting diode (LED)”) 320b and 320d connected to the PCB 515 (see “As shown in the example of FIG. 3B, the sensor modules 220 can include a temperature sensor 320a, a red light emitting diode (LED) 320b, a light sensor 320c, and an infra-red LED 320d.” in para. [0167], and see fig. 3B), wherein the photodetector 320c is attached to the PCB 515 between the two LED banks 320b and 320d and one of the two LED banks 320b is attached at an inner surface of the PCB 515 directly opposite from the curved battery 480 and separated from the curved battery 480 by the PCB 515 (see figs. 3B and 4).
As to Claim 18, von Badinski teaches the following:
wherein the inner circular piece 812B includes a component bay (“housing”) 1210 to receive an electronic component 515 of the sensor electronics 500, wherein the component bay 1210 includes a recess (“internal space”) 1220 below a plane of an outer surface of the inner circular piece 812B (see figs. 12D and 12E).
As to Claim 19, von Badinski teaches the following:
wherein the inner circular piece 812B includes an alignment feature (“flanges”) 1212b and 1212c on an outer surface of the inner circular piece 812B (see “As shown, the internal housing 1212 can have a generally U-shaped internal surface 1212a to accommodate one or more internal components and can define a pair of flanges 1212b and 1212c.” in para. [0197], and see fig. 12E), wherein the alignment feature 1212b and 1212c is a protrusion on the outer surface of the inner circular piece 812E (see fig. 12E).
As to Claim 20, von Badinski teaches the following:
A finger wearable device (“wearable computing device (WCD)”) 110 for health monitoring (see “The present disclosure describes a wearable computing device (WCD) in the form of a ring that can be worn on the finger of a human user.” in Abstract; see “FIG. 1A is a perspective view 100 of a WCD 110 illustrating an exterior window 120 in accordance with some embodiments, and FIG. 1B is a perspective view 102 of the WCD 110 of FIG. 1A illustrating an interior window 130.” in para. [0157]; and see fig. 1), the finger wearable device 110 comprising:
an outer circular metal piece (“outer ring”) 812A (see “Also shown in FIGS. 7 and 8 is an alternative design of the housing for the WCD where the ring includes an outer ring 812a, an inner ring 812b, and insulators 814a and 814b.” in para. [0181]), the outer circular piece 812A having two opposing ends (“outer ring 812A” has two opposing ends that correspond to the radial planes of the cylinder on both side ends of the ring, as seen in Fig. 8);
an inner circular plastic piece (“inner ring”) 812B (see “Also shown in FIGS. 7 and 8 is an alternative design of the housing for the WCD where the ring includes an outer ring 812a, an inner ring 812b, and insulators 814a and 814b.” in para. [0181]; and see “ In one example, the material of the inner housing 1212 is conductive and nonferrous, such as aluminum, titanium, or stainless steel. In other examples, the internal housing can be formed of a polymer, such as plastic.” in para. [0194]), the inner circular piece 812B having two opposing ends (“inner ring 812B” has two opposing ends that correspond to the radial planes of the cylinder on both side ends of the ring, as seen in Fig. 8);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (“flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board”) 515 and electronic components (“modules”) 210-270 connected to the PCB 515 (see “In order to reduce the cost of manufacturing different sizes of printed circuits, in some embodiments, the modules 210-270 (of FIG. 2) are formed on a flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board, an example 500 of which is shown as FPC 515 in FIG. 5.” in para. [0187]), the PCB 515 and electronic components 210-270 encapsulated in a cavity (“internal space”) 1220 between the outer circular metal piece 812A and the inner circular plastic piece 812B (see “The WCD 1200 can include an overall housing 1210 that includes an internal housing 1212 and an external potting or encapsulant 1214. Together, the internal housing 1212 and external potting 1214 combine to form the overall form factor of the WCD 1200, in addition to providing a housing for one or more electronic components stored within the housing 1210 of the WCD 1200, as will be described in greater detail below.” in para. [0193]; and see “As shown, the internal housing 1212 can have a generally U-shaped internal surface 1212a to accommodate one or more internal components and can define a pair of flanges 1212b and 1212c. The external potting 1214 can extend between the flanges 1212b and 1212c of the internal housing to provide an internal space 1220 to accommodate one or more components. By virtue of the external potting 1214, the internal space 1220 defined by the internal surface 1212a and the external potting 1214 can be hermetically sealed, thereby preventing debris, dust, moisture, or any other unwanted fluids or materials from interacting with the internal components of the WCD 1200. Although not depicted, the internal components can reside within the internal space 1220, and the external potting 1214 can be disposed immediately atop the components to provide the seal.” in para. [0197]);
