DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2016/0066412 A1~hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) a display module, comprising: a display panel (44) comprising a planar area (153; [0051]) and a curved surface area (155; [0051]) disposed at an edge of the planar area (see at least figs. 2A-2C); a stress buffer layer (51; [0057]; i.e. the adhesive layer) disposed on a light exit side of the display panel (44) to be opposite to the planar area and a part of the curved surface area (see figs. 2A-2C); a protective layer (50; [0065]) disposed on a surface of the stress buffer layer away from the display panel (44), wherein the protective layer (50) comprises a planar portion and a curved portion (see at least figs. 2A-2C), the planar portion is disposed opposite to the planar area (see at least figs. 2A-2C), and the curved portion is disposed opposite to the curved surface area (see at least figs. 2A-2C); and a first light-shielding layer (52; [0057]; [0066]) disposed in the stress buffer layer (51) or between the stress buffer layer and the display panel to be opposite to a part of the curved portion, wherein an edge of the first light-shielding layer (52) is aligned with an edge of the stress buffer layer (best seen in at least fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) the stress buffer layer comprises: a first transparent adhesive layer (51) disposed on an inner surface of the planar portion and an inner surface of a part of the curved portion (see figs. 2A-2C); and a base material layer (41) disposed between the first transparent adhesive layer (51) and the display panel (44); wherein the first light-shielding layer (52) is disposed between the base material layer and the display panel or between the first transparent adhesive layer (51) and the base material layer (41).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) a polarizing layer (43; [0058]) disposed between the display panel (44) and the stress buffer layer (51); and a second transparent adhesive layer (42; [0060]) disposed between the polarizing layer (43) and the stress buffer layer (51), wherein the first light-shielding layer (52) is disposed between the second transparent adhesive layer (42) and the stress buffer layer (51).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) a support layer (240; [0073]) disposed on a surface of the display panel (44) away from the protective layer (50).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) a method of manufacturing a display module, comprising: forming a first light-shielding layer (52) in a stress buffer layer (51) or on a surface of the stress buffer layer, an edge of the first light-shielding layer (52) being aligned with an edge of the stress buffer layer (see at least fig. 2A); providing a protective layer (50) comprising a planar portion (153) and a curved portion (155) disposed at an edge of the planar portion; bonding a surface of a part of the stress buffer layer (51) that is not provided with the first light-shielding layer (52) to a surface of the planar portion and a surface of a part of the curved portion (see fig. 2A); and bonding a display panel (44) to a surface of the stress buffer layer (51) away from the protective layer (50) to form the display module, wherein the display panel (44) comprises a planar area and a curved surface area disposed at an edge of the planar area (see figs. 2A-2C), the planar area is disposed opposite to the planar portion (see figs. 2A-2C), and the curved surface area is disposed opposite to the curved portion (see figs. 2A-2C).
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) a display apparatus, comprising a display module (40), wherein the display module (40) comprises: a display panel (44) comprising a planar area and a curved surface area disposed at an edge of the planar area (see figs. 2A-2C); a stress buffer layer (51) disposed on a light exit side of the display panel (44) to be opposite to the planar area and a part of the curved surface area (see figs. 2A-2C); a protective layer (50) disposed on a surface of the stress buffer layer (51) away from the display panel (44), wherein the protective layer (50) comprises a planar portion (153) and a curved portion (155), the planar portion (153) is disposed opposite to the planar area, and the curved portion (155) is disposed opposite to the curved surface area; and a first light-shielding layer (52) disposed in the stress buffer layer or between the stress buffer layer (51) and the display panel (44) to be opposite to a part of the curved portion, wherein an edge of the first light-shielding layer (52) is aligned with an edge of the stress buffer layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2016/0066412 A1~hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claims 8, 14 and 15, Choi does not expressly disclose the first light-shielding layer has a thickness greater than or equal to 15 microns and less than or equal to 20 microns; the base material layer has a thickness greater than or equal to 50 microns and less than or equal to 100 microns; and the first transparent adhesive layer has a thickness greater than or equal to 50 microns and less than or equal to 200 microns.
However, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) a first light-shielding layer (52); a base material layer (41) and a first transparent adhesive layer (51).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thicknesses through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited thicknesses are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using the layer thicknesses of Choi.
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses all the claimed limitations except for the base material layer has an elastic modulus greater than or equal to 2 GPa and less than or equal to 6 GPa.
However, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) a base material layer (41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the base material layer of Choi with an elastic modulus greater than or equal to 2 GPa and less than or equal to 6 GPa through routine experimentation and optimization.
Regarding claim 13, Choi does not expressly disclose the base material layer comprises polyethylene terephthalate or polyimide.
However, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) a base material layer (41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider using polyethylene terephthalate or polyimide to form the base material layer of Choi, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) the curved portion (155) comprises a first curved portion (see at least figs. 2A-2C), and a second curved portion (see at least figs. 2A-2C) connected to the first curved portion and disposed on a side of the first curved portion away from the planar portion (153); the first light-shielding layer (52) is disposed opposite to at least a part of the first curved portion (see figs. 2A-2C); but fails to disclose the display module further comprises a second light-shielding layer at least partially disposed on a surface of the second curved portion close to the display panel. Claims 3-7, 9 and 10 are objected due to their dependency upon claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2A-2C) the curved portion (155) comprises a first curved portion, and a second curved portion connected to the first curved portion and disposed on a side of the first curved portion away from the planar portion (see at least fig. 2A), the method further comprising: before forming the first light-shielding layer (52), but fails to disclose forming a second light-shielding layer on a first surface of the second curved portion at a concave side of the second curved portion or on both the first surface and a side surface of the second curved portion away from the first curved portion.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875