DETAILED ACTION
The following is final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 07/16/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 04/16/2026. Independent claim 1 is amended. Claim 5 is cancelled. A new independent claim 21 is added. Therefore, claims 1-4 and 6-21 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (2023/0074775), Lei hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 21, Lei teaches a communication method (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104-¶0106), and a communication apparatus (Fig. 3, 350/Fig. 15, 1504), comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 3, 368/356/Fig. 15, 1522); a processor (Fig. 3, 359/Fig. 15, 1056), in communication connection with the transceiver; and a memory (Fig. 3, 360/Fig. 15, 1526), in communication connection with the processor and storing instructions executable by the processor; the instructions, when executed by the processor (Fig. 3 & ¶0078/Fig. 15 & ¶0149), being operable with the processor to: cause the transceiver to receive a system information block 1 (SIB 1), wherein the SIB 1 configures a first downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and the first downlink BWP is an initial downlink BWP configured for a narrowband UE (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0103 - The UE 902 may receive the system information 906 in a separate SIB for reduced capability UEs that is different than a SIB having system information applicable to higher capability UEs. The UE 902 may receive the system information 906 in a SIB that carries system information for both reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. The common SIB may have different information elements for higher capability UEs and reduced capability UEs. For example, the base station 904 may transmit the common, or shared, SIB in a CORESET 0 (e.g., in an initial DL BWP 704 or 804) that is shared by reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. Fig. 10-11 & ¶0115 -The UE 1102 may receive the system information 1105 in a separate SIB for reduced capability UEs that is different than a SIB having system information applicable to higher capability UEs. The UE 1102 may receive the system information 1105 in a SIB that carries system information for both reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. The common SIB may have different information elements for higher capability UEs and reduced capability UEs. For example, the base station 1104 may transmit the common, or shared, SIB in a CORESET 0 (e.g., in an initial DL BWP 1004) that is shared by reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs); determine, during a random access procedure, that the first downlink BWP is activated. (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - At 908, the UE 902 may perform an initial access procedure, such as a RACH procedure, in the initial DL BWP (e.g., shared initial DL BWP 704 or 804) and the initial UL BWP (e.g., shared initial UL BWP 706 or 806) that is common to reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. As a part of initial access, the UE 902 may transmit and receive random access messages 910 with the base station 904. As an example, the UE may transmit a random access Msg 1 with a preamble to the base station 904, may receive a Msg 2 from the base station, may transmit a Msg 3 to the base station and/or may receive a Msg 4 from the base station in the shared initial DL BWP and the shared initial UL BWP, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 or 8. The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0105 - The UE may receive an indication, or configuration, of the active DL BWP and the active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs and not for higher capability UEs. The active DL BWP and the active UL BWP may correspond to 712 and 714 or to 812 and 814 in FIG. 7 or FIG. 8. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - At 918, the UE 902 switches from transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the shared initial DL BWP and shared initial UL BWP to transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the active DL BWP and active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs.)
Even though, Lei teaches receiving a system information block 1 (SIB1), wherein the SIB 1 configures a first downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and the first downlink BWP is an initial downlink BWP configured for a narrowband UE, Lei, does not expressly recite the claimed feature, for example, system information block 1 (SIB1), however, a person of ordinary skill in the field of endeavor, would readily appreciate that the system information block (or SIB) as disclosed in Lei, refers to SIB 1 as SIB 1 is an essential system information block for initial access and scheduling compared to any other SIBs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient configurations and signaling support for reduced capability UEs < User Equipment > which enables joint optimization of Downlink / Uplink BWP configurations, co-existence of different UE capabilities, power savings for the reduced capability UEs operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0006-¶0007, Lei)
Re. Claim 2, Lei teaches claim 1.
Lei further teaches wherein determining, during the random access procedure, that the first downlink BWP is activated comprises: determining that the first downlink BWP is activated, after sending a physical random access channel (PRACH). (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - At 908, the UE 902 may perform an initial access procedure, such as a RACH procedure, in the initial DL BWP (e.g., shared initial DL BWP 704 or 804) and the initial UL BWP (e.g., shared initial UL BWP 706 or 806) that is common to reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. As a part of initial access, the UE 902 may transmit and receive random access messages 910 with the base station 904. As an example, the UE may transmit a random access Msg 1 with a preamble < i.e., UE sends a random access message <Msg1 >, such as a random access preamble using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above> to the base station 904, may receive a Msg 2 from the base station, may transmit a Msg 3 to the base station and/or may receive a Msg 4 from the base station in the shared initial DL BWP and the shared initial UL BWP, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 or 8. The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0105 - The UE may receive an indication, or configuration, of the active DL BWP and the active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs and not for higher capability UEs. The active DL BWP and the active UL BWP may correspond to 712 and 714 or to 812 and 814 in FIG. 7 or FIG. 8. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - At 918, the UE 902 switches from transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the shared initial DL BWP and shared initial UL BWP to transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the active DL BWP and active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs)
Re. Claim 3, Lei teaches claim 1.
