DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPN 12,362,470 to Heinrich in view of US Pub. No. 2018/0354469 to Krishnan.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, Heinrich teaches systems, apparatus’, and methods for determining a characteristic of a radome, such as a radome of a radar system or unit (Heinrich, Abstract, column 1 line 64 to column 2 line 20). Heinrich teaches that the systems, methods, and apparatus may enable a computing device to determine the transmissivity of the radome of a radar system to verify accurate performance and operation of the radar system, and to detect undesired accumulation of matter or material (e.g., rain, snow, spray, debris, moisture, etc.) on the radome that may degrade the performance of the radar system (Id., column 1 line 64 to column 2 line 20). Heinrich teaches that an alert or notification may be generated when the condition of the radome has reduced the performance of the radar system to an undesired level (Id.). Heinrich teaches that the vehicle radar system can include one or more radar systems or units positioned at various locations on a vehicle, such as exterior locations (Id., column 4 lines 47-62). Heinrich teaches that when a radar system is located on the exterior of the vehicle, the radar system may undesirably encounter contact from road debris, which can damage and degrade the performance of the radar system (Id., column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 10).
Heinrich teaches that to overcome the drawbacks associated with manual inspections and offline testing of a vehicle radar system, embodiments describe techniques for monitoring, testing, and evaluating a radome (Heinrich, column 6 line 39 to column 7 line 31). Heinrich teaches that a system or apparatus may be configured to determine the transmission characteristics of a radome (Id., column 7 line 50 to column 8 line 4). Heinrich teaches that when the transmission characteristics of the radome fail to meet a threshold value, based on the difference between the parameter of the reflect radar signals, the computing device may be configured to generate or provide a notification or alert to indicating an undesired condition of the radome (Id., column 9 lines 20-38). Heinrich teaches that the computing device may provide an alert that indicates the radome requires cleaning and/or may initiate an automatic process that helps remove the material on the radome, such as activating a cleaning mechanism to attempt to clean the radome (Id., column 9 lines 39-55). Additionally, Heinrich teaches the radome, the internal radar components, the computing device, and other components for accomplishing the invention of Heinrich (see generally Id., column 20 line 12 to column 22 line 19, column 24 line 10 to column 25 line 7, column 25 lines 34-50, column 29 lines 4-52, claims 1-18).
Heinrich does not appear to specifically teach a determining device performing a decontamination possibility determining process as claimed. However, Krishnan teaches cleaning vehicle sensors comprising a computer programmed to determine debris on a sensor of a vehicle, determine an absence of an ongoing execution of a collision avoidance instruction, and based on the determinations, apply a fluid to the sensor to remove the debris (Krishnan, Abstract, paragraphs 0014, 0017, 0043, 0071-0072). Krishnan teaches that the sensor is a camera or light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device (Id., paragraph 0024), which provides imaging data to an autonomous driving system (Id., paragraph 0010). Krishnan teaches that the computer determines whether a collision avoidance instruction is being executed or will be executed, and if executed, then the computer executes a pause or delay before applying fluid (Id., paragraphs 0064-0075, Fig. 5).
Each of Heinrich and Krishnan are directed to determining if sensors are required to be cleaned. Heinrich teaches that when the transmission characteristics of the radome fail to meet a threshold value, based on the difference between the parameter of the reflect radar signals, the computing device may be configured to generate or provide a notification or alert to indicating an undesired condition of the radome. Krishnan further establishes that when the sensor executes, the computer determines whether to apply a fluid to the sensor to remove the debris. Therefore, the prior art establishes that when it is determined that the sensor is operationally and functionally impaired by debris, then the sensor will be cleaned as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the system of Heinrich, wherein the computing device determines if the sensor is obstructed with debris and additionally is required, such that it can be cleaned, such as claimed, as taught by Krishnan, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional cleaning system having predictably advantageous parameters for determining the necessity of cleaning a sensor while maintaining functionality and safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been considered but are moot based on the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER Y CHOI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786