DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220103857 A1 (hereinafter HUO)
US 20220232246 A1 (Lee)
US 20200195948 A1 (hereinafter Li)
US 20230336770 A1 (Li70)
WO 2020098808 A1 (hereinafter WIPO808)
Yoshitaka Kidani et al. "AHG12: Diagonal MMVD with ARMC" 1-1 Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29, JVET- WO0112, 16 July 2021 (hereinafter Kidani)
US 20220078408 A1 (hereinafter Park)
US 20200389656 A1 (For claim 11; para 172-175; zero MVD or offset size “0” of Table 2-1 is used if block size meet a constraint {para 175}, otherwise other offset from the tables are used)
US 20200107017 A1 (para 176-184)
S. Jeong, M. W. Park, Y. Piao, M. Park, K. Choi, “J. Li, R.-L. Liao, C. S. Lim, “CE4-related: Improvement on ultimate motion vector expression”, JVET-L0408, October 2018 (uses two adaptive distance/offset approaches: (1) picture resolution adaptive distance table {If the picture resolution is not larger than 2K, i.e., 1920×1080, Table 9 is used as a base distance table. Otherwise, Table 10 is used as a base distance table.} and (2) occurrence-based distance table reordering)
Claim interpretation
1. (Currently Amended) A method for video processing, comprising:
determining, during a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, a motion candidate for the current video block based on merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) with an initial set of search points, a first direction of a first search point in the initial set of search points being non-vertical and non-horizontal; and
performing the conversion based on the motion candidate,
wherein: information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the- fly
It should be noted the “a first” should simply means it differentiate from another. It should not be confused with “the first”. “An additional direction” is any direction that is more than “a predetermined set of directions”. “A predetermined set of directions” is any two or more directions that is associated with the initial set of search points. For instance, if the initial set of search points has 8 directions. 4 of them can be added direction to 4 other predetermined direction. It should be noted that “a first direction” can be any of “an additional direction” or “a predetermined set of directions”.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim prior art rejection have been fully considered they are moot in view of new ground of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, 13, 17-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUO in view of Lee.
Regarding Claim 1. HUO teaches a method for video processing, comprising: determining, during a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video [(para 2-3, 57; encoding/decoding)] , a motion candidate for the current video block based on merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) with an initial set of search points [(para 21)] , a first direction of a first search point in the initial set of search points being non-vertical and non-horizontal: [(diagonal direction such as upper left {para 5}}. As per applicant’s published specification para 37, “first” is used to differentiate from other {such as second only};)] and performing the conversion based on the motion candidate [(para 5, 57)] .
HUO does not explicitly show wherein information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly [(para 235, use of 8 or 4 direction is determined on the fly and signaled . Use of 8 means using additional directions to a predetermined 4 directions, Tables 6-8 & para 232-235 )]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would improve coding and computation efficiency through intelligent selection of directions.
HUO additionally teaches with respect to following claims
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first direction is at an angle equal to a fraction of 180°, [(Fig. 4; diagonal/bold arrow; Note: one of claimed alternative is sufficient to teach the claim)]
or wherein the initial set of search points comprise search points with directions at angles equal to k×360°N+180°N, where N is an integer, and k ranges from 1 to N.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein distance offsets of the initial set of search points are asymmetric,
or wherein distance offsets of the initial set of search points are the same [(para 37, 42; step length=>distance offset)] ,
or wherein angles of directions of the initial set of search points are asymmetric.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of directions, and the initial set of directions are determined by adding the first direction to a predetermined set of directions [(para 39, 49)] ,
or wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of directions, and the initial set of directions are determined by replacing a direction in a predetermined set of directions with the first direction,
or wherein distance offsets or directions of the initial set of search points are indicated by an index, the index being coded jointly or separately for the distance offsets and the directions [(para 51)] .
6. wherein information on the number of direction associated with initial set of set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly or [(Huo teaches at least “information on the number of directions associated with the initial set of search points” either indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly through “N directions” (in para 7, 25) , total directions in para 49, 83-84, direction index in para 51.