Lei further teaches wherein determining, during the random access procedure, that the first downlink BWP is activated comprises: determining that the first downlink BWP is activated, after receiving a Random Access response (RAR). (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - At 908, the UE 902 may perform an initial access procedure, such as a RACH procedure, in the initial DL BWP (e.g., shared initial DL BWP 704 or 804) and the initial UL BWP (e.g., shared initial UL BWP 706 or 806) that is common to reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. As a part of initial access, the UE 902 may transmit and receive random access messages 910 with the base station 904. As an example, the UE may transmit a random access Msg 1 with a preamble < i.e., UE sends a random access message <Msg1 >, such as a random access preamble using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above> to the base station 904, may receive a Msg 2 < i.e., UE receives random access response < RAR >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > from the base station, may transmit a Msg 3 to the base station and/or may receive a Msg 4 from the base station in the shared initial DL BWP and the shared initial UL BWP, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 or 8. The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0105 - The UE may receive an indication, or configuration, of the active DL BWP and the active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs and not for higher capability UEs. The active DL BWP and the active UL BWP may correspond to 712 and 714 or to 812 and 814 in FIG. 7 or FIG. 8. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - At 918, the UE 902 switches from transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the shared initial DL BWP and shared initial UL BWP to transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the active DL BWP and active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs).
Re. Claim 4, Lei teaches claim 1.
Lei further teaches wherein determining, during the random access procedure, that the first downlink BWP is activated comprises: determining that the first downlink BWP is activated, after sending message 3 or after receiving message 4. (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - At 908, the UE 902 may perform an initial access procedure, such as a RACH procedure, in the initial DL BWP (e.g., shared initial DL BWP 704 or 804) and the initial UL BWP (e.g., shared initial UL BWP 706 or 806) that is common to reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. As a part of initial access, the UE 902 may transmit and receive random access messages 910 with the base station 904. As an example, the UE may transmit a random access Msg 1 with a preamble < i.e., UE sends a random access message <Msg1 >, such as a random access preamble using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above> to the base station 904, may receive a Msg 2 < i.e., UE receives random access response < RAR >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > from the base station, may transmit a Msg 3 < i.e., UE sends a random access message <Msg3 >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > to the base station and/or may receive a Msg 4 from the base station in the shared initial DL BWP and the shared initial UL BWP, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 or 8. The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0105 - The UE may receive an indication, or configuration, of the active DL BWP and the active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs and not for higher capability UEs. The active DL BWP and the active UL BWP may correspond to 712 and 714 or to 812 and 814 in FIG. 7 or FIG. 8. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - At 918, the UE 902 switches from transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the shared initial DL BWP and shared initial UL BWP to transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the active DL BWP and active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs). or after receiving message 4 (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - At 908, the UE 902 may perform an initial access procedure, such as a RACH procedure, in the initial DL BWP (e.g., shared initial DL BWP 704 or 804) and the initial UL BWP (e.g., shared initial UL BWP 706 or 806) that is common to reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. As a part of initial access, the UE 902 may transmit and receive random access messages 910 with the base station 904. As an example, the UE may transmit a random access Msg 1 with a preamble < i.e., UE sends a random access message <Msg1 >, such as a random access preamble using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above> to the base station 904, may receive a Msg 2 < i.e., UE receives random access response < RAR >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > from the base station, may transmit a Msg 3 < i.e., UE sends a random access message <Msg3 >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > to the base station and/or may receive a Msg 4 < i.e., UE receives random access message < Msg 4 >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > from the base station in the shared initial DL BWP and the shared initial UL BWP, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 or 8. The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0105 - The UE may receive an indication, or configuration, of the active DL BWP and the active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs and not for higher capability UEs. The active DL BWP and the active UL BWP may correspond to 712 and 714 or to 812 and 814 in FIG. 7 or FIG. 8. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - At 918, the UE 902 switches from transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the shared initial DL BWP and shared initial UL BWP to transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the active DL BWP and active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, in view of Chatterjee et al. (2024/0196413), Chatterjee hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Lei teaches claim 1.
