DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 4-7 in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the outer layers and exterior members are recited in an unclear and indefinite manner. The first outer layer installation process includes a step “in which an exterior member as one outer layer among a plurality of exterior members…is installed on a jig plate.” The claim goes on to recite a second outer layer installation process which includes a step “in which the exterior member as another outer layer among the plurality of exterior members…is placed…”. It is unclear whether “the exterior member” in the second outer layer installation step is the same or different from the previously recited exterior member in the first outer layer installation process. Based upon the instant specification and figures, it appears that there are two separate exterior members on opposing sides of the protection target. Applicant should clearly recite two separate exterior members rather than referring to each one as “the exterior member.” For example, the claim could recite a first exterior member and a second exterior member. Examiner notes that this issue persists in all dependent claims and renders such claims indefinite as well. Correction is required throughout the claims for definiteness.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “an inner layer installation process in which a protection target part…is routed in the exterior member.” The claim then goes on to recite “the exterior member on which the protection target part is placed.” It is unclear from these two different recitations whether the protection target part is routed in the exterior member or placed on the exterior member. For examination purposes, the claims have been construed as reciting a protection target part which is placed on the exterior member.” Consistent terminology should be used throughout the claims.
Claim 4 recites “a joining process in which the plurality of exterior members are joined together.” This is unclear because only two exterior members are described clearly within the claim. It is unclear whether any additional exterior members are present and how such members are utilized within the method. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting two exterior members which are joined.
Claim 5 recites “an exterior member of an inner layer” in line 5 and again in lines 13-14. It is unclear what is meant by an exterior member of an inner layer because exterior and inner are antonyms which are mutually exclusive. It is unclear how a single member may form both an inner layer while also being an exterior member.
The repeating steps of claim 5 are unclear and indefinite. The claim recites “alternately repeating routing of the protection target part and installation of an exterior member of an inner layer within the plurality of exterior members.” It is unclear whether separate protection target parts and exterior members are utilized in each step or if single parts are repeatedly routed and installed. The claim has been construed as reciting alternately installing protection target parts and inner layers during the inner layer installation process.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the tube is penetrated into the exterior member” in line 12. It is unclear which exterior member is being referred to in such limitation because multiple exterior members are previously recited. For examination purposes, any tube which penetrates one or more exterior members will be considered to meet the limitation.
Double Patenting
Claims 4-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 9 of co-pending Application No. 18/625,211 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations of the instant claims are also presented in the reference application. The reference application only differs in that it has more narrow claims which also recite a mold release member installing process.” Since all of the limitations of claims 4-6 are found in claims 1, 5, and 9 of the reference application, the instant claims would have been anticipated by those of the reference application and are therefore not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima (US 2017/0327060).
Nakajima teaches a method of making a wire harness (10), the method comprising: placing first-side nonwoven plates (21a,22a,23a) on a work table (T), placing a wire bundle (11) on the first-side nonwoven plates, placing second-side nonwoven plates (21b,22b,23b) on the wire bundle and first-side nonwoven plates, and bonding the first- and second-side nonwoven plates by welding (See Figures; [0029]-[0042]; [0053]-[0058]). The first-side nonwoven plates, work table, wire bundle, and second-side nonwoven plates read on the instantly claimed first outer layer, jig plate, protection target part, and second outer layer, respectively. The welding step reads on the instantly claimed joining process. Regarding the first exterior member having a meshed sheet shape, Nakajima shows exterior members with regularly spaced through hole portions (See Figures) and also discloses nonwoven fabrics, woven fabrics, knitted fabrics, and other flexible lightweight porous materials (See [00038]-[0040]), all of which have a meshed sheet shape as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 2017/0327060).
Nakajima teaches a method of making a wire harness, as detailed above.
Regarding claim 5, Nakajima teaches a single step of placing a wire bundle (11) on the first-side nonwoven plates and a single step of placing second-side nonwoven plates (21b,22b,23b) on the wire bundle and first-side nonwoven plates, as detailed above. Nakajima does not expressly disclose repeating these steps to provide additional layers as claimed. The repetition of known prior art steps does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art unless a new or unexpected result is achieved. In this case, repeating the placing steps provides a predictable result of creating additional layers of wires and nonwoven plates and therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 6, Nakajima teaches that the work table includes support jigs (J1) in the form of support pins which serve as wiring guides (See Figures; [0045]-[0046]). Using the work table support jigs as wiring guides reads on the instantly claimed step of passing the protection target through a gap between two electric wire routing pins along a routing path for the protection target part on the jig plate. Nakajima also teaches that the first- and second-side nonwoven plates include through hole portions (21h,22h,23h) through which the support pins are inserted (See Figures; [0045]), which reads on the instantly claimed step of inserting the routing pins into mesh through holes of the exterior member in the respective installation processes.
Claim 6 also recites the limitation “the wire routing pin thicker than a mesh through hole in the exterior member.” While Nakajima does not expressly disclose this relationship, there are only three possible relationships between the size of the through hole portions and the support pin thickness in the method of Nakajima: equal size, pins larger than holes, and pins smaller than holes. Since there are only three possible relationships, each with a predictable result for how the plates would be supported on the work table, the selection of such a relationship would be a routine matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art which does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 2017/0327060), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Gotou (US 2013/0292159).
Nakajima teaches a method of making a wire harness, as detailed above.
Nakajima does not expressly disclose eyelet fasteners comprising a tube and a collar which are installed on the jig plate, penetrate an exterior member, and then crimp the exterior members together.
Gotou teaches a method of manufacturing a wire harness (11), the method comprising: laying a second sheet material (29,75) on an operation bench, placing wires (13) on the second sheet material, and covering the wires with a first sheet material (27,73), wherein the first and second sheets materials are adhesively bonded to one another to form the wire harness (11) (See Figures; [0045]-[0050]; [0063]-[0065]; [0084]-[0087]). The step of laying the second sheet material on the operation bench reads on the instantly claimed first outer layer installation process of installing a first sheet-like exterior member on a jig plate. The step of placing wires on the second sheet material reads on the instantly claimed inner layer installation process of routing at least one protection target part/routing wire to the first exterior member. The step of covering the wires with the first sheet material reads on the instantly claimed second outer layer installation process of overlaying a second sheet-like exterior member on the protection target part. The adhesive bonding reads on the instantly claimed joining process in which first and second exterior members are joined together.
Gotou teaches clamps (33) which include a central shaft (39) and a pressure generating part (37) extending from the central shaft, wherein the shaft penetrates a hole (31) of the second sheet material and crimps the first and second sheet materials (See Figures; [0052]-[0065]). The clamp, central shaft, and pressure generating part read on the instantly claimed eyelet fastener, tube, and collar, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the clamps of Gotou in the method of Nakajima. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching Gotou that to do so would predictably allow the wiring harness to be installed at a desired location (See [0003]; [0058]).
Conclusion
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746