DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MOTOR WITH HOLLOW SHAFT AND SCREW SHAFT AND METHOD OF MANUFACTURING THE SAME.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO2021002603, “Kim”) in view of Yoshimura (US20080297010, “Yoshimura”).
Re claim 1, Kim discloses a motor 100 including a stator 20 and a rotor 30 disposed to be spaced apart from an inner circumferential surface of the stator (figs 1-3, [24]), wherein:
the rotor includes a hollow shaft 31 having a tubular shape and one end portion 316 fitted into an inner ring of a bearing 14 fixedly disposed in the motor (fig 3, [33]) and a screw shaft 10 having one end portion inserted into a hollow portion provided in the one end portion 316 of the hollow shaft (figs 2-3, [25]); and
an alignment part for axial alignment with the hollow shaft (figs 2-3 & below, alignment part indicated below aligns shaft since it is inserted before coupling part) and a coupling part for preventing slipping on the hollow shaft (figs 2-3 & below, coupling inherent as shown in fig 3 since shaft has knurl as understood from the figs.) are provided on the one end portion of the screw shaft 10 (figs 2-3 & below).
Kim discloses claim 1 except for the hollow shaft one end portion is press-fitted into an inner ring of the bearing.
Yoshimura discloses the hollow shaft 41 end portion is press-fitted into an inner ring of the bearing 42b (fig 2, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the end portion of the hollow shaft of Kim to be press-fitted into an inner ring of the bearing, as disclosed by Yoshimura in order to fix the shaft to the bearing to allow pivoting, as taught by Yoshimura ([0021]).
Re claim 2, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Kim further discloses the alignment part is slidably coupled to the hollow portion of the hollow shaft 31 (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1, the alignment part will slide through the hollow portion, either easily or by force, in order to travel through the hollow portion).
Re claim 5, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Kim further discloses alignment part is located closer to an end portion than the coupling part (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1).
Re claim 14, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Kim further discloses a concave portion recessed toward a rotation axis along an outer circumferential surface of the screw shaft 10 is provided between the alignment part and the coupling part (figs 2-3, above for claim 1 & below, as understood from the figures).
Re claim 16, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Kim further discloses an axial length of the alignment part is greater than an axial length of the coupling part (figs 3 & above for claims 1 & 14).
Re claim 17, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a motor 100 including a stator 20 and a rotor 30 disposed to be spaced apart from an inner circumferential surface of the stator (figs 1-3, [24]), the method including:
arranging a bearing 14 in the motor 100 (figs 2-3, [28]);
press-fitting one end portion 316 of a hollow shaft 31 having a tubular shape into an inner ring of the bearing 14 (figs 2-3, [33]); and
inserting one end portion of a screw shaft 10 into a hollow portion provided in the one end portion 316 of the hollow shaft (figs 2-3, [25]),
wherein the inserting of the one end portion of the screw shaft 10 includes inserting an alignment part provided on the one end portion of the screw shaft 10 for axial alignment with the hollow shaft 30 into the hollow portion (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1, alignment part indicated above aligns shaft since it is inserted before coupling part) and inserting a coupling part provided on the one end portion of the screw shaft 10 for preventing slipping on the hollow shaft into the hollow portion (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1, coupling inherent as shown in fig 3 since shaft has knurl as understood from the figs.).
Kim discloses claim 17 except for press-fitting one end portion of the hollow shaft into the inner ring of the bearing;
Yoshimura discloses press-fitting one end portion of the hollow shaft 41 into the inner ring of the bearing 42b (fig 2, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the one end portion of the hollow shaft of Kim to be press-fitted into the inner ring of the bearing, as disclosed by Yoshimura in order to fix the shaft to the bearing to allow pivoting, as taught by Yoshimura ([0021]).
Re claim 18, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 17 as discussed above. Kim further discloses the inserting of the alignment part includes slidably coupling the alignment part into the hollow portion (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1, the alignment part will slide through the hollow portion, either easily or by force, in order to travel through the hollow portion).
