DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to Notice of Allowance mailed on 8/21/25. After new search and found new references to reject claims. Therefore, the Notice of Allowance mailed on 8/21/25 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Broers et al (US 20190098729) in view of Kretschmann (US Pub. No: 20240080952).
With respect to claim 1, Broers et al. discloses an illumination device for illuminating a surface, the illumination device comprising: a light source set comprising several light sources 12a, 12b, 12c, 12d; a distance measuring arrangement 38 comprising several spaced-apart distance meters [paragraph 43]; and a signal-processing control unit 22, 26 [paragraph 40], wherein the illumination device has an optical center axis and is configured to achieve maximum entire illuminance on the illuminated surface in a maximum area [Fig. 2 and paragraph 36 shows “generate varying intensities”; paragraph 45 shows “the lighting unit 10 is configured to illuminate all…of a target surface 50”], wherein each of the light sources of the light source set has a respective light axis and is configured to generate a respective light field on the illuminated surface wherein the light source has a maximum achievable individual illuminance of the generated light field [paragraph 36 shows “independently control the intensity…of light generated by each light source” and “generate varying intensities”], wherein the maximum individual illuminance of each of the light sources of the light source set can be set independently of the respective maximum individual illuminance of each of the other light sources to a value which lies between zero and the maximum achievable individual illuminance of this light source [paragraph 36 shows “independently control the intensity…of light generated by each light source”], wherein each distance meter of the distance measuring arrangement has a respective measuring direction pointing towards the illuminated surface and is configured to measure a respective distance between itself and a light-scattering object [paragraph 49 shows “time-of-flight sensor or camera receives reflected light from the lighting environment, and measures the phase between the light transmitted by the light sources of the lighting unit, and the received light. The sensor or controller can then use plane-fitting or another analysis method to determine the free space between the sensor and the target surface”.], wherein the control unit is configured to set the respective current individual illuminance of each light source of the set of light sources to a value [paragraph 36 shows “controller 22 may be programmed or configured to generate a control signal for each light source to independently control the intensity”], wherein the control unit is further configured, depending on a signal from the distance measuring arrangement, to determine whether a shading event has occurred [paragraph 12 shows “detecting, using the detected parameter, an obstruction situated in the lighting environment between the light source and the target surface” and paragraph 49], the shading event comprising an event during which at least one object 52 is located between the illumination device 10 and the illuminated surface 50 [Fig. 2], after determining that a shading event has occurred, to determine a shading area, which shading area includes an area on the illuminated surface which is completely or at least partially shaded by the object, and to search, depending on the determined shading area, for at least one light source of the light source set suitable for shading compensation [paragraph 64 shows “the controller can adjust the beam, angle, and/or intensity of one or more light sources. For example, the controller can adjust one or more light sources to remove a shadow detected within the lighting environment”], wherein a light source suitable for shading compensation is a light source: that is currently being operated with a value for the maximum individual illuminance that is lower than the maximum achievable individual illuminance of the light source [paragraph 64 shows “the controller can adjust the beam, angle, and/or intensity of one or more light sources. For example, the controller can adjust one or more light sources to remove a shadow detected within the lighting environment”]; that is not shaded at all or at least not completely shaded [paragraph 58 shows “the sensor data can be analyzed to detect a region within the lighting environment where there are no obstructions…the lighting unit or system can determine where there are obstructions”]; and that has the light axis intersecting the illuminated surface in the determined shading area [paragraph 64 shows “the controller can adjust one or more light sources to remove a shadow detected within the lighting environment”], wherein the control unit is further configured to compensate for shading when at least one light source suitable for shading compensation is found [paragraph 64 shows “the controller can adjust one or more light sources to remove a shadow detected within the lighting environment”].
Although Broers et al. discloses driving one or more sources, independently, and varying the orientation and intensities of light from the light sources [paragraph 36].
