Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Massey et al. (US 20090169171 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Massey teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
generating a client message associated with a streaming platform event, wherein the client message specifies a duration of the streaming platform event and one or more prohibited client device functionalities that are stopped from executing on at least one client device for the duration of the streaming platform event (generating a notification associated with a stream of primary media content, wherein the notification indicates a predetermined period time and one of playback functionalities that is stopped from executing on at least one client device for the predetermined period of time, e.g., stop playing or pause the primary media content for a predetermined period of time - see FIGs. 2 & 4, 0026, 0027, 0038, 0039);
identifying one or more client devices associated with the streaming platform event (identifying client devices, e.g., 202b, 202c, 202e in FIG. 2, associated with the stream of the primary media content – see FIG. 2, abstract, 0024); and
broadcasting the client message to the one or more client devices to cause the one or more client devices to stop the one or more prohibited client device functionalities for the duration of the streaming platform event (transmitting the notification to the client devices, e.g., 202b, 202c, and 202e, to cause the client devices stop playing or pause the primary media content during the predetermined period of time – see 0026, 0027, 0038, 0039).
Regarding claim 3, Massey teaches that wherein the one or more prohibited targeted client device functionalities comprise client device functionalities that are at least one of non-user facing client device functionalities or user-facing client device functionalities (the user-facing client device functionalities such content playback functionalities at the client devices – see abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Massey teaches that wherein the user-facing client device functionalities comprise one or more of automatic preview playback functionalities, automatic content playback functionalities, or automatic profile gallery functionalities (e.g., automated media content playback functionalities – see abstract, 0017, 0024, 0026, 0036).
Regarding claim 6, Massey taches identifying the one or more client devices that are associated with the streaming platform event that possesses one or more predetermined streaming platform system characteristics (identifying one or more client devices that are associated with the stream of primary media content that have are coordination and synchronization of playback of the primary media content – see abstract, 0036, 0038).
Regarding claim 7, Massey teaches generating an updated client message associated with the streaming platform event, wherein the client message indicates additional prohibited client device functionalities; and broadcasting the updated client message to the one or more client devices to cause the one or more client devices to stop the additional prohibited client device functionalities for a remaining duration of the streaming platform event (generating a further notification associated with the stream of primary media content, wherein the notification indicates one of playback functionalities – see 0011, 0029; and transmitting the further notification to the client devices to cause stop pausing the primary media content, i.e., resuming of playback of the primary media content, for a remaining duration of the stream of the primary media content – 0011, 0029, 0032, 0044).
Regarding claims 9, 11 and 13-15, see rejections of claims 1, 3 and 5-7, respectively.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, see rejections of claims 1 and 7, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massey et al. (US 20090169171 A1) in view of DiVincezo et al. (US 20170054800 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Massey does not disclose that wherein the streaming platform event comprises a live streaming event, wherein the non-user facing client device functionalities comprise one or more of logging functionality, prefetch functionality, probe functionality, DNS lookup functionality, gateway retry functionality, or bit-rate cap functionality. DiVincenzo discloses performing content prefetching for live or linear streaming content. Prefetching live or linear streaming content segments involves continually reissuing requests to the origin until the segments are obtained or a preset retry duration is completed. See abstract, 0014, 0015, 0025. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Massey by performing content prefetching for live streaming content as taught or suggested by Divincezo to reduce resource utilization in the distribution system.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, see rejection of claims 2 and 4.
Claims 8, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massey et al. (US 20090169171 A1) in view of Brueck et al. (US 20110022471 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Massey lacks to teach generating an updated client message associated with the streaming platform event, wherein the client message indicates an updated duration of the streaming platform event; and broadcasting the client message to the one or more client devices to cause the one or more client devices to resume the one or more targeted client device functionalities in response to determining that the streaming platform event has ended based on the updated duration. However, Brueck discloses that an update message sent over the connections to the media players indicate the time of the advertisement, and the duration of the advertisement break in a case the schedule of the live streaming event changes. In one embodiment, the update message is used for end-of-advertisement markers to allow the media player to know when to return to the live streaming event. The media player may return to the live streaming event after completion of the advertisement for the duration of the advertisement break. See abstract, 0025, and 0027. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Massey by generating an updated client message associated with the streaming platform event, wherein the client message indicates an updated duration of the streaming platform event; and broadcasting the client message to the one or more client devices to cause the one or more client devices to resume the one or more targeted client device functionalities in response to determining that the streaming platform event has ended based on the updated duration as disclosed or suggested by Brueck to provide real-time updates to the user devices for properly playing content of a live streaming event and advertisement when the schedule of the live streaming event changes.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Massey lacks to teach the streaming platform event comprising a live streaming event; and generating an updated client message associated with the streaming platform event, wherein the client message indicates an updated duration of the streaming platform event; and broadcasting the client message to the one or more client devices to cause the one or more client devices to resume the one or more targeted client device functionalities in response to determining that the streaming platform event has ended based on the updated duration. However, Brueck discloses that an update message sent over the connections to the media players indicate the time of the advertisement, and the duration of the advertisement break in a case the schedule of the live streaming event changes. In one embodiment, the update message is used for end-of-advertisement markers to allow the media player to know when to return to the live streaming event. The media player may return to the live streaming event after completion of the advertisement for the duration of the advertisement break. See abstract, 0025, and 0027. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Massey by including a live streaming event; and generating an updated client message associated with the streaming platform event, wherein the client message indicates an updated duration of the streaming platform event; and broadcasting the client message to the one or more client devices to cause the one or more client devices to resume the one or more targeted client device functionalities in response to determining that the streaming platform event has ended based on the updated duration as disclosed or suggested by Brueck to provide real-time updates to the user devices for properly playing content of a live streaming event and advertisement when the schedule of the live streaming event changes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGOC K VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421