DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
An information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 06/04/2024 and 06/12/2024 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 06/04/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritzow et al. (U.S. Pat. 3927643) in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani (U.S. Pub. 20200180845).
In regard to claim 1, Ritzow et al. discloses an enclosure apparatus comprising: a base in a substantially horizontal orientation, the base comprising a base perimeter that is located at the edges of the base, wherein the base comprises geometric dimensions comprising at least three sides (Figs. 1-3 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where there is an enclosure apparatus 10 comprising a base 22 in a substantially horizontal orientation, the base 22 comprising a base perimeter that is located at the edges of the base 22, and where the base 22 comprises geometric dimensions comprising at least three sides); at least three walls comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base when the at least three walls are attached to one another, wherein the at least three walls are attached at a plurality of forming edges, and wherein the plurality of forming edges are mitered into the vertical sides of the at least three walls and form a total of at least one hundred and eighty degrees when the at least three walls are joined together (Figs. 1-3 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where there are at least three walls 12 comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base 22 when the at least three walls 12 are attached to one another, wherein the at least three walls 12 are attached at a plurality of forming edges 14/16, and where the plurality of forming edges 14/16 are mitered into the vertical sides of the at least three walls 12 to form a total of at least one hundred and eighty degrees when two of the at least three walls 12 are joined together); a bottom rim located at the lower-vertical side of the at least three walls, wherein the base perimeter of the base is connected to the at least three walls at an area adjacent to the bottom rim of the at least three walls (Figs. 1-5 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where there is a bottom rim located at the lower-vertical side of the at least three walls 12 and where the base perimeter of the base 22 is connected to the at least three walls 12 at an area adjacent (via 20) to the bottom rim of the at least three walls 12). Ritzow et al. is silent on a top rim of the at least three walls comprising an upper point and a lower point; wherein the upper point is adjacent to an outside face of the at least three walls and the lower point is adjacent to an inside face of the at least three walls, and wherein the upper point and the lower point of the top rim are configured to form an oblique angle relative to each other; a lid comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base and the at least three walls; a perimeter of the lid comprising an outer point of the perimeter and an inner point of the perimeter, wherein the outer point is at an upside of the lid and the inner point is at an underside of the lid, and wherein the outer point and the inner point of the perimeter are configured to form an oblique angle relative to each other; wherein the lid rests directly on the top rim of the at least three walls; wherein the oblique angles of the top rim and of the perimeter of the lid complementarily support each other; and wherein the lid is vertically supported and laterally stabilized solely by direct engagement between the oblique angle of the top rim and the oblique angle of the perimeter of the lid. MokhtarzadehBahadorani discloses a top rim of the at least three walls comprising an upper point and a lower point; wherein the upper point is adjacent to an outside face of the at least three walls and the lower point is adjacent to an inside face of the at least three walls, and wherein the upper point and the lower point of the top rim are configured to form an oblique angle relative to each other (Fig. 1 and Abstract, where there is a top rim of the at least three walls comprising an upper point and a lower point (top and lower sections of mitered edge), where the upper point is adjacent to an outside face of the at least three walls and the lower point is adjacent to an inside face of the at least three walls (mitered edge is sloping inward), and where the upper point and the lower point of the top rim are configured to form an oblique angle (not 90 degrees) relative to each other); a lid comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base and the at least three walls; a perimeter of the lid comprising an outer point of the perimeter and an inner point of the perimeter, wherein the outer point is at an upside of the lid and the inner point is at an underside of the lid, and wherein the outer point and the inner point of the perimeter are configured to form an oblique angle relative to each other (Fig. 1 and Abstract, where there is a lid 112/114 comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base and the at least three walls, where a perimeter of the lid 112/114 includes an outer point of the perimeter and an inner point of the perimeter (mitered edges of the lid), where the outer point is at an upside of the lid and the inner point is at an underside of the lid (mitered edges slope toward bottom surface of lid), and where the outer point and the inner point of the perimeter are configured to form an oblique angle (not 90 degrees) relative to each other); wherein the lid rests directly on the top rim of the at least three walls (Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0032], where the lid 112/114 rests directly on the top rim of the at least three walls); wherein the oblique angles of the top rim and of the perimeter of the lid complementarily support each other (Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0032], where the oblique angles of the top rim and of the perimeter of the lid 112/114 at least complementarily support each other); and wherein the lid is vertically supported and laterally stabilized solely by direct engagement between the oblique angle of the top rim and the oblique angle of the perimeter of the lid (Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0032], where the lid 112/114 is vertically supported and laterally stabilized solely by direct engagement (connection of top rim and lid are at least directly engaged at a portion of the respective mitered edges) between