DETAIL ACTION
Notice on Prior Art Rejections
Status of Claims
3. This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's application filed April 1, 2024. Claims 1-14 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
5. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
6. The term “determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on traffic rules” in claims 1, 6, 8 and 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “traffic rules” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Please provide a specific definition of the term by amending the claims or removing it from the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
7. Claims 2-7 and 9-14 depend from claims 1 and 8 respectively and therefore include the same limitation as claims 1 and 8 so they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Stouhi et al, US 2019/0143969, in view of Nister et al. US 2023/0130814, hereinafter referred to as Al-Stouhi and Nister, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Al-Stouhi discloses a system for preventing inter-vehicle collisions at an intersection, comprising:
a first sub-system mounted in a first vehicle comprising brakes (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 29, “the VCD 118 can control one or more vehicle functions ( e.g., steering, accelerating, braking, etc.) to provide the autonomic vehicle collision controls to control the target vehicle(s) 106 to avoid a collision with the reference vehicle(s) 104 based on the estimated probability of collision between the target vehicle(s) 106 and the reference vehicle(s) 104”), the first sub-system being configured to: continuously receive first navigation data comprising geographical coordinates at which the first vehicle will be located upon expiry of a threshold time period (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 36, “Positional parameters can include data that pertains to the position ( e.g., GNSS coordinates at or near the intersection) of the reference vehicle( s) 104 and the target vehicle(s) 106. Directional parameters can include data that pertains to the directional orientation (e.g., heading at or near the intersection) of the reference vehicle (s) 104 and the target vehicle(s) 106”);
based on the first navigation data, determine that the first vehicle is approaching the intersection along a first road (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 37, “GPS sensors can be utilized to provide the positional parameters that can include data that pertains to the position ( e.g., GNSS coordinates) of the reference vehicle(s) 104 and/or the target vehicle(s) 106 that are approaching and/or traveling through the intersection.”); and
continuously broadcast the first navigation data (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 27, “data can be transmitted from one or more reference vehicles 104 to one or more roadside equipment (units) 108 (RSE) to provide a collision avoidance response at one or more of the target vehicles 106 that receive the data in a processed format from the RSE 108”); and
a second sub-system mounted in a second vehicle comprising brakes, the second sub-system being configured to: continuously receive second navigation data comprising geographical coordinates at which the second vehicle will be located upon expiry of the threshold time period (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 37, “specific vehicle systems 132, 134 including, but not limited to the navigation system can be utilized to provide the positional parameters that can include data that pertains to the position of the reference vehicle(s) 104 and/or the target vehicle(s) 106”);
based on the second navigation data, determine that the second vehicle is approaching the intersection along a second road different from the first road (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 80, “the method includes evaluating the positional location of the target vehicle(s) 106. Specifically, the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can utilize the vehicle sensors 130 to provide one or more real time vehicle parameters associated with the target vehicle(s) 106. In one embodiment, the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can communicate with the GPS sensors to determine the positional parameters pertaining to the exact location of the target vehicle(s) 106 with respect to the intersection”);
continuously receive the first navigation data broadcast by the first sub-system (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 83, “the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can aggregate the evaluated environmental parameters, positional location of the target vehicle(s) 106, directional location of the target vehicle(s) 106 and the vehicle dynamics of the target vehicle(s) 106 to estimate the path of travel of the target vehicle(s) 106”);
continuously compare the geographical coordinates comprised in the first navigation data with the geographical coordinates comprised in the second navigation data (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 90, 87, 85, “As illustrated in FIG. 7, the estimated path of the reference vehicle 104 will be compared to the estimated path of the target vehicle 106 to estimate an overlap of the estimated future positon of the target vehicle 106 at x3 and the estimate future position of the reference vehicle 104 at y3”);
if the geographical coordinates comprised in the first navigation data coincide with the geographical coordinates comprised in the second navigation data, determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on traffic rules (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 92, 91, “the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can also communicate with the VCD 118 to provide one or more autonomic vehicle collision controls in order decelerate the speed of the target vehicle(s) 106, stop the target vehicle(s) 106 and/or alter the course of the target vehicle(s) 106”);
if it is determined that the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection, transmit a notification to the first sub-system, the notification indicating that the second sub-system will perform a collision avoidance action (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 92, 91, 29, “the VCD 118 can provide the collision prevention warnings in the form of audio, visual, and/or tactile warnings to the driver(s) of the target vehicle(s) 106 to warn of the estimated probability of collision between the target vehicle(s) 106 and the reference vehicle(s) 104”); and
if a time until the geographical coordinates comprised in the first navigation data coincide with the geographical coordinates comprised in the second navigation data is less than a first threshold value, perform the collision avoidance action by forcibly activating the brakes of the second vehicle (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 92, 91, 35, 29, “the VCD 118 can control one or more vehicle functions ( e.g., steering, accelerating, braking, etc.) to provide the autonomic vehicle collision controls to control the target vehicle(s) 106 to avoid a collision with the reference vehicle(s) 104 based on the estimated probability of collision between the target vehicle(s) 106 and the reference vehicle(s) 104”).
