DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “providing a stowable workstation according to Claim 1” in line 2 should be corrected as --providing [[a]]the stowable workstation according to Claim 1--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “providing a work system according to Claim 11” in line 2 should be corrected as --providing [[a]]the work system according to Claim 11--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10 recites “coupling means configured to mount a tool to the mounting plate”. A review of the specification, para[0046] shows that the coupling means may include various mechanisms such as holes and/or pins that may cooperate with various fasteners, clamps, brackets, or magnetic attachments, and as seen in figures. Therefore, for examination purposes, the term, “coupling means configured to mount a tool to the mounting plate” has been interpreted to be holes and/or pins that may cooperate with various fasteners, clamps, brackets, or magnetic attachments or equivalents thereof, as best understood from the originally filed specification and drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brunner (US 2018/0001466 A1).
Regarding claim 1¸ Brunner (‘466) discloses a stowable workstation (fig1A), comprising: a tabletop 12 (para[0054]) having a work surface 20 (para[0055]), a stowing surface 22 (para[0054]), and a plurality of receiving apertures 60 (para[0059]) disposed in the tabletop 12; and a plurality of legs 14 (para[0054]) configured to be removably coupled to the tabletop 12 in a supporting position (fig1A) and in a stowed position (fig2A), the supporting position having the plurality of legs 14 coupled to the plurality of receiving apertures 60 of the tabletop 12 (fig1A), and the stowed position having the plurality of legs 14 coupled to the stowing surface 22 of the tabletop 12 (fig2A).
Regarding claim 2¸ Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 1, further including a plurality of snap fasteners 44 (para[0061], fig4B) coupled to the stowing surface 22 of the tabletop 12, the plurality of snap fasteners 44 configured to hold the plurality of legs 14 to the stowing surface 22 of the tabletop 12 when the plurality of legs 14 is in the stowed position (para[0061], fig2D).
Regarding claim 3¸ Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 2, wherein the stowing surface 22 includes a plurality of leg receptacles 42 (para[0061], fig4A) configured to receive the plurality of legs 12 when the plurality of legs 12 is in the stowed position (fig2D), the plurality of leg receptacles 42 disposed opposite the plurality of snap fasteners 44 (fig3C).
Regarding claim 4¸ Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 1, wherein each leg of the plurality of legs 12 includes a flanged end 50 (fig6A), the flanged end 50 configured to twist-lock into a receiving aperture of the plurality of receiving apertures 60 in the supporting position (figs5A,5B).
Regarding claim 5¸ Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 1, wherein the tabletop 12 includes a handle 30 (para[0056]) disposed along a sidewall of the tabletop 12 (fig2A).
Regarding claim 6¸ Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 5, wherein the handle 30 is configured to move between an extended position (fig2A) and a nonextended position (fig3D, para[0056], “a stow position”) relative to the sidewall of the tabletop 12.
Regarding claim 7¸ Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 1, wherein the work surface 20 includes indicia (para[0071]), the indicia including one of a predefined length measurement, a predefined angle measurement, and combinations thereof (para[0071]).
Regarding claim 9¸ Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 1, wherein the tabletop 12 includes a mounting plate 150 removably (fig9I) disposed to cover a passthrough of the tabletop 12.
Regarding claim 10, Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 9, wherein the mounting plate includes coupling means configured to mount a tool to the mounting plate (fig9N).
Regarding claim 17, Brunner disclose a method of using a stowable workstation, comprising: providing the stowable workstation according to Claim 1; and performing one of: coupling the plurality of legs 14 to the stowing surface 22 of the tabletop 12 (para[0061]), thereby placing the plurality of legs 14 in the stowed position (para[0061], fig2A); and coupling the plurality of legs 14 to the plurality of receiving apertures 60 of the tabletop 12, thereby placing the plurality of legs 14 in the supporting position
Regarding claim 18, Brunner discloses the method of Claim 17, further including performing one of: de-coupling the plurality of legs 14 from the stowing surface 22 of the tabletop 12; and de-coupling the plurality of legs 14 from the plurality of receiving apertures 60 of the tabletop 12 (para[0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 11-14, 16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner (US 2018/0001466 A1) in view of Bozzano (US 2018/0229358 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Brunner discloses the stowable workstation of Claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a toolbox to be removably coupled to the stowing surface of the tabletop. Bozzano (‘358) teaches a use of a toolbox 200 (abstract, para[0020]) to be removably coupled to a tabletop 230,270 (para[0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner to use a toolbox, as taught by Bozzano, for the purpose of carrying tools which can be used on a table top together.