Please note because of the alternative language there are 4 options in the limitation. Teaching any one of the limitation would be suffice. Para 49-50 indicated that with the initial 4 directions additional 4 directions are added. The predetermined set of direction associated with the initial set of search points is 4. Please note this predetermined set of direction does not have to include all the directions of initial set of search points; it is any set that is associated with initial set of search points. Additionally, para 82 and 85/Table 4 indicates direction index in the bitsream that is “information on the number of directions…”; Para 5 indicates N directions, with N equal to or larger than 1, this N also indicates number of direction)]
Wherein the information on whether to add the additional direction is dependent on a size of the current video block
8. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following is dependent on a picture resolution, a reference picture list, and/or a low-delay check flag of the current video block: information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points [(based on resolution more search direction {para 45, Fig.3})] , or an additional direction to be used for the current video block,
or wherein at least one of the following is indicated in the bitstream: information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points, or
an additional direction to be used for the current video block, or wherein the number of directions of the initial set of search points for the current video block is larger than a further video block, a temporal layer of the current video block is lower than the further video block.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of distance offsets [(para 39, Table 2, step length)] , and the initial set of distance offsets are determined by adding at least one additional distance offset to a predetermined set of distance offsets [(para 39, 44)] or by removing at least one distance offset from the predetermined set of distance offsets
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the initial set of distance offsets are predetermined, or the initial set of distance offsets are indicated in the bitstream, or the initial set of distance offsets are determined on-the-fly [(para 39)] .
13. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following is dependent on a direction and/or a magnitude of a base MV for the current video block: information on whether to apply an additional direction [(para 39, 49)], information on whether to apply an additional distance offset, an additional direction to be applied on the current video block, or an additional distance offset to be applied on the current video block, or wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of distance offsets, the initial set of distance offsets are determined based on a magnitude of a base MV for the current video block.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream. [(para 2-3, 57; encoding/decoding)]
Regarding Claim 18-19 ,21: See analysis of claim 1 and para 158, 57 of HUO
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 13, 17-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUO in view of Li70.
Regarding Claim 1. HUO teaches a method for video processing, comprising: determining, during a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video [(para 2-3, 57; encoding/decoding)] , a motion candidate for the current video block based on merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) with an initial set of search points [(para 21)] , a first direction of a first search point in the initial set of search points being non-vertical and non-horizontal: [(diagonal direction such as upper left {para 5}}. As per applicant’s published specification para 37, “first” is used to differentiate from other {such as second only};)] and performing the conversion based on the motion candidate [(para 5, 57)] .
HUO does not explicitly show wherein information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Li70 teaches wherein information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly [(para 275; “The search can be performed toward a horizontal direction and a vertical direction. In an example, the search is followed by diagonal direction(s) only if a zero vector is not the best difference vector found from the horizontal search and the vertical search.”. Using additional directions to a predetermined directions. All directions are associated with initial search points)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would improve coding and computation efficiency through intelligent selection of directions.
HUO additionally teaches with respect to following claims
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first direction is at an angle equal to a fraction of 180°, [(Fig. 4; diagonal/bold arrow; Note: one of claimed alternative is sufficient to teach the claim)]
or wherein the initial set of search points comprise search points with directions at angles equal to k×360°N+180°N, where N is an integer, and k ranges from 1 to N.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein distance offsets of the initial set of search points are asymmetric,
or wherein distance offsets of the initial set of search points are the same [(para 37, 42; step length=>distance offset)] ,
or wherein angles of directions of the initial set of search points are asymmetric.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of directions, and the initial set of directions are determined by adding the first direction to a predetermined set of directions [(para 39, 49)] ,
or wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of directions, and the initial set of directions are determined by replacing a direction in a predetermined set of directions with the first direction,
or wherein distance offsets or directions of the initial set of search points are indicated by an index, the index being coded jointly or separately for the distance offsets and the directions [(para 51)] .
6. wherein information on the number of direction associated with initial set of set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly or [(Huo teaches at least “information on the number of directions associated with the initial set of search points” either indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly through “N directions” (in para 7, 25) , total directions in para 49, 83-84, direction index in para 51.