Broers et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is configured to capture respective predetermined information for each light source of the light source set, wherein the captured or capturable information includes the respective maximum achievable individual illuminance of each light source and the respective position and/or orientation of the light axis of each light source relative to the optical center axis of the illumination device, wherein the control unit is further configured to capture an illuminance specification that specifies a target value for the maximum entire illuminance which the illumination device should generate, wherein the control unit is further configured, depending on the captured illuminance specification and depending on the captured information about the light sources of the light source set, to determine a subset with at least one suitable light source and to calculate for each light source of the selected subset a respective target value for the maximum individual illuminance, wherein the target value for each light source in the determined subset is greater than a current value of the maximum individual illuminance of this light source, and wherein the control unit is further configured to effect that this light source actually achieves the calculated target value for the maximum individual illuminance, wherein two objectives in calculating the target values for the maximum individual illuminances of the light sources of the subset are that the position of the maximum area relative to the optical center axis remains unchanged and the actual value of the maximum entire illuminance that the illumination device currently achieves in the maximum area is equal to the captured illuminance specification.
Kretschmann discloses wherein the control unit is configured to capture respective predetermined information for each light source of the light source set, wherein the captured or capturable information includes the respective maximum achievable individual illuminance of each light source and the respective position and/or orientation of the light axis of each light source relative to the optical center axis of the illumination device [paragraph 14 shows “maximum illuminance actually achieved on the surface usually depends on the position and orientation of the illumination unit relative to the illuminated surface and paragraph 17 shows “this distance along the optical center axis between the illumination unit and the illuminated surface”], wherein the control unit is further configured to capture an illuminance specification that specifies a target value for the maximum entire illuminance which the illumination device should generate [paragraph 13 shows “the maximum illuminance in space that an illumination unit can achieve is known due to the configuration and construction of the illumination unit”…paragraph 14 shows “a user can cause the actual maximum illuminance in space to be less than the maximum achievable illuminance in space by means of user specification (user input/setting)” ], wherein the control unit is further configured, depending on the captured illuminance specification and depending on the captured information about the light sources of the light source set [paragraphs 78-79 shows “determine the distance between an illumination unit and the illuminated surface…determines the respective light spectrum of each illumination unit…determined light spectra to predict the maximum total irradiance and…to determine maximum total irradiance actually achieved” and paragraphs [93-94 ] shows “the illumination device captures a corresponding user specification…the user specification specifies the or each illumination unit of the illumination unit subset”], to determine a subset with at least one suitable light source and to calculate for each light source of the selected subset a respective target value for the maximum individual illuminance [paragraph 88 shows “the control unit selects at least one other illumination unit, wherein the light field of this other illumination unit and the light field of the first illumination unit do not overlap or overlap only relatively little. It is also possible that the control unit selects as the other illumination unit the illumination unit that currently achieves the greatest maximum irradiance among all other illumination units” and paragraph 91 shows “the control unit therefore determines an illumination unit subset…The control unit is capable of determining the respective maximum irradiance of each illumination unit of the illumination unit subset. In order to predict the maximum total irradiance of the illumination device, the control unit uses the captured user specification, the determined maximum irradiances of the (first) illumination units of the illumination unit subset”], wherein the target value for each light source in the determined subset is greater than a current value of the maximum individual illuminance of this light source [paragraph 97 shows “the control unit only reduces the maximum irradiances of those illumination units that do not below to the illumination unit subset”], and wherein the control unit is further configured to effect that this light source actually achieves the calculated target value for the maximum individual illuminance [paragraphs 50-52 shows “the control unit continuously determines the current maximum total irradiance actually achieved”, paragraph 53 shows “the control unit determines and uses the respective maximum irradiance of each illumination unit, whereby the illumination unit actually achieves this maximum irradiance on the illuminated surface”, and paragraph 56 shows “the maximum irradiance that an illumination unit achieves on the illuminated surface depends on the distance between the