wherein the outer circular metal piece 812A and the inner circular plastic piece 812B include attachment features (“potting layers”) 1502 and 1504 that are complementary to each other and configured to enable the outer circular metal piece 812A and the inner circular plastic piece 812B to mate together at the attachment features 1502 and 1504 such that the outer circular metal piece 812A and the inner circular plastic piece 812B are held together by the attachment features 1502 and 1504 and such that the outer circular metal piece 812A and the inner circular plastic piece 812B create the cavity 1220 within which the PCB 815 and electronic components 500 are encapsulated (see “Also shown in FIGS. 7 and 8 is an alternative design of the housing for the WCD where the ring includes an outer ring 812a, an inner ring 812b, and insulators 814a and 814b.” in para. [0181], and see fig. 8; and see “FIG. 15B is an exploded view of the WCD 1500. As shown, the WCD can include internal housing and external housing 1512 and 1514. The WCD can further include a PCB 1540 and components 1550. Once the housings 1512-1514 are assembled and the PCB 1540 and components 1550 are assembled within space defined between the housings 1512-414, potting layers 1502 and 1504 can be applied to seal the WCD at both sides thereof to ensure a secure seal.” in para. [0211], and see fig. 15B); and
an encapsulant (“external potting”) 1214 in the cavity 1220 between the outer circular piece 812A and the inner circular piece 812B (see “By virtue of the external potting 1214, the internal space 1220 defined by the internal surface 1212a and the external potting 1214 can be hermetically sealed, thereby preventing debris, dust, moisture, or any other unwanted fluids or materials from interacting with the internal components of the WCD 1200. Although not depicted, the internal components can reside within the internal space 1220, and the external potting 1214 can be disposed immediately atop the components to provide the seal.” in para. [0197]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over von Badinski, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Al-Ali et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0028745 A1 (“Al-Ali”).
As to Claim 7, von Badinski teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above. Von Badinski teaches the following:
wherein the encapsulant (“external potting”) 1214 is [contained in] the cavity 1220 after the outer circular piece 812A and the inner circular piece 812B are mated together (see “By virtue of the external potting 1214, the internal space 1220 defined by the internal surface 1212a and the external potting 1214 can be hermetically sealed, thereby preventing debris, dust, moisture, or any other unwanted fluids or materials from interacting with the internal components of the WCD 1200. Although not depicted, the internal components can reside within the internal space 1220, and the external potting 1214 can be disposed immediately atop the components to provide the seal.” in para. [0197]).
von Badinski does not teach the following:
the encapsulant is injected into the cavity…
However, Al-Ali teaches the following:
an encapsulant (“encapsulant”, not labeled) is injected into a cavity (“plurality of chambers”, not labeled) (see “Light diffusing material(s) or encapsulant (for example, a flow of glass microspheres) can be injected into the plurality of chambers via the fill holes 144, and be directed to the respective emitter or detector chambers as illustrated by the arrows in FIG. 9A along a plurality of the fill channels 146 (see FIG. 9B) which are interconnected with the fill holes 144. The fill channels 146 can be located at a side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer. As shown in FIG. 9B, the side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer can further include a plurality of air vent channels 145.” in para. [0472], and see fig. 9A).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify von Badinski’s finger wearable device (“wearable computing device (WCD)”) 110 to inject the encapsulant into the cavity, as taught by Al-Ali, in order to improve the flow characteristics of the encapsulant thereby reducing air bubbles that could expose the PCB and electronics to dust, moisture or impact.