Yet, Lei does not expressly teach determining a period of a synchronization signal block (SSB) in the first downlink BWP.
However, in the analogous art, Chatterjee explicitly discloses determining, during a small data transmission (SDT) procedure, that a synchronization signal block (SSB) is in the first downlink bandwidth part (BWP) (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0120 - a RedCap UE may expect configuration of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in a separate initial DL BWP (DL BWP #0A) that is configured via SIB signaling with Type 1 PDCCH CSS for random access related DL reception for RedCap UEs if the DL BWP #0A is also configured with Type 2 PDCCH CSS for paging reception, where the SSB periodicity and indexing are identical to the Cell Defining SSB (CD-SSB) for the camping or serving cell but located with non-zero offsets from the NR frequency raster in the frequency domain. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0151 - a RedCap UE may expect that the initial DL BWP configured to the UE at least for Random Access-related monitoring, i.e., at least includes Type 1 PDCCH CSS configuration, and the initial UL BWP (that can be separately configured for RedCap UEs) in which PRACH resources are configured for RedCap UE share the same center frequency. Here, the initial DL BWP can either be the MIB-indicated CORESET #0 or a separate initial DL BWP provided to the UE via SIB1. In other words, a RedCap UE may expect that, in RRC idle or inactive modes, UL BWP #0 configured for RedCap UEs shares the same center frequency as the initial DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for Type 2 PDCCH CSS candidates for monitoring as part of the random access procedure. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0154 - a RedCap UE, configured with RA-SDT feature, may expect that, in RRC inactive mode, initial UL BWP configured to the RedCap UE with ROs for Message 1 or Message A transmissions shares the same center frequency as the initial DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for Type 1 PDCCH CSS candidates for monitoring as part of the random access procedure. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0156 - a RedCap UE, configured with CG-SDT feature, may expect that, in RRC inactive mode, initial UL BWP configured to the RedCap UE with CG PUSCH occasions to trigger CG-SDT shares the same center frequency as the DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for PDCCH Search Space (SS) set candidates for monitoring for PDCCH from the gNB in response to a CG-SDT transmission. …. the DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for PDCCH Search Space (SS) set candidates for monitoring for PDCCH from the gNB in response to a CG-SDT transmission is the same as the initial DL BWP that the RedCap UE is expected to use for monitoring of Type 1 PDCCH CSS candidates for Random Access (RA) procedure.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Chatterjee’s invention of Bandwidth Part (BWP)-based operations for Reduced Capability (RedCap) UEs (User Equipment) operation in a 5G NR<New Radio> network, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a class of Reduced Capability (RedCap) NR User Equipment (UE) by using the existing specified 5G NR framework with necessary adaptations and enhancements in limiting device complexity and power consumption while minimizing any adverse impact to network resource utilization, system spectral efficiency, and operation efficiency for the operations of the RedCap NR UEs in the 5G NR<New Radio> network. (¶0008-¶0010/¶0104, Chatterjee)
Re. Claim 11, Lei and Chatterjee teach claim 10.
Yet, Lei does not expressly teach wherein determining, during the SDT procedure, that the SSB is in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining that the SSB is in the first downlink BWP, after sending a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, in the analogous art, Chatterjee explicitly discloses wherein determining, during the SDT procedure, that the SSB is in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining that the SSB is in the first downlink BWP, after sending a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0155 - if a RedCap UE is configured with Small Data Transmissions (SDT) over Configured Grant PUSCH (CG-SDT) feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC Inactive state, the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT. Alternatively, if a RedCap UE is configured with Small Data Transmissions (SDT) over Configured Grant PUSCH (CG-SDT) feature that allows UL transmissions when in RRC Inactive state, an UL BWP that is different from the initial UL BWP that is configured with RACH Occasions (ROs) for RedCap UEs can be configured with CG PUSCH Occasions for RedCap UEs to trigger CG-SDT. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0156 - a RedCap UE, configured with CG-SDT feature, may expect that, in RRC inactive mode, initial UL BWP configured to the RedCap UE with CG PUSCH occasions to trigger CG-SDT shares the same center frequency as the DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for PDCCH Search Space (SS) set candidates for monitoring for PDCCH from the gNB in response to a CG-SDT transmission. …. the DL BWP in which the RedCap UE is expected to monitor for PDCCH Search Space (SS) set candidates for monitoring for PDCCH from the gNB in response to a CG-SDT transmission is the same as the initial DL BWP that the RedCap UE is expected to use for monitoring of Type 1 PDCCH CSS candidates for Random Access (RA) procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Chatterjee’s invention of Bandwidth Part (BWP)-based operations for Reduced Capability (RedCap) UEs (User Equipment) operation in a 5G NR<New Radio> network, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a class of Reduced Capability (RedCap) NR User Equipment (UE) by using the existing specified 5G NR framework with necessary adaptations and enhancements in limiting device complexity and power consumption while minimizing any adverse impact to network resource utilization, system spectral efficiency, and operation efficiency for the operations of the RedCap NR UEs in the 5G NR<New Radio> network. (¶0008-¶0010/¶0104, Chatterjee)
Claims 6-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, in view of Wang et al. (2022/0046585), Wang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6 , Lei teaches claim 1.
