DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) for rejected claims under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued in the remark that prior arts do not disclose determining a distance between a first device and a second device, wherein the first device is registered with a system configured to orchestrate proximity-based operations and wherein the first device is associated with the second device in the system;
comparing the determined distance to one or more threshold conditions defined in a set of proximity-based rules;
requesting user authentication from at the first device, wherein successful authentication of the user at the first device results in authentication of the user at the second device to authorize performance of an action at the second device; and
performing an action associated with a rule in the set of rules when the comparison satisfies the threshold condition for that rule, the action being performed at the second device after successful authentication.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Poornachandran et al US 10,565,640 discloses determining a distance between a first device and second device, wherein the first device is registered with a system configured to orchestrate proximity-based operations ( fig.1 and fig.6 and fig .27, col 4, lines 56-67 the mobile computing device 102 of the proximity -based negotiation component 114, i.e. a system configured to proximity-based operations, may include one or more devices for generating data about the location , i.e. proximity data, of the mobile computing device 102 and/or its proximity, i.e. automatically/orchestrate proximity-based operation, to other computing devices (such as the stationary personal computing device 104 and col 22, lines 45-50 a user of the computing device 200, i.e. the mobile computing device,/ may have previously “signed up” or otherwise registered for negotiations )and wherein the first device is associated with the second device in the system(col 4, lines 56-67 the mobile computing device 102 may also include a communications device for wired and/or wireless transmission of the location data to other computing devices (e.g., the stationary personal computing device 104 or the remote computing device 106));
comparing the determined distance to one or more threshold conditions defined in a set of proximity-based rules (col 23, lines 3-10 a determination, that the computing device 200 is within a predetermined proximity of the other computing device may be a determination that the computing device 200 was within a predetermined proximity , i.e. threshold conditions, of the other computing device during a particular period in time, even though the computing device 200 may no longer be within the predetermined proximity of the other computing device);
requesting user authentication at the first device, wherein successful authentication of the user at the first deice result in authentication of the user at the second device to authorize performance of an action at the second device ( col 16, lines 39-50 The negotiation evaluation logic 210 may also be configured to cause the transmission of a confirmation, i.e. authentication of the user, message to the second computing device after a determination that the negotiation response data from the second computing device meets the negotiation evaluation criteria. In some embodiments, the negotiation evaluation logic 210 may cause transmission of the confirmation message to the second computing device by providing confirmation message data to the transmitter 228 via the I/O device interface 238, whereupon the transmitter 228 may transmit the confirmation message to the second computing device); and
performing an action associated with a rule in the set of rules when the comparison satisfies that threshold condition for that rule, the action being performed at the second device after successful authentication (col 16, lines 39-50 The negotiation evaluation logic 210 may also be configured to cause the transmission of a confirmation message to the second computing device after a determination that the negotiation response data from the second computing device meets the negotiation evaluation criteria, i.e. the second device after successful authentication,. In some embodiments, the negotiation evaluation logic 210 may cause transmission of the confirmation message to the second computing device by providing confirmation message data to the transmitter 228 via the I/O device interface 238, whereupon the transmitter 228 may transmit the confirmation message to the second computing device and col 17, lines 35- 55 FIG. 4, a computing device 402 may determine a computing device 404 is within a predetermined proximity of the computing device 402, and may transmit, to the computing device 404, negotiation initiation data and an indicator that the computing device 404, i.e. the second device, is desired to act, i.e. performing action at the second device as a “manager” of a negotiation. The computing device 404 may signal its acceptance of the “manager” role to the computing device 402, and may determine that the computing devices 406, 408, and 410 are within a predetermined proximity of the computing device 404, and may transmit negotiation initiation data to these computing devices. The computing device 410 may respond to the negotiation initiation data with negotiation response data. The computing devices 406 and 408, however, may decline the opportunity to be involved in the negotiation, and may not transmit negotiation response data (except for decline messages, in some embodiments). The computing device 404 may evaluate the negotiation response data on behalf of the computing device 402, or may simply pass the negotiation response data to the computing device 402 for evaluation at the computing device 402).