Please note because of the alternative language there are 4 options in the limitation. Teaching any one of the limitation would be suffice. Para 49-50 indicated that with the initial 4 directions additional 4 directions are added. The predetermined set of direction associated with the initial set of search points is 4. Please note this predetermined set of direction does not have to include all the directions of initial set of search points; it is any set that is associated with initial set of search points. Additionally, para 82 and 85/Table 4 indicates direction index in the bitsream that is “information on the number of directions…”; Para 5 indicates N directions, with N equal to or larger than 1, this N also indicates number of direction)] or Wherein the information on whether to add the additional direction is dependent on a size of the current video block
8. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following is dependent on a picture resolution, a reference picture list, and/or a low-delay check flag of the current video block: information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points [(based on resolution more search direction {para 45, Fig.3})] , or an additional direction to be used for the current video block,
or wherein at least one of the following is indicated in the bitstream: information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points, or
an additional direction to be used for the current video block, or wherein the number of directions of the initial set of search points for the current video block is larger than a further video block, a temporal layer of the current video block is lower than the further video block.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of distance offsets [(para 39, Table 2, step length)] , and the initial set of distance offsets are determined by adding at least one additional distance offset to a predetermined set of distance offsets [(para 39, 44)] or by removing at least one distance offset from the predetermined set of distance offsets
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the initial set of distance offsets are predetermined, or the initial set of distance offsets are indicated in the bitstream, or the initial set of distance offsets are determined on-the-fly [(para 39)] .
13. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following is dependent on a direction and/or a magnitude of a base MV for the current video block: information on whether to apply an additional direction [(para 39, 49)], information on whether to apply an additional distance offset, an additional direction to be applied on the current video block, or an additional distance offset to be applied on the current video block, or wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of distance offsets, the initial set of distance offsets are determined based on a magnitude of a base MV for the current video block.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream. [(para 2-3, 57; encoding/decoding)]
Regarding Claim 18-19 ,21: See analysis of claim 1 and para 158, 57 of HUO
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 13-14, 17-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lee.
Regarding Claim 1. Li teaches A method for video processing, comprising: determining, during a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video [(para 10-12, 145; encoding/decoding)] , a motion candidate for the current video block based on merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) with an initial set of search points [(para 132, 134; from multiple starting points search are performed in different directions {para 139-142})] , a first direction of a first search point in the initial set of search points being non-vertical and non-horizontal: [(with other than hor and ver direction i.e. diagonal direction {para 146, Fig.16} ; As per applicant’s published specification para 37, “first” is used to differentiate from other {such as second only};)] and performing the conversion based on the motion candidate [(para 145 encoding/decoding)] .
Li does not explicitly show wherein information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein information on whether to add an additional direction to a predetermined set of directions associated with the initial set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly [(para 235, use of 8 or 4 direction is determined on the fly and signaled . Use of 8 means using additional directions to a predetermined 4 directions, Tables 6-8 & para 232-235 )]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would improve coding and computation efficiency through intelligent selection of directions.
Li additionally teaches with respect to following claims
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first direction is at an angle equal to a fraction of 180°, [(Fig. 16; diagonal 00 or 10; Note: one of claimed alternative is sufficient to teach the claim)]
or wherein the initial set of search points comprise search points with directions at angles equal to k×360°N+180°N, where N is an integer, and k ranges from 1 to N.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein distance offsets of the initial set of search points are asymmetric,
or wherein distance offsets of the initial set of search points are the same [(para 153, 150)] ,
or wherein angles of directions of the initial set of search points are asymmetric.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of directions, and the initial set of directions are determined by adding the first direction to a predetermined set of directions [(para 141)] ,
or wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of directions, and the initial set of directions are determined by replacing a direction in a predetermined set of directions with the first direction,
or wherein distance offsets or directions of the initial set of search points are indicated by an index, the index being coded jointly or separately for the distance offsets and the directions [(para 150; signaled =. Coded; they are concatenated to form binary order code {para 157})] .