Re claim 20, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 17 as discussed above. Kim further discloses coupling a fixing member 16 configured to prevent the screw shaft 10 from being separated from the bearing 14 to a fixing part protruding through the hollow portion and the inner ring of the bearing 14 (figs 2-3 & below, [34]).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yoshimura and in further view of Hong et al. (WO2020185017, “Hong”, using US20220169225 as translation).
Re claim 3, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 1 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the alignment part is press-fitted into the hollow portion of the hollow shaft.
Hong discloses the end of the screw shaft 5410 is press-fitted into the hollow portion of the hollow shaft 5700 (fig 12, [0154]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the end of the screw shaft of Kim in view of Yoshimura to be press-fitted into the hollow portion of the hollow shaft, as disclosed by Hong, in order to fix the end of the screw shaft to the hollow shaft for co-rotation, as taught by Hong ([0154]). It is pointed out that Kim in view of Yoshimura and Hong disclose the alignment part is press-fitted into the hollow portion of the hollow shaft since: Kim discloses the end of the screw shaft includes the alignment part; and Hong discloses the end part of the screw shaft is press-fitted into the hollow part of the hollow shaft.
Re claim 19, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 17 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the inserting of the alignment part includes press-fitting the alignment part into the hollow portion.
Hong discloses the inserting of the end of the screw shaft 5410 includes press-fitting the end of the screw shaft 5410 into the hollow portion of the hollow shaft 5700 (fig 12, [0154]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the inserting of the end of the screw shaft of Kim in view of Yoshimura to be press-fitted into the hollow portion of the hollow shaft, as disclosed by Hong, in order to fix the end of the screw shaft to the hollow shaft for co-rotation, as taught by Hong ([0154]). It is pointed out that Kim in view of Yoshimura and Hong disclose the inserting of the alignment part includes press-fitting the alignment part into the hollow portion since: Kim discloses the end of the screw shaft includes the alignment part; and Hong discloses the end part of the screw shaft is press-fitted into the hollow part of the hollow shaft.
Claims 4, 6-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yoshimura and in further view of Bilteryst et al. (US20170070110, “Bilteryst”).
Re claim 4, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Kim further discloses the coupling part is coupled to the hollow shaft 31 (figs 2-3 & above for claim 1).
Kim is silent with respect to the coupling part is knurled.
Bilteryst discloses the coupling part 120 is knurled 135 (figs 1-3, [0062-0066] & [0078-0081], teaches 205 is centered by 115 & radially retained by 135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the coupling part of Kim in view of Yoshimura to be knurled, as disclosed by Bilteryst, in order to radial retained the screw shaft to the hollow shaft, as taught by Bilteryst for a shaft and core ([0067]).
Re claim 6, Kim in view of Yoshimura and Bilteryst discloses claim 5 as discussed above but are silent with respect to an outer diameter of the alignment part is smaller than an outer diameter of the coupling part.
Bilteryst discloses an outer diameter D2 of the alignment part 115 is smaller than an outer diameter D4 of the coupling part 120 (fig 1, [0062-0066] & [0078-0081], teaches 205 is centered by 115 & radially retained by 135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the alignment part and coupling part of Kim in view of Yoshimura and Bilteryst so an outer diameter of the alignment part is smaller than an outer diameter of the coupling part, as disclosed by Bilteryst, in order to center and radial retained the screw shaft to the hollow shaft, as taught by Bilteryst for a shaft 100 and core 205 ([0067]).
Re claim 7, Kim in view of Yoshimura and Bilteryst discloses claim 6 as discussed above. Kim further discloses a fixing part protruding through the hollow portion and the inner ring of the bearing 14 (figs 2-3 & above for claim 20) and coupled to a fixing member 16 configured to prevent the screw shaft 10 from being separated from the bearing 14 is provided on the one end portion of the screw shaft 10 (figs 2-3 & above for claim 20, [34]).
Re claim 8, Kim in view of Yoshimura and Bilteryst discloses claim 7 as discussed above and further discloses an outer diameter of the fixing part is smaller than the outer diameter of the alignment part (figs 2-3 & below).