Yet, Lei does not expressly teach determining a period of a synchronization signal block (SSB) in the first downlink BWP.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses determining a period of a synchronization signal block (SSB) in the first downlink BWP. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next < see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Re. Claim 7, Lei and Wang teach claim 6.
Yet, Lei does not expressly teach wherein determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of the SSB in system information block 1 (SIB1).
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of the SSB in system information block 1 (SIB1). (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next < see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Re. Claim 8, Lei and Wang teach claim 7.
Yet, Lei does not expressly teach wherein the period configuration of the SSB in SIB1 is from a serving cell SSB period parameter ssb-PeriodicityServingCell in SIB1.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses wherein the period configuration of the SSB in SIB1 is from a serving cell SSB period parameter ssb-PeriodicityServingCell in SIB1. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next <see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Re. Claim 9, Lei and Wang teach claim 6.
Yet, Lei does not expressly teach wherein determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of an SSB dedicated to a narrowband terminal device in SIB1.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of an SSB dedicated to a narrowband terminal device in SIB1. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0056 - The common requirements of the above three scenarios <See ¶0052-¶0055> are: NR-light type terminal device requires lower equipment cost and complexity than R15/16 eMBB type terminal device. The basic consensus is to reduce bandwidth and receive antennas….If the coverage loss caused by reducing the receiving antenna, reducing the bandwidth, reducing the power level or other reducing the complexity of the terminal equipment, it needs to be compensated. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0059 - Considering the low bandwidth requirements of NR-light type terminal devices, it is necessary to design different types of cell bandwidths, especially different designs of transmission bandwidths for public resources and public information transmission…Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next < see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Re. Claim 17, Lei and Wang teach claim 6.
Lei further teaches a communication method (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104-¶0106), comprising: determining, in a connected state or after initial access, that a synchronization signal block (SSB) is in the first downlink bandwidth part (BWP). (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - At 908, the UE 902 may perform an initial access procedure, such as a RACH procedure, in the initial DL BWP (e.g., shared initial DL BWP 704 or 804) and the initial UL BWP (e.g., shared initial UL BWP 706 or 806) that is common to reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. As a part of initial access, the UE 902 may transmit and receive random access messages 910 with the base station 904. As an example, the UE may transmit a random access Msg 1 with a preamble to the base station 904, may receive a Msg 2 from the base station, may transmit a Msg 3 to the base station and/or may receive a Msg 4 from the base station in the shared initial DL BWP and the shared initial UL BWP, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 or 8. The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0105 - The UE may receive an indication, or configuration, of the active DL BWP and the active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs and not for higher capability UEs. The active DL BWP and the active UL BWP may correspond to 712 and 714 or to 812 and 814 in FIG. 7 or FIG. 8. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - At 918, the UE 902 switches from transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the shared initial DL BWP and shared initial UL BWP to transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the active DL BWP and active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.)
Re. Claim 18, Lei and Wang teach claim 17.