illumination unit and the surface…the illumination device comprises at least one distance sensor” ], wherein two objectives in calculating the target values for the maximum individual illuminances of the light sources of the subset are that the position of the maximum area relative to the optical center axis remains unchanged [paragraph 13 and paragraph 43 shows “distance between each illumination unit and the illuminated surface remains unchanged”] and the actual value of the maximum entire illuminance that the illumination device currently achieves in the maximum area is equal to the captured illuminance specification [paragraph 14 shows “actual maximum illuminance can be changed by the user, and also can be changed automatically by a control unit by means of a control….The maximum currently achieved illuminance is less than or equal to the maximum achievable illuminance in space” and paragraph 45 shows “an objective of the control is that the user specification is implemented as desired or at least as far as possible. During the actuation, the control unit causes the following boundary condition (constraint) to be observed: after the control the maximum total irradiance the illumination device actually achieves is less than or equal to the specified upper threshold. In general, the actuation depends on the user specification and the predicted maximum total irradiance.” ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kretschmann into the device of Broers et al. because both Broers and Kretschmann recognize the need for adjusting illumination to compensate for shading conditions and both Broers and Kretschmann are directed to illumination control systems that adjust output based on sensor feedback, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Kretschmann’s stored parameter control process to Broer’s Illumination device to optimize Broer’s shading compensation. Such an incorporation would have predictably allowed Broers’ controller to determine compensation values more accurately based on each source’s known performance characteristics.
With respect to claim 2, Broers et al as modified claim 1 above disclose all limitations recite in claim 1 except for wherein the captured or capturable information about the light sources further comprises, for each light source of the set of light sources a respective light field diameter of the light field generated by that light source, wherein the control unit is further configured to additionally capture a light field diameter specification which specifies a target value for the entire light field diameter which the light field generated by the illumination device should have, and wherein the control unit is further configured to calculate the target values for the current maximum individual illuminance levels of the light sources of the subset with the further objective that the actual value of the entire light field diameter of the light field achieved by the illumination device is equal to the captured light field diameter specification.
Kretschmann disclose wherein the captured or capturable information about the light sources (figure 1, light units (1,2,3), paragraph [9] shows “ an illumination unit (1,2,3) comprises at least one light source, preferably multiple light sources, wherein the light sources are attached to a support (carrier) and are preferably implemented as LEDs. In one implementation, during operation the position and orientation of a light source is invariable relative to the position and orientation of the or each other light source of the same illumination unit); further comprises, for each light source of the set of light sources a respective light field diameter of the light field generated by that light source (paragraph [23] shows the light field diameter d.sub.x is understood to be the diameter of a circle around the area of maximum illuminance), wherein the control unit is further configured to additionally capture a light field diameter specification which specifies a target value for the entire light field diameter which the light field generated by the illumination device should have (paragraph [36] shows the control unit is configured to control each illumination unit independently of the other illumination unit or each other illumination unit of the illumination device) and wherein the control unit is further configured to calculate the target values for the current maximum individual illuminance levels of the light sources of the subset with the further objective that the actual value of the entire light field diameter of the light field achieved by the illumination device is equal to the captured light field diameter specification(paragraph [36] shows an objective and thus an effect of the control is to change, in particular to reduce, the maximum irradiance of the controlled illumination unit. Optionally, the control unit is able to change by control the light field diameter and/or the correlated color temperature of the illumination unit and paragraph [37] shows the control unit is able to control each light source group independently of the or any other light source group of the illumination unit, and the control changes the maximum irradiance of this light source group].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kretschmann into the device of Broers et al. because Broers already adjusts illumination based on feedback, Kretschmann discloses that storing field diameter values and using them to compute target values improves control precision, representing application of a known technique to improve a similar device in a predictable manner.
With respect to claim 3, Broers et al discloses driving one or more sources, independently, and varying the orientation and intensities of light from the light sources [paragraph 36].