Poornachandran does not disclose a first device registered with a system configured to orchestrate proximity-based operations, and requesting user authentication at the first device and performing action at the second device.
Hallur et al US 2021/0034423 par 0036 discloses container orchestration program 101 within decentralized network computing environment 100 0053 discloses container orchestration program 101 selects one or more computing devices registered, i.e. first device and second device, in worker node registry 111, i.e. a system, to serve as worker nodes to run, i.e. configure, the container workload and the worker node is a physical or virtual machine that runs the container orchestration program 101, container orchestration program 101 selects computing devices from worker node registry 111, i.e. a system, based on the geographic location of a computing device registered in worker node registry 111 with respect to computing devices accessing the applications running on the registered computing device; and 0064 access to a volume or directory is accomplished via container orchestration program 101 mounting a volume as a local file system on a computing device invoked as a worker node. In various embodiments, container orchestration program 101 mounts a volume on a worker node based on validating security credentials received from the worker node. For example, container orchestration program 101 receives a temporary access key ID (i.e., access ID) corresponding to a volume and a secret access key in the service request from the consumer node and sends the temporary access key ID and secret access key to a worker node. In some embodiments, the temporary access key ID and secret access key are only valid during the time period for which a stateful container is required to run. Once the application container ceases to run in accordance with the requirements of the consumer node's request, container orchestration program 101 invalidates the temporary access key ID and secret access key.
Yang et al US2022/0100841 discloses requesting user authentication at the first device and performing action at the second device (fig.14, 0261 an electronic device to recognize an external device as an authenticated external device for purposes of auto-unlocking functionality. At block 1402, the electronic device, i.e. first device, , which has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, may detect within its wireless communication range an external device, i.e. second device. [0263] If the external device has not yet been registered as either authenticated or non-authenticated, processing may proceed to block 1406, where the electronic device, i.e. first device, (which is locked), may receive user input representing a credential for unlocking the electronic device, In addition, the electronic device may verify the received credentials, i.e. user is authenticated at the first device, and unlock as appropriate, At block 1408, after unlocking, the electronic device may display an identification of the external device indicating that the two devices are physically proximate (e.g., within wireless communication range of a low powered communication protocol), and that the external device may become authenticated for purposes of auto-unlocking functionality, i.e., the first device performed the auto-unlocking functionality/action at the external device, i.e. the second device. At block 1410, the electronic device may prompt the user to designate. action, i.e., the first device performed the auto-unlocking functionality/action at the external device, i.e. the second device, whether the external device should become authorized to unlock the electronic device if, in the future, the external device comes within wireless communication range of the electronic device while the electronic device is in the user-interface locked state. And claim 2 A method comprising: at an electronic device: while the electronic device is in a user-interface unlocked state, detecting a request at an external device to unlock the external device; and in response to detecting the request to unlock the external device: providing, from the electronic device, authorization to unlock the external device; and providing an output at the electronic device that indicates that authorization to unlock the external device was provided by the electronic device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poornachandran et al US 10,565,640 and Hallur et al US 2021/0034423 and Yang et al US2022/0100841.
