DETAILED ACTION
Objections to the Claims, Specification and Drawings
There is a lack of correspondence between the claimed subject matter, the detailed written description, the summary of invention and the drawings as to
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the converting occurring within the second chamber.” By necessity, a Seebeck type thermoelectric device requires a temperature difference to produce a current. It is unclear from the drawings, the specification, or the claims how the conversion of thermal energy into electrical energy can occur inside a fluid chamber where there is no temperature difference sufficient to generate an electric current. According to Applicant’s specification, the leads of the thermoelectric array are situated outside of the second chamber (see e.g. para [0015] “…the other ends of the wires (e.g., negative cooling connection 22 and positive cooling connection 24) may be disposed outside of cooling chamber 34 where the temperature is lower. As is well known, this results in a voltage difference between negative cooling connection 22 and positive cooling connection 24.”) It is the examiner’s position that the conversion in fact does not occur inside the second chamber as claimed by Applicant, but occurs as a result of a lower temperature interacting with thermoelectric junction wires located outside of the second chamber.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim uses the term “converting means”. It is not readily obvious that this is referring to the “means for converting” in claim 1. If this is the case claim 2 should be rewritten to match the terminology of claim 1, i.e. “converting means” should be changed to “means for converting.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim should read “a thermal transfer fluid disposed in the fluid circuit…” Otherwise it is unclear if there is one fluid or multiple fluids. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In claim 1, “means for converting heat” shall be interpreted in light of the specification as a thermoelectric device using the Seebeck effect, or an equivalent mechanism as is well known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0308081 to Ouyang et al.
As to claim 1, Ouyang discloses a cooling system for electronics (see e.g. Fig. 4), the system comprising: an electronic component to be cooled (402); a first chamber (portion of 408 inside 400) containing or adjacent to the electronic component (402); means for converting heat into electrical energy (428); a second chamber (414) containing or adjacent to the converting means; a first conduit (portion of 408 flowing from 402 to 414) fluidly interconnecting the first chamber and the second chamber; a second conduit (portion of 408 flowing from 414 to 402) fluidly interconnecting the first chamber and the second chamber such that the first chamber, the second chamber, the first conduit and the second conduit form a fluid circuit (408); and thermal transfer fluid (410) disposed in the fluid circuit, wherein the fluid circuit is configured to circulate the thermal transfer fluid therein (via 414).
As to claim 2, Ouyang discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the converting means (428) comprises at least one thermoelectric junction (202, see e.g. Fig. 2A).
As to claim 3, Ouyang discloses (see e.g. Fig. 2A) the system of claim 2 wherein the at least one thermoelectric junction (202) comprises a plurality of thermoelectric junctions (212).
As to claim 4, Ouyang discloses (see e.g. Fig. 2A) the system of claim 3 wherein the plurality of thermoelectric junctions (212) are connected together electrically in series (notice voltage potential V in serries with elements 212) and thermally substantially in parallel (Temperature difference TL -TH hits all elements 212 substantially simultaneously).
As to claim 15, Ouyang discloses a cooling system for cooling an electronic component (see e.g. Fig. 4), the system comprising: a first chamber (portion of 408 at 400) configured to contain or adjacent to the electronic component (402); at least one Seebeck effect thermoelectric junction (428)(see para [0011] “In some embodiments, converting the heat generated by the heat-generating device into the thermoelectric power involves tapping into a temperature difference around the heat-generating device and converting the temperature difference into electricity using the Seebeck effect.”) configured to convert heat into electrical energy; a second chamber (414) containing or adjacent to the at least one Seebeck effect thermoelectric junction (428); a first conduit (portion of 408 flowing from 402 to 414) fluidly interconnecting the first chamber and the second chamber; a second conduit (portion of 408 flowing from 414 to 402) fluidly interconnecting the first chamber and the second chamber such that the first chamber, the second chamber, the first conduit and the second conduit form a fluid circuit (408); and thermal transfer fluid (410) disposed in the fluid circuit, wherein the fluid circuit is configured to circulate the thermal transfer fluid therein.
As to claim 16, Ouyang discloses (see e.g. Fig. 2A) the system of claim 15 wherein the at least one Seebeck effect thermoelectric junction (428) comprises a plurality of Seebeck effect thermoelectric junctions (212).
As to claim 17, Ouyang discloses (see e.g. Fig. 2A) the system of claim 16 wherein the plurality of Seebeck effect thermoelectric junctions (212) are connected together electrically in series (notice voltage potential V in serries with elements 212) and thermally substantially in parallel (Temperature difference TL -TH hits all elements 212 substantially simultaneously).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2003/0098588 to Yazawa et al.
As to claim 8 Yazawa discloses a method (see e.g. Fig.6) for cooling an electronic component (12), the method comprising: providing a sealed fluid circuit (16) including: a first chamber (portion of 16 inside of 12); a second chamber (portion of 16 inside of 30); a first fluid conduit (portion of 16 between 12 and 30) interconnecting the first chamber and the second chamber; and a second fluid conduit (22) interconnecting the first chamber and the second chamber; placing the electronic component (12) in or adjacent to the first chamber; placing thermal transfer fluid (18) in the fluid circuit (16) such that heat from the electronic component (12) is transferred to the thermal transfer fluid; circulating the thermal transfer fluid within the sealed fluid circuit (para [0049] “The rapid expansion of the volatile liquid 66 then propels the fluid 18 at a higher flow rate…”); and converting heat from the thermal transfer fluid into electrical energy (as the thermal transfer fluid is heated it produces bubbles in the volatile fluid which propel the transfer fluid at a high velocity through permanent magnet 30, creating an electric current, thus converting the heat of the transfer fluid into electrical energy, see para [0049]), the converting occurring within the second chamber (as fluid 18 passes through the second chamber it creates a magnetic flux inducing a current, see para [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2003/0098588 to Yazawa et al. in view of CN 115474408 to Jiang et al.
As to claim 12, Yazawa discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. Yazawa fails to disclose wherein the first conduit comprises a first Tesla valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a first conduit passing thru first Tesla valve (5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first conduit of Yazawa with a Tesla valve as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 13, Yazawa discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Yazawa fails to disclose wherein the second conduit comprises a second Tesla valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a second conduit passing thru second Tesla valve (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the second conduit of Yazawa with a Tesla valve as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 14, Yazawa discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. Yazawa fails to disclose wherein the first conduit comprises a first one-way valve, and the second conduit comprises a second one-way valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a first conduit passing thru first Tesla (one-way) valve (5) and a second conduit passing thru second Tesla (one-way) valve (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first and second conduits of Yazawa with Tesla valves as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 5-7, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0308081 to Ouyang et al. in view of CN 115474408 to Jiang et al.
As to claim 5, Ouyang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Ouyang fails to disclose the system of claim 1 wherein the first conduit comprises a first Tesla valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a first conduit passing thru first Tesla valve (5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first conduit of Ouyang with a Tesla valve as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 6, modified Ouyang discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Ouyang fails to disclose wherein the second conduit comprises a second Tesla valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a second conduit passing thru second Tesla valve (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the second conduit of Ouyang with a Tesla valve as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 7, Ouyang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Ouyang fails to disclose wherein the first conduit comprises a first one-way valve, and the second conduit comprises a second one-way valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a first conduit passing thru first Tesla (one-way) valve (5) and a second conduit passing thru second Tesla (one-way) valve (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first and second conduits of Ouyang with Tesla valves as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 18, Ouyang discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Ouyang fails to disclose wherein the first conduit comprises a first Tesla valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a first conduit passing thru first Tesla valve (5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first conduit of Ouyang with a Tesla valve as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 19, Ouyang discloses all of the limitations of claim 18. Ouyang fails to disclose wherein the second conduit comprises a second Tesla valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a second conduit passing thru second Tesla valve (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the second conduit of Ouyang with a Tesla valve as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 20, Ouyang discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Ouyang fails to disclose Ouyang fails to disclose wherein the first conduit comprises a first one-way valve, and the second conduit comprises a second one-way valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a first conduit passing thru first Tesla (one-way) valve (5) and a second conduit passing thru second Tesla (one-way) valve (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first and second conduits of Ouyang with Tesla valves as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0308081 to Ouyang et al. in view of US 9817453 to Nakamura.
