DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CA 3135252 (hereinafter RIGOULAY). RIGOULAY was made of record on applicant’s information disclosure statement filed October 8, 2025.
Regarding claim 1, RIGOULAY discloses a reconstituted plant sheet for devices that heat tobacco without burning it where the sheet has a high density (abstract). RIGOULAY discloses a tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler, the tobacco sheet containing a fibrous material, having a density of 1.0 g/cm3 or less (¶8). RIGOULAY discloses a reconstituted plant sheet (¶8). RIGOULAY discloses that reconstituted tobacco is more suitable for heating devices because it is possible to generate a large amount of aerosol having advantageous organoleptic properties (¶5). RIGOULAY discloses that the refined fibers of the plant are created by a papermaking process producing reconstituted papermaking tobacco (¶23). RIGOULAY discloses that the density of the sheet is between 0.65 g/cm3 and 1 g/cm3 (¶20). This is a range that anticipates the recited range of the instant application.
Regarding claim 3, RIGOULAY discloses the sheet according to claim 1 as discussed above. RIGOULAY further discloses a press-formed sheet. RIGOULAY discloses the steps for making the sheet (¶11). RIGOULAY discloses that the plant fibers are passed through a papermaking machine (¶67). RIGOULAY discloses that the sheet is impregnated by pressing plant extract into the sheet (¶88). Further this claim is a product-by-process claim (See MPEP 2113, I). The patentability of the product does not depend on its method of production where the structure is anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CA 3135252 (hereinafter RIGOULAY) as evidenced by WO 2016207407 A1 (hereinafter NAUGHTON) and WO 2016026810 A1 (hereinafter FERNANDO). These references, NAUGHTON and FERNANDO) were incorporated by reference in prior art document RIGOULAY.
Regarding claim 6, RIGOULAY discloses the sheet according to claim 1 as discussed above. RIGOULAY further discloses a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler comprising a tobacco-containing segment containing the tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 1. RIGOULAY discloses that many devices have been developed for heating tobacco without burning to avoid the formation of the harmful constituents during tobacco combustion (¶2). RIGOULAY incorporates by reference several patent documents by reference (¶2) including both NAUGHTON and FERNANDO both of which illustrate a heating device with a solid tobacco containing segment wrapped and heated by the device.
Regarding claim 7, RIGOULAY discloses the sheet according to claim 1 as discussed above. RIGOULAY further discloses a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaling system comprising: the non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 6; and a heating device for heating the tobacco-containing segment. RIGOULAY discloses that many devices have been developed for heating tobacco without burning to avoid the formation of the harmful constituents during tobacco combustion (¶2). RIGOULAY incorporates several patent documents by reference (¶2) including both NAUGHTON and FERNANDO both of which illustrate a heating device with a solid tobacco containing segment wrapped and heated by the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIGOULAY as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of US 20230025403 A1 (hereinafter GRISHCHENKO).
Regarding claim 4, RIGOULAY discloses the sheet according to claim 1 as discussed above. RIGOULAY further discloses a humectant (¶29). RIGOULAY discloses that the sheet includes sorbitol which the instant application has disclosed to be a humectant (PG Pub of instant application ¶43). RIGOULAY further discloses a binder (¶63-¶65). RIGOULAY discloses that the sheet has a mixture of cellulose based fibers to improve the mechanical strength properties of the sheet (¶65). The instant application has disclosed cellulose to be a binder (PG Pub of instant application ¶80). RIGOULAY further discloses an optional flavoring and taste agent (¶31). RIGOULAY discloses the inclusion of aromatic compounds to confer aromas from the plant onto the aerosol. This is considered to read on flavoring and taste agents. It is noted however that this is an “optional” limitation and is not needed to be found in the prior art.
RIGOULAY does not disclose the sheet has an air permeability of more than 0 CORESTA units.
GRISHCHENKO teaches an article for use in a non-combustible aerosol provision system (abstract). GRISHCHENKO teaches that a wrapper is used with a level of permeability greater than about 2000 Coresta units (¶68). GRISHCHENKO teaches that relatively high permeability increase the amount of heat that is transferred from the aerosol and thus reduces the temperature of the aerosol (¶150). GRISHCHENKO teaches that controlling the permeability can also increase the moisture transferred which has been found to improve the feel of the aerosol in the user’s mouth (¶150).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified RIGOULAY to provide the sheet has an air permeability of more than 0 CORESTA units as taught in GRISHCHENKO. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously control the air permeability of the sheet. Doing so would increase the amount of heat transferred and improve the mouth feel of the aerosol delivered to the user (GRISHCHENKO ¶68, ¶150). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Finally, RIGOULAY is silent as to the property of CORESTA units, however, recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 773. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, In re Best, 195 USPQ 430.
Regarding claim 5, modified RIGOULAY discloses the sheet according to claim 4 as discussed above. The limitation the air permeability is 500 CORESTA Units or more is rejected for the same reasons detailed in the rejection of claim 4 with respect to CORESTA units and is not repeated here.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 3-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3-7 of copending Application No. 18621155 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in light of the claims and the specification as a dictionary, the claims encompass the same scope and invention.
Regarding claim 1, ‘155 discloses A tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler, having a density of 1.0 g/cm.sup.3 or less (claim 1). ‘155 further discloses the tobacco sheet containing a fibrous material. ‘155 discloses that the tobacco sheet has a reinforcing fibrous material (¶24).
Regarding claim 3, ‘155 discloses a press-formed sheet (claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, ‘155 discloses comprising: a humectant; a binder; and an optional flavoring and taste agent, wherein the sheet has an air permeability of more than 0 CORESTA units (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, ‘155 discloses wherein the air permeability is 500 CORESTA Units or more (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, ‘155 discloses A non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler comprising a tobacco-containing segment containing the tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 1 (claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, ‘155 discloses A non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaling system comprising: the non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 6; and a heating device for heating the tobacco-containing segment (claim 7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 and 3-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3-9 of copending Application No. 18623365 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in light of the claims and the specification as a dictionary, the claims encompass the same scope and invention.
Regarding claim 1, ‘365 discloses A tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler, having a density of 1.0 g/cm.sup.3 or less (claim 1). ‘155 further discloses the tobacco sheet containing a fibrous material. ‘155 discloses that the tobacco sheet has a reinforcing fibrous material (¶24).
Regarding claim 3, ‘365 discloses a press-formed sheet (claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, ‘365 discloses comprising: a humectant; a binder; and an optional flavoring and taste agent, wherein the sheet has an air permeability of more than 0 CORESTA units (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, ‘365 discloses wherein the air permeability is 500 CORESTA Units or more (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, ‘365 discloses A non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler comprising a tobacco-containing segment containing the tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 1 (claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, ‘365 discloses A non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaling system comprising: the non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 6; and a heating device for heating the tobacco-containing segment (claim 7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE LYNN MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747