As to Claim 8, von Badinski teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above. Von Badinski does not teach the following:
wherein the encapsulant is injected into the cavity through a hole in the inner circular piece.
However, Al-Ali teaches the following:
an encapsulant (“encapsulant”, not labeled) is injected into a cavity (“plurality of chambers”, not labeled) through a hole (“plurality of the fill channels”) 146 (see “Light diffusing material(s) or encapsulant (for example, a flow of glass microspheres) can be injected into the plurality of chambers via the fill holes 144, and be directed to the respective emitter or detector chambers as illustrated by the arrows in FIG. 9A along a plurality of the fill channels 146 (see FIG. 9B) which are interconnected with the fill holes 144. The fill channels 146 can be located at a side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer. As shown in FIG. 9B, the side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer can further include a plurality of air vent channels 145.” in para. [0472], and see fig. 9A).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify von Badinski’s finger wearable device (“wearable computing device (WCD)”) 110 to inject the encapsulant into the cavity through a hole, as taught by Al-Ali, in order to improve the flow characteristics of the encapsulant thereby reducing air bubbles that could expose the PCB and electronics to dust, moisture or impact.
As to Claim 9, von Badinski teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above. Von Badinski does not teach the following:
wherein the encapsulant is injected into the cavity through a hole in the outer circular piece.
However, Al-Ali teaches the following:
an encapsulant (“encapsulant”, not labeled) is injected into a cavity (“plurality of chambers”, not labeled) through a hole (“plurality of the fill channels”) 146 (see “Light diffusing material(s) or encapsulant (for example, a flow of glass microspheres) can be injected into the plurality of chambers via the fill holes 144, and be directed to the respective emitter or detector chambers as illustrated by the arrows in FIG. 9A along a plurality of the fill channels 146 (see FIG. 9B) which are interconnected with the fill holes 144. The fill channels 146 can be located at a side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer. As shown in FIG. 9B, the side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer can further include a plurality of air vent channels 145.” in para. [0472], and see fig. 9A).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify von Badinski’s finger wearable device (“wearable computing device (WCD)”) 110 to inject the encapsulant into the cavity through a hole, as taught by Al-Ali, in order to improve the flow characteristics of the encapsulant thereby reducing air bubbles that could expose the PCB and electronics to dust, moisture or impact.
As to Claims 10 and 11, von Badinski teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above. Von Badinski does not teach the following:
an injection hole in the inner circular piece and an exhaust hole in the inner circular piece; and
wherein the injection hole is located at a first one of the two opposing ends of the inner circular piece and the exhaust hole is at a second one of the opposing ends of the inner circular plastic piece.
However, Al-Ali teaches the following:
an injection hole (“fill holes”) 144 … and an exhaust hole (“fill channels”) 146 … (see “Light diffusing material(s) or encapsulant (for example, a flow of glass microspheres) can be injected into the plurality of chambers via the fill holes 144, and be directed to the respective emitter or detector chambers as illustrated by the arrows in FIG. 9A along a plurality of the fill channels 146 (see FIG. 9B) which are interconnected with the fill holes 144. The fill channels 146 can be located at a side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer. As shown in FIG. 9B, the side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer can further include a plurality of air vent channels 145.” in para. [0472], and see figs. 9A and 9B).
wherein the injection hole 144 is located at a first [location] and the exhaust hole 146 is at a second [location] (see para. [0472], and fig. 9B).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify von Badinski’s finger wearable device (“wearable computing device (WCD)”) 110 to inject the encapsulant into the cavity through a hole, as taught by Al-Ali, in order to improve the flow characteristics of the encapsulant thereby reducing air bubbles that could expose the PCB and electronics to dust, moisture or impact.
