DETAILED ACTION
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The claims are directed towards a method or apparatus as recited in claims 1, 20. The closest prior art is directed towards Kindred et al (US Patent No. 7489790 B2), Zhuge (US Publication No. 2024/0039497), Riemer (US Patent No. 11265661 B1)or Dissenso et al (CN 105814913 A). However, when considering the teaching of the Prior Art individually or in combination, fails to explicitly anticipate or render obvious every limitation as recited in the recording a segmented conversation between the user and other person(s) that allows for the user to interact using user controlled functions with the recorded data in a hearing aid as recited in the claims 1, 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recited a “fourth” as if there was a recitations of a first, second, and third with functionality of the first, second, and third; however, there is not. To further prosecurtion, it is believed that the Applicant intended –another--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Rohde et al (US Pub No. 20210274296).
Regarding claim 1, Rohde teaches an apparatus capable of performing a method for operating a hearing aid device (HA), the method comprising: recording a set of segments (para. 0016-0017, wherein start/stop recording of audio data forming a time segment) of audio data during a conversation between a user and other people (para 0081, wherein the identifying the user, non-user, or other sounds within the segment); and, allowing the user to interact with the recorded audio data through a set of predefined functions (fig. 4B, 4C; para. 0206; wherein the auxiliary device (AD) allows for calibrating HRTF or OVTF by pressing buttons).
Regarding claim 2, Rohde teaches the method hearing aid system in claim 1, further comprising has a speech detection module to determine when the hearing aid device system should start active recording, and when to stop recording (para. 0016-0017; detector initiates start/stop recording).
Regarding claim 3, Rohde teaches the speech detection module in claim 2, has a capability to detect whether each a voice data segment is by the user or another person (para 0081, wherein the identifying the user, non-user, or other sounds within the segment).
Regarding claim 11, Rohde teaches the method hearing aid system in claim 1 further comprising provides a visual indicator on a headset the hearing aid device during active recording (para. 0028, camera on hearing aid).
Regarding claim 12, Rohde teaches the apparatus capable of performing the method hearing aid system in claim 1, further comprising provides an action button (para. 0206, wherein a button is present) to trigger a default action when the action button is clicked.
Regarding claim 13, Rohde teaches the default action in claim 12, is to play back the recorded audio data (para 0202, wherein calibrated sound is played through speaker, AD-SPK).
Regarding claim 14, Rohde teaches the default action in claim 12 can be modified through a fourth set of user controls settings (para. 0203-0229, wherein the auxiliary device can perform other control options, such as mode switching).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohde in view of O’Callaghan et al (US Publication No. 20230179901).
Regarding claim 4, Rohde does not teach the apparatus capable of performing the method hearing aid system in claim 1, has a replay function capability to play back the recorded audio data based on a first set of user controls command.
O’Callaghan teaches replay function capability to play back the recorded audio data based on a first set of user controls command (para. 0058; playback) for communication audio.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the communication technique would have yielded a predictable result.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohde in view of Joergensen (US Publication No. 20050008178).
Regarding claim 15, Rohde fails to specifically teach the action button in claim 12 is a button on a headset the hearing aid device.
Joergensen teaches a button (300, button panel) on a hearing aid device for receiving a user input.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying buttons would have yielded a predictable result.
Regarding claim(s) 16-18, the combination of Rohde and Joergensen fails to teach the action button in claim 15 can further be used to pause or resume playback during a playback session (claim 16), turn on or turn off the power of the hearing aid system (claim 17), visual indication (claim 18).
However, the Examiner takes Office Notice that it is known in the art to use an action button to perform additional functions, for example (Devine US Publication No. 20100119100; para. 0008, 0029, 0037 wherein it uses action button(s) to perform operations, such as ON/OFF, volume, pause, visual functions).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying button operation(s) would have yielded a predictable result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5-10, 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is/are allowed.
Conclusion
For general questions such as application status, Monday–Friday, 8:30AM -5:00PM, inquiry to:
Local: 571-272-1000
Toll-Free: 800-786-9199
TTY: 800-877-8339
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P O Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(703) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for informal or draft communications, please label "Proposed" or "Draft" when submitting an informal amendment.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
February 18, 2026
/PHYLESHA DABNEY/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694