DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 04/01/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipating by Kasahara et al., (hereafter Kasahara) (US 2024/0329355 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Kasahara discloses a lens unit comprising: a first lens (L1, Figure 2) and a second lens (L2, Figure 2) disposed in this order from an object side (X1, Figure 2) to an image side (X2, Figure 2); an elastic member (8, Figure 2) disposed between the first lens (L1, Figure 2) and the second lens (L2, Figure 2) in an optical axis direction (O, Figure 2) when a direction along an optical axis (O, Figure 2) of the first lens (L1, Figure 2) is defined as the optical axis direction (O, Figure 2); and a lens barrel (3, Figure 2) which accommodates the first lens (L1, Figure 2), the second lens (L2, Figure 2), and the elastic member (8, Figure 2), wherein the lens barrel (3, Figure 2) comprises an annular caulking portion (109, Figure 3) which is bent from a distal end part (Figure 3) on the object side (X1, Figure 2) to an inner peripheral side (Figure 3) and is brought into contact with an outer peripheral-edge portion (outer edge of L1, Figure 2) of the first lens (L1, Figure 2) from the object side (X1, Figure 2) and comprises a first stepped portion (101, Figure 9) on an inner peripheral surface; the first stepped portion (101, Figure 9) comprises an annular first seating surface (205, Figure 11) facing the object side (X1, Figure 2) at a position overlapping the caulking portion (109, Figure 3) when viewed from the optical axis direction (O, Figure 2) and an inner peripheral-surface portion extending from an end on an inner peripheral side of the annular first seating surface (205, Figure 11) to the image side (X2, Figure 2); the outer peripheral-edge portion of the first lens (L1, Figure 2) is located between the caulking portion (109, Figure 3) and the annular first seating surface (205, Figure 11); the second lens (L2, Figure 2) is supported from the image side (X2, Figure 2) at a predetermined first position in the optical axis direction (O, Figure 2); and the elastic member (8, Figure 2) is compressed in the optical axis direction (O, Figure 2) at a position adjacent to the inner peripheral-surface portion in a radial direction (radial direction in Figure 2) and exerts an urging force (¶[0085]) to urge the first lens (L1, Figure 2) toward the object side (X1, Figure 2) and to urge the second lens (L2, Figure 2) toward the image side (X2, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 2, Kasahara further discloses wherein the elastic member (8, Figure 2) is an O-ring (8 is an O-ring, Figure 2; see also ¶[0074]).
With respect to Claim 3, Kasahara further discloses a third lens (L5, Figure 2) disposed on the image side (X2, Figure 2) of the second lens (L2, Figure 2), wherein the lens barrel (3, Figure 2) accommodates the third lens (L5, Figure 2); the second lens (L2, Figure 2) comprises a fitting portion (18, Figure 2) fitted to the third lens (L5, Figure 2), on a surface on the image side (X2, Figure 2); the third lens (L5, Figure 2) is supported from the image side (X2, Figure 2) at a predetermined second position (¶[0038]) in the optical axis direction (O, Figure 2) and comprises a fitted portion (22, Figure 4) to which the fitting portion (18, Figure 2) is fitted from the object side (X1, Figure 2), on a surface on the object side (X1, Figure 2); by fitting of the fitting portion (18, Figure 2) and the fitted portion (22, Figure 4), the second lens (L2, Figure 2) is positioned in a radial direction (radial direction in Figure 2) with respect to the third lens (L5, Figure 2) and is supported at the first position; and the O-ring exerts an urging force to urge the second lens (L2, Figure 2) toward the third lens (L5, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 5, the lens unit according to claim 1, further comprising a light shielding sheet made of a resin and disposed between the first lens (L1, Figure 2) and the annular first seating surface (205, Figure 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kasahara (US 2024/0329355 A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Embodiment One of Kasahara teaches the lens unit according to claim 2, a laminated body (44, Figure 2) comprising a plurality of lenses (laminated body 44 including a plurality of lenses, ¶[0086]) laminated in the optical axis direction (O, Figure 2).
