DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 3/16/2026. Currently claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 9-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Hu et al (numerals and paragraph numbers used in the OA is based upon US 20240418907. The PCT filing date and US 63/283803 dates are relied upon for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)).
Regarding claim 1, Hu et al teach an optical pattern projection device, comprising: one or more light emitter (emitter array – [0058]); and a first optical metasurface (610) coupled to the one or more light emitter, configured to project, reshape and/or split light beams generated by the one or more light emitters to generate a projected light pattern, the first optical metasurface containing at least two superposed phase profiles (zone 1, zone 2) formed in a single flat optics layer, the at least two phase profiles performing different functions ([0059-61] outer zone 2 of MS-1 deflect while zone 1 selectively allowing passing of certain state such as polarization, wavelength) in from each other, each of the at least two phase profiles being configured to modulate, collimate, focus, diverge, deflect, shape split, diffract or diffuse the light beams from the one or more light emitters.
Regarding claim 2, Hu et al teach a second optical metasurface (620) spaced apart (630) from the first optical metasurface, the second optical metasurface containing a light shaping and/or projection phase profile configured to modulate, collimate, focus, diverge, diffuse, and/or deflect the light beams ([0056-0058]) from the one or more light emitters (light emitting array), wherein the first and second optical metasurfaces cooperate with each other to produces a defined relationship between light emitter position or light property and corresponding beam projection angle or light property ([0056-0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Hu et al teach the defined relationship is a linear relationship between light emitter position and beam projection angle (see figure 6, where light is being projected from element 660 and create projection angle perpendicular to element 610).
Regarding claim 4, Hu et al teach (see at least figure 6) the first and second optical metasurfaces have identical sizes.
Regarding claim 5, Hu et al teach at least one of the at least two superposed phase profiles is configured to split or diffract light (see solid/dash line diffracted shown in figure 6) so as to spatially or angularly distribute the light beam from each of the one or more light emitters into multiple channels.
Regarding claim 6, Hu et al teach a plurality of light emitters, wherein the projected light pattern including a plurality of sub-patterns each corresponding to one of the light emitters. That is, the emitter array ([0058]) includes multiple emitters, and each of the projected light by each of the emitters are construed as sub-patterns.
Regarding claim 7, Hu et al teach the plurality of sub- patterns are identical in shape and are shifted in positions relative to each other, and wherein the plurality of sub-patterns either overlap each other or are non-overlapping with each other. That is, the emitter array includes plurality of light emitting elements located in different locations which is shifted. The emitted light by shifted emitters are also shifted by elements 610 and 620.
Regarding claim 8, Hu et al teach (see figure 6) the projected light pattern is a 2-D or 3-D pattern including one or more of arrays of dots, lines, matrices, letters, graphics, holograms, random patterns, gray-scale patterns, uniform patterns, and diffusive patterns.
Regarding claim 10, Hu et al teach a spacer (630) positioned between the first optical metasurface and the one or more light emitters.
Regarding claim 11, Hu et al teach (fig. 6) the first optical metasurface is flat, curved, or conformally integrated with its substrate.
Regarding claim 12, Hu et al teach (array of emitters) the one or more light emitters are one or more light sources, one or more optical channels, an image, or a light pattern.
Regarding claim 13, Hu et al teach ([0056-0058]) a plurality of light emitters, wherein the first optical metasurface is configured to provide different responses for different properties of light from the plurality of light emitters, wherein the properties of light are a wavelength, a polarization, an angle of-incidence, or an intensity of the light beam.
Regarding claim 14, Hu et al teach the light emitter or plurality of light emitters are configured to emit light beams with same (same emitter array) or different properties of light, wherein the properties of light are a wavelength, a polarization, a beam divergence, or an order.
Regarding claim Claim 15, Hu et al teach an optical pattern detection device which includes: another optical metasurface (620) configured to modulate, shape, collimate, focus, diverge, deflect, split, diffract, or diffuse the light beams; and one or more multiple light receivers coupled to the other optical metasurface.
