DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed on 12/4/2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 14, 16-19, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Disinger (US 2,847,555), in view of Beamer (US 2008/0023185 A1).
Claim 1: Disinger discloses an apparatus (FIG.1) comprising:
an evaporator coil (i.e., column 1 lines 15-21: heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils); and
an expansion device (i.e., column 1 line 20: heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device) coupled to the evaporator coil (i.e., heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils), the expansion device (i.e., heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device) including
an evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) and a flow restrictor (i.e., discs 22/24 used as flow restrictor) that restricts flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into refrigerant distribution tubes (i.e., 18) that are in fluid communication with the evaporator coil (i.e., column 1 line 21: heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device into coils), wherein
the refrigerant distribution tubes (i.e., 18) include a first refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) and a second refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18),
the flow restrictor (i.e., discs 22/24 used as flow restrictor) includes a shared body (34) that is installed on or within the evaporator inlet manifold (20),
the shared body (i.e., 34) includes a first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and a second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) extending through the shared body (i.e., 34), the first fixed orifice (i.e., refrigerant flows from header 20 into orifices then into tubes 18) is positioned upstream of the first refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) so as to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into the first refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) through the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40), and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) is positioned upstream of the second refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) so as to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into the second refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) through the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52), and
Disinger discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first fixed orifice and the second fixed orifice are at different angular positions in the shared body.
However, Beamer teaches the first fixed orifice (i.e., 66) and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 66) are at different angular positions in the shared body (i.e., insert 52 used as shared body) (i.e., paragraph [54]: orifices 66 alignment with tubes 44 and orifices 66 are offset from tubes 44 and group tubes 46; orifices 66 spaced from each other on distributor 54 in any suitable pattern; paragraph [49]: distributor 54 formed inside manifold 22; to clarify, orifices 66 are offset at different angular positions shown in FIG.13) for the purpose of distributing the fluid efficiently and uniformly to each one of the tubes for increasing heat exchange performance of the heat exchanger assembly (paragraph [15]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Disinger to include the first fixed orifice and the second fixed orifice are at different angular positions in the shared body as taught by Beamer in order to distribute the fluid efficiently and uniformly to each one of the tubes for increasing heat exchange performance of the heat exchanger assembly.
Claim 9: Disinger as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) are at different angular positions (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, orifices 40/52 located at different locations with different diameters, therefore the angular positions are different) in the shared body (i.e., 34).
Claim 14: Disinger as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) or the second fixed orifice includes a pair of intersecting slots (i.e., as shown in FIG.1 orifices 40/50 have intersecting slots).
Claim 16: Disinger as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the shared body (i.e., 34) of the flow restrictor (i.e., 22/24) includes a round tube (i.e., see FIG.1) having the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52).
Claim 17: Disinger as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the shared body (i.e., 34) of the flow restrictor (i.e., 22/24) includes a curved plate (i.e., based on broadest reasonable interpretation, shared body 34 is a curved plate) having the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52).
Claim 18: Disinger as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the shared body (i.e., 34) of the flow restrictor (i.e., 22/24) is received within the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20).
Claim 19: Disinger as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the evaporator coil (i.e., heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils) and the expansion device (i.e., heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device) are installed in fluid communication with a compressor (i.e., column 2 lines 43-44: compressor) in an HVAC system (intended use; column 1 line refrigeration system).
Claim 24: Disinger discloses a method comprising:
providing a flow restrictor (i.e., discs 22/24 used as flow restrictor) having a plurality of fixed orifices (i.e., 40/52/) in a shared body (i.e., 34); and installing the flow restrictor (i.e., 22/24) at an evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) such that the plurality of fixed orifices (i.e., 40/52) are positioned to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) to an evaporator coil (i.e., column 1 lines 15-21: heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils),
wherein the plurality of fixed orifices includes a first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and a second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) that have different sizes (see FIG.2 orifices 40/52 have different diameters) and,
the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) is positioned to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) to the evaporator coil (i.e., heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils) through the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and a first inlet (i.e., inherent; inlet at opening of orifice 40) of the evaporator coil, and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) is positioned to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) to the evaporator coil through the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) and a second inlet (i.e., inherent; inlet at opening of orifice 52) of the evaporator coil (i.e., heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils).
Disinger discloses the claimed limitations in claim 24, but fails to disclose a first fixed orifice and a second fixed orifice are at different angular positions in the shared body.
However, Beamer teaches the first fixed orifice (i.e., 66) and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 66) are at different angular positions in the shared body (i.e., insert 52 used as shared body) (i.e., paragraph [54]: orifices 66 alignment with tubes 44 and orifices 66 are offset from tubes 44 and group tubes 46; orifices 66 spaced from each other on distributor 54 in any suitable pattern; paragraph [49]: distributor 54 formed inside manifold 22; to clarify, orifices 66 are offset at different angular positions shown in FIG.13) for the purpose of distributing the fluid efficiently and uniformly to each one of the tubes for increasing heat exchange performance of the heat exchanger assembly (paragraph [15]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Disinger to include the first fixed orifice and the second fixed orifice are at different angular positions in the shared body as taught by Beamer in order to distribute the fluid efficiently and uniformly to each one of the tubes for increasing heat exchange performance of the heat exchanger assembly.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Disinger (US 2,847,555), in view of Beamer (US 2008/0023185 A1), and in view of Gupte (US 2019/0368819 A1).
