DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 9/15/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 recite the copolymer comprises additional ingredients. The copolymer itself is a compound, which can be mixed with other ingredients to form a composition, should not comprise other ingredients. Clarification is required. For purposes of expediting prosecution, claims 1-4 are interpreted as “an ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer composition comprising…” Claim 5 is interpreted as “wherein the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer further comprising a structural unit containing……”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya et al (JP2016069481) in view of Ikeda et al (US 5744547).
In setting forth this rejection a machine translation of JP2016069481 has been relied upon and all citations to paragraph numbers in the discussion below are with respect to the machine translation.
Claims 1, 3-5: Shibuya teaches an ethylene-vinyl ester copolymer saponified product, i.e. ethylene-vinyl alcohol, comprising 10-20 mol% of ethylene and a structure unit having a primary hydroxyl group in its side chain [0011, 0050]. A colorless EVOH is desired [0042]. Case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Shibuya does not teach a conjugated polyene.
However, Ikeda teaches adding a conjugated polyene compound, such as sorbic acid, can product EVOH with less discoloration and less gel formation [3:47-52]. The amount of the polyene in washed and dried EVOH is 1ppm to 2000ppm [8:1-6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add sorbic acid to EVOH to have less coloration.
Shibuya is silent with respect to the yellowness of the composition. However, the combination of teachings from Shibuya and Ikeda have rendered obvious the instantly claimed ingredients and amounts thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed physical properties to naturally arise.
Claim 2: Shibuya teaches the resin was washed [0087].
Shibuya does not teach the detailed washing process.
However, Ikeda teaches after saponification, by-product salts sodium acetate are removed by washing, and a thorough washing after saponification helps reduce discoloration [7:52-55, 1:66-2:8]. An exemplified content of sodium acetate is 0.0075wt% [11:2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to control the content of sodium acetate like claimed because it is recognized in the art the content of sodium acetate is critical for reduced discoloration.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-3, 5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No.18/652,055. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘055 claims an EVOH composition comprising an EVOH with 1-16.5 mol% of ethylene and a structural unit having a primary hydroxy group at a side chain. The yellowness and content of sodium acetate would be inherent to the composition of ‘055.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763