DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 31 March 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application, with claims 15-20 being withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Invention I, corresponding to claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 27 April 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 27 April 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 31 March 2024 and 16 February 2026 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Motor with Sealed Cover Member.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites an average radius of curvature of the curled portion “is R2 or more and R4 or less”. The terms “R2” and “R4” are not defined anywhere in the application as originally filed. As such, these variables could be of literally any value, and thus the claimed range does not further limit the radius of curvature to any specific value or range of values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (WO 2023/017971 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Kim”.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a motor [100] including a stator [20] and a rotor [30] disposed to be spaced apart from an inner circumferential surface of the stator [20] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 43-44), the motor [100] comprising:
a housing [11] in which the stator [20] and the rotor [30] are accommodated and an opening centered on a rotation axis [10] and exposing at least a portion of the rotor [30] is provided (fig. 3; ¶ 44-46); and
a cover member [15] covering the opening of the housing [11] (fig. 3; ¶ 54),
wherein, in the housing [11], a curled portion [115A] is formed to be curvedly curled such that a wall thereof forming an edge portion of the opening faces the rotation axis [10], and the curled portion [115A] comes into contact with an edge portion [152] of the cover member [15] to seal the opening (fig. 3; ¶ 49, 54).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 1, as stated above, further comprising a bearing [14] to which at least a portion of the rotor [30] is coupled, wherein the housing [11] includes a bearing seating portion [116] so that the bearing [14] is disposed around the opening (fig. 3; ¶ 47).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 3, as stated above, wherein the edge portion [152] of the cover member [15] is sandwiched between the bearing [14] and the curled portion [115A] (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 4, as stated above, wherein: the bearing [14] includes an outer ring [14o] in fixed contact with the housing [11] and an inner ring [14i] disposed inside the outer ring [14o] and in fixed contact with the rotor [30]; and a protruding portion [151] of the cover member [15] is provided at a center of the rotation axis [10] and spaced a predetermined distance from the inner ring [14i] (fig. 3; the outer race of the bearing contacts the housing while the inner race contacts the hollow shaft [31] on which the rotor is mounted).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 3, as stated above, wherein the housing [11] includes: a sidewall portion [111] surrounding a radial outer side of the stator [20]; and an inclined portion [114] configured to connect the sidewall portion [111] and the bearing seating portion [116] and form a predetermined angle with a radial direction (fig. 3; ¶ 46-47).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 6, as stated above, wherein the bearing seating portion [116] is provided to extend from the inclined portion [114], is bent two or more times, and comes into contact with an outer ring [14o] of the bearing [14] (fig. 3; ¶ 47-49).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 8, as stated above, wherein the bearing seating portion [116] includes: a first sidewall [sw1] formed by being bent from the inclined portion [114] inward from the housing [11] to be parallel to the rotation axis [10]; a first support wall [117] formed by being bent from the first sidewall [sw1] toward the rotation axis [10]; a second support wall [sw2] formed by being bent 180° from the first support wall [117] outward from the housing [11]; and a second sidewall [115] formed by being bent from the second support wall [sw2] outward from the housing [11] to be parallel to the rotation axis [10] (fig. 3; ¶ 46-47).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 9, as stated above, wherein the curled portion [115A] is formed by being curled from an end portion of the second sidewall [115] (fig. 3; ¶ 47-49).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 9, as stated above, wherein: the first support wall [117] is spaced a predetermined distance from the rotor [30]; and the second support wall [sw2] is in contact with the outer ring [14o] of the bearing [14] and spaced a predetermined distance from the inner ring [14i] (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein an average radius of curvature of the curled portion [115A] from the wall forming the edge portion of the opening to a portion in contact with the edge portion of the cover member [15] is R2 or more and R4 or less (fig. 3; since neither R2 nor R4 are defined anywhere in the application as originally filed, the claimed radius of curvature could be any value; since the curled portion of Kim has a radius of curvature, as shown in fig. 3, it meets the limitation as defined).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Puterbaugh et al. (US 2005/0073204 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Puterbaugh”.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 1, as stated above. Kim does not disclose a sealant portion sealing a gap between the curled portion [115A] and the cover member [15].
Puterbaugh discloses a motor [10] comprising a housing [20] with a cover member [92] covering an opening of the housing [20], wherein a curled portion [90] is formed at an edge portion of the opening (fig. 1, 5; ¶ 0034-0036), further comprising a sealant portion [82] sealing a gap between the curled portion [90] and the cover member [92] (fig. 5; ¶ 0035-0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the housing of Kim having a sealant portion between the curled portion and the cover member as taught by Puterbaugh, in order to prevent the ingress of moisture into the motor interior as well as insulating critical motor components from oxidative attack thereby increasing the life cycle of the motor (¶ 0001-0005 of Puterbaugh).
Claim(s) 7, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 6, as stated above. Kim does not explicitly disclose that the inclined portion [114] forms an angle ranging from 20° to 60° with the radial direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the inclined portion of Kim at an angle ranging from 20° to 60° with the radial direction, for the purpose of allowing sufficient axial space for the bearing, and since the only difference between the inclined portion of Kim and the claimed inclined portion is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 10, as stated above. Kim does not explicitly disclose that a length of the second sidewall [115] before the curled portion [115A] is formed by curling is 1.2 times or more and 1.4 times or less a thickness of the outer ring [14o] of the bearing [14].
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the second sidewall of Kim with a length 1.2 times or more and 1.4 times or less a thickness of the outer ring of the bearing, for the purpose of allowing sufficient space for both the bearing and the cover member, and since the only difference between the second sidewall of Kim and the claimed second sidewall is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the motor [100] of claim 3, as stated above. Kim does not explicitly disclose that an inner diameter of the curled portion [115A] curvedly formed to face the rotation axis is 0.9 times or less a diameter of an outer circumferential surface of the bearing [14].
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the curled portion of Kim with an inner diameter of 0.9 times or less a diameter of an outer circumferential surface of the bearing, for the purpose of providing sufficient overlap to securely hold the bearing, and since the only difference between the curled portion of Kim and the claimed curled portion is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Isogai et al. (US 2012/0061201 A1) discloses a motor comprising a bearing disposed within an opening in the housing, and provided with a sealant portion.
Niimi et al. (US 2001/0045784 A1) discloses a motor comprising a bearing disposed within an opening in the housing, and provided with a sealant portion.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834