DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 05 July 2026 in response to the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 20 March 2026 has been considered. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending. Claim(s) 6, 8, 15-17, 19, and 20 has/have been withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-14, and 18 has/have been examined in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,845,595 B2 to Bowron.
Regarding claim 1, Bowron discloses a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above) configured to receive a vertically-oriented constructional component (capable of receiving a construction component); a horizontal receptacle (See Figure above) configured to receive a horizontally-oriented constructional component (capable of receiving a construction component), wherein a portion of a wall (See Figure above) of the horizontal receptacle is formed by sharing (See Figure above) said portion with a portion of a wall of the vertical receptacle; one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the vertical receptacle and the horizontal receptacle are integrally formed as a single unitary body (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the vertical receptacle has external supporting structures (any of the flanges or walls extending from the vertical receptacle).
Regarding claim 9, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has a closed profile (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the mount has bolt-holes (See Figure above) disposed on the vertical receptacle.
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the vertical-facing flange extends beyond the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 14, wherein: the mount has a horizontal- facing flange (See Figure above); and the horizontal-facing flange extends beyond the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the mount is made of a polymeric material (Column 15, line 63 – Column 16, line 12).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,090,651 B2 to Broemstrup et al.
Regarding claim 1, Broemstrup et al. disclose a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above) configured to receive a vertically-oriented constructional component (capable of receiving a structural component); a horizontal receptacle (See Figure above) configured to receive a horizontally-oriented constructional component (capable of receiving a structural component), wherein a portion of a wall (See Figure above) of the horizontal receptacle is formed by sharing (See Figure above) said portion with a portion of a wall of the vertical receptacle; one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the vertical receptacle and the horizontal receptacle are integrally formed as a single unitary body (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the vertical receptacle has external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 4, wherein: the vertical receptacle has internal surface-augmentations (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 7, wherein: the support-chute is divided into a plurality of segments (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 9, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has a closed profile (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the mount has bolt-holes (See Figure above) disposed on the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle.
Regarding claim 11, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has one or more external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the vertical-facing flange extends beyond the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 14, wherein: the mount has a horizontal- facing flange (lower flange; (See Figure above); and the horizontal-facing flange extends beyond the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the mount is made of a polymeric material (Column 3, lines 34-43).
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0347190 A1 to Lafontaine Berger.
Regarding claim 1, Lafontaine discloses a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above) configured to receive a vertically-oriented constructional component (capable of receiving a vertical component); a horizontal receptacle (See Figure above) configured to receive a horizontally-oriented constructional component (capable of receiving a structural component), wherein a portion (See Figure above) of a wall of the horizontal receptacle is formed by sharing (See Figure above) said portion with a portion of a wall of the vertical receptacle; one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the vertical receptacle and the horizontal receptacle are integrally formed as a single unitary body (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the vertical receptacle has external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 11, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has one or more external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 12, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has internal surface-augmentations (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the vertical-facing flange extends beyond the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the mount is made of a polymeric material (Paragraph [0013]).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0090385 A1 to Leary.
Regarding claim 1, Leary discloses a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above) configured to receive a vertically-oriented constructional component (capable of receiving a structural member); a horizontal receptacle (See Figure above) configured to receive a horizontally-oriented constructional component (capable of receiving a structural member), wherein a portion (See Figure above) of a wall of the horizontal receptacle is formed by sharing (See Figure above) said portion with a portion of a wall of the vertical receptacle; one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the vertical receptacle and the horizontal receptacle are integrally formed as a single unitary body (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the vertical receptacle has external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 5, wherein: the one or more flanges of the mount, have bolt-holes (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the mount has bolt-holes disposed of on the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the vertical-facing flange extends beyond the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 14, wherein: the mount has a horizontal- facing flange; and the horizontal-facing flange extends beyond the horizontal receptacle and the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0347190 A1 to Lafontaine.
Regarding claim 4, Lafontaine discloses internal surface augmentations (See Figure above) on the horizontal receptacle but not within the vertical receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided augmentations on the internal surfaces of the vertical receptacle so to provide a snugger connection with the member inserted within the receptacle so to reduce the chances of the insert to be removed or loosened.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0090385 A1 to Leary in view of US 10,501,957 B1 to Borowiak.
Regarding claim 18, Leary does not disclose wherein: the mount is made of a polymeric material.
Borowiak discloses wherein the post mounting apparatus is formed from a polymeric material (Column 3, lines 15-25).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the amount of Leary from a polymeric material as taught by Borowiak so to provide a mount which maintains strength while resisting corrosion from the elements, moisture, etc.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 05 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not disclose “a horizontal receptacle…that is, a receptacle that receives and holds a horizontally-oriented constructional component/element such as a beam, bearer, joist, putlog, or transom”. This is not found to be persuasive. The claim requires a horizontal receptacle which is capable of holding a horizontal member. First the claim does not require the combination of the mount and the constructional component, the claim simply requires the mount which can hold the component. Second, the component (if required by the claim) is not required to be a stud, etc. The prior art references teach the mount as claimed.
Applicant further argues that anticipation “may not rest on the mere labeling of structure in an annotated figure; each claim limitation must be identified in the reference, arranged as claimed”. This is not found to be persuasive. The prior art of record simply needs to show each and every limitation required by the claim. The figures of prior art references are part of the disclosure and therefore teachings of anticipation can be deemed from the figures. The figures of Bowron, Broemstrup, Lafontaine, and Leary all show the structure as required by the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635