Al-Stouhi fails to explicitly disclose if it is determined that the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle.
However, Nister teaches if it is determined that the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 22, 25, 29, 31, 33, 43, 44, 46, 47, 67, 78, 21, “In order to allow another user to safely, confidently, and efficiently "clear" the yielding condition, yielding behavior may involve deaccelerating, or even bringing the vehicle to a complete stop. For instance, in an unmarked intersection where another car has previously arrived, a subsequent arriving car may deploy appropriate yielding behavior by slowing down to enable the first car to safely clear the intersection. Such yielding behavior ensures that the subsequent car does not enter the intersection until the first car has safely cleared the intersection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Al-Stouhi and include if it is determined that the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle as taught by Nister because it would allow the system to avoid a potential collision under a yield condition (Nister ¶ 22).
Regarding claim 2, Al-Stouhi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second sub-system is further configured to: if the time until the geographical coordinates comprised in the first navigation data coincide with the geographical coordinates comprised in the second navigation data exceeds the first threshold value by a second threshold value, output a warning signal to a driver of the second vehicle, the warning signal indicating that the driver needs either to slow down or stop the second vehicle (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 35, 89, 92, 91, 29, “the VCD 118 can provide the collision prevention warnings in the form of audio, visual, and/or tactile warnings to the driver(s) of the target vehicle(s) 106 to warn of the estimated probability of collision between the target vehicle(s) 106 and the reference vehicle(s) 104”).
Regarding claim 3, Al-Stouhi discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the warning signal is at least one of a visual signal and an audible signal (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 89, 92, 91, 29, 35, “a collision warning system, a collision mitigation braking system, an auto cruise control system, a lane departure warning system, a blind spot indicator system, a lane keep assist system, a navigation system, a transmission system, brake pedal systems, an electronic power steering system, visual devices (e.g., camera systems, proximity sensor systems), a climate control system, an electronic pretensioning system, among others”).
Regarding claim 4, Al-Stouhi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second sub-system is further configured to: if it is determined that the first vehicle must give way to the second vehicle at the intersection, transmit another notification to the first sub-system, said another notification indicating that: (i) a collision between the first vehicle and the second vehicle is possible, and (ii) the second sub-system will not perform the collision avoidance action (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 89, 91, 29, 35, 92, “A high intensity warning (indicative of a high collision probability range value such as 7-10 values) can include tactile, audio, and visual feedback corresponding to autonomously changing the course of the target vehicle(s) 106 and/or stopping the target vehicle(s) 106. It is appreciated that other embodiments are apparent to provide a collision avoidance response to one or more target vehicles 106.”).
Regarding claim 5, Al-Stouhi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second sub-system is further configured to: receive information about time periods of green and red signals of a traffic light installed at the intersection; and determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the received information (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 39, 43, 64, 74, “The collision avoidance determinant module 152 can also determine the real time traffic pattern that can influence the flow of traffic that travels through the intersection.”).
Regarding claim 6, Al-Stouhi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second sub-system is further configured to: store a database of roadway signs within a geographical area covering the first road and the second road, the roadway signs being part of the traffic rules; and determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 39, 64, 74, 43, “Infrastructure data can include, but is not limited to, data pertaining to the characteristics of infrastructure ( e.g., width, length, number of lanes, number of intersection roadways, curbs, objects, speed limits, traffic lights/stop signs, etc.) of the intersection. Traffic data can include, but is not limited to, data pertaining to traffic patterns within the vicinity of the intersection. For example, traffic data can include metrics regarding traffic slowdown/stoppage based on various traffic issues including, but not limited to, vehicle accidents, road construction, and the like”).
Al-Stouhi fails to explicitly disclose determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs.