Broers et al fails to disclose wherein the control unit is configured, after capturing of an illuminance specification, to calculate, for each light source of the light source set, a respective initial target value for the current maximum individual illuminance of this light source and to effect that the respective current value of the maximum individual illuminance achieved by a light source of the light source set is equal to the calculated initial target value for this light source, where the initial target value is used at least as long as no shading event is detected and no further illuminance specification is captured, wherein the control unit is further configured to perform at least one increasing sequence after a shading event has been detected and a suitable light source has been found, wherein the or each increasing sequence comprises the steps that the control unit determines a subset of the light source set with at least one light source suitable for shading compensation, calculates a target value for the maximum individual illuminance of the light source or each light source of the determined subset, the target value being greater than the current maximum individual illuminance, and effects the respective current maximum individual illuminance of the or each light source of the determined subset to be increased to the calculated target value.
Kretschmann disclose wherein the control unit is configured, after capturing of an illuminance specification, to calculate, for each light source of the light source set, a respective initial target value for the current maximum individual illuminance of this light source and to effect that the respective current value of the maximum individual illuminance achieved by a light source of the light source set is equal to the calculated initial target value for this light source( [paragraph [36] shows an objective and thus an effect of the control is to change, in particular to reduce, the maximum irradiance of the controlled illumination unit. Optionally, the control unit is able to change by control the light field diameter and/or the correlated color temperature of the illumination unit and paragraph [37] shows the control unit is able to control each light source group independently of the or any other light source group of the illumination unit, and the control changes the maximum irradiance of this light source group],
where the initial target value is used at least as long as no shading event is detected and no further illuminance specification is captured, wherein the control unit is further configured to perform at least one increasing sequence after a shading event has been detected and a suitable light source has been found, wherein the or each increasing sequence comprises the steps that the control unit determines a subset of the light source set with at least one light source suitable for shading compensation, calculates a target value for the maximum individual illuminance of the light source or each light source of the determined subset, the target value being greater than the current maximum individual illuminance, and effects the respective current maximum individual illuminance of the or each light source of the determined subset to be increased to the calculated target value. [paragraph 13 shows “the maximum illuminance in space that an illumination unit can achieve is known due to the configuration and construction of the illumination unit…paragraph 14 shows “a user can cause the actual maximum illuminance in space to be less than the maximum achievable illuminance in space by means of user specification (user input/setting) and paragraph [49] shows the control unit subsequently (afterwards) calculates the maximum total irradiance that the illumination device actually achieves on the surface as a whole and paragraph [194].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kretschmann into the device of Broers et al. because Broers already compensates for shading, and Kretschmann discloses a known technique for computing target values and selectively increasing output to meet system demands, representing an application of a known technique to improve a similar device in a predictable manner.
With respect to claim 4, Broers et al discloses driving one or more sources, independently, and varying the orientation and intensities of light from the light sources [paragraph 36].
Broers et al fails to disclose wherein the control unit is also configured, when performing an increasing sequence, after the steps of determining the subset, calculating the respective target values, and increasing the respective individual illuminance, to check by calculation whether the position of the maximum area relative to the optical center axis has changed sufficiently little despite the shading event and whether the actual current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device now corresponds sufficiently accurately to the captured illuminance specification, and if the actual current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device does not yet correspond sufficiently accurately to the captured illuminance specification, either to re-determine a subset and to calculate a target value for the maximum individual illuminance of each light source of this determined subset or to determine that the deviation between the illuminance specification and the current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device cannot be further reduced.
