DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention II (method of making semiconductor device), in the reply filed on 08/18/2026 is acknowledged. Product claims 14-21 are cancelled.
The requirement of species is withdrawn here.
Claims 1-13 and 22-37 will be examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 22-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 7, 24 and 31 recites, ‘depositing a semiconductor material’ in line 7 and 11, 6 and 8, 6 and 8, 6 and 8 respectively. Applicant describes in fig. 4m, ¶ [0030], ‘thin film 166 is deposited’, ‘Thin film 166 contains p-type dopant such as boron, aluminum, or gallium impurities’ etc. The applicant doesn’t mention any semiconductor material in the thin film 166. The applicant also fails to mention any material left of the thin film 166 after the dopant materials ‘diffused into N-epi device layer 136 by application of pressure and heat’ (¶ [0030]). Thus, this is not clear what other material the thin film 166 consists beside the dopants. A semiconductor material cited in the claims is not taught in the specification.
All the dependent claims are also rejected as they depend on the rejected independent claims 1, 7, 24 and 31.
Again claims 1, 7, 24 and 31 recites, ‘diffusing the semiconductor material’ in line 11, 8, 8 and 8 respectively. However, only the dopants/impurity atoms are diffused and those are not semiconductor materials.
For examination, independent claims 1, 7, 24 and 31 will be considered as their present form (semiconductor material).
Also, in the semiconductor world, dopants are deposited and diffused in adjacent layers by using the dopants as standalone (using ion implantation) or using insulating material as carrier etc. The applicant is advised to look at the following prior arts:
Irsigler; Peter et al. US 20130320512 A1 (insulating carrier materials BF3 and/or B2H6),
Granahan; Mark E. US 20150348784 A1 (insulating carrier materials boron trioxide),
Izumisawa, Masaru et al. US 20020175368 A1 (ion implantation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blanchard (US 20020140025 A1, hereinafter Blanchard’025).
Regarding independent claim 31, Blanchard’025 teaches, “A method of making a semiconductor device (fig. 1-7; ¶ [0001] - ¶ [0034]), comprising:
providing a substrate (2, fig. 5);
forming a semiconductor layer (1) over the substrate (2);
forming a trench (44, 46) through the semiconductor layer (1);
depositing a semiconductor material (polysilicon, fig. 5; ¶ [0021], silicon, ¶ [0025]) over a side surface of the trench (44, 46); and
diffusing the semiconductor material (‘diffused’, ¶ [0021]) into the semiconductor layer (1)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard’025 in view of Irsigler et al. (US 20130320512 A1, hereinafter Irsigler’512).
Regarding independent claim 1, Blanchard’025 teaches, “A method of making a semiconductor device (fig. 1-7; ¶ [0001] - ¶ [0034]), comprising:
providing a substrate (2, fig. 5);
forming a semiconductor layer (1) having a first conductivity type (N) over the substrate (2);
forming a trench (44, 46) through the semiconductor layer (1);
depositing a semiconductor material (polysilicon, fig. 5; ¶ [0021], silicon, ¶ [0025]) having a second conductivity type (P, boron) opposite the first conductivity type (N) over a side surface of the trench (44, 46) ((by vapor phase deposition or plasma doping)); and
diffusing the semiconductor material (‘diffused’, ¶ [0021]) into the semiconductor layer (1) to form a first column of semiconductor material (40, 42) having the second conductivity type (P) within the semiconductor layer (1)”.
Regarding the limitataion of depositing the semiconductor material using vapor phase deposition or plasma doping, Blanchard’025 teaches the step of depositing the semiconductor material is done ‘epitaxially’ in ¶ [0025]. Epitaxy of semiconductor materials is done in the semiconductor world using various deposition techniques e.g., VPD, CVD, ALD etc. Blanchard’025 may not be explicitly mentioning the vapor phase deposition or plasma doping to deposit silicon materials.
However, Irsigler’512 teaches a process of forming silicon layer (224, fig. 2D) on sidewalls of a trench (216) using CVD. CVD is one type of vapor phase deposition techniques.
Blanchard’025 and Irsigler’512 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Blanchard’025 with the features of Irsigler’512 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Blanchard’025 and Irsigler’512 to use CVD to deposit silicon materials according to the teachings of Irsigler’512 with a general motivation of exploiting the advantages of CVD technique e.g., superior film quality & purity, strong substrate adhesion etc.
Regarding independent claim 7, Blanchard’025 teaches, “A method of making a semiconductor device (fig. 1-7; ¶ [0001] - ¶ [0034]), comprising:
providing a substrate (2, fig. 5);
forming a semiconductor layer (1) over the substrate (2);
forming a trench (44, 46) through the semiconductor layer (1);
depositing a semiconductor material (polysilicon, fig. 5; ¶ [0021], silicon, ¶ [0025]) over a side surface of the trench (44, 46) ((by vapor phase deposition or plasma doping)); and
diffusing the semiconductor material (‘diffused’, ¶ [0021]) into the semiconductor layer (1)”.
Regarding the limitataion of depositing the semiconductor material using vapor phase deposition or plasma doping, Blanchard’025 teaches the step of depositing the semiconductor material is done ‘epitaxially’ in ¶ [0025]. Epitaxy of semiconductor materials is done in the semiconductor world using various deposition techniques e.g., VPD, CVD, ALD etc. Blanchard’025 may not be explicitly mentioning the vapor phase deposition or plasma doping to deposit silicon materials.
However, Irsigler’512 teaches a process of forming silicon layer (224, fig. 2D) on sidewalls of a trench (216) using CVD. CVD is one type of vapor phase deposition techniques.
Blanchard’025 and Irsigler’512 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Blanchard’025 with the features of Irsigler’512 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Blanchard’025 and Irsigler’512 to use CVD to deposit silicon materials according to the teachings of Irsigler’512 with a general motivation of exploiting the advantages of CVD technique e.g., superior film quality & purity, strong substrate adhesion etc.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard’025 in view of Chen et al. (US 20230056308 A1, hereinafter Chen’308).
Regarding independent claim 1, Blanchard’025 teaches, “A method of making a semiconductor device using atomic layer deposition (fig. 1-7; ¶ [0001] - ¶ [0034]), comprising:
providing a substrate (2, fig. 5);
forming a semiconductor layer (1) over the substrate (2);
forming a trench (44, 46) through the semiconductor layer (1);
depositing a semiconductor material (polysilicon, fig. 5; ¶ [0021], silicon, ¶ [0025]) ((using atomic layer deposition)); and
diffusing the semiconductor material (‘diffused’, ¶ [0021]) into the semiconductor layer (1)”.
Regarding the limitataion of depositing the semiconductor material using atomic layer deposition, Blanchard’025 teaches the step of depositing the semiconductor material is done ‘epitaxially’ in ¶ [0025]. Epitaxy of semiconductor materials is done in the semiconductor world using various deposition techniques e.g., VPD, CVD, ALD etc. Blanchard’025 may not be explicitly mentioning the atomic layer deposition to deposit silicon materials.
However, Chen’308 teaches a process of forming polysilicon layer (fig. 6-7; ¶ [0042]) on sidewalls of a trench (30) using ALD.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Blanchard’025 and Chen’308 to use ALD to deposit polysilicon materials according to the teachings of Chen’308 with a general motivation of exploiting the advantages of ALD technique e.g., atomic-level precision, conformality, low-temperature processing etc.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817