DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a FINAL office action on the merits. Claims 1, 2 and 4-21, as filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, Applicant has claimed wherein the pinch-mitigating feature is a “wall of material… about a perimeter.” This first description appears to imply the pinch-mitigating feature reads on the vertical surfaces orthogonal to the exterior surface of the second plate. However, claim 4 also describes the pinch-mitigating feature as being on an exterior surface that faces away from the first plate. It is unclear what constitutes the pinch-mitigating feature in independent claim 1 and its dependent claims, 2, 4 and 6-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16, 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Millward et al. (US 2021/0169180).
Regarding claim 1, Millward et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first plate (128); and
a second plate (126 including 144) that is spaced apart from the first plate and is connected to the first plate via a first side (114) and a second side (116),
wherein each of the first side and the second side is configured to secure a button of the male buckle component (Figs. 1 and 2 as shown), and
wherein the second plate comprises a pinch-mitigating feature (112) to maintain a distance between a pinch zone and a user, and
wherein the pinch-mitigating feature comprises a wall of material (sidewalls of inlet 154) formed at least partially about a perimeter of the second plate (Figs. 1-8 show wherein the inlet extends at least partially along and about the perimeter of the second plate).
Regarding claim 2, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the pinch-mitigating feature is integrated with the second plate (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the second plate comprises an interior surface that faces the first plate and an exterior surface that faces away from the first plate (Figs. 7 and 8 show wherein the exterior surface at 144 deviates away from the first plate), and
wherein the pinch-mitigating feature is disposed on the exterior surface (Figs. 7 and 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the interior surface is non-parallel to the pinch-mitigating feature and defines an angle (α°) (Fig. 7 and 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the first plate has a first thickness and the second plate has a second thickness that is greater than the first thickness (Figs. 7 and 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 9, Millward et al. further discloses wherein each of the first side and the second side comprises one or more locking ledges (168, 180) configured to secure the button of the male buckle component.
Regarding claim 10, Millward et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first plate (128); and
a second plate (126 including 144) that is spaced apart from the first plate and is connected to the first plate via a first side (114) and a second side (116),
wherein each of the first side and the second side is configured to secure a button of the male buckle component (Figs. 1 and 2 as shown),
wherein the second plate comprises an interior surface that faces the first plate and an exterior surface that faces away from the first plate (Figs. 7 and 8 shows wherein the exterior surface at 144 deviates away from the first plate), and
wherein the second plate is configured with a thickness between the interior surface and the exterior surface that defines an uninterrupted pinch-mitigating feature (the thickness of 144 is uninterrupted) configured to maintain a distance between a pinch zone and a user (Figs. 7 and 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 12, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the interior surface is non-parallel to the exterior surface and defines an angle (a°) (Fig. 7 and 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 14, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the thickness between the interior surface and the exterior surface is greater than a thickness of the first plate (Figs. 7 and 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 15, Millward et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first plate (128); and
a second plate (144) that is spaced apart from the first plate and is connected to the first plate via a first side (114) and a second side (116),
wherein each of the first side and the second side is configured to secure a button of the male buckle component (Figs. 1 and 2 as shown), and
wherein the second plate comprises a wall of material (top surface of 144) formed along the entirety of at least one side of the second plate that is configured to maintain a distance between a pinch zone and a user (Figs. 1-8 as shown).
Regarding claim 16, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the second plate comprises an interior surface (surface of 130 under the whistle structure) that faces the first plate and the wall of material defines an exterior surface that faces away from the first plate (Figs. 7 and 8 show wherein the exterior surface at 144 deviates away from the first plate).
Regarding claim 18, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the second plate is configured with a thickness between the interior surface and the exterior surface that defines a pinch-mitigating feature configured to maintain the distance between the pinch zone and the user (Figs. 7 and 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 21, Millward et al. further discloses wherein the pinch mitigating feature increases a distance between the exterior surface and a male component inserted into the female buckle (Figs. 1-8 as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millward et al. as applied to claims 6, 12 and 15 above respectively.
Regarding claims 7, 13 and 20, Millward et al. disclose wherein the interior surface is non-parallel to the exterior surface and defines an angle (a°) (Fig. 7 and 8 as shown) except for wherein the angle (a°) is between 5 and 20 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to angle the ramped wall at an angle of 5 to 20 degrees since this would allow for sufficient airflow without compromising comfort during use. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments to the manner in which the pinch-mitigating feature has been met by the prior art have been addressed by the updated rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677