DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, another sensor present on the vertically disposed sidewall that intersects with the horizontally disposed upper wall portion as recited in claims 1, 13 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because “sidewalls” on line 1 should be changed to “sidewall”.
Claim 7 is objected to because “intersect” on line 2 should be changed to “intersects”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In regard to claims 1, 13, and 14 the Drawings and Specification do not disclose a sensor present on the horizontally disposed upper wall portion and another sensor present on the vertically disposed sidewall that intersects with the horizontally disposed upper wall portion.
Claims 1-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claims 1 and 14, “said sensor foil” on lines 8 and 13 of claim 1 and lines 12 and 17-18 of claim 14 lacks antecedent basis.
In regard to claim 3, it is unclear which sensor “said sensor” is referring to. For the purposes of examination “said sensor” is interpreted as “said sensors”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. [Suzuki hereinafter, US 9,640,337].
In regard to claim 1, Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] an electric switch comprising: a. a horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161], horizontally disposed lower wall portion [60B], and two vertically disposed sidewalls [61, 64] collectively defining an opening wherein one of said vertically disposed sidewalls [61] intersects with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] at an angle α of less than 90°; b. a sensor [70B] present on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] wherein a force applied to said sensor on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] transmits a signal to control one or more selected vehicle operations; c. a sensor [70A] present on said vertically disposed sidewall [61] that intersects with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] at an angle α of less than 90°, wherein a force applied to said sensor on said vertically disposed sidewall [61] transmits a signal to control one or more selected vehicle operations.
In regard to claim 4, Suzuki discloses [in Figs. 1 and 3A] the electric switch of claim 1 wherein said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161], said horizontally disposed lower wall portion [60B] and said two vertically disposed sidewalls [61, 64], are part of a vehicle door panel substrate.
In regard to claim 5, Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] the electric switch of claim 1 wherein a minimum force applied to said sensor [70B] on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] results in lowering of a vehicle window.
In regard to claim 7, Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] the electric switch of claim 1 wherein a minimum force applied to said sensor [70A] on said vertically disposed sidewall [61] that intersect with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] at an angle α of less than 90°, results in raising of a vehicle window.
In regard to claim 13, Suzuki discloses [in Figs. 1 and 3A] a vehicle door panel comprising one or a plurality of electric window switches for raising or lowering of a vehicle window [50], said electric window switch comprising: a. a horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161], horizontally disposed lower wall portion [60B], and two vertically disposed sidewalls [61, 64] collectively defining an opening wherein one of said vertically disposed sidewalls [61] intersects with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] at an angle α of less than 90°; b. a sensor [70B] present on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] wherein a force applied to said sensor [70B] on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion transmits a signal that results in lowering of said vehicle window [50]; c. a sensor [70A] present on said vertically disposed sidewall [61] that intersects with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] at an angle α of less than 90°, wherein a force applied to said sensor [70A] on said vertically disposed sidewall transmits a signal that results in raising of said vehicle window [50].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. [Suzuki hereinafter, US 9,640,337]. Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] the electric switch of claim 1. Suzuki does not disclose that said vertically disposed sidewall intersects with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion at an angle α of 89° to 70°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a vertically disposed sidewall that intersects with the horizontally disposed upper wall portion at an angle α of 89° to 70°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 3 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. [Suzuki hereinafter, US 9,640,337] in view of Filion et al. [Filion hereinafter, US 5,448,028].
In regard to claim 3, Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] the electric switch of claim 1. Suzuki does not disclose a skin covering is disposed on said sensors. Filion teaches [in Figs. 1 and 2] a skin covering [28] disposed on said sensors [38, 44]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the skin covering of Filion with the electric switch of Suzuki in order to protect the electric switch.
