DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s lack of an Information Disclosure Statement submission.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim should begin with an article (“A scalp oil massager.”) and include elements that further define the preamble. See MPEP 608.01(m) and 37 CFR 1.75(e).
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thiebaut (US 2012/0121313 A1), hereafter Thiebaut.
Regarding Claim 1, Thiebaut discloses a Scalp Oil Massager (fig. 1, [0017] and [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 0687363 A fig. 2 discloses a massaging device that dispenses a liquid via the handle (fig. 6-7, col. 2 page 2 lines 103-117).
DE 19926996 A1 discloses an applicator with a roller ball for dispensing a topical fluid to a user (fig. 1a, abstract)
GB 2371041 A discloses a massaging device for applying a fluid product to a user’s skin (fig. 4, abstract)
Bromley (US 6925672 B1) discloses a lotion application tool with roller balls (fig. 1, roller balls 32, col. 2 lines 48-57).
KR 200448686 Y1 fig. 1 discloses a device for massaging a scalp
CN 105326634 A discloses a device for massaging a scalp that applies a liquid (fig. 1)
US 2021/0361049 A1 discloses a scalp massager that dispenses a fluid (fig. 1, abstract)
/SARA K TOICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785