Kretschmann discloses when performing an increasing sequence, after the steps of determining the subset, calculating the respective target values, and increasing the respective individual illuminance, to check by calculation whether the position of the maximum area relative to the optical center axis has changed sufficiently little despite the shading event [ paragraph 14 shows “maximum illuminance actually achieved on the surface usually depends on the position and orientation of the illumination unit relative to the illuminated surface and paragraph 17 shows “this distance along the optical center axis between the illumination unit and the illuminated surface”], and whether the actual current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device now corresponds sufficiently accurately to the captured illuminance specification, and if the actual current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device does not yet correspond sufficiently accurately to the captured illuminance specification, either to re-determine a subset and to calculate a target value for the maximum individual illuminance of each light source of this determined subset or to determine that the deviation between the illuminance specification and the current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device cannot be further reduced. Paragraph 13 shows “the maximum illuminance in space that an illumination unit can achieve is known due to the configuration and construction of the illumination unit”, paragraph 14 shows “a user can cause the actual maximum illuminance in space to be less than the maximum achievable illuminance in space by means of user specification (user input/setting)” ,paragraphs 78-79 shows “determine the distance between an illumination unit and the illuminated surface…determines the respective light spectrum of each illumination unit…determined light spectra to predict the maximum total irradiance and…to determine maximum total irradiance actually achieved” and paragraphs [93-94 ] shows “the illumination device captures a corresponding user specification…the user specification specifies the or each illumination unit of the illumination unit subset”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kretschmann into the device of Broers et al. because Broers already compensates for shading, and Kretschmann discloses a known technique for computing target values and selectively increasing output to meet system demands, representing an application of a known technique to improve a similar device in a predictable manner.
With respect to claim 5, Broers et al discloses driving one or more sources, independently, and varying the orientation and intensities of light from the light sources [paragraph 36].
Broers et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is configured to, after capturing of an illuminance specification and a light field diameter specification, calculate, for each light source of the light source set, an initial target for the current maximum individual illuminance of the light source and to effect that the respective actual value of the maximum individual illuminance achieved by a light source of the light source set is equal to the calculated initial target value for this light source, where the initial target is used at least as long as no shading event is detected and no further illuminance specification is captured, wherein the control unit is further configured to perform at least one increasing sequence after a shading event has been detected and a suitable light source has been found, wherein the or each increasing sequence comprises the steps that the control unit determines a subset of the light source set with at least one light source suitable for shading compensation, calculates a target value for the maximum individual illuminance of the light source or each light source of the determined subset, the target value being greater than the current maximum individual illuminance, and effects the respective current maximum individual illuminance of the or each light source of the determined subset to be increased to the calculated target value.
Kretschmann discloses wherein the control unit is configured to, after capturing of an illuminance specification and a light field diameter specification(paragraph [14] shows a measurable and preferably adjustable parameter for the light field of an illumination unit outside the circle with diameter d.sub.x is defined below), calculate, for each light source of the light source set, an initial target for the current maximum individual illuminance of the light source and to effect that the respective actual value of the maximum individual illuminance achieved by a light source of the light source set is equal to the calculated initial target value for this light source(paragraph 14 shows “maximum illuminance actually achieved on the surface usually depends on the position and orientation of the illumination unit relative to the illuminated surface and paragraph 17 shows “this distance along the optical center axis between the illumination unit and the illuminated surface”] and paragraph 22 shows according to the invention is able to capture (detect) an illuminance specification (an illuminance setting). This illuminance specification defines the maximum illuminance that the illumination device is to achieve. The maximum achieved illuminance is smaller than or equal to the illuminance that the illumination device can achieve at maximum (maximum achievable illuminance), where the initial target is used at least as long as no shading event is detected and no further illuminance specification is captured, wherein the control unit is further configured to perform at least one increasing sequence after a shading event has been detected and a suitable light source has been found(paragraph 14 shows “a user can cause the actual maximum illuminance in space to be less than the maximum achievable illuminance in space by means of user specification (user input/setting)”, wherein the or each increasing sequence comprises the steps that the control unit determines a subset of the light source set with at least one light source suitable for shading compensation(paragraph[91] shows “the control unit therefore determines an illumination unit subset…The control unit is capable of determining the respective maximum irradiance of each illumination unit of the illumination unit subset. In order to predict the maximum total irradiance of the illumination device, the control unit uses the captured user specification, the determined maximum irradiances of the (first) illumination units of the illumination unit subset”], calculates a target value for the maximum individual illuminance of the light source or each light source of the determined subset (paragraphs 50-52 shows “the control unit continuously determines the current maximum total irradiance actually achieved”, paragraph 53 shows “the control unit determines and uses the respective maximum irradiance of each illumination unit, whereby the illumination unit actually achieves this maximum irradiance on the illuminated surface”, and paragraph 56 shows “the maximum irradiance that an illumination unit achieves on the illuminated surface depends on the distance between the illumination unit and the surface…the illumination device comprises at least one distance sensor” ], the target value being greater than the current maximum individual illuminance, and effects the respective current maximum individual illuminance of the or each light source of the determined subset to be increased to the calculated target value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kretschmann into the device of Broers et al. to provide a more uniform luminance thus improving the light source output as implied by Kretschmann.