Re claim 9, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 5 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the hollow portion includes: a small diameter portion in contact with the alignment part; and a large diameter portion having an inner diameter greater than an inner diameter of the small diameter portion and coupled to the coupling part, wherein the small diameter portion is located closer to the end portion than the large diameter portion.
Bilteryst discloses the hollow portion of 205 includes:
a small diameter portion 220 in contact with the alignment part 115 (figs 1-3, [0091]); and
a large diameter portion 225 having an inner diameter greater than an inner diameter of the small diameter portion 220 (figs 1-3, [0062-0099], [0091] & [0093]) and coupled to the coupling part 120 (figs 1-3, [0093]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the hollow portion of Kim in view of Yoshimura to include: a small diameter portion in contact with the alignment part; and a large diameter portion having an inner diameter greater than an inner diameter of the small diameter portion and coupled to the coupling part, as disclosed by Bilteryst, in order to in order to center and radial retained the screw shaft to the hollow shaft, as taught by Bilteryst for a shaft 100 and core 205 ([0067]).
It is pointed out that Kim in view of Yoshimura and Bilteryst disclose the small diameter portion is located closer to the end portion than the large diameter portion since: Kim discloses the alignment part is located closer to the end portion of the screw shaft 10 than the coupling part (fig 3); and Bilteryst discloses the small diameter part 220 is in contact with the alignment part 115 and the large diameter part 225 is in contact with the coupling part 120.
Re claim 10, Kim in view of Yoshimura and Bilteryst discloses claim 9 as discussed above and further disclose an inner diameter of the large diameter portion 225 is smaller than an outer diameter of the coupling part 120 (Bilteryst, [0116] states knurled part 135 penetrates 225).
Re claim 12, Kim in view of Yoshimura and Bilteryst discloses claim 9 as discussed above and further disclose a distance from a lower end portion of the alignment part to a lower end portion of the coupling part is greater than an axial length of the large diameter portion.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yoshimura and in further view of Lautenschlager et al. (US20160046448, “Lautenschlager”).
Re claim 13, Kim in view of Yoshimura disclose claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to at least one keyway is provided in the one end portion of the hollow shaft.
Lautenschlager discloses at least one keyway 13 is provided in the one end portion of the hollow shaft 2 (figs 1-2, [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the one end portion of the hollow shaft of Kim in view of Yoshimura with at least one keyway is provided in the one end portion of the hollow shaft, as disclosed by Lautenschlager, in order to positionally fix the hollow shaft and the screw shaft, as demonstrated by Lautenschlager (screw shaft will always be at a specific circumferential position with respect to the hollow shaft).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yoshimura and in further view of Tatsumi et al. (US4377762, “Tatsumi”).
Re claim 15, Kim in view of Yoshimura discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the hollow shaft is made of a material whose hardness is lower than that of the bearing.
Tatsumi discloses the shaft is made of a material whose hardness is lower than that of the material of the structure it is inserted in order to be snugly fitted to that structure (fig 2, col 1, ln 57 to col 2, ln 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to at least try configuring the hollow shaft of Kim in view of Yoshimura to be made of a material whose hardness is lower than that of the bearing, as disclosed by Tatsumi for a shaft and structure it is inserted, in order to provide a snug fit between the hollow shaft and bearings, as taught by Tatsumi.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The main reason for indicating claim 11 as allowable is the inclusion of the limitations, inter alia, of:
“The motor of claim 10, wherein, in the one end portion 210a of the hollow shaft 210, an outer diameter OD1 of an outer circumferential surface 215 of a portion 213 coupled to the coupling part 232 is smaller than an outer diameter OD2 of an outer circumferential surface 214 of a portion 212 coupled to the alignment part 231.”
The closest prior art Kim et al. (WO2021002603), does not disclose the above limitations.
Kim discloses the one end portion 316 of the hollow shaft 31 (figs 2-3), but does not disclose an outer diameter of an outer circumferential surface of a portion coupled to the coupling part is smaller than an outer diameter of an outer circumferential surface of a portion coupled to the alignment part.
Conclusion
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834