DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species M, N, and O in the reply filed on 01/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 6, 8, and 15-17, 19, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-14 have been examined herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/143380 A1 to Rosati.
Regarding claim 1, Rosati discloses a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above); one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 5, wherein: the one or more flanges of the mount, have bolt-holes (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the mount is made of a pre-defined material (the mount is made by a material).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,090,651 B2 to Broemstrup et al.
Regarding claim 1, Broemstrup et al. disclose a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above); one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the unitary mount comprises: a horizonal receptacle (See Figure above), wherein a portion of the vertical receptacle is formed by a portion of the horizontal receptacle (vertical receptacle runs into the horizontal receptacle).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the vertical receptacle has external supporting structures (each of the flanges/supports extending from the vertical receptacle).
Regarding claim 7, wherein: the support-chute is divided into a plurality of segments (each of the chutes formed by the flanges or external supports).
Regarding claim 9, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has a closed profile (when flanges are attached, the receptacle is closed profile).
Regarding claim 11, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has one or more external supporting structures (each flange extending from the vertical walls of the horizontal receptacle; See Fig.1A).
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the vertical-facing flange extends beyond, at least one of: the horizontal receptacle, or the vertical receptacle (the flanges extend above and below the horizontal receptacle and left and right of the vertical receptacle).
Regarding claim 14, wherein: the mount has a horizontal-facing flange (See Figure above); and the horizontal-facing flange extends beyond the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the mount is made of a pre-defined material (formed from a material).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0347190 A1 to Lafontaine.
Regarding claim 1, Lafontaine discloses a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above); one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the vertical receptacle has external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 7, wherein: the support-chute is divided into a plurality of segments (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the mount is made of a pre-defined material (formed from a material).
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0347190 A1 to Lafontaine.
Regarding claim 1, a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above); one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the unitary mount comprises: a horizonal receptacle (See Figure above), wherein a portion of the vertical receptacle is formed by a portion of the horizontal receptacle (shared vertical wall).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the vertical receptacle has external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 10, wherein: the mount has bolt-holes (See Figure above) disposed on the vertical receptacle.
Regarding claim 11, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has one or more external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 12, wherein: the horizontal receptacle has internal surface-augmentations (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the vertical-facing flange extends beyond the vertical receptacle (See Figure 10).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the mount is made of a pre-defined material (made from a material).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0090385 A1 to Leary.
Regarding claim 1, Leary discloses a unitary mount, comprising: a vertical receptacle (See Figure above); one or more flanges (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the flanges is a vertical-facing flange (See Figure above); and one or more support-chutes (See Figure above), wherein at least one of the support-chutes is disposed between, the vertical receptacle and the vertical-facing flange (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the unitary mount comprises: a horizonal receptacle (See Figure above), wherein a portion of the vertical receptacle is formed by a portion of the horizontal receptacle (share a sidewall).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the vertical receptacle has external supporting structures (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 5, wherein: the one or more flanges of the mount, have bolt-holes (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 10, wherein: the mount has bolt-holes (See Figure above) disposed on, at least one of: the horizontal receptacle, or the vertical receptacle.
Regarding claim 14, wherein: the mount has a horizontal-facing flange; and the horizontal-facing flange extends beyond the vertical receptacle (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the mount is made of a pre-defined material (formed from a material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0347190 A1 to Lafontaine.
Regarding claim 4, Lafontaine discloses internal surface augmentations (See Figure above) on the horizontal receptacle but not within the vertical receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided augmentations on the internal surfaces of the vertical receptacle so to provide a snugger connection with the member inserted within the receptacle so to reduce the chances of the insert to be removed or loosened.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635