In regard to claim 14, Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] a method of forming an electric switch comprising: a. supplying a substrate [20B], sensor [70A, 70B]; b. providing an electric switch having: i. a horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161], horizontally disposed lower wall portion [60B], and two vertically disposed sidewalls [61, 64] collectively defining an opening wherein one of said vertically disposed sidewalls [61] intersects with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] at an angle α of less than 90°; ii. a sensor [70B] present on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] wherein a force applied to said sensor [70B] on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] transmits a signal to control one or more selected vehicle operations; and iii. a sensor [70A] present on said vertically disposed sidewall [61] that intersects with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] at an angle α of less than 90°, wherein a force applied to said sensor [70A] on said vertically disposed sidewall [61] transmits a signal to control one or more selected vehicle operations. Suzuki does not disclose supplying a coverstock, compression molding a substrate, sensor and coverstock and having a coverstock overlying the wall portions and sidewalls. Filion teaches [in Figs. 1 and 2] supplying a coverstock [28], compression molding [col. 3, lines 11-15 and col. 5, lines 44-47] a substrate [24], sensor [38, 44] and coverstock [28], and having a coverstock [28] overlying the wall portions and sidewalls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the coverstock of Filion with the electric switch of Suzuki in order to protect the electric switch.
In regard to claim 15, Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] some of the method of claim 14 wherein said electric switch is positioned in a vehicle door panel [Fig. 1].
In regard to claim 16, Suzuki and Filion teach that the claimed invention except for positioning the electric switch in a vehicle floor console. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the electric switch in a vehicle floor console, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In regard to claim 17, Suzuki and Filion teach that the claimed invention except for positioning the electric switch in a vehicle headliner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the electric switch in a vehicle headliner, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. [Suzuki hereinafter, US 9,640,337] in view of Baier [US 7,786,400]. Suzuki discloses the electric switch of claims 5 and 7. Suzuki does not disclose that said minimum force is 2 Newtons. Baier teaches [in Fig. 1 and col 5, lines 61-63] a minimum force to actuate the switch is 2 Newtons. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a minimum actuation force of 2 Newtons in order to actuate the switch as desired.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. [Suzuki hereinafter, US 9,640,337] in view of Pandher et al. [Pandher hereinafter, US 8,994,689].
In regard to claim 9, Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] the electric switch of claim 1 wherein a selected force applied to said sensor located on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion results in a vehicle window undergoing a down condition. Suzuki does not disclose that the down condition is an express down condition. Pandher teaches [in Figs. 3 and 5] that the down condition can be an express down condition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an express down condition in order to operate the vehicle parts as desired.
In regard to claim 10, Suzuki discloses [in Fig. 3A] the electric switch of claim 1
wherein a selected force applied to said sensor [70A] located on said vertically disposed sidewall [61] that intersect with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion at an angle α of less than 90°, results in a vehicle window undergoing an up condition. Suzuki does not disclose that the down condition is an express up condition. Pandher teaches [in Figs. 3 and 5] that the up condition can be an express up condition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an express down condition in order to operate the vehicle parts as desired.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. [Suzuki hereinafter, US 9,640,337] in view of Borgmann et al. [US Borgmann hereinafter, US 2019/0386660].
In regard to claim 11, Suzuki discloses [in Figs. 1 and 3A] the electric switch of claim 1 wherein, depending upon the input force applied to the sensor on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161], a vehicle window [50] will lower. Suzuki does not disclose that the window will lower at a speed in the range of 50 mm/second to 200 mm/second. Borgmann teaches [in Fig. 3 and Par. 0033] that depending upon the input force applied to the sensor [5] on said horizontally disposed upper wall portion, a speed of the window can be adjusted. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the speed of the window in order to operate the vehicle parts as desired. With respect to the limitation of the speed being in a range of 50 mm/second to 200 mm/second,
it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regard to claim 12, Suzuki discloses [in Figs. 1 and 3A] the electric switch of claim 1 wherein, depending upon the input force applied to the sensor [70A] on said vertically disposed sidewall [61] that intersects with said horizontally disposed upper wall portion [161] at an angle α of less than 90°, a vehicle window will raise. Suzuki does not disclose that the window will raise at a speed in the range of 50 mm/second to 100 mm/second. Borgmann teaches [in Fig. 3 and Par. 0033] that depending upon the input force applied to the sensor [5], a speed of the window can be adjusted. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the speed of the window in order to operate the vehicle parts as desired. With respect to the limitation of the speed being in a range of 50 mm/second to 100 mm/second, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833