With respect to claim 6, Broers et al. discloses driving one or more sources, independently, and varying the orientation and intensities of light from the light sources [paragraph 36].
Broers et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is also configured, when performing an increasing sequence, after the steps of determining the subset, calculating the respective target values, and increasing the respective maximum individual illuminance, to check by calculation whether the position of the maximum area relative to the optical center axis has changed sufficiently little despite the shading event and whether the actual current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device now corresponds sufficiently accurately to the captured illuminance specification, and if the actual current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device does not yet correspond sufficiently accurately to the captured illuminance specification, either to re-determine a subset and to calculate a target value for the maximum individual illuminance of each light source of this determined subset or to determine that the deviation between the illuminance specification and the current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device and the deviation between the light field diameter specification and the current value of the light field diameter cannot be further reduced.
Kretschmann discloses wherein the control unit is also configured, when performing an increasing sequence, after the steps of determining the subset, calculating the respective target values, and increasing the respective maximum individual illuminance(paragraph [97]), to check by calculation whether the position of the maximum area relative to the optical center axis has changed sufficiently little despite the shading event and whether the actual current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device now corresponds sufficiently accurately to the captured illuminance specification(paragraphs 50-52 shows “the control unit continuously determines the current maximum total irradiance actually achieved”, paragraph 53 shows “the control unit determines and uses the respective maximum irradiance of each illumination unit, whereby the illumination unit actually achieves this maximum irradiance on the illuminated surface”, and paragraph 56 shows “the maximum irradiance that an illumination unit achieves on the illuminated surface depends on the distance between the illumination unit and the surface…the illumination device comprises at least one distance sensor”, and if the actual current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device does not yet correspond sufficiently accurately to the captured illuminance specification, either to re-determine a subset and to calculate a target value for the maximum individual illuminance of each light source of this determined subset or to determine that the deviation between the illuminance specification and the current value of the maximum entire illuminance of the illumination device and the deviation between the light field diameter specification and the current value of the light field diameter cannot be further reduced. Paragraph [14] shows “actual maximum illuminance can be changed by the user, and also can be changed automatically by a control unit by means of a control….The maximum currently achieved illuminance is less than or equal to the maximum achievable illuminance in space” and paragraph 45 shows “an objective of the control is that the user specification is implemented as desired or at least as far as possible. During the actuation, the control unit causes the following boundary condition (constraint) to be observed: after the control the maximum total irradiance the illumination device actually achieves is less than or equal to the specified upper threshold”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kretschmann into the device of Broers et al. to provide a more uniform luminance thus improving the light source output as implied by Kretschmann.
With respect to claim 15, Broers et al disclose wherein the control unit is configured to detect an event that at least one light source of the light source set has failed, and compensate for the failure of the or each failed light source by means of shadow compensation. Paragraphs [48,64].
With respect to claim 16, Broers et al disclose an illumination process for illuminating a surface, the process comprises: providing an illumination device that comprises: a light source set with several light sources(12a,12b,12c); a distance measuring arrangement (38)with several spaced-apart distance meters(paragraph [43]); and a signal-processing control unit(22,26)(paragraph [40]), wherein the illumination device has an optical center axis, wherein each light source of the light source set respectively has a respective light axis and is configured to generate a respective light field on the illuminated surface wherein the light source has a maximum achievable individual illuminance of the generated light field(Fig. 2, paragraph [36] shows “generate varying intensities”; [paragraph [45] shows “the lighting unit 10 is configured to illuminate all…of a target surface(50)] , wherein a current maximum individual illuminance of a light source of the light source set can be set independently of a current maximum individual illuminance of each other light source to a value which lies between zero and a maximum achievable individual illuminance of the respective light source(paragraph [36] shows “independently control intensity …of light generated by each light source), wherein each distance meter of the distance measuring arrangement has a respective measuring direction pointing towards the illuminated surface with the control unit [paragraph 49 shows “time-of-flight sensor or camera receives reflected light from the lighting environment, and measures the phase between the light transmitted by the light sources of the lighting unit, and the received light. The sensor or controller can then use plane-fitting or another analysis method to determine the free space between the sensor and the target surface”.]