However, Nister teaches determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 22, 25, 29, 31, 33, 43, 44, 46, 47, 67, 78, 21, “In order to allow another user to safely, confidently, and efficiently "clear" the yielding condition, yielding behavior may involve deaccelerating, or even bringing the vehicle to a complete stop. For instance, in an unmarked intersection where another car has previously arrived, a subsequent arriving car may deploy appropriate yielding behavior by slowing down to enable the first car to safely clear the intersection. Such yielding behavior ensures that the subsequent car does not enter the intersection until the first car has safely cleared the intersection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Al-Stouhi and include determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs as taught by Nister because it would allow the system to avoid a potential collision under a yield condition (Nister ¶ 22).
Regarding claim 7, Al-Stouhi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein, if the second vehicle comprises a forward-facing camera or a drive recorder, the second sub-system is further configured to: continuously receive a video image from the forward-facing camera or the drive recorder; determine whether a traffic light and/or roadway signs are present in the video image; if the traffic light and/or the roadway signs are present in the video image, determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on a current signal of the traffic light and/or the roadway signs (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 38, 39, 64, 74, 43, 34, “vehicle sensors 128, 130 can include, but are not limited to, cameras (not shown) mounted to the interior or exterior of the reference vehicle(s) 104 and target vehicle(s) 108, radar and laser sensors mounted to the exterior of the of the reference vehicle(s) 104 and target vehicle(s), etc. Additionally, vehicle sensors 128, 130 can include specific types of sensors that provide data pertaining to road conditions and the surrounding environment of the vehicle(s) 104, 106”).
Al-Stouhi fails to explicitly disclose determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs.
However, Nister teaches determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 22, 25, 29, 31, 33, 43, 44, 46, 47, 67, 78, 21, “In order to allow another user to safely, confidently, and efficiently "clear" the yielding condition, yielding behavior may involve deaccelerating, or even bringing the vehicle to a complete stop. For instance, in an unmarked intersection where another car has previously arrived, a subsequent arriving car may deploy appropriate yielding behavior by slowing down to enable the first car to safely clear the intersection. Such yielding behavior ensures that the subsequent car does not enter the intersection until the first car has safely cleared the intersection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Al-Stouhi and include determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs as taught by Nister because it would allow the system to avoid a potential collision under a yield condition (Nister ¶ 22).
Regarding claim 8, Al-Stouhi discloses a method for preventing inter-vehicle collisions at an intersection, comprising: by using a first sub-system mounted in a first vehicle comprising brakes (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 29, “the VCD 118 can control one or more vehicle functions ( e.g., steering, accelerating, braking, etc.) to provide the autonomic vehicle collision controls to control the target vehicle(s) 106 to avoid a collision with the reference vehicle(s) 104 based on the estimated probability of collision between the target vehicle(s) 106 and the reference vehicle(s) 104”):
continuously receiving first navigation data comprising geographical coordinates at which the first vehicle will be located upon expiry of a threshold time period (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 36, “Positional parameters can include data that pertains to the position ( e.g., GNSS coordinates at or near the intersection) of the reference vehicle( s) 104 and the target vehicle(s) 106. Directional parameters can include data that pertains to the directional orientation (e.g., heading at or near the intersection) of the reference vehicle (s) 104 and the target vehicle(s) 106”);
based on the first navigation data, determining that the first vehicle is approaching the intersection along a first road (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 37, “GPS sensors can be utilized to provide the positional parameters that can include data that pertains to the position ( e.g., GNSS coordinates) of the reference vehicle(s) 104 and/or the target vehicle(s) 106 that are approaching and/or traveling through the intersection.”); and
continuously broadcasting the first navigation data (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 83, “the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can aggregate the evaluated environmental parameters, positional location of the target vehicle(s) 106, directional location of the target vehicle(s) 106 and the vehicle dynamics of the target vehicle(s) 106 to estimate the path of travel of the target vehicle(s) 106”);
by using a second sub-system mounted in a second vehicle comprising brakes (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 27, “data can be transmitted from one or more reference vehicles 104 to one or more roadside equipment (units) 108 (RSE) to provide a collision avoidance response at one or more of the target vehicles 106 that receive the data in a processed format from the RSE 108”):
continuously receiving second navigation data comprising geographical coordinates at which the second vehicle will be located upon expiry of the threshold time period (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 80, “the method includes evaluating the positional location of the target vehicle(s) 106. Specifically, the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can utilize the vehicle sensors 130 to provide one or more real time vehicle parameters associated with the target vehicle(s) 106. In one embodiment, the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can communicate with the GPS sensors to determine the positional parameters pertaining to the exact location of the target vehicle(s) 106 with respect to the intersection”);