Regarding claim 16, Hu et al teach (Fig. 6) the first optical metasurface and the other optical metasurface are formed on separate, partially overlapping, or fully overlapping portions of a same substrate.
Regarding claim 17, Hu et al teach the light receiver includes photodetectors ([0057]-detector array) or optical channels.
Regarding claim 18, Hu et al teach a light emitter array ([0058-65] – emitter array) including a plurality of light emitters; and one or more flat optics layers (610 and 620), configured to project and split light beams generated by the plurality of light emitters (3 point sources shown in figure 7A) to generate a projected light pattern ([0058-0065] – see also figure 7A), the projected light pattern including a plurality of sub-patterns (7A shows the overlapping of the projected light) each corresponding to one of the light emitters, wherein the sub-patterns are identical in shape, are shifted in position relative to each other, and overlap each other (see figure 7A).
Regarding claim 19, Hu et al teach the optical pattern projection device of claim 18, further comprising an optical pattern detection device which includes: another flat optics layer (620) configured to modulate, shape, collimate, focus, diverge, deflect, split, diffract, or diffuse the light beams; and a light receiver coupled (optically) to the other flat optics layer.
Regarding claim 20, Hu et al teach an optical pattern projection device, comprising: a light emitter array ([0058]) including a plurality of light emitters; and a flat optics layer (620) coupled to the light emitter array, configured to project, reshape and/or split light beams generated by the plurality of light emitters to generate a projected light pattern, the projected light pattern including a plurality of sub-patterns (each of the light emitter generate light that is construed as a sub pattern) each corresponding to one of the light emitters, wherein the flat optics layer includes superposed phase profiles (different profile for light of different polarization), including a phase profile (polarization) for beam collimation and projection in which different regions of the flat optics are configured for coupling light beams from different light emitters, and a beam splitting phase profile configured to spatially distribute the light beam from each light emitter into multiple channels (see figure 7 where 7A shows when 660 is an emitter array located on the right hand side of figure 7A, the resultant of the projection ends on the left hand side of figure 7A).
Regarding claim 21, he optical pattern projection device of claim 20, further comprising an optical pattern detection device which includes: another flat optics layer (620) configured to modulate, shape, collimate, focus, diverge, deflect, split, diffract, or diffuse the light beams; and a light receiver coupled (optically) to the other flat optics layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al in view of Hu et al (US Patent 11206978).
Regarding claim 9, Hu et al teach the invention set forth above. Hu et al (‘907 publication) do not specifically teach the projected light pattern reaches a diagonal field of view of approximately 170 degrees. Hu et al teach (‘978 patent) teach FOV between 70-200 degrees. It would have been obvious at the time of invention to design optical element having projection diagonal field of view approximately 170 degrees to create wider field of view.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, applicant argues “[0056] does not teach that the single metasurfaace MS-1 (or MS-2) ‘contain[s] at least two superposed phase profiles formed in a single flat optics layer’ as recited in amended claim”. [0060] of Hu teaches “horizontally polarized light (indicated by the solid rays in Fig. 6) entering one or more selected zones of the metasurface (e.g., outer zone 2 of MS-1 in Fig. 6) may be deflected and trapped inside the first substrate via total internal reflection as illustrate, while vertically polarized light (indicated by the dashed rays) is transmitted through the same zone(s) and reshaped.” Fig. 6 clears shows Metasurface Ms-1 containing two phase profiles performing different functions from each other and are formed in a single optics layer.
Regarding claim 18, applicant argues [0058-0060] along with Figure 7A does not “meet the requirements of claim 18”. Applicant further argues “Figure 7A does not teach or suggest generating ‘a plurality of sub-patterns each corresponding to one of the light emitter, wherein the sub-patterns are identical in chape, are shifted in position relative to each other, and overlap each other”.
There is at least one overlapping sub-patterns indicated by the rectangle shown aobve. Furthermore, [0064-0068] teaches light emitting array (micro-leds) can be used for high quality image production. The micro-leds are understood to have same/similar specs results in similar optical characteristic as shown in figure 7A.
Conclusion
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK