DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al. US 2020/0274375 A1 in a view of Wang et al. US 12,057,732 B2 and further in a view of Li et al. US 2019/0068097 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Griffiths discloses
A high-voltage component (Other systems for Pumping operation) of an electric vehicle [0374, 0375], wherein the high-voltage component is configured to be connected to a high-voltage traction battery (Item 104) of the electric vehicle, said high-voltage component comprising: at least one electric machine (Item 106); a power electronic (Items 404 along with DC/DC) assembly which is configured to convert a high voltage of the traction battery into an operating voltage for the at least one electric machine (The electric machine runs using power from the battery), wherein the power electronic assembly has a converter DC link with a DC link capacitor arrangement (Figs. 64 and 184 shows a DC link with filter capacitors 6404 and a CAP) [0500]; and a control assembly (Item 102) which is configured to be connected to a low-voltage on-board electrical system of the electric vehicle and comprises a control unit (Item 102 itself), wherein the power electronic assembly has an integrated DC-DC voltage converter (DC/DC) which is connected to the control assembly and which is configured to convert the high voltage of the traction battery into a voltage corresponding to the voltage of the low-voltage on-board electrical system (Auto Loads) of the electric vehicle, and the at least one electric machine is connected to hydraulic pumps which are connected to a hydraulic circuit (item 9008) [0537, 0547] .
Griffiths does not disclose but Wang et al. disclose which is configured to initiate an active electrical discharge of the DC link capacitor (item 116) arrangement response to the low-voltage on-board electrical system safety components of the electric vehicle fails (column 8, lines 15-35, column 12, lines 51-67, column 13, lines 1-26) (The battery contactor can be opened to isolate item 116 and item 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to initiate an active electrical discharge of the DC link capacitor as disclosed by Wang in Griffiths teachings to avoid any damage to the vehicle.
A combination of Griffiths and Wang does not disclose but Li et al. disclose and wherein the high-voltage component (item 30) forms part of an active damping regulation apparatus (item 36) of the electric vehicle [0028, 0029].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form an active damping regulation apparatus as disclosed by Li in Griffith’s teachings to achieve low THD and DC link voltage ripple (Li’s paragraph 0007)
Regarding claim 2, Griffiths discloses
, wherein the high-voltage component has at least one pump device which is connected to the electric machine [0547].
Regarding claim 3, Griffiths discloses the pump device but does not mention “a hydraulic internal gear pump”. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a hydraulic internal gear pump because it has high efficiency and the ability to handle high-viscosity fluids.
Regarding claim 4, Griffiths alternate embodiment discloses
, wherein the power electronic assembly has an EMI filter (Fig. 254 discloses EMI filter). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an EMI filter in Fig. 4 to suppress noise on DC bus.
Regarding claim 5, Griffiths discloses
, wherein the power electronic assembly has a circuit breaker (IGBT) by way of which the electric machine is connected to the power electronic assembly [0624].
Regarding claim 6, Griffiths discloses
, wherein the circuit breaker is an insulated-gate bipolar transistor [0624].
Regarding claim 8, Griffiths does not disclose but Wang et al. disclose, wherein the control unit (item 108) is configured to initiate the active electrical discharge of the DC link capacitor arrangement in the event of a fault or crash (Wang’s column 8, lines 15-35, column 12, lines 51-67, column 13, lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 9, Griffiths does not disclose but Wang et al. disclose wherein the control unit (item 108) is configured to initiate an active phase short-circuit of the electric machine in the event of a fault or crash (Wang’s column 8, lines 15-35, column 12, lines 51-67, column 13, lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 11, Griffiths discloses
An electric vehicle comprising the high-voltage component of claim 1 [0374].
Regarding claim 12, Griffiths does not disclose but Wang et al. disclose, wherein the control assembly is configured to tripper safety functions of the electrical vehicle when a vehicle fault (a condition indicative of a call to discharge) or vehicle crash is detected (Wang’s column 8, lines 15-35, column 12, lines 51-67, column 13, lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 13, Griffiths discloses, wherein the at least one electric machine is connected to a pump device [0547], and Wang discloses the control unit (item 108) is configured to initiate an active phase short-circuit of the electric machine to prevent rotation of a pump device (Wang’s column 3, lines 20-28, column 8, lines 15-35, column 12, lines 51-67, column 13, lines 1-26) (pump is non-propulsion electric component).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the control unit is configured to initiate an active phase short-circuit of the electric machine to prevent the pump device from inducing an electrical voltage during movement of a body of the electric vehicle (Wang’s column 3, lines 20-28, column 8, lines 15-35, column 12, lines 51-67, column 13, lines 1-26) (pump is non-propulsion electric component).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses, wherein the control unit is configured to cause the at least one electric machine to become stationary (due to short circuit stage) based on the active electrical discharge of the DC link capacitor arrangement being initiated (column 3, lines 20-28, column 8, lines 15-35, column 12, lines 51-67, column 13, lines 1-26) (pump is non-propulsion electric component).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses, wherein the hydraulic pumps are prevented from rotating based on the at least one electric machine becoming stationary (column 3, lines 21-30) (Pump is connected to bus which is isolated during discharge).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot over a new prior art (see updated claim rejection for details). Examiner withdraws 112(a) and 112(b) rejections based on applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837