Embodiment One of Kasahara fails to teach the lens barrel comprises a second stepped portion; the second stepped portion comprises a second seating surface facing the object side; the laminated body is accommodated in the lens barrel in a state of being placed on the second seating surface; the second lens is laminated on the object side of the laminated body and is supported at the first position by the laminated body; the O-ring and the second seating surface overlap each other when viewed from the optical axis direction; and the O-ring exerts an urging force to urge the second lens toward the laminated body.
Embodiment One of Kasahara teaches a lens unit and Embodiment Two of Kasahara teaches the lens unit with variations (Figure 13 has a configuration corresponding to that of the lens unit 1 in Figure 2, [0088]).
Embodiment Two of Kasahara teaches a second stepped portion (¶[0096]) closer to the image side (X2, Figure 13) than the first stepped portion (¶[0096]) on the inner peripheral surface (inner peripheral side of the support surface, ¶[0089]); the second stepped portion (¶[0096]) comprises a second seating surface (217, Figure 13) facing the object side (X1, Figure 13); the laminated body (44, Figure 13) is accommodated in the lens barrel (3, Figure 13) in a state of being placed on the second seating surface (217, Figure 13); the second lens (L2, Figure 13) is laminated on the object side (X1, Figure 13) of the laminated body (44, Figure 13) and is supported at the first position by the laminated body (44, Figure 13); the O-ring and the second seating surface (217, Figure 13) overlap each other when viewed from the optical axis direction (O, Figure 13); and the O-ring exerts an urging force to urge the second lens (L2, Figure 13) toward the laminated body (44, Figure 13).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Embodiment One of Kasahara having the lens unit with the teachings of Embodiment Two of Kasahara having the second stepped portion and second seating surface for the purpose of suppressing fogging on a lens surface, ¶[0091].
With respect to Claim 6, Embodiment One of Kasahara teaches the lens unit according to claim 3, further comprising a laminated body (44, Figure 2) comprising a plurality of lenses laminated in the optical axis direction (O, Figure 2).
Embodiment One of Kasahara fails to teach the lens barrel comprises a second stepped portion closer to the image side than the first stepped portion on the inner peripheral surface; the second stepped portion comprises a second seating surface facing the object side; the laminated body is accommodated in the lens barrel in a state of being placed on the second seating surface; the second lens is laminated on the object side of the laminated body and is supported at the first position by the laminated body; the O-ring and the second seating surface overlap each other when viewed from the optical axis direction; and the O-ring exerts an urging force to urge the second lens to the laminated body.
Embodiment One of Kasahara teaches a lens unit and Embodiment Two of Kasahara teaches the lens unit with variations (Figure 13 has a configuration corresponding to that of the lens unit 1 in Figure 2, [0088]).
Embodiment Two of Kasahara teaches the lens barrel (3, Figure 13) comprises a second stepped portion (¶[0096]) closer to the image side (X2, Figure 13) than the first stepped portion (101, Figure 13) on the inner peripheral surface; the second stepped portion (201, Figure 13) comprises a second seating surface (¶[0096]) facing the object side (X1, Figure 13; also, 201 is an object side stepped portion, Figure 13); the laminated body (44, Figure 13) is accommodated in the lens barrel (3, Figure 13) in a state of being placed on the second seating surface (¶[0096]); the second lens (L2, Figure 13) is laminated (laminated body, ¶[0096]) on the object side (X1, Figure 13) of the laminated body (44, Figure 13) and is supported at the first position (predetermined position, ¶[0096]) by the laminated body (44, Figure 2); the O-ring (7, Figure 13, ¶[0090]) and the second seating surface (¶[0096]) overlap each other (¶[0096]) when viewed from the optical axis direction (O, Figure 13); and the O-ring (7, Figure 13, ¶[0090]) exerts an urging force (¶[0095]) to urge the second lens (L2, Figure 13) to the laminated body (44, Figure 13).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Embodiment One of Kasahara having the lens unit with the teachings of Embodiment Two of Kasahara having the second stepped portion and second seating surface for the purpose of suppressing fogging on a lens surface, ¶[0091].
With respect to Claim 7, Embodiment One of Kasahara further teaches comprising a light shielding sheet (9, Figure 2) made of a resin (¶[0033]) and disposed between (¶[0033]) the first lens (L1, Figure 2) and the annular first seating surface (205, Figure 11).
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872