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 21-23: Disinger as modified discloses the flow restrictor (i.e., 22/24) includes a third fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and a fourth fixed orifice (i.e., 40) in the shared body (34), the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40) is positioned with respect to the third refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) so as to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into the third refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) through the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40), and the fourth fixed orifice (i.e., 40) is positioned with respect to the fourth refrigerant distribution tube (i.e.,18) so as to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into the fourth refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) through the fourth fixed oritice (i.e., 40), a compressor (i.e., column 2 lines 43-44: compressor),
wherein with the compressor (i.e., column 2 lines 43-44: compressor), the evaporator coil (i.e., column 1 lines 15-21: heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils), and the expansion device (i.e., column 1 line 20: heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device),
wherein the apparatus in which the compressor (i.e., column 2 lines 43-44: compressor) and the evaporator coil (i.e., column 1 lines 15-21: heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils) are in separate cabinets (i.e., see FIG.3),
But, Disinger further fails to disclose wherein the evaporator coil is a multi-circuit coil that includes a first refrigerant circuit and a second refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another within the evaporator coil. wherein the first refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the first refrigerant circuit of the evaporator coil and the second refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the second refrigerant circuit of the evaporator coil. wherein the multi-circuit evaporator coil includes a third refrigerant circuit and a fourth refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another, within the evaporator coil, and independent of the first refrigerant circuit and the second refrigerant circuit, within the evaporator coil. wherein the refrigerant distribution tubes include a third refrigerant distribution tube and a fourth refrigerant distribution tube, the third refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the third refrigerant circuit of the evaporator coil and the fourth refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the fourth refrigerant circuit of the evaporator coil. wherein the first refrigerant circuit differs from the second refrigerant circuit. a condenser coil. the apparatus includes a packaged HVAC unit installed in a shared cabinet. a split system.
However, Gupte teaches ta multi-circuit coil that includes a first refrigerant circuit and a second refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another within the coil (heat exchanger 100 has multiple conduits 102 which forming independent circuits).
the first refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) is coupled to provide refrigerant to the first refrigerant circuit (Gupte i.e., 102) of the evaporator coil and the second refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) is coupled to provide refrigerant to the second refrigerant circuit (i.e., 102).
the multi-circuit evaporator coil includes a third refrigerant circuit (i.e., 102) and a fourth refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Gupte to include fourth refrigerant circuit in order to increase efficiency of thermal energy transfer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B), within the evaporator coil, and independent of the first refrigerant circuit (i.e., 102) and the second refrigerant circuit (i.e., 102), within the evaporator coil of the evaporator coil for the purpose of increasing efficiency of thermal energy transfer (paragraph [53]).
wherein the refrigerant distribution tubes include a third refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) and a fourth refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18), the third refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the third refrigerant circuit (i.e., 102) of the evaporator coil and the fourth refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the fourth refrigerant circuit (i.e., 102; Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B) of the evaporator coil.
wherein the first refrigerant circuit (i.e., 102) differs (i.e., based on broadest reasonable interpretation, location of the first and second refrigerant circuits are different, first refrigerant circuit is located at the top section of the header and second refrigerant circuit located in bottom section by the base 158) from the second refrigerant circuit (i.e., 102).
a condenser coil (paragraph [38]: HVAC unit 12 used a condenser which includes coil).
the apparatus includes a packaged HVAC unit (i.e. HVAC unit 12) installed in a shared cabinet (i.e., see FIG.2).
the apparatus includes a packaged HVAC unit installed in a shared cabinet.
a split system (i.e., paragraph [42]: heating/cooling system 50 is split HVAC system; FIG.3) for the purpose of increasing efficiency of thermal energy transfer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Disinger to include the evaporator coil is a multi-circuit evaporator coil that includes a first refrigerant circuit and a second refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another within the evaporator coil, a third refrigerant circuit and a fourth refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another and independent of the first refrigerant circuit and the second refrigerant circuit. wherein the first refrigerant circuit differs from the second refrigerant circuit, a condenser coil. a packaged HVAC unit installed in a shared cabinet a split system as taught by Gupte in order to increase efficiency of thermal energy transfer.
Claim 7 is ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Disinger (US 2,847,555), in view of Gupte (US 2019/0368819 A1).