As per claim 1, Poornachandran discloses a method comprising:
determining a distance between a first device and second device, wherein the first device is registered with a system configured to proximity-based operations ( fig.1 and fig.6 and fig .27, col 4, lines 56-67 the mobile computing device 102 of the proximity -based negotiation component 114, i.e. a system configured to proximity-based operations, may include one or more devices for generating data about the location , i.e. proximity data, of the mobile computing device 102 and/or its proximity, i.e. automatically/orchestrate proximity-based operation, to other computing devices (such as the stationary personal computing device 104 and col 22, lines 45-50 a user of the computing device 200, i.e. the mobile computing device,/ may have previously “signed up” or otherwise registered for negotiations )and wherein the first device is associated with the second device in the system(col 4, lines 56-67 the mobile computing device 102 may also include a communications device for wired and/or wireless transmission of the location data to other computing devices (e.g., the stationary personal computing device 104 or the remote computing device 106));
comparing the determined distance to one or more threshold conditions defined in a set of proximity-based rules (col 23, lines 3-10 a determination, that the computing device 200 is within a predetermined proximity of the other computing device may be a determination that the computing device 200 was within a predetermined proximity , i.e. threshold conditions, of the other computing device during a particular period in time, even though the computing device 200 may no longer be within the predetermined proximity of the other computing device);
requesting user authentication at the first device, wherein successful authentication of the user at the first deice result in authentication of the user at the second device to authorize performance of an action at the second device ( col 16, lines 39-50 The negotiation evaluation logic 210 may also be configured to cause the transmission of a confirmation, i.e. authentication of the user, message to the second computing device after a determination that the negotiation response data from the second computing device meets the negotiation evaluation criteria. In some embodiments, the negotiation evaluation logic 210 may cause transmission of the confirmation message to the second computing device by providing confirmation message data to the transmitter 228 via the I/O device interface 238, whereupon the transmitter 228 may transmit the confirmation message to the second computing device); and
performing an action associated with a rule in the set of rules when the comparison satisfies that threshold condition for that rule, the action being performed at the second device after successful authentication (col 16, lines 39-50 The negotiation evaluation logic 210 may also be configured to cause the transmission of a confirmation message to the second computing device after a determination that the negotiation response data from the second computing device meets the negotiation evaluation criteria, i.e. the second device after successful authentication,. In some embodiments, the negotiation evaluation logic 210 may cause transmission of the confirmation message to the second computing device by providing confirmation message data to the transmitter 228 via the I/O device interface 238, whereupon the transmitter 228 may transmit the confirmation message to the second computing device and col 17, lines 35- 55 FIG. 4, a computing device 402 may determine a computing device 404 is within a predetermined proximity of the computing device 402, and may transmit, to the computing device 404, negotiation initiation data and an indicator that the computing device 404, i.e. the second device, is desired to act, i.e. performing action at the second device as a “manager” of a negotiation. The computing device 404 may signal its acceptance of the “manager” role to the computing device 402, and may determine that the computing devices 406, 408, and 410 are within a predetermined proximity of the computing device 404, and may transmit negotiation initiation data to these computing devices. The computing device 410 may respond to the negotiation initiation data with negotiation response data. The computing devices 406 and 408, however, may decline the opportunity to be involved in the negotiation, and may not transmit negotiation response data (except for decline messages, in some embodiments). The computing device 404 may evaluate the negotiation response data on behalf of the computing device 402, or may simply pass the negotiation response data to the computing device 402 for evaluation at the computing device 402).
Poornachandran does not disclose a first device registered with a system configured to orchestrate proximity-based operations, and requesting user authentication at the first device and performing action at the second device.
Hallur discloses a first device registered with a system configured to orchestrate proximity-based operations (par 0036 container orchestration program 101 within decentralized network computing environment 100 0053 discloses container orchestration program 101 selects one or more computing devices registered, i.e. first device and second device, in worker node registry 111, i.e. a system, to serve as worker nodes to run, i.e. configure, the container workload and the worker node is a physical or virtual machine that runs the container orchestration program 101, container orchestration program 101 selects computing devices from worker node registry 111, i.e. a system, based on the geographic location of a computing device registered in worker node registry 111 with respect to computing devices accessing the applications running on the registered computing device; and 0064 access to a volume or directory is accomplished via container orchestration program 101 mounting a volume as a local file system on a computing device invoked as a worker node. In various embodiments, container orchestration program 101 mounts a volume on a worker node based on validating security credentials received from the worker node. For example, container orchestration program 101 receives a temporary access key ID (i.e., access ID) corresponding to a volume and a secret access key in the service request from the consumer node and sends the temporary access key ID and secret access key to a worker node. In some embodiments, the temporary access key ID and secret access key are only valid during the time period for which a stateful container is required to run. Once the application container ceases to run in accordance with the requirements of the consumer node's request, container orchestration program 101 invalidates the temporary access key ID and secret access key).