As to claim 8 Ouyang discloses a method (see e.g. Fig. 4) for cooling an electronic component (402), the method comprising: providing a sealed fluid circuit (408) including: a first chamber (portion of 408 inside of 400); a second chamber (414); a first fluid conduit (portion of 408 flowing from 400 to 414) interconnecting the first chamber and the second chamber; and a second fluid conduit (portion of 408 flowing from 414 to 400) interconnecting the first chamber and the second chamber; placing the electronic component in or adjacent to the first chamber; placing thermal transfer fluid (410) in the fluid circuit such that heat from the electronic component is transferred to the thermal transfer fluid; circulating the thermal transfer fluid within the sealed fluid circuit. Ouyang fails to disclose converting heat from the thermal transfer fluid into electrical energy, the converting occurring within the second chamber. Nakamura teaches (e.g. Fig. 2) converting heat from a thermal transfer fluid (cool water) into electrical energy (via thermoelectric element 35), the converting occurring within a chamber (10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the energy converging means (428) of Ouyang to be located inside of a chamber as taught by Nakamura in order to consolidate the elements of the system as well as spot cool the chip die (424) as taught by Nakamura.
As to claim 9, modified Ouyang further discloses the method of claim 8 wherein the converting step is performed by using at least one thermoelectric junction (202)(see e.g. Fig.2A).
As to claim 10, modified Ouyang further discloses the method of claim 9 wherein the at least one thermoelectric junction (202) comprises a plurality of thermoelectric junctions (Elements 212).
As to claim 11, modified Ouyang further discloses the method of claim 10 further comprising connecting the plurality of thermoelectric junctions (212) are connected together electrically in series (notice voltage potential V in serries with elements 212) and thermally substantially in parallel (Temperature difference TL -TH hits all elements 212 substantially simultaneously).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0308081 to Ouyang et al. in view of US 9817453 to Nakamura and further in view of CN 115474408 to Jiang et al.
As to claim 12, Ouyang in view of Nakamura teach all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Ouyang fails to disclose the method of claim 8 wherein the first fluid conduit comprises a first Tesla valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a first conduit passing thru first Tesla valve (5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first conduit of Ouyang with a Tesla valve as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 13, Ouyang in view of Nakamura teach all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Ouyang fails to disclose the method of claim 12 wherein the second conduit comprises a second Tesla valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a second conduit passing thru second Tesla valve (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the second conduit of Ouyang with a Tesla valve as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
As to claim 14, Ouyang in view of Nakamura teach all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Ouyang fails to disclose the method of claim 8 wherein the first fluid conduit comprises a first one-way valve, and the second fluid conduit comprises a second one-way valve. Jiang teaches in a similar endeavor a heat radiating system (see e.g. Fig. 1) comprising a first conduit passing thru first Tesla (one-way) valve (5) and a second conduit passing thru second Tesla (one-way) valve (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first and second conduits of Ouyang with Tesla valves as taught by Jiang to improve the heat exchange capabilities of a two-phase system by improving the rewetting efficiency based on the one-way flow characteristics of the Tesla valve, as taught by Jiang (see Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2009/0308081 to Jeon et al. teaches a radiating loop with thermoelectric means. US 6,799,282 to Maeda et al. discloses using thermoelectric means of generating power. US 11,930,875 to Kasraei; US 9,903,536 to Lin et al.; US 12,501,593 to Wang; and US 5,265,636 to Reed all disclosing various one-way valves. US 7,110,258 to Ding et al. disclosing a radiating loop. US 1,329,559 to Telsa discloses a Telsa valve.
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835