with the control unit, determining whether a shading event has occurred (paragraph [12] shows “detecting, using the detected parameter, an obstruction situated in the lighting environment between the light source and the target surface” and paragraph [49])
, the shading event comprising an event that at least one object (52)is located between the illumination device (10) and the illuminated surface 50 [Fig.2] and a signal from the distance measurement arrangement is used for the determination; after the detection of a shading event, with the control unit determining a shading area, which shading area includes an area on the illuminated surface that is completely or at least partially shaded by the object(52); depending on the determined shading area, with the control unit searching for at least one light source of the light source set suitable for shading compensation(paragraph [64] shows “the controller can adjust the beam, angle, and/or intensity of one or more light sources. For example, the controller can adjust one or more light source to remove a shadow detected within the lighting environment”]
, wherein a light source suitable for shading compensation is a light source of the light source set that is currently being operated with a value for the maximum individual illuminance that is lower than the maximum achievable individual illuminance of the light source (paragraph [64] shows “the controller can adjust the beam, angle, and/or intensity of one or more light sources. For example, the controller can adjust one or more light source to remove a shadow detected within the lighting environment”], that is not shaded at all or at least not completely shaded (paragraph [58] shows “the sensor data can be analyzed to detect a region within the lighting environment where3 there are no obstructions…the lighting unit or system can be determine where there are obstructions”], and that has a light axis that intersects the illuminated surface in the determined shading area(paragraph [64] shows “the controller can adjust one or more light sources to remove a shadow detected within the lighting environment”], and if one or more suitable light source of the light source set is found(paragraph [64] shows “the controller can adjust one or more light sources to remove a shadow detected within the lighting environment”].
Although Broers et al, disclose driving one or more sources, independently, and varying the orientation and intensities of lights from the light sources (paragraph [36]).
Broers et al. fails to explicitly disclose with the control unit , capturing predetermined information for each light source of the light source set, wherein the captured information includes a maximum achievable individual illuminance which the respective light source can generate and the respective position and / or orientation of the respective light axis of the light source relative to the optical center axis of the illumination device; with the control unit, capturing an illuminance specification, wherein the captured illuminance specification specifies a target value for the maximum entire illuminance which the illumination device is to generate; with the control unit, setting at least once, preferably repeatedly, the respective current maximum individual illuminance of each light source of the light source set to a value wherein the illumination device achieves the maximum entire illuminance on the illuminated surface in a maximum area with each distance meter of the distance measuring arrangement, measuring a distance between the respective distance meter and a light-scattering object; with the control unit determining a subset with the one or more suitable light sources and calculating for each light source of the determined subset a respective target value for the maximum individual illuminance of the light source wherein the target value is greater than the current value of the maximum individual illuminance of this light source, and to effect that the suitable light source actually achieves the calculated target value for the maximum individual illuminance; and wherein calculating the target values for the maximum individual illuminances of the light sources in the subset is performed with the objectives that a position of the maximum area relative to the optical center axis remains unchanged and the actual value of the maximum entire illuminance currently achieved by the illumination device is equal to the captured illuminance specification.