Lei further teaches wherein determining, in the connected state or after initial access, that the SSB is in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining that the SSB is in the first downlink BWP, after receiving message 4 or receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message. (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0104 - At 908, the UE 902 may perform an initial access procedure, such as a RACH procedure, in the initial DL BWP (e.g., shared initial DL BWP 704 or 804) and the initial UL BWP (e.g., shared initial UL BWP 706 or 806) that is common to reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. As a part of initial access, the UE 902 may transmit and receive random access messages 910 with the base station 904. As an example, the UE may transmit a random access Msg 1 with a preamble < i.e., UE sends a random access message <Msg1 >, such as a random access preamble using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above> to the base station 904, may receive a Msg 2 < i.e., UE receives random access response < RAR >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > from the base station, may transmit a Msg 3 < i.e., UE sends a random access message <Msg3 >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > to the base station and/or may receive a Msg 4 < i.e., UE receives random access message < Msg 4 >, using the dedicated initial BWP before selecting/determining an active DL BWP as shown in Fig. 9, see snapshot above > from the base station in the shared initial DL BWP and the shared initial UL BWP, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 or 8. The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0105 - The UE may receive an indication, or configuration, of the active DL BWP and the active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs and not for higher capability UEs. The active DL BWP and the active UL BWP may correspond to 712 and 714 or to 812 and 814 in FIG. 7 or FIG. 8. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0106 - At 918, the UE 902 switches from transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the shared initial DL BWP and shared initial UL BWP to transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the active DL BWP and active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Re. Claim 19, Lei and Wang teach claim 17.
Yet, Lei does not expressly teach determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next < see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Re. Claim 20, Lei and Wang teach claim 19.
Yet, Lei does not expressly teach wherein determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of the SSB in the SIB1.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of the SSB in the SIB1. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next < see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, in view of Chatterjee, further in view of Wang.
Re. Claim 13, Lei and Chatterjee teach claim 10.
Yet, Lei and Chatterjee do not expressly teach determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next < see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system and Chatterjee’s invention of Bandwidth part (BWP)-based operations for redcap user equipment <UE> in radio resource control (RRC) idle or RRC inactive modes operating in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Re. Claim 14, Lei, Chatterjee and Wang teach claim 13.
Yet, Lei and Chatterjee do not expressly teach wherein determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of the SSB in system information block 1 (SIB1).
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining a period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of the SSB in system information block 1 (SIB1). (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next < see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system and Chatterjee’s invention of Bandwidth part (BWP)-based operations for redcap user equipment <UE> in radio resource control (RRC) idle or RRC inactive modes operating in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Re. Claim 15, Lei, Chatterjee and Wang teach claim 14.
Yet, Lei and Chatterjee do not expressly teach wherein the period configuration of the SSB in SIB1 is from a serving cell SSB period parameter ssb-PeriodicityServingCell in SIB1.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses wherein the period configuration of the SSB in SIB1 is from a serving cell SSB period parameter ssb-PeriodicityServingCell in SIB1. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next <see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system and Chatterjee’s invention of Bandwidth part (BWP)-based operations for redcap user equipment <UE> in radio resource control (RRC) idle or RRC inactive modes operating in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Re. Claim 16, Lei, Chatterjee and Wang teach claim 13.
Yet, Lei and Chatterjee do not expressly teach wherein determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of an SSB dedicated to a narrowband terminal device in SIB1.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining the period of the SSB in the first downlink BWP, according to a period configuration of an SSB dedicated to a narrowband terminal device in SIB1. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0006 - receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each piece of initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability; Fig. 1-3 & ¶0007 - selecting, by the terminal device, first initial BWP configuration information from the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information based on the first configuration information, and residing on a first initial BWP based on the first initial BWP configuration information. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0056 - The common requirements of the above three scenarios <See ¶0052-¶0055> are: NR-light type terminal device requires lower equipment cost and complexity than R15/16 eMBB type terminal device. The basic consensus is to reduce bandwidth and receive antennas….If the coverage loss caused by reducing the receiving antenna, reducing the bandwidth, reducing the power level or other reducing the complexity of the terminal equipment, it needs to be compensated. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0059 - Considering the low bandwidth requirements of NR-light type terminal devices, it is necessary to design different types of cell bandwidths, especially different designs of transmission bandwidths for public resources and public information transmission…Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the current cell supports the terminal device of the NR-light type. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0065 - the first configuration information includes a plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information, and each initial BWP configuration information in the plurality pieces of initial BWP configuration information is associated with a terminal type and/or a terminal capability. In an optional manner, the first configuration information is carried in the second SIB. Further, optionally, the second SIB is SIB1. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0067 - The configuration information of the initial BWP is configured in SIB1, as shown in Table 1 next < see snapshot next, which includes the serving cell SSB period parameter, “ssb-PeriodicityServingCell” as a parameter in the configuration information carried in SIB1 as shown in Table 1 next >:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lei’s invention of BWP < bandwidth part> configurations for UEs <User Equipment > having different capabilities in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system and Chatterjee’s invention of Bandwidth part (BWP)-based operations for redcap user equipment <UE> in radio resource control (RRC) idle or RRC inactive modes operating in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for bandwidth part (Band Width Part, BWP) configuration in a 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by providing a network configuration which indicates whether a serving cell supports NR-light type user equipment (UE), which requires lower equipment cost and complexity for operating in the 5G/ NR < New Radio > wireless communication system. (¶0003/¶0065, Wang)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 12 – wherein determining, during the SDT procedure, that the SSB is in the first downlink BWP comprises: determining that the SSB is in the first downlink BWP, after receiving an uplink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §102/§103 rejection filed on 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Earlier claim objections for claims 3, 6-7, 9-10, 14, 17 and 20 have been withdrawn following amended claim languages as submitted on 07/16/2026.