based on the second navigation data, determining that the second vehicle is approaching the intersection along a second road different from the first road (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 37, “specific vehicle systems 132, 134 including, but not limited to the navigation system can be utilized to provide the positional parameters that can include data that pertains to the position of the reference vehicle(s) 104 and/or the target vehicle(s) 106”), (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 80, “the method includes evaluating the positional location of the target vehicle(s) 106. Specifically, the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can utilize the vehicle sensors 130 to provide one or more real time vehicle parameters associated with the target vehicle(s) 106. In one embodiment, the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can communicate with the GPS sensors to determine the positional parameters pertaining to the exact location of the target vehicle(s) 106 with respect to the intersection”);
continuously receiving the first navigation data broadcast by the first sub-system (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 36, “Positional parameters can include data that pertains to the position ( e.g., GNSS coordinates at or near the intersection) of the reference vehicle( s) 104 and the target vehicle(s) 106. Directional parameters can include data that pertains to the directional orientation (e.g., heading at or near the intersection) of the reference vehicle (s) 104 and the target vehicle(s) 106”);
continuously comparing the geographical coordinates comprised in the first navigation data with the geographical coordinates comprised in the second navigation data (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 90, 87, 85, “As illustrated in FIG. 7, the estimated path of the reference vehicle 104 will be compared to the estimated path of the target vehicle 106 to estimate an overlap of the estimated future positon of the target vehicle 106 at x3 and the estimate future position of the reference vehicle 104 at y3”);
if the geographical coordinates comprised in the first navigation data coincide with the geographical coordinates comprised in the second navigation data, determining whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on traffic rules (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 92, 91, “the collision avoidance determinant module 152 can also communicate with the VCD 118 to provide one or more autonomic vehicle collision controls in order decelerate the speed of the target vehicle(s) 106, stop the target vehicle(s) 106 and/or alter the course of the target vehicle(s) 106”);
if it is determined that the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection, transmitting, to the first sub-system, a notification indicating that the second sub-system will perform a collision avoidance action (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 92, 91, 29, “the VCD 118 can provide the collision prevention warnings in the form of audio, visual, and/or tactile warnings to the driver(s) of the target vehicle(s) 106 to warn of the estimated probability of collision between the target vehicle(s) 106 and the reference vehicle(s) 104”); and
if a time until the geographical coordinates comprised in the first navigation data coincide with the geographical coordinates comprised in the second navigation data is less than a first threshold value, performing the collision avoidance action by forcibly activating the brakes of the second vehicle (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 92, 91, 35, 29, “the VCD 118 can control one or more vehicle functions ( e.g., steering, accelerating, braking, etc.) to provide the autonomic vehicle collision controls to control the target vehicle(s) 106 to avoid a collision with the reference vehicle(s) 104 based on the estimated probability of collision between the target vehicle(s) 106 and the reference vehicle(s) 104”).
Al-Stouhi fails to explicitly disclose if it is determined that the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle.
However, Nister teaches if it is determined that the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 22, 25, 29, 31, 33, 43, 44, 46, 47, 67, 78, 21, “In order to allow another user to safely, confidently, and efficiently "clear" the yielding condition, yielding behavior may involve deaccelerating, or even bringing the vehicle to a complete stop. For instance, in an unmarked intersection where another car has previously arrived, a subsequent arriving car may deploy appropriate yielding behavior by slowing down to enable the first car to safely clear the intersection. Such yielding behavior ensures that the subsequent car does not enter the intersection until the first car has safely cleared the intersection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Al-Stouhi and include if it is determined that the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle as taught by Nister because it would allow the system to avoid a potential collision under a yield condition (Nister ¶ 22).
Regarding claim 9, Al-Stouhi discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, by using the second sub-system: if the time until the geographical coordinates comprised in the first navigation data coincide with the geographical coordinates comprised in the second navigation data exceeds the first threshold value by a second threshold value, outputting a warning signal to a driver of the second vehicle, the warning signal indicating that the driver needs either to slow down or stop the second vehicle (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 35, 89, 92, 91, 29, “the VCD 118 can provide the collision prevention warnings in the form of audio, visual, and/or tactile warnings to the driver(s) of the target vehicle(s) 106 to warn of the estimated probability of collision between the target vehicle(s) 106 and the reference vehicle(s) 104”).
Regarding claim 10, Al-Stouhi discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the warning signal is at least one of a visual signal and an audible signal (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 89, 92, 91, 29, 35, “a collision warning system, a collision mitigation braking system, an auto cruise control system, a lane departure warning system, a blind spot indicator system, a lane keep assist system, a navigation system, a transmission system, brake pedal systems, an electronic power steering system, visual devices (e.g., camera systems, proximity sensor systems), a climate control system, an electronic pretensioning system, among others”).