Poornachandran and Hallur are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of distributed networking device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poornachandran to incorporate the teachings of Hallur and provide an orchestration program within decentralized network computing environment.
Doing so would load balancing workload, thereby increasing the network speed with bandwidth available to a computing device registered in the work node registry (par 00530).
The combination does not explicitly disclose requesting user authentication at the first device and performing action at the second device.
Yang discloses requesting user authentication at the first device and performing action at the second device (fig.14, 0261 an electronic device to recognize an external device as an authenticated external device for purposes of auto-unlocking functionality. At block 1402, the electronic device, i.e. first device, , which has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, may detect within its wireless communication range an external device, i.e. second device. [0263] If the external device has not yet been registered as either authenticated or non-authenticated, processing may proceed to block 1406, where the electronic device, i.e. first device, (which is locked), may receive user input representing a credential for unlocking the electronic device, In addition, the electronic device may verify the received credentials, i.e. user is authenticated at the first device, and unlock as appropriate, At block 1408, after unlocking, the electronic device may display an identification of the external device indicating that the two devices are physically proximate (e.g., within wireless communication range of a low powered communication protocol), and that the external device may become authenticated for purposes of auto-unlocking functionality, i.e., the first device performed the auto-unlocking functionality/action at the external device, i.e. the second device. 0263 At block 1410, the electronic device may prompt the user to designate. action, i.e., the first device performed the auto-unlocking functionality/action at the external device, i.e. the second device, whether the external device should become authorized to unlock the electronic device if, in the future, the external device comes within wireless communication range of the electronic device while the electronic device is in the user-interface locked state. And claim 2 A method comprising: at an electronic device: while the electronic device is in a user-interface unlocked state, detecting a request at an external device to unlock the external device; and in response to detecting the request to unlock the external device: providing, from the electronic device, authorization to unlock the external device; and providing an output at the electronic device that indicates that authorization to unlock the external device was provided by the electronic device).
Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of distributed networking device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poornachandran to incorporate the teachings of Hallur, including the teaching of Yang and provide authentication for the user (par 0261).
Doing so would provide security of the device user, thereby increasing the protection of the user in the network.
As per claim 2. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the method of claim 1, Hallur discloses further comprising: determining a geo-zone for the second device and waking the second device when the first device enters the geo-zone such that the distance can be determined ( par 0036 container orchestration program 101 within decentralized network computing environment 100 0053 discloses container orchestration program 101 selects one or more computing devices registered, i.e. first device and second device, in worker node registry 111, i.e. a system, to serve as worker nodes to run, i.e. configure, the container workload and the worker node is a physical or virtual machine that runs the container orchestration program 101, container orchestration program 101 selects computing devices from worker node registry 111, i.e. a system, based on the geographic location of a computing device registered in worker node registry 111 with respect to computing devices accessing the applications running on the registered computing device ).
As per claim 3. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the method of claim 1, Yang discloses wherein operations and configurations related to performing the action are configured to be set or changed at least via an online portal or via the first device or via the second device ( 0263 At block 1410, the electronic device may prompt the user to designate. action, i.e., the first device performed the auto-unlocking functionality/action at the external device, i.e. the second device processing may proceed to block 1406, where the electronic device (which is locked), may receive user input representing a credential for unlocking the electronic device. In addition, the electronic device may verify the received credentials and unlock as appropriate. At block 1408, after unlocking, the electronic device may display an identification of the external device indicating that the two devices are physically proximate (e.g., within wireless communication range of a low powered communication protocol) and that the external device may become authenticated for purposes of auto-unlocking functionality, i.e. action. At block 1410, the electronic device may prompt the user to designate whether the external device should become authorized to unlock the electronic device if, in the future, the external device comes within wireless communication range of the electronic device while the electronic device is in the user-interface locked state. ).
As per claim 4. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the method of claim 1,Yang discloses further comprising requesting that the first device be associated with the second device( 0263 the external device comes within wireless communication range of the electronic device while the electronic device is in the user-interface locked state and [0306] the electronic device is associated with a security domain, and the external device unlocks after confirming the external device is associated with the same security domain as the security domain associated with the electronic device).
As per claim 5. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the method of claim 4, Yang discloses further comprising obtaining information about the first device and generating a prompt at the first device for authentication in order to authorize associating the first device with the second device, wherein the prompt is used to unlock the private key for the authentication (0312 FIG. 18, an electronic device 1800 includes a display unit 1802 configured to display a graphic user interface, optionally, a touch sensitive surface unit 1804 configured to receive contacts, and a processing unit 1806 coupled to the display unit 1802 and, optionally, the touch-sensitive surface unit 1804. In some embodiments, the processing unit 1806 includes a receiving unit 1808, an unlocking unit 1810, a display enabling unit 1812, a prompt enabling unit 1814, a locking unit 1816, a detecting unit 1818, and a causing unit 1820. The electronic device 1800, optionally, has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state and may be within wireless communication range of an external device).
As per claim 6. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the method of claim 5, Yang discloses further comprising storing the association between the first device and the second device in a device association storage, wherein the device association storage is cloud based ( 0256The checkboxes may specify whether the corresponding external devices should become authenticated for purposes of facilitating the auto-unlocking of device 1100. In the illustrated example, device 1100 displays listing 1106 with checkboxes 1108 and 1110 corresponding a “phone” and a “tablet” device. The “phone” and “tablet” devices, and device 1100, may each be associated with the same user identifier on a cloud-based service, such as iCloud® by Apple Inc ).
As per claim 10. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses The method of claim 9, Yang discloses wherein the threshold distance depends on a location of the first device and of the second device ( 0255 device 1100 may contact a server to retrieve a list of devices that are trusted to a particular domain and/or registered to a given user identifier. In some embodiments, device 1100 may populate listing 1106 based on the physical proximity of external devices. For example, listing 1106 may list only those devices that are currently within wireless communication distance via a low-powered wireless communication protocol).
As per claim 11. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses The method of claim 1, Hallur discloses wherein the authentication is passkey authentication using cryptography ( 0064 access to a volume or directory is accomplished via container orchestration program 101 mounting a volume as a local file system on a computing device invoked as a worker node. In various embodiments, container orchestration program 101 mounts a volume on a worker node based on validating security credentials received from the worker node. For example, container orchestration program 101 receives a temporary access key ID (i.e., access ID) corresponding to a volume and a secret access key in the service request from the consumer node and sends the temporary access key ID and secret access key to a worker node. In some embodiments, the temporary access key ID and secret access key are only valid during the time period for which a stateful container is required to run. Once the application container ceases to run in accordance with the requirements of the consumer node's request, container orchestration program 101 invalidates the temporary access key ID and secret access key).
As per claim 12. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses The method of claim 1, Yang discloses wherein the authentication includes unlocking a private key at the first device using a personal identification number (PIN), a fingerprint, facial recognition, or other method ([0053] It is desirable for a device that is trusted by other electronic devices (e.g., an “authenticated” device) to able to facilitate the unlocking of certain other electronic devices. Consider the situation in which a user owns and switches between uses of multiple electronic devices frequently. Upon unlocking one electronic device (e.g., by providing a password), would be useful for nearby devices (that are within wireless communications range) to also unlock automatically, or at least require a reduced set of user input for unlocking. In this way, the user may transition between different devices quickly, without having to enter corresponding passwords on each device. Techniques for performing these functionalities—using an authenticated device to unlock other electronic devices—may be referred to as auto-unlocking techniques).
As per claim 13. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the method of claim 1, the Hallur and Yang discloses further comprising registering a first device with a system configured to orchestrate proximity-based operations ( Hallurpar 0036 container orchestration program 101 within decentralized network computing environment 100 0053 discloses container orchestration program 101 selects one or more computing devices registered, i.e. first device and second device, in worker node registry 111, i.e. a system, to serve as worker nodes to run, i.e. configure, the container workload and the worker node is a physical or virtual machine that runs the container orchestration program 101, container orchestration program 101 selects computing devices from worker node registry 111, i.e. a system, based on the geographic location of a computing device registered in worker node registry 111 with respect to computing devices accessing the applications running on the registered computing device ) and associating the first device with the second device (Yang discloses 0255 device 1100 may be associated with a user identifier (e.g., an account or an e-mail address), and device 1100 may populate listing 1106 to include other devices associated with the same user account. In some embodiments, device 1100 may be a trusted member of a security domain, and device 110 may populate listing 1106 with external devices are trusted members of the same security domain. In some embodiments, device 1100 may contact a security or authentication server to determine whether two electronic devices are associated with one another).
As per claim 14, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 1.
As per claim 15, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 2.
As per claim 16. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 14, Yang discloses further comprising:
obtaining information about the first device and generating a prompt at the first device for authentication in order to authorize associating the first device with the second device ( 0260 an electronic device to unlock an external electronic device. Process 1300 may be carried out by electronic devices such as devices 100, 300, and/or 500 (FIGS. 1A, 3A, 5A) in various embodiments. The electronic device, which has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlock state, may be in the user-interface unlocked state. At block 1302, the electronic device may detect, via wireless communication, the external device. The external device also has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, and is in the user-interface locked state. At block 1304, the electronic device may transmit, to the external device, unlocking data, thereby causing the external device to unlock after the external device receives the unlocking information and detects user input. Optionally, at block 1306, the electronic device may provide a visual confirmation and/or a haptic confirmation that the external device has been unlocked. The confirmation may be provided after the electronic device obtains a confirmation that the external device has been unlocked), wherein the prompt is used to unlock the private key for the authentication(0230 its display screen may turn off after a predetermined duration of idleness. The display screen of device 700 may turn on again in response to movement and/or user input. When the display screen of device 700 turns on, it may display lock screen 702 indicating that device 700 is locked. Lock screen 702 may prompt the user for a password for unlocking the device ); and storing the association between the first device and the second device in a device association storage ( 0256] Listing 1106 may have checkboxes next to external devices that are listed. The checkboxes may specify whether the corresponding external devices should become authenticated for purposes of facilitating the auto-unlocking of device 1100. In the illustrated example, device 1100 displays listing 1106 with checkboxes 1108 and 1110 corresponding a “phone” and a “tablet” device. The “phone” and “tablet” devices, and device 1100, may each be associated with the same user identifier on a cloud-based service, such as iCloud® by Apple Inc), wherein the device associated storage is cloud based, wherein operations and configurations related to performing the action are configured to be set or changed at least via an online portal or via the first device or via the second device( 0247 a device may prompt the user as to whether a nearby external device should become authenticated, meaning whether the external device should become able to unlock the (prompting) device. This aspect is described with reference to FIGS. 10A-10D. FIG. 10A depicts device 1000, which may be device 300 (FIG. 3A) in some embodiments. Device 1000 may display lock screen 1002 indicating that it is locked. Lock screen 1002 may include password input field 1004 for unlocking device 1000 and 0253 device 1000 may refrain from automatically prompting the user about authenticating external device 1010, should the two devices come into wireless communication again in the future. Device 1000 may also refrain from automatically unlocking when device 1010 comes within wireless communication range).
As per claim 19. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 18,Hallur discloses wherein the threshold distance depends on a location of the first device and of the second device and wherein the authentication is passkey authentication using cryptography (0064 access to a volume or directory is accomplished via container orchestration program 101 mounting a volume as a local file system on a computing device invoked as a worker node. In various embodiments, container orchestration program 101 mounts a volume on a worker node based on validating security credentials received from the worker node. For example, container orchestration program 101 receives a temporary access key ID (i.e., access ID) corresponding to a volume and a secret access key in the service request from the consumer node and sends the temporary access key ID and secret access key to a worker node. In some embodiments, the temporary access key ID and secret access key are only valid during the time period for which a stateful container is required to run. Once the application container ceases to run in accordance with the requirements of the consumer node's request, container orchestration program 101 invalidates the temporary access key ID and secret access key ).
