Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Response to Amendment and Reconsideration” filed on 4/20/2026 has been considered.
Claims 1-9, 11-19, 21-22 are pending in this application and an action on the merits follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/20/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 2019/0370549), and in view of Moghadam et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 2016/0092865).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15, Lai taches at least one processor;
a communication interface communicatively coupled to the at least one processor; and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing platform to: (AR/VR device 104 and representative projection display platform 106. The projection display platform 106 may include a central processing unit (CPU) 108 that is operatively coupled to a wireless communication device 110, an input device 112, cryptographic processor 114, [10-16]);
receive, from a spatial computing device within a predefined distance of a point-of-sale device, detection of the point-of-sale device; (The projection display platform 106 may broadcast a beacon signal indicating that AR/VR operation support is available so that the AR/VR device 104 can connect when it is within range, [27]-29]);
initiate a connection between the spatial computing device and the detected point-of-sale device within the predefined distance; (A projection display platform and an AR/VR device are configured for automatic discovery and protocol negotiation, [9, 29-30]);
render, by a display of the spatial computing device, transaction details associated with a transaction, wherein the transaction details are displayed on the point- of-sale device and are mimicked from the point-of-sale device and include at least an amount of the transaction, (transaction details may be sent to the AR/VR device 104 and received at block 306 by the AR/VR device 104, [31].. One or more AR/VR images may be projected, at block 310, into the user's line of sight and may include an image of a product, transaction details such as purchase totals, or one or more payment instruments for approval and selection by the user 102, [33]); see Fig. 4 - a product is scanned by a bar code reader 404 and a total for a purchase transaction may be displayed on a screen 406 of the POS device 402, [37].. At this point, as discussed above, the projection display platform 106 may send the transaction details and VR images to the AR/VR device 104 via a wireless connection, [38]).
receive, from the spatial computing device, user input captured by the spatial computing device approving the transaction details; (the user 102 may approve of the purchase total after reviewing the projected image of the transaction details by saying the phrase “approved for payment” or a similar word or phrase, [33-36]);
transmit, to the point-of-sale device, the digital payment card, wherein transmitting the digital payment card causes the point-of-sale device to process the transaction with a payment processing entity, (the approval information such as the cryptogram and token may be passed to the projection display platform 106, the package may be sent to the processor 130 for completion of the transaction according to current policies at block 323. For example, the transaction data may be passed to a token service [35-36].
Lai substantially discloses the invention, however, does not explicitly disclose receive, from the spatial computing device and based on wireless communication between the spatial computing device and a payment card device, payment card device data; generate, based on the received payment card device data, a digital payment card; Lai teaches the AR device can store data and token data and transmit payment to the POS platform, [23, 33, 35-36]. However, Moghadam teaches a user enables a communication, such as through a tap, between an NFC-enabled payment or funding card and a mobile device. Card information, such as the card number, type, and expiration date, are read by the mobile device, If confirmed, the card is added to the user's mobile/cloud wallet. [14, 17-19].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Lai’s AR/VR transaction system to obtain payment card information through NFC physical card taught by Moghadam, in order to to allow users to easily enter a funding card into a mobile/cloud wallet, [7].
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, Lai does not teach, however, Moghadam teaches wireless communication between the spatial computing device and the payment card device includes radio frequency identification between a chip embedded on the payment card device and the spatial computing device, (RFID or other NFC chip, [17-19]).
Regarding claim 3, Lai does not teach, however, Moghadam teaches the payment card device is a physical payment card device, (tapping physical card, [14, 17-19]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 17, Lai teaches the connection between the spatial computing device and the point-of-sale device includes a near-field communication connection, (ISO 14443, 27-30, 31-38]).
Regarding claim 5, 12, 18, Lai does not teach the near-field communication connection is continuously maintained until completion of the transaction with the payment processing entity, (wireless connection, [27-30, 38]).
Regarding claim 6, 13, 19, Lai teaches the user input includes gestures captured by the spatial computing device, (sensors 140 of the AR capture.. This sensing process may be activated when a transaction has reached a point where a response from the user 102 is expected, such as after an AR/VR image has been projected into the user's field of view. These gestures may include a head nod, a wave of a hand in the field of view, a touch of a hand or instrument to a projected image, or recognition of a predetermined audio signal, [23]);
Regarding claim 7, 14, Moghadam teaches extract, from the payment card device, payment card device details, and wherein generating the digital payment card is performed using the payment card device details, (tapping, [14, 17-20]).
Regarding claim 21, Lai teaches the rendered transaction details on the display of the spatial computing device are enhanced with virtual objects appearing with the mimicked point-of-sale device data, (an image of a product, transaction details such as purchase totals, or one or more payment instruments for approval and selection by the user 102, [33]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and Moghadam and further in view of Gabriele (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0394542).
Regarding claim 22, the combination does not explicitly teach the virtual objects include at least one of: an option to split payment between multiple devices or an option to remove an item being purchased.
However, Garbiele teaches a user pointing at a physical or virtual object may cause augmented environment processor 302 to generate an indication of a selection of the object, whereas, during the activation of an augmented reality payment mode, detection of a user pointing at a physical or virtual object may cause augmented environment processor 302 to generate an indication of a deselection of the object, [50].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate Gabriele’s selectable virtual transition controls into VR payment interface of Lai so that a user could modify the transaction deselecting and to allow user to correct or revise the displayed transaction directly through VR providing accuracy and user control.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MILENA RACIC/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627