Kretschmann discloses wherein the control unit is configured to capture respective predetermined information for each light source of the light source set, wherein the captured or capturable information includes the respective maximum achievable individual illuminance of each light source and the respective position and/or orientation of the light axis of each light source relative to the optical center axis of the illumination device [paragraph 14 shows “maximum illuminance actually achieved on the surface usually depends on the position and orientation of the illumination unit relative to the illuminated surface and paragraph 17 shows “this distance along the optical center axis between the illumination unit and the illuminated surface”], wherein the control unit is further configured to capture an illuminance specification that specifies a target value for the maximum entire illuminance which the illumination device should generate [paragraph 13 shows “the maximum illuminance in space that an illumination unit can achieve is known due to the configuration and construction of the illumination unit”…paragraph 14 shows “a user can cause the actual maximum illuminance in space to be less than the maximum achievable illuminance in space by means of user specification (user input/setting)” ], wherein the control unit is further configured, depending on the captured illuminance specification and depending on the captured information about the light sources of the light source set [paragraphs 78-79 shows “determine the distance between an illumination unit and the illuminated surface…determines the respective light spectrum of each illumination unit…determined light spectra to predict the maximum total irradiance and…to determine maximum total irradiance actually achieved” and paragraphs [93-94 ] shows “the illumination device captures a corresponding user specification…the user specification specifies the or each illumination unit of the illumination unit subset”], to determine a subset with at least one suitable light source and to calculate for each light source of the selected subset a respective target value for the maximum individual illuminance [paragraph 88 shows “the control unit selects at least one other illumination unit, wherein the light field of this other illumination unit and the light field of the first illumination unit do not overlap or overlap only relatively little. It is also possible that the control unit selects as the other illumination unit the illumination unit that currently achieves the greatest maximum irradiance among all other illumination units” and paragraph 91 shows “the control unit therefore determines an illumination unit subset…The control unit is capable of determining the respective maximum irradiance of each illumination unit of the illumination unit subset. In order to predict the maximum total irradiance of the illumination device, the control unit uses the captured user specification, the determined maximum irradiances of the (first) illumination units of the illumination unit subset”], wherein the target value for each light source in the determined subset is greater than a current value of the maximum individual illuminance of this light source [paragraph 97 shows “the control unit only reduces the maximum irradiances of those illumination units that do not below to the illumination unit subset”], and wherein the control unit is further configured to effect that this light source actually achieves the calculated target value for the maximum individual illuminance [paragraphs 50-52 shows “the control unit continuously determines the current maximum total irradiance actually achieved”, paragraph [53] shows “the control unit determines and uses the respective maximum irradiance of each illumination unit, whereby the illumination unit actually achieves this maximum irradiance on the illuminated surface”, and paragraph 56 shows “the maximum irradiance that an illumination unit achieves on the illuminated surface depends on the distance between the illumination unit and the surface…the illumination device comprises at least one distance sensor” ], wherein two objectives in calculating the target values for the maximum individual illuminances of the light sources of the subset are that the position of the maximum area relative to the optical center axis remains unchanged [paragraph 13 and paragraph 43 shows “distance between each illumination unit and the illuminated surface remains unchanged”] and the actual value of the maximum entire illuminance that the illumination device currently achieves in the maximum area is equal to the captured illuminance specification [paragraph 14 shows “actual maximum illuminance can be changed by the user, and also can be changed automatically by a control unit by means of a control….The maximum currently achieved illuminance is less than or equal to the maximum achievable illuminance in space” and paragraph 45 shows “an objective of the control is that the user specification is implemented as desired or at least as far as possible. During the actuation, the control unit causes the following boundary condition (constraint) to be observed: after the control the maximum total irradiance the illumination device actually achieves is less than or equal to the specified upper threshold. In general, the actuation depends on the user specification and the predicted maximum total irradiance.” ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kretschmann into the device of Broers et al. because both Broers and Kretschmann recognize the need for adjusting illumination to compensate for shading conditions and both Broers and Kretschmann are directed to illumination control systems that adjust output based on sensor feedback, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Kretschmann’s stored parameter control process to Broer’s Illumination device to optimize Broer’s shading compensation. Such an incorporation would have predictably allowed Broers’ controller to determine compensation values more accurately based on each source’s known performance characteristics
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844