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the index is coded with binary code [(para 157)] or truncated binary code, or wherein the index is coded with truncated unary code, or wherein the index is coded with Rice code or exponential Golomb code of a predetermined order, or wherein the index is coded in a bypass mode, or wherein the index is coded in a context mode, or wherein at least one bin of the index is context coded, or wherein first M bins of the index are context coded based on the same context or independent contexts, where M is an integer.
6. wherein information on the number of direction associated with initial set of set of search points is indicated in the bitstream or determined on-the-fly or [(Li para 146, the direction table is selected on the fly (para 146), each table is associated with set number of directions, therefore teaches “information on the number of directions associated with the initial set of search points” is determined on the fly
Li direction index (para 151) indicates “information on the number of directions associated with the initial set of search points”. For instance, an index of 11 means at least 4 directions in the table. An index 01 means at least 2 direction. Therefore, it teaches “information on the number of directions associated with the initial set of search points” is indicated in the bitstream.
)] or Wherein the information on whether to add the additional direction is dependent on a size of the current video block
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of distance offsets [(para 139 and note distance index is associated with index and distance offset in pel {para 150})] , and the initial set of distance offsets are determined by adding at least one additional distance offset to a predetermined set of distance offsets or by removing at least one distance offset from the predetermined set of distance offsets [(para 147 and Table 6 & 7; ½-pel is removed in Table 7)] .
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the initial set of distance offsets are predetermined, or the initial set of distance offsets are indicated in the bitstream, or the initial set of distance offsets are determined on-the-fly [(para 147, determined adaptively or on-the-fly)] .
13. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following is dependent on a direction and/or a magnitude of a base MV for the current video block: information on whether to apply an additional direction [(par 146, Fig.16; additional diagonal direction are used based on according to the direction of base MV)] , information on whether to apply an additional distance offset, an additional direction to be applied on the current video block, or an additional distance offset to be applied on the current video block, or wherein the initial set of search points are associated with an initial set of distance offsets, the initial set of distance offsets are determined based on a magnitude of a base MV for the current video block.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the current video block is associated with a target set of base MV candidates [(para 133-134)] , and the target set of base MV candidates are determined by adding at least one additional base MV candidate to a predetermined set of base MV candidates [(para 133; (i) merge candidates employed in the merge mode {teaches predetermined set of base candidates}, (ii) merge candidates from a history buffer in the HMVP mode {teaches additional base candidate})] , or
wherein the current video block is associated with a target set of base MV candidates, and the target set of base MV candidates are determined by removing at least one existing base MV candidate from a predetermined set of base MV candidates.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream. [(para 10-12, 145; encoding/decoding)]
18. An apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon , wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform [(para 11-12, 36)] acts comprising: and see analysis of claim 1
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform [(para 11-12)] acts comprising: and see analysis of claim 1
Regarding Claim 21: See analysis of claim 1 and para 36
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUO in view Lee in view of WIPO808.
Regarding Claim 7: HUO in view of Lee does not explicitly show if an area of the current video block is larger than a threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if an area of the current video block is smaller than a threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if a width of the current video block is larger than a first threshold, the addition direction is added, if a height of the current video block is larger than a second threshold, the addition direction is added, or if the width of the current video block is larger than the first threshold and the height of the current video block is larger than the second threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if a width of the current video block is smaller than a first threshold, the addition direction is added, if a height of the current video block is smaller than a second threshold, the addition direction is added, or if the width of the current video block is smaller than the first threshold and the height of the current video block is smaller than the second threshold, the addition direction is added.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, WIPO808 teaches if an area of the current video block is larger than a threshold, the addition direction is added [(WIPO808 page 27, 12.e-f; please note UMVE=>MMVD {para 127})] , or wherein if an area of the current video block is smaller than a threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if a width of the current video block is larger than a first threshold, the addition direction is added, if a height of the current video block is larger than a second threshold, the addition direction is added, or if the width of the current video block is larger than the first threshold and the height of the current video block is larger than the second threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if a width of the current video block is smaller than a first threshold, the addition direction is added, if a height of the current video block is smaller than a second threshold, the addition direction is added, or if the width of the current video block is smaller than the first threshold and the height of the current video block is smaller than the second threshold, the addition direction is added.
