DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,969,665. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the patented case disclose similar structural features for example, including a reversible toy that comprises a reversible toy, coupling appendage, magnet, first and second surfaces, cavity and so on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plush Toys (YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hzb0XTCnFao. Aug 25,2020) in view of Tee Turtle (YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/shorts/ID7-myNWMFc October 30,2021) and Magnetic Kissing Stuffed Animals (YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RXVd_mvTByE. February 4,2014).
Plush toy discloses a kit of reversible toys, comprising: all the recited features of the claims including a first reversible toy configured to reverse between a first configuration and a second configuration (see the screen shot provided below), and a second reversible toy configured to reverse between a first configuration and a second configuration (see the screen shot provided below).
Plush Toys (the primary reference) does not disclose coupling appendage that is located at a height on a body of the first reversible toy as recited. Tee Turtle is one example of YouTube reference that teaches the use of appendages at a location as recited (see screen shot of Tee Turtle shown below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to provide the Plush Toy with coupling appendage as taught by the Tee Turtle reference as shown above as an alternative structure that could be more fun and pleasing to the eyes to the user. The primary reference discloses multiple plush toys. However Plush Toys in view of Tee Turtle does not disclose if the appendages could be configured to coupling as recited. The use of coupling elements in plush toys is not a new concept and Magnetic Kissing Stuffed Animals is one example of YouTube reference that teaches magnets to couple different plush toys (see the screen shot below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the Plush Toys in view of Tee Turtle combination with coupling feature in order to enable reconfigurable posing, hugging, or attachment between toys or accessories without visible fasteners. This modification enhances play value, realism, and user engagement. The claimed combination yields non-obvious advantages in play interactivity and user experience.
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the magnet or magnets at any location of the toy including in appendage parts of a toy, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding the appendage being positioned in both the first and second configurations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the appendages in both configurations and to have multiple magnets, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711