Claim 7: Disinger discloses an apparatus (FIG.1) comprising:
an evaporator coil (i.e., column 1 line 21: heat exchanger serves as evaporator, heat absorbing medium flow through coils); and
an expansion device (i.e., column 1 line 20: heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device) coupled to the evaporator coil (i.e., heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device into coils), the expansion device (i.e., heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device) including an evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) and a flow restrictor (i.e., discs 22/24 used as flow restrictor) that restricts flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into refrigerant distribution tubes (i.e., 18) that are in fluid communication with the evaporator coil (i.e., heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device into coils), wherein the refrigerant distribution tubes (i.e., 18) include a first refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) and a second refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18), the flow restrictor (i.e., 22/24) includes a shared body (i.e., 34) that is installed on or within the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20),
the shared body (i.e., 34) includes a first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and a second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) extending through the shared body (i.e., 34), the first fixed orifice (i.e., refrigerant flows from header 20 into orifices then into tubes 18) is positioned upstream of the first refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) so as to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into the first refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) through the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40), and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) is positioned upstream of the second refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) so as to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into the second refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) through the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52); wherein the evaporator coil (i.e., heat absorbing medium flow through expansion device into coils), wherein the refrigerant distribution tubes (i.e., 18) include a third refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) and a fourth refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18), and
the flow restrictor (i.e., 22/24) includes a third fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and a fourth fixed orifice (i.e., 40) extending through the shared body (i.e., 34), the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40) is positioned upstream of the third refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) so as to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into the third refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) through the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40), and the fourth fixed orifice (i.e., 40) is positioned with respect to upstream of the fourth refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) so as to restrict flow of refrigerant from the evaporator inlet manifold (i.e., 20) into the fourth refrigerant distribution tube (i.e., 18) through the fourth fixed orifice (i.e., 40); and wherein the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40), the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52), the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40), and the fourth fixed orifice (i.e., 40) are positioned in sequence longitudinally along the shared body (i.e., 34)
such that the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) lies between the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40), and such that the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40) lies between the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) and the fourth fixed orifice (i.e., 40), without an additional fixed orifice positioned longitudinally along the shared body (i.e., 34) between the first fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52), between the second fixed orifice (i.e., 52) and the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40), or between the third fixed orifice (i.e., 40) and the fourth fixed orifice (i.e., 40),
Disinger discloses the claimed limitations in claim 7, but fails to disclose a multi-circuit coil that includes a first refrigerant circuit and a second refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another within the evaporator coil, the first refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the first refrigerant circuit of the evaporator coil, and the second refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the second refrigerant circuit of the coil; wherein the multi-circuit coil includes a third refrigerant circuit and a fourth refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another, and independent of the first refrigerant circuit and the second refrigerant circuit, within the coil; the third refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the third refrigerant circuit of the coil; the fourth refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the fourth refrigerant circuit of the coil, wherein the first fixed orifice, the second fixed orifice, the third fixed orifice, and the fourth fixed orifice are not evenly spaced measured longitudinally along the shared body.
However, Gupte teaches a multi-circuit coil that includes a first refrigerant circuit and a second refrigerant circuit (heat exchanger 100 has multiple conduits 102 which forming independent circuits coil in heat exchanger 100) that are independent of one another within the coil (coil of heat exchanger 100), the first refrigerant distribution tube (first portion 130 used as first tube) is coupled to provide refrigerant to the first refrigerant circuit (120), and the second refrigerant distribution tube (second portion 132 used as second tube) is coupled to provide refrigerant to the second refrigerant circuit (120); wherein includes a third refrigerant circuit (120) and a fourth refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Gupte to include fourth refrigerant circuit in order to increase efficiency of thermal energy transfer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B), and independent of the first refrigerant circuit (120) and the second refrigerant circuit (120); the third refrigerant distribution tube (portion 130 of other 102 used as third tube) is coupled to provide refrigerant to the third refrigerant circuit (120 of heat exchanger coil of 100); the fourth refrigerant distribution tube (portion 132 of other 102 used as fourth tube) is coupled to provide refrigerant to the fourth refrigerant circuit (120; Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B), wherein the first fixed orifice (slot 203), the second fixed orifice (slot 203), the third fixed orifice (slot 203), and the fourth fixed orifice (slot 203) are not evenly spaced measured longitudinally along the shared body (spaces between slots 203 are not measured the same and they are not evenly spaced along shared body 202 of header 200; based on broadest reasonable interpretation, 202 is the shared body for all the conduits 102) for the purpose of increasing efficiency of thermal energy transfer (paragraph [53]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Disinger to include a multi-circuit coil that includes a first refrigerant circuit and a second refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another within the evaporator coil, the first refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the first refrigerant circuit of the evaporator coil, and the second refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the second refrigerant circuit of the coil; wherein the multi-circuit coil includes a third refrigerant circuit and a fourth refrigerant circuit that are independent of one another, and independent of the first refrigerant circuit and the second refrigerant circuit, within the coil; the third refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the third refrigerant circuit of the coil; the fourth refrigerant distribution tube is coupled to provide refrigerant to the fourth refrigerant circuit of the coil, wherein the first fixed orifice, the second fixed orifice, the third fixed orifice, and the fourth fixed orifice are not evenly spaced measured longitudinally along the shared body as taught by Gupte in order to increase efficiency of thermal energy transfer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/4/2025, with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103 have been fully considered and they are moot. Applicant’s arguments to new features and amendments are addressed in this office action. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejections have been made in response to the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763