Therefore in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would improve performance.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUO in view of Lee in view of Kidani.
Regarding Claim 15: HUO in view of Lee does not explicitly show reordering a plurality of motion candidates for the current video block, the plurality of motion candidates being determined based on merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD).
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Kidani teaches reordering a plurality of motion candidates for the current video block, the plurality of motion candidates being determined based on merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD). [(Kidani section 2.Proposal,)]
Therefore in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would improve performance [(Kidani introduction)]
Regarding Claim 16: Kidani additionally teaches, The method of claim 15, wherein reordering the plurality of motion candidates comprises: reordering the plurality of motion candidates based on a template matching approach, [(Kidani section 2.Proposal, to improve performance)]
or wherein the reordering is early terminated.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUO in view of Lee in view of Park.
Regarding Claim 11: HUO in view of Lee does not explicitly show wherein the initial set of distance offsets are determined based on a size of the current video block.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein the initial set of distance offsets are determined based on a size of the current video block. [(Park , para 357)]
Therefore in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Park additionally teaches, with respect to claim 12. The method of claim 11, wherein the initial set of distance offsets for the current video block is different from a further video block, an area of the current video block is larger than a threshold, and an area of the further video block is smaller than the threshold [(para 358, 359)]
Claims 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lee in view of WIPO808.
Regarding Claim 7: Li in view of Lee does not explicitly show if an area of the current video block is larger than a threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if an area of the current video block is smaller than a threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if a width of the current video block is larger than a first threshold, the addition direction is added, if a height of the current video block is larger than a second threshold, the addition direction is added, or if the width of the current video block is larger than the first threshold and the height of the current video block is larger than the second threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if a width of the current video block is smaller than a first threshold, the addition direction is added, if a height of the current video block is smaller than a second threshold, the addition direction is added, or if the width of the current video block is smaller than the first threshold and the height of the current video block is smaller than the second threshold, the addition direction is added.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, WIPO808 teaches if an area of the current video block is larger than a threshold, the addition direction is added [(WIPO808 page 27, 12.e-f; please note UMVE=>MMVD {para 127})] , or wherein if an area of the current video block is smaller than a threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if a width of the current video block is larger than a first threshold, the addition direction is added, if a height of the current video block is larger than a second threshold, the addition direction is added, or if the width of the current video block is larger than the first threshold and the height of the current video block is larger than the second threshold, the addition direction is added, or wherein if a width of the current video block is smaller than a first threshold, the addition direction is added, if a height of the current video block is smaller than a second threshold, the addition direction is added, or if the width of the current video block is smaller than the first threshold and the height of the current video block is smaller than the second threshold, the addition direction is added.
Therefore in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would improve performance.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lee in view of Kidani.
Regarding Claim 15: Li in view of Lee does not explicitly show reordering a plurality of motion candidates for the current video block, the plurality of motion candidates being determined based on merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD).
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Kidani teaches reordering a plurality of motion candidates for the current video block, the plurality of motion candidates being determined based on merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD). [(Kidani section 2.Proposal,)]
Therefore in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would improve performance [(Kidani introduction)]
Regarding Claim 16: Kidani additionally teaches, The method of claim 15, wherein reordering the plurality of motion candidates comprises: reordering the plurality of motion candidates based on a template matching approach, [(Kidani section 2.Proposal, to improve performance)]
or wherein the reordering is early terminated.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lee in view of Park.
Regarding Claim 11: Li in view of Lee does not explicitly show wherein the initial set of distance offsets are determined based on a size of the current video block.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein the initial set of distance offsets are determined based on a size of the current video block. [(Park , para 357)]
Therefore in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Park additionally teaches, with respect to claim 12. The method of claim 11, wherein the initial set of distance offsets for the current video block is different from a further video block, an area of the current video block is larger than a threshold, and an area of the further video block is smaller than the threshold [(para 358, 359)]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426