DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fehr (US 2019/0381947).
Fehr discloses a modular and convertible system for a truck bed comprising a first rail (10) and a second rail (10) mountable parallel to and spaced apart from the first rail, as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed in paragraph [0022]. The first rail (10) is configured to separately secure a bicycle (16), as shown in Figure 1. The first and second rails (10) are configured to support at least one cover selected from the group consisting of a bed cover and a camper shell, as disclosed in paragraph [0021].
In reference to claim 2, a detachable first wheel lock (36,38) is coupled to the first rail (10) and engages against the wheel (34), as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 3, a detachable second wheel lock (36,38) is coupled to the first rail (10) and offset from the first wheel lock (36,38) in the front rear direction of the vehicle, as shown in Figure 1. The second wheel lock is configured to engage against a wheel (34) that is different form the wheel engaged by the first wheel lock, as shown in Figure 1.
Claims 23 and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deckard et al. (US 2021/0114445).
Deckard et al. discloses a modular and convertible truck bed system comprising a first rail (44), a second rail (48) mountable parallel to and space apart from the first rail (44), a first camper shell panel (208) detachably coupled to the first rail (44), a second camper shell panel (212) detachably coupled to the second rail (48), a third camper shell panel (268) detachably coupled between the first camper shell panel (208) and the second camper shell panel (212), and a fourth camper shell panel (270) detachably coupled between the first camper shell panel (208) and the second camper shell panel (212), as shown in Figures 1-8b. The third and fourth camper shell panels (268,270) are parallel to the plane formed by the first and second rails (44,48), as shown in Figure 6.
In reference to claim 25, the first and second rails further provide a base for a bed cover. The panels (208,212,262-270) form a bed cover so the base provides a base for the bed cover. Alternatively, the claim only requires a base. The phrase “for a bed cover” is given little patentable weight since the claim is not claiming the combination of the base and the bed cover. The base can be used with a bed cover.
In reference to claim 26, the third and fourth camper shell panels (268,270) are approximately the same size, as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0053].
In reference to claim 27, the fifth caper shell panel (218) is coupled between the first camper shell panel (208) and the second camper shell panel (212), as shown in Figure 7. The third and fourth camper shell panels (268,270) are interchangeable in position relative to the fifth camper shell panel (218) such that in a first configuration the fifth camper shell panel (218) is connected to the third camper shell panel and a second configuration where the fifth camper shell panel (218) is connected to the fourth camper shell panel, as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0053], since the third and fourth panels are disclosed as identical.
In reference to clam 28, the first, second, third, and fourth camper shell panels are stackable with each other when not coupled together. This requires only the ability to stack the panels. Top panels (262-270) are specifically disclosed to nest, as disclosed in paragraph [0053]. The panels are capable of being stacked.
In reference to claim 29, the camper shell panels are made of fiberglass or molded polymer, as disclosed in paragraph [0047].
In reference to claim 30, a fifth camper shell panel (218) is coupled between the first and second camper shell panels (208,212), as shown in Figures 4 and 7. At least two of the first camper shell panel (208), the second camper shell panel (212), the third camper shell (268), the fourth camper shell (270) and the fifth camper shell (218). Multiple panels can fold with respect to one another, as disclosed in paragraph [0050].
In reference to claim 31, the first rail (44) provides a base. The phrase “for a bicycle rack” is given little patentable weight since the claim is not claiming the combination of the base and the bicycle rack. The base can be used with a bicycle rack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fehr (US 2019/0381947) in view of Griffin (6,126,225).
Fehr disclose the combination of the rails and truck bed covers, as disclosed in paragraph [0022]. However, Fehr does not disclose the specifics of the bed cover.
Griffin teaches forming a bed cover from a plurality of planks (37), as shown in Figures 1 and 2. Each bed cover plank (37) is detachably coupled to and secured between first and second rails (33), as shown in Figures 2 and 3 and disclosed on lines 1-10 of column 3. Each bed cover plank (37) is within the plane formed by the first and second rails (33), as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 5, each rail (33) has a horizontal channel (33) along the length of the rail (33), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on lines 1-10 of column 3. Each plank (37) is configured to engage with the horizontal channel (33) along the length of each rail (33), stay between the first and second rails (33), and slide along the horizontal channel along the length of each rail, as shown in Figures 2 and 3 and disclosed on lines 1-10 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form horizontal channels that slidingly receive bed cover planks to the first and second rails of Fehr, as taught by Griffin, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a simple, low cost bed cover to protect items stored in the truck bed.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fehr (US 2019/0381947) in view of Beal (4,648,649).
Fehr disclose the combination of the rails and truck bed covers, as disclosed in paragraph [0022]. However, Fehr does not disclose the specifics of the bed cover.
Beal teaches providing a camper shell (10) formed of a plurality of camper shell panels that are detachable to first and second rails (12). A shell panel forms each of the front, the rear, the right, and the left of the camper shell (10), as shown in Figures 1 and 2. Each camper shell panel extends away from the plane formed by the first and second rails (12), as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
In reference to claim 7, the camper shell panels include a first camper shell panel detachably coupled to the first rail and a second camper shell panel detachably connected to the second rail, as shown in Figure 1. A third camper shell panel, the top, is coupled between the first and second camper shell panels, as shown in Figure 1. The third camper shell panel has a plane parallel to the plane formed by the first and second rails (12), as shown in Figure 1. The first and second camper shell panels each have a plane forming an angle with the plane formed by the first and second rails, as shown in Figures 1-3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detachably connect a plurality of camper shell panels to the first and second rails of Fehr, as taught by Beal, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a cover that protects large items that extend above the side walls of the truck bed.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deckard et al. (US 2021/0114445) in view of Singer (US 2021/0170847).
Deckard et al. discloses a fifth camper shell panel (218) is coupled to the fourth camper shell panel (270) and detachable from the fourth camper shell panel (270), as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0044]. Panels can be hinged relative to other panels, as disclosed in paragraph [0050].
However, Deckard et al. does not explicitly disclose the fifth camper shell panel is foldably coupled to the fourth camper shell panel.
Singer teaches a fifth camper shell panel (142d) that is foldably coupled a fourth camper shell panel (142c), as shown in Figures 13 and 14 and disclosed in paragraph [0096].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention foldably couple the fifth camper shell panel to the fourth camper shell panel of Deckard et al., as taught by Singer, with a reasonable expectation for success to allow access to the truck bed without having to remove a panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued Fehr fails to disclose “the first and second rails further configured to support at least one cover selected from the group consisting of a bed cover and a camper shell’, as required by claim 1. The examiner disagrees because the phrase “configured to support at least one cover” requires the rails to be capable of supporting a cover. Fehr is used in combination with a bed cover so its use does not prevent the vehicle from having both the rails and a bed cover. The rails are capable of supporting a bed cover because rails are commonly used to support bed covers and camper shells.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Price (5,303,858) shows the combination of a bicycle rack and rails of a truck bed system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 September 28, 2026