the oblique angle of the top rim and the oblique angle of the perimeter of the lid). Ritzow et al. and MokhtarzadehBahadorani are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include enclosures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. such that a top rim of the at least three walls comprising an upper point and a lower point; wherein the upper point is adjacent to an outside face of the at least three walls and the lower point is adjacent to an inside face of the at least three walls, and wherein the upper point and the lower point of the top rim are configured to form an oblique angle relative to each other; a lid comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base and the at least three walls; a perimeter of the lid comprising an outer point of the perimeter and an inner point of the perimeter, wherein the outer point is at an upside of the lid and the inner point is at an underside of the lid, and wherein the outer point and the inner point of the perimeter are configured to form an oblique angle relative to each other; wherein the lid rests directly on the top rim of the at least three walls; wherein the oblique angles of the top rim and of the perimeter of the lid complementarily support each other; and wherein the lid is vertically supported and laterally stabilized solely by direct engagement between the oblique angle of the top rim and the oblique angle of the perimeter of the lid in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani. The motivation would have been to allow the lid to close flush to the upper most edge of the side walls, in order to provide an aesthetic closure configuration. Additionally, such a configuration would further prevent the lid from easily sliding off of the upper edge of the sidewalls.
In regard to claim 2, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 1, wherein the top rim of the at least three walls and the perimeter of the lid form a ninety- degree angle when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least three walls, wherein the outer point and the upper point are adjacent to one another when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least three walls, and wherein the inner point and the lower point are adjacent to one another when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least three walls (MokhtarzadehBahadorani, Fig. 1 and Abstract, where the top rim of the at least three walls and the perimeter of the lid form a ninety- degree angle (when mitered edges are joined) when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least three walls, where the outer point and the upper point are adjacent to one another (the mitered edges are flush such that the outer point and the upper point are adjacent) when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least three walls, and where the inner point and the lower point are adjacent to one another (similarly, the mitered edges are flush such that the inner point and the lower point are adjacent) when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least three walls). Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani is silent on wherein the upper point and the lower point of the top rim are positioned at a forty-five degree angle from one another, wherein the outer point and the inner point of the perimeter of the lid are positioned at a forty-five degree angle from one another. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the top rim of the walls and the perimeter of the lid of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. The motivation would have been to use angles which together form 90 degrees and create a flush joint between the mitered edges of the lid perimeter and the wall top rims.
In regard to claim 10, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 1, wherein the forming edges where the at least three walls meet are sealed with a water-tight material, the water-tight material comprises a continuous silicone sealant applied between mitered surfaces of adjacent walls at the forming edges, making the enclosure suitable for use as an aquarium (Ritzow et al., Figs. 1-3 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, the forming edges where the at least three walls 12 meet are sealed with a water-tight material 13 and the water-tight material comprises a continuous silicone sealant (“a silicone type adhesive is utilized to securely fasten the panels together”) applied between mitered surfaces of adjacent walls at the forming edges, since the enclosure is suitable for use as an aquarium (“suitable for use as an aquarium”)).
In regard to claim 11, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 10, wherein the continuous silicone sealant extends along the full length of each mitered forming edge and forms the sole structural bond between adjacent glass panels (Ritzow et al., Figs. 1-3 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where the continuous silicone sealant 13 extends at least along the full length of each mitered forming edge and forms the sole structural bond between adjacent glass panels (see Figs. 2 and 3)).
Claims 3-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritzow et al. (U.S. Pat. 3927643) in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani (U.S. Pub. 20200180845) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Parker (U.S. Pub. 20230055899).
In regard to claim 3, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 1. Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani is silent on a lid spacer which separates the lid from at least one wall of the at least three walls to facilitate humidity control and air movement into and out of the enclosure. Parker discloses a lid spacer which separates the lid from at least one wall of the at least three walls to facilitate humidity control and air movement into and out of the enclosure (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0013] and [0044-0045], where there is a lid spacer 20 which separates the lid from at least one wall of the at least three walls to at least facilitate humidity control and air movement into and out of the enclosure). Ritzow et al. and Parker are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include enclosures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani such that a lid spacer which separates the lid from at least one wall of the at least three walls to facilitate humidity control and air movement into and out of the enclosure in view of Parker. The motivation would have been to allow for air flow into the enclosure, even when the lid is in a closed position.
Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker is silent on a lid spacer removably attached to the perimeter of the lid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker to have a lid spacer removably attached to the perimeter of the lid, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The motivation would have been to allow for air flow into the enclosure, even when the lid is in a closed position.
In regard to claim 4, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 1. Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani is silent on a rim spacer removably attached to the top rim of at least one wall of the at least three walls, wherein the rim spacer separates the lid from at least one wall of the at least three walls to facilitate humidity control and air movement into and out of the enclosure. Parker discloses a rim spacer removably attached to the top rim of at least one wall of the at least three walls, wherein the rim spacer separates the lid from at least one wall of the at least three walls to facilitate humidity control and air movement into and out of the enclosure (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0013] and [0044-0045], where there is a rim spacer 20 removably attached to the top rim of at least one wall of the at least three walls, which separates the lid from at least one wall of the at least three walls to at least facilitate humidity control and air movement into and out of the enclosure). Ritzow et al. and Parker are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include enclosures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani such that a rim spacer removably attached to the top rim of at least one wall of the at least three walls, wherein the rim spacer separates the lid from at least one wall of the at least three walls to facilitate humidity control and air movement into and out of the enclosure in view of Parker. The motivation would have been to allow for air flow into the enclosure, even when the lid is in a closed position.
In regard to claim 5, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 3, wherein the lid spacer comprises a body having a shape at least partially complementary to the perimeter of the lid, wherein the complementary shape of the lid spacer allows the lid spacer to removably attach to the perimeter of the lid (Parker, Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0013] and [0044-0045], where the lid spacer 20 comprises a body having a shape at least partially complementary to the perimeter of the li and where the complementary shape of the lid spacer 20 allows the lid spacer 20 to at least removably attach to the perimeter of the lid).
In regard to claim 6, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 4, wherein the rim spacer comprises a body having a shape at least partially complementary to the top rim of the at least three walls, wherein the complementary shape of the rim spacer allows the rim spacer to removably attach to the top rim of at least one wall of the at least three walls (Parker, Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0013] and [0044-0045], where the rim spacer 20 comprises a body having a shape at least partially complementary to the top rim of the at least three walls and where the complementary shape of the rim spacer 20 allows the rim spacer 20 to at least removably attach to the top rim of at least one wall of the at least three walls).
In regard to claim 9, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 1. Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani is silent on a ventilation opening cut into the lid allowing for air exchange from the enclosure into the exterior environment while maintaining the structural integrity and moisture levels suitable for the habitat within the enclosure. Parker discloses a ventilation opening cut into the lid allowing for air exchange from the enclosure into the exterior environment while maintaining the structural integrity and moisture levels suitable for the habitat within the enclosure (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0044-0046], where there is a ventilation opening 17 cut into the lid allowing for air exchange from the enclosure into the exterior environment while maintaining the structural integrity and moisture levels suitable for the habitat within the enclosure). Ritzow et al. and Parker are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include enclosures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani such that a ventilation opening cut into the lid allowing for air exchange from the enclosure into the exterior environment while maintaining the structural integrity and moisture levels suitable for the habitat within the enclosure in view of Parker. The motivation would have been to allow for air flow into the enclosure, even when the lid is in a closed position.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritzow et al. (U.S. Pat. 3927643) in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani (U.S. Pub. 20200180845) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Callan (U.S. Pat. 3651975).
In regard to claim 7, Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani discloses the enclosure apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least three walls and the base are made of a transparent material, allowing for clear visibility into the interior of the enclosure (Ritzow et al., Figs. 1-3, Claim 1, and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where the at least three walls and the base are made of a transparent material (glass), allowing for clear visibility into the interior of the enclosure), wherein the lid is configured to structurally cooperate with the mitered top edges of the at least three walls such that the lid is vertically supported and laterally stabilized by direct engagement with the mitered top edges without a molding member, frame, channel, or shelf (MokhtarzadehBahadorani, Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0032], where the lid 112/114 is configured to structurally cooperate with the mitered top edges of the at least three walls such that the lid 112/114 is vertically supported and laterally stabilized by direct engagement (connection of top edges of walls and lid are at least directly engaged at a portion of the respective mitered edges) with the mitered top edges without a molding member, frame, channel, or shelf). Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani is silent on the lid is made of a transparent material. Callan discloses the lid is made of a transparent material (Fig. 2 and Claim 2, where the lid 12 is made of a transparent material (glass)). Ritzow et al. and Callan are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include enclosures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani such that the lid is made of a transparent material in view of Callan. The motivation would have been to allow the user to see through the lid structure and enable light to enter the enclosure from above.