As per claim 20. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 14, Yang discloses wherein the authentication includes unlocking a private key at the first device using a pin, a fingerprint, facial recognition, or other method, further comprising registering a first device with a system configured to orchestrate proximity-based operations and associating the first device with the second device ( ([0053] It is desirable for a device that is trusted by other electronic devices (e.g., an “authenticated” device) to able to facilitate the unlocking of certain other electronic devices. Consider the situation in which a user owns and switches between uses of multiple electronic devices frequently. Upon unlocking one electronic device (e.g., by providing a password), would be useful for nearby devices (that are within wireless communications range) to also unlock automatically, or at least require a reduced set of user input for unlocking. In this way, the user may transition between different devices quickly, without having to enter corresponding passwords on each device. Techniques for performing these functionalities—using an authenticated device to unlock other electronic devices—may be referred to as auto-unlocking techniques).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poornachandran et al US 10,565,640 and Hallur et al US 2021/0034423 and Yang et al US2022/0100841 and Auerbach et al US 2022/0028538.
As per claim 7. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang discloses the method of claim 1, the combination does not explicitly disclose further comprising polling the first device according to a schedule.
However, Auerbach discloses polling the first device according to a schedule ( 0116 The device state engine 414 can detect a state of the participant computing device 232 associated with a particular participant in response to a scheduling process, a push notification process, or a polling process, for example. As one example, the device state engine 414 can receive a change in state of a participant smartphone device in response to an activation of geolocation hardware, or software, for example, associated or integrated with the participant smartphone device).
Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang and Auerbach are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of distributed networking device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poornachandran to incorporate the teachings of Hallur, including the teaching of Yang including the teaching of Auerbach, and provide integrated with a particular smartphone device associated with a particular participant(par 0116).
Doing so would provide security of the device user, thereby increasing the protection of the user in the network.
As per claim 8. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang and Auerbach discloses the method of claim 7, Auerbach discloses further comprising determining the distance based on the polling, wherein the polling is performed using UWB (Ultra-Wideband) protocols ([0044] The network 104 can be connected via wired or wireless links. Wired links can include Digital Subscriber Line (DSL), coaxial cable lines, or optical fiber lines. The wireless links can include BLUETOOTH, Wi-Fi, Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WiMAX), an infrared channel or satellite band).
As per claim 17, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 8.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poornachandran et al US 10,565,640 and Hallur et al US 2021/0034423 and Yang et al US2022/0100841 and Auerbach et al US 2022/0028538 and Retting et al US 2020/0184749.
As per claim 9. Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang and Auerbach discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the action is locking the second device when the distance is greater than a threshold distance and wherein the action is unlocking the second device when the distance is less than the threshold distance.
However, Retting discloses wherein the action is locking the second device when the distance is greater than a threshold distance and wherein the action is unlocking the second device when the distance is less than the threshold distance (fig.3 , claim 40, a mobile device associated with a credential; and a lock device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory comprising a plurality of instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, causes the lock device to (i) monitor a distance of the mobile device relative to the lock device to determine a first distance of the mobile device relative to the lock device and a second distance of the mobile device relative to the lock device at a time subsequent to the determination of the first distance, (ii) monitor for an intent action associated with a user of the mobile device, and (iii) perform an action via the lock device in response to a determination that the mobile device is within a predetermined distance i.e. a threshold distance, relative to the lock device, a determination that the second distance is not greater than the first distance, and detection of an approved intent action).
Poornachandran and Hallur and Yang and Auerbach and Retting are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of distributed networking device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poornachandran to incorporate the teachings of Hallur, including the teaching of Yang including the teaching of Auerbach, including the teaching of Retting, and provide integrated with a particular smartphone device associated with a particular participant(par 0116).
Doing so would provide security of the device user, thereby increasing the protection of the user in the network.
As per claim 18. This claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496