Regarding claim 11, Al-Stouhi discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, by using the second sub-system: if it is determined that the first vehicle must give way to the second vehicle at the intersection, transmitting another notification to the first sub-system, said another notification indicating that: (i) a collision between the first vehicle and the second vehicle is possible, and (ii) the second sub-system will not perform the collision avoidance action (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 89, 91, 29, 35, 92, “A high intensity warning (indicative of a high collision probability range value such as 7-10 values) can include tactile, audio, and visual feedback corresponding to autonomously changing the course of the target vehicle(s) 106 and/or stopping the target vehicle(s) 106. It is appreciated that other embodiments are apparent to provide a collision avoidance response to one or more target vehicles 106.”).
Regarding claim 12, Al-Stouhi discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, by the second sub-system, information about time periods of green and red signals of a traffic light installed at the intersection; and determine, by the second sub-system, whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the received information (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 39, 43, 64, 74, “The collision avoidance determinant module 152 can also determine the real time traffic pattern that can influence the flow of traffic that travels through the intersection.”).
Regarding claim 13, Al-Stouhi discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: pre-storing, in the second sub-system, a database of roadway signs within a geographical area covering the first road and the second road, the roadway signs being part of the traffic rules; and determining, by using the second sub-system, whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 39, 64, 74, 43, “Infrastructure data can include, but is not limited to, data pertaining to the characteristics of infrastructure ( e.g., width, length, number of lanes, number of intersection roadways, curbs, objects, speed limits, traffic lights/stop signs, etc.) of the intersection. Traffic data can include, but is not limited to, data pertaining to traffic patterns within the vicinity of the intersection. For example, traffic data can include metrics regarding traffic slowdown/stoppage based on various traffic issues including, but not limited to, vehicle accidents, road construction, and the like”).
Al-Stouhi fails to explicitly disclose determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs.
However, Nister teaches determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 22, 25, 29, 31, 33, 43, 44, 46, 47, 67, 78, 21, “In order to allow another user to safely, confidently, and efficiently "clear" the yielding condition, yielding behavior may involve deaccelerating, or even bringing the vehicle to a complete stop. For instance, in an unmarked intersection where another car has previously arrived, a subsequent arriving car may deploy appropriate yielding behavior by slowing down to enable the first car to safely clear the intersection. Such yielding behavior ensures that the subsequent car does not enter the intersection until the first car has safely cleared the intersection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Al-Stouhi and include determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs as taught by Nister because it would allow the system to avoid a potential collision under a yield condition (Nister ¶ 22).
Regarding claim 14, Al-Stouhi discloses the method of claim 8, wherein, if the second vehicle comprises a forward-facing camera or a drive recorder, the method further comprises, by using the second sub-system: continuously receiving a video image from the forward-facing camera or the drive recorder; determining whether a traffic light and/or roadway signs are present in the video image; if the traffic light and/or the roadway signs are present in the video image, determining whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on a current signal of the traffic light and/or the roadway signs (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 38, 39, 64, 74, 43, 34, “vehicle sensors 128, 130 can include, but are not limited to, cameras (not shown) mounted to the interior or exterior of the reference vehicle(s) 104 and target vehicle(s) 108, radar and laser sensors mounted to the exterior of the of the reference vehicle(s) 104 and target vehicle(s), etc. Additionally, vehicle sensors 128, 130 can include specific types of sensors that provide data pertaining to road conditions and the surrounding environment of the vehicle(s) 104, 106”).
Al-Stouhi fails to explicitly disclose determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs.
However, Nister teaches determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 22, 25, 29, 31, 33, 43, 44, 46, 47, 67, 78, 21, “In order to allow another user to safely, confidently, and efficiently "clear" the yielding condition, yielding behavior may involve deaccelerating, or even bringing the vehicle to a complete stop. For instance, in an unmarked intersection where another car has previously arrived, a subsequent arriving car may deploy appropriate yielding behavior by slowing down to enable the first car to safely clear the intersection. Such yielding behavior ensures that the subsequent car does not enter the intersection until the first car has safely cleared the intersection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Al-Stouhi and include determine whether the second vehicle must give way to the first vehicle at the intersection based on the roadway signs as taught by Nister because it would allow the system to avoid a potential collision under a yield condition (Nister ¶ 22).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO whose email is luis.martinezborrero@uspto.gov and telephone number is (571)272-4577. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, HUNTER LONSBERRY can be reached on (571)272-7298. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665