As to Claim 12, Al-Ali teaches the following:
wherein the encapsulant (“encapsulant”, not labeled) is injected into the cavity through the injection hole 144 and gas (“air”) is exhausted through the exhaust hole 146 (see “Light diffusing material(s) or encapsulant (for example, a flow of glass microspheres) can be injected into the plurality of chambers via the fill holes 144, and be directed to the respective emitter or detector chambers as illustrated by the arrows in FIG. 9A along a plurality of the fill channels 146 (see FIG. 9B) which are interconnected with the fill holes 144. The fill channels 146 can be located at a side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer. As shown in FIG. 9B, the side of the opaque frame 126 facing away from the tissue of the wearer can further include a plurality of air vent channels 145. Air can escape into the vent channels 145 as the diffusing material solution or encapsulant is injected into the respective chambers via the fill holes 144, making it easier for the injected solution to flow into the respective chamber.” in para. [0472], and see figs. 9A and 9B).
As to Claim 13, Al-Ali teaches the following:
wherein the injection hole 144 and the exhaust hole 146 are located in a sidewall of the inner circular piece (see fig. 9B).
9. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over von Badinski, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ryan et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0296104 A1 (“Ryan”).
As to Claim 16, von Badinski teaches the following:
wherein the inner circular piece has two through holes that pass from the inner surface to the outer surface, and
wherein battery charging contacts are located within the two through holes, the battery charging contacts being electrically connected to a curved battery in the cavity.
However, Ryan teaches the following:
an inner circular piece (“fingerband”) 800 (see fig. 8a) has two through holes (“holes in the encapsulation”, not labeled) that pass from an inner surface (not labeled) to an outer surface (not labeled) (see “One system for recharging exposes two or more contacts via holes in the encapsulation. A charging fixture may then make connection to provide charging power using resilient contacts in the fixture.” in para. [0189]), and
wherein battery charging contacts (“two or more contacts”) are located within the two through holes (“holes in the encapsulation”, not labeled), the battery charging contacts (“two or more contacts”) being electrically connected to a curved battery (“curved rechargeable battery”) 810 (see fig. 8a) in the cavity (see “One system for recharging exposes two or more contacts via holes in the encapsulation. A charging fixture may then make connection to provide charging power using resilient contacts in the fixture.” in para. [0189]; and see “FIG. 8 shows design drawings illustrates the physical configuration of a fingerband 800 according to an embodiment of the invention. Thus FIG. 8a shows a perspective view of fingerband 800, FIG. 8b a view from the side, and FIG. 8c a view from the end, all showing the internal components embedded in the fingerband elastomer 802. … The fingerband is powered by a curved rechargeable battery 810.” in para. [0221]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify von Badinski’s finger wearable device (“wearable computing device (WCD)”) 110 to Ryan’s two through holes (“holes in the encapsulation”, not labeled), wherein battery charging contacts (“two or more contacts”) are located within the two through holes (“holes in the encapsulation”, not labeled), the battery charging contacts (“two or more contacts”) being electrically connected to a curved battery (“curved rechargeable battery”) 810, in order to “provide charging power using resilient contacts in the fixture” (see Ryan, para. [0189]).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 14, neither von Badinski, Al-Ali, nor the prior art of record teaches the finger wearable device of base claim 1, including the following, in combination with all other limitations of the base claim:
wherein the PCB includes a first section and a second section, wherein the second section is thinner than the first section and wherein the first section has electronic components attached on both an inner side and an outer side of the PCB and the second section has electronic components attached on only an inner side of the PCB.
As to Claim 17, neither von Badinski, Al-Ali, nor the prior art of record teaches the finger wearable device of base claim 1, including the following, in combination with all other limitations of the base claim:
the inner circular piece has ridges that form a channel at an outer surface of the inner circular piece; and
the outer circular piece has ridges that from a channel at an inner surface of the outer circular piece;
wherein the ridges of the inner circular piece are mated with the ridges of the outer circular piece to create the cavity,
wherein the ridges of the inner circular piece are mated with the ridges of the outer circular piece around a circumference of the inner circular piece and a circumference of the outer circular piece.
Conclusion
/NAVIN NATNITHITHADHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 02/06/2026