DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “ a sodium ion secondary” in line 1 includes a drafting error. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “ a sodium ion secondary battery”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US 2015/0044558) as cited in IDS dated 4/1/24 in view of Yushin et al. (US 2020/0343580).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama discloses a method of producing a sodium ion secondary battery([0078]), comprising: forming one of a positive electrode active material layer and a negative electrode active material layer([0052]), which contains a cyclic organic compound as an active material, the cyclic organic compound having at least two carbonyl groups —C(═O)—, and the at least two carbonyl groups being bonded via a single bond or at least one conjugated double bond ([0034]-[0046]) and forming the negative electrode active material layer containing the cyclic organic compound([0034]-[0046]), disposing the solid electrolyte layer between the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer ([0068], [0071]), the solid electrolyte material is not particularly limited so long as it has a desired Na ion conductivity, but examples thereof include oxide solid electrolyte materials and sulfide solid electrolyte materials such as Na3Zr2Si2PO12, β alumina solid electrolytes (for example Na2O-11Al2O3) and Na2S—P2S5 and the like ([0071]) but does not explicitly disclose forming the negative electrode active material layer containing the cyclic organic compound or a solid electrolyte layer, which contains NaCB9H10, NaCB11H12, or NaAlH4 as a solid electrolyte.
Yushin teaches liquid-infiltrated solid-state electrolyte and rechargeable batteries comprising same (title). Yushin teaches examples in the context of rechargeable (often called “secondary”) Li metal and Li-ion batteries, it will be appreciated that various aspects may be applicable to other rechargeable as well as co-called “primary” (non-rechargeable) batteries, such as secondary and primary metal and metal-ion batteries (such as Na and Na-ion, Mg and Mg-ion, Al and Al-ion, K and K-ion, Cs and Cs-ion, Ca and Ca-ion, Zn and Zn-ion, Fe and Fe-ion and others)([0021]). Yushin teaches anode examples (for use in combination with melt-infiltrated and other suitable solid electrolytes) in the context of “pure” conversion-type chemistry or “pure” intercalation-type chemistry or “pure” metal (e.g., Li) deposition chemistry or “pure” Li alloy chemistry of active anode materials, it will be appreciated that various aspects may be applicable to mixed type active materials where two or more mechanism types of Li ion storage (e.g., (a) intercalation-type, (b) conversion-type, (c) metal (e.g., Li) deposition and (d) metal (e.g., Li) alloying) in the anode may take place during battery cell operation([0031]). Yushin teaches in some designs, hydride solid electrolytes may comprise a mixture (alloy) of two, three, four or more of the following hydrides their compositions including NaAlH4 ([0103]). Yushin teaches in some designs, one, two or more non-Li alkali metal closo-borate salts may be advantageously used in the closo-borate-based SSEs and such salts may include, but are not limited to: NaCB11H12, NaCB9H10 among others ([0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Nakayama with a solid electrolyte layer, which contains NaCB9H10, NaCB11H12, or NaAlH4 as a solid electrolyte as taught by Yushin as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, modified Nakayama discloses the cyclic organic compound has an unsaturated cyclic structure (Nakayama [0034]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nakayama discloses the cyclic organic compound is an aromatic compound, and the aromatic compound has an aromatic ring structure and two or more COONa groups bonded to the aromatic ring structure(Nakayama [0034]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nakayama discloses the aromatic compound has one aromatic ring structure and two COONa groups bonded to the aromatic ring structure(Nakayama [0034]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nakayama discloses the cyclic organic compound is composited with a carbon material(Nakayama [0047]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nakayama discloses the solid electrolyte is NaCB9H10 or NaCB11H12 (Yushin [0109]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nakayama discloses the solid electrolyte is NaCB9H10 (Yushin [0109]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Nakayama discloses the solid electrolyte is NaCB11H12 (Yushin [0109]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Nakayama discloses the solid electrolyte is NaAlH4 (Yushin [0103]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Nakayama discloses including the cyclic organic compound as a negative electrode active material (Nakayama [0034]-[0049]).
Double Patenting
8. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,984,597 in view of Yushin et al. (US 2020/0343580).
Regarding instant claim 1, claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,984,597 teach a sodium ion secondary battery having all of the limitations of instant claim 1, except for a solid electrolyte layer, which contains NaCB9H10, NaCB11H12, or NaAlH4 as a solid electrolyte.
Yushin teaches in some designs, hydride solid electrolytes may comprise a mixture (alloy) of two, three, four or more of the following hydrides their compositions including NaAlH4 ([0103]). Yushin teaches in some designs, one, two or more non-Li alkali metal closo-borate salts may be advantageously used in the closo-borate-based SSEs and such salts may include, but are not limited to: NaCB11H12, NaCB9H10 among others ([0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Nakayama with a solid electrolyte layer, which contains NaCB9H10, NaCB11H12, or NaAlH4 as a solid electrolyte as taught by Yushin as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724