Regarding remarks in pages 6-13 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Lei fails to teach, “receiving a system information block 1 (SIB1), wherein the SIB 1 configures a first downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and the first downlink BWP is an initial downlink BWP configured for a narrowband UE.”. See at least at page 7 of remarks as submitted on 07/16/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Lei discloses that UE 902 (See Fig. 9) may receive the system information 906 in a separate SIB for reduced capability UEs that is different than a SIB having system information applicable to higher capability UEs. The UE 902 may receive the system information 906 in a SIB that carries system information for both reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. The common SIB may have different information elements for higher capability UEs and reduced capability UEs. For example, the base station 904 may transmit the common, or shared, SIB in a CORESET 0 (e.g., in an initial DL BWP 704 or 804) that is shared by reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. See ¶0103 along with Fig. 7-9. Lei further discloses that UE 1102 (See Fig. 11) may receive the system information 1105 in a separate SIB for reduced capability UEs that is different than a SIB having system information applicable to higher capability UEs. The UE 1102 may receive the system information 1105 in a SIB that carries system information for both reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. The common SIB may have different information elements for higher capability UEs and reduced capability UEs. For example, the base station 1104 may transmit the common, or shared, SIB in a CORESET 0 (e.g., in an initial DL BWP 1004) that is shared by reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. See ¶0115 along with Fig. 10-11.
Even though, Lei teaches receiving a system information block 1 (SIB1), wherein the SIB 1 configures a first downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and the first downlink BWP is an initial downlink BWP configured for a narrowband UE, Lei, does not expressly recite the claimed feature, for example, system information block 1 (SIB1), however, a person of ordinary skill in the field of endeavor, would readily appreciate that the system information block (or SIB) as disclosed in Lei, refers to SIB 1 as SIB 1 is an essential system information block for initial access and scheduling compared to any other SIBs.
The applicant further asserts that Lei fails to teach, “determine, during a random access procedure, that the first downlink BWP is activated”. See at least at pages 11-12 of remarks as submitted on 07/16/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Lei discloses in step 908 of Fig. 9, the UE 902 may perform an initial access procedure, such as a RACH procedure, in the initial DL BWP (e.g., shared initial DL BWP 704 or 804) and the initial UL BWP (e.g., shared initial UL BWP 706 or 806) that is common to reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs. As a part of initial access, the UE 902 may transmit and receive random access messages 910 with the base station 904. As an example, the UE may transmit a random access Msg 1 with a preamble to the base station 904, may receive a Msg 2 from the base station, may transmit a Msg 3 to the base station and/or may receive a Msg 4 from the base station in the shared initial DL BWP and the shared initial UL BWP, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 or 8. The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. The UE may receive an indication, or configuration, of the active DL BWP and the active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs and not for higher capability UEs. The active DL BWP and the active UL BWP may correspond to 712 and 714 or to 812 and 814 in FIG. 7 or FIG. 8. At 918 of Fig. 9, the UE 902 switches from transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the shared initial DL BWP and shared initial UL BWP to transmitting and receiving (or monitoring) based on the active DL BWP and active UL BWP that are dedicated for reduced capability UEs. See ¶0104-¶0106 along with Fig. 7-9, as reproduced next, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 11-12 as submitted on 07/16/2026.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claim 1, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #106-e; R1-2108632; Source: Moderator (Ericsson); Title: FL summary #7 on reduced maximum UE bandwidth for RedCap; e-Meeting, 16th – 27th August 2021. See below:
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467