Regarding claim 11¸ Brunner (‘466) teaches a work system, comprising: a stowable workstation (fig1A), comprising: a tabletop 12 (para[0054]) having a work surface 20 (para[0055]), a stowing surface 22 (para[0054]), and a plurality of receiving apertures 60 (para[0059]) disposed in the tabletop 12; and a plurality of legs 14 (para[0054]) configured to be removably coupled to the tabletop 12 in a supporting position (fig1A) and in a stowed position (fig2A), the supporting position having the plurality of legs 14 coupled to the plurality of receiving apertures 60 of the tabletop 12 (fig1A), and the stowed position having the plurality of legs 14 coupled to the stowing surface 22 of the tabletop 12 (fig2A). However, Brunner does not explicitly disclose a use of a rolling toolbox with the stowable workstation. Bozzano teaches a use of a rolling toolbox (abstract, fig1) including at least one wheel 750,755 (figs1,7, para[0035]); a hollow body 210,220,240 (fig3, para[0023]); and a lid 250 (figs3,4B) configured to be coupled to the hollow body 210,220,240, the lid 250 having a recess (fig4B) formed therein, the recess configured to receive a tabletop 230,270 (para[0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brunner to use a toolbox, as taught by Bozzano, for the purpose of carrying tools which can be used on a table top together.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Brunner and Bozzano teaches the work system of Claim 11, wherein the rolling toolbox (Bozzano) includes a handle (fig1, Bozzano) disposed on a side of the rolling toolbox.
Regarding claim 13¸ the combination of Brunner and Bozzano teaches the work system of Claim 11, wherein the at least one wheel 750,755 (Bozzano) includes a first wheel 750 and a second wheel 755 disposed on a lower end of the rolling toolbox (Bozzano, fig1).
Regarding claim 14¸ the combination of Brunner and Bozzano teaches the work system of Claim 11, wherein the recess formed in the lid is substantially rectangular in shape (Bozzano, figs3,4B)
Regarding claim 16¸ the combination of Brunner and Bozzano teaches the work system of Claim 11, wherein the lid of the rolling toolbox is configured to be coupled to the hollow body using a plurality of latches (para[0024], “one or more latches”, Bozzano).
Regarding claim 19¸ the combination of Brunner and Bozzano teaches a method of using a work system, comprising: providing the work system according to Claim 11; and performing one of receiving the tabletop of the stowable workstation into the recess of the lid (fig2, Bozzano), whereby the stowable workstation is loaded onto the rolling toolbox (fig2, Bozzano); and removing the tabletop of the stowable workstation from the recess of the lid, whereby the stowable workstation is unloaded from the rolling toolbox (fig4B, Bozzano).
Regarding claim 20¸ the combination of Brunner and Bozzano teaches the method of Claim 19, further including performing one of: coupling the plurality of legs 14 to the stowing surface 22 of the tabletop 12 prior to receiving the tabletop 12 of the stowable workstation into the recess of the lid (to insert the workstation onto the rolling toolbox); and de-coupling the plurality of legs 14 from the stowing surface 22 of the tabletop after removing the tabletop 12 of the stowable workstation from the recess of the lid (to use the workstation in the supporting position).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The subject matter of the claim(s) could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record. The subject matter of claim 15 not found was a use of the work surface of the tabletop of the stowable workstation configured to form a contiguous surface with a portion of the lid of the rolling toolbox; in combination with the limitations set forth in claim 15 and any intervening claims of the instant invention
None of the prior arts of record considered as a whole, alone or in combination, teaches or renders obvious the allowable subject matter of the instant invention.
Conclusion
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723