DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to communications received on April 1, 2024 and March 23, 2026. Applicant has responded to the Election/Restriction requirement mailed on January 23, 2026. Applicant has elected Group I without traverse. Claims 6-7 are thus withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are pending and addressed below.
Specification
For the record, Examiner acknowledges that the Specification submitted on April 1, 2024 has been accepted.
Drawings
For the record, Examiner acknowledges that the Drawings submitted on April 1, 2024 has been accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first secret sharing apparatus configured to…”, “a first secret sharing apparatus configured to…”, “an input unit…”, “a distribution processing unit…” and “a storage unit…” in claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bellare et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0163592 and hereinafter referred to as Bellare).
As to claim 9, Bellare discloses a secret sharing storage apparatus comprising:
an input unit to which a random number used for encryption of encrypted data subjected to distribution processing on n pieces of first distributed data is input, the n being an integer of 2 or more (paragraphs [0023], [0098] and [0099], Fig. 8 and Table 1, Bellare teaches inputting an encryption key for generating secret shares for the encryption key where the key is a random number. There random encryption key is used for encrypting shares for first data);
a distribution processing unit configured to perform distribution processing on the random number to generate n pieces of second distributed data (paragraphs [0023], [0086], [0098] and [0099] and Fig. 8, Bellare teaches generating the secret shares for the encryption key); and
a storage unit configured to separately store the n pieces of second distributed data to n storage devices (paragraphs [0023], [0086], [0098] and [0099] and Fig. 8, Bellare teaches storing the key shares in separate storage.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellare et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0163592 and hereinafter referred to as Bellare) in view of Fujiwara et al. (“Unbreakable distributed storage with quantum key distribution network and password authenticated secret sharing” and hereinafter referred to as Fujiwara).
As to claim 1, Bellare discloses a secret sharing storage system comprising:
a plurality of storage devices (paragraphs [0023] and [0086], Bellare teaches multiple storage devices/repositories);
a random number generator configured to generate a random number (paragraphs [0091] and [0098], Bellare teaches a random number generator);
a first apparatus configured to
generate n pieces of first distributed data by performing distribution processing on second data obtained by encrypting first data using the random number, the n being an integer of 2 or more (paragraphs [0023], [0098] and [0099] and Fig. 8, Bellare teaches encrypting data using a randomly generated key and splitting the ciphertext into chunks), and
separately store the n pieces of first distributed data to n storage devices among the plurality of storage devices (paragraphs [0023], [0086], [0098] and [0099] and Fig. 8, Bellare teaches separately storing the chunks); and
a second secret sharing apparatus configured to
generate n pieces of second distributed data by performing distribution processing on the random number (paragraphs [0023], [0098] and [0099], Fig. 8 and Table 1, Bellare teaches generating secret shares for the encryption key where the key is a random number), and
separately store the n pieces of second distributed data to n storage devices among the plurality of storage devices (paragraphs [0023], [0086], [0098] and [0099] and Fig. 8, Bellare teaches storing the key shares in separate storage.). While Bellare does disclose secret sharing for the key and two separate data dividing/storage processes for the key and data, Bellare is not specifically clear on disclosing the data dividing as a secret sharing. Therefore, Bellare does not specifically disclose a first secret sharing as claimed. However, Fujiwara does disclose a first secret sharing (pg. 1, pg. 2 (1) and pg. 4 (1-2), Fujiwara teaches two separate secret sharing’s: one for data and one for passwords.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bellare with the teachings of Fujiwara for having the first secret sharing because this would increase security.
Claim 8 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is therefore, rejected for similar reasons to claim 1 above.
As to claim 2, the combination of teachings between Bellare and Fujiwara disclose the secret sharing storage system of claim 1, wherein: transmission and reception of the random number between a user terminal and the random number generator or a random number distribution device are performed by quantum key encryption communication using a quantum key, the user terminal transmitting the second data to the first secret sharing apparatus, the random number distribution device distributing the random number generated by the random number generator, the quantum key being shared between a quantum key distribution device disposed on the user terminal side and a quantum key distribution device disposed on the random number generator side or the random number distribution device side; and transmission and reception of the random number between the second secret sharing apparatus and the random number generator or the random number distribution device are performed by quantum key encryption communication using a quantum key shared between a quantum key distribution device disposed on the second secret sharing apparatus side and a quantum key distribution device disposed on the random number generator side or the random number distribution device side (pg. 1, pg. 2 (2) and pg. 5, Fujiwara teaches protection of data in transmission using quantum key distribution.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellare and Fujiwara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0147640 and hereinafter referred to as Matsuo).
As to claim 3, the combination of teachings between Bellare and Fujiwara disclose the secret sharing storage system of claim 1. The combination of teachings between Bellare and Fujiwara does not specifically disclose further comprising: one or more first secret sharing preliminary apparatuses having the same function as the first secret sharing apparatus; and one or more second secret sharing preliminary apparatuses having the same function as the second secret sharing apparatus, wherein each of the one or more first secret sharing preliminary apparatuses is operable as an alternative apparatus to the first secret sharing apparatus, and each of the one or more second secret sharing preliminary apparatuses is operable as an alternative apparatus to the second secret sharing apparatus as claimed. However, Matsuo does disclose
further comprising: one or more first secret sharing preliminary apparatuses having the same function as the first secret sharing apparatus; and one or more second secret sharing preliminary apparatuses having the same function as the second secret sharing apparatus, wherein each of the one or more first secret sharing preliminary apparatuses is operable as an alternative apparatus to the first secret sharing apparatus, and each of the one or more second secret sharing preliminary apparatuses is operable as an alternative apparatus to the second secret sharing apparatus (paragraphs [0098]-[0100], Matsuo teaches a secondary controller with the same configuration as the main controller for performing secret sharing.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Bellare with the teachings of Matsuo for having secret sharing preliminary apparatuses because this would improve availability/robustness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites, inter alia, “transmit the first information to the second secret sharing apparatus, the second secret sharing apparatus is further configured to determine the storage devices that store the second distributed data based on the first information, and the plurality of storage devices are further configured to generate one of n pieces of third distributed data obtained by performing distribution processing on the first data by using the first distributed data received from the first secret sharing apparatus and the second distributed data received from the second secret sharing apparatus”. The prior art was not found to disclose the cited limitations in combination with the other limitations. Therefore, claim 4 is considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art. Dependent claim 5 is considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art based on its dependency.
Conclusion
/THADDEUS J PLECHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2438