Claims 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritzow et al. (U.S. Pat. 3927643) in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani (U.S. Pub. 20200180845), and Parker (U.S. Pub. 20230055899).
In regard to claim 12, Ritzow et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: an enclosure comprising four walls and a base, wherein the four walls are connected to each other at a plurality of forming edges to form the substantially same geometric shape of the base, and wherein the plurality of forming edges are mitered into the vertical sides of the four walls and form a shape comprising a total of at least three-hundred and sixty degrees when the four walls are joined together to form the enclosure (Figs. 1-3 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where there is an enclosure 10 comprising at least four walls 12 and a base 22, wherein the four walls 12 are connected to each other at a plurality of forming edges 14/16 to form the substantially same geometric shape of the base 22, and wherein the plurality of forming edges 14/16 are mitered into the vertical sides of the four walls 12 and form a shape comprising a total of at least three-hundred and sixty degrees when the four walls 12 are at least joined together to form the enclosure 10); a base perimeter located at the outer portion of the base; a bottom rim of the four walls located at the lower-horizontal portion of each of the four walls, wherein the bottom rim of the four walls are connected to the base perimeter of the base, wherein the base perimeter of the base is connected to the four walls at an area adjacent to the bottom rim of the four walls, wherein when the four walls and the base are connected, the bottom rim is exterior to the base perimeter, and wherein when connected, the bottom rim and the base perimeter form a ninety-degree angle (Figs. 1-3 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where there is a base perimeter of base 22 located at the outer portion of the base 22, a bottom rim (including element 20) of the four walls 12 located at the lower-horizontal portion of each of the four walls 12, wherein the bottom rim of the four walls 12 are connected to the base perimeter of the base 22, wherein the base perimeter of the base 22 is connected to the four walls 12 at an area adjacent to the bottom rim of the four walls 12, wherein when the four walls 12 and the base 22 are connected, the bottom rim (including element 20) is exterior to the base perimeter, and wherein when connected, the bottom rim and the base perimeter at least form a ninety-degree angle. Ritzow et al. as modified is silent on the base comprises geometric dimensions of at least one of a square, a rectangle, a rhombus, a parallelogram, a trapezoid, and a kite; a top rim of the four walls that is mitered into the upper-horizontal side of each of the four walls at a forty-five degree angle, wherein the top rim comprises an upper point and a lower point, wherein the upper point of the rim is at an outside face of the four walls, and the lower point is at an inside face of the four walls, and wherein the upper point and the lower point are positioned forty-five-degrees from one another; a lid comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base and the four walls, wherein the lid is placed on the enclosure to substantially seal the enclosure from the outside environment; a perimeter of the lid comprising an outer point and an inner point, wherein the perimeter of the lid is at the outermost portion of the lid, wherein the outer point is positioned at an upside of the lid and the inner point is at an underside of the lid, wherein the outer point and inner point are positioned forty-five-degrees from each other, wherein when the lid is placed on the top rim of the four walls of the enclosure, the outer point and upper point are adjacent to one another, and the inner point and lower point are adjacent to one another, and wherein the top rim of the four walls and the perimeter of the lid form a ninety degree angle when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least four walls; wherein the lid is vertically supported and laterally stabilized solely by direct complimentary engagement between the mitered top rim of the four walls and the mitered perimeter of the lid. MokhtarzadehBahadorani disclose the base comprises geometric dimensions of at least one of a square, a rectangle, a rhombus, a parallelogram, a trapezoid, and a kite (Fig. 1 and Abstract, where the base comprises geometric dimensions of a rectangle); a top rim of the four walls that is mitered into the upper-horizontal side of each of the four walls, wherein the top rim comprises an upper point and a lower point, wherein the upper point of the rim is at an outside face of the four walls, and the lower point is at an inside face of the four walls (Fig. 1 and Abstract, where there is a top rim of the four walls that is mitered into the upper-horizontal side of each of the four walls, wherein the top rim comprises an upper point and a lower point (top and lower sections of mitered edge), wherein the upper point of the rim is at an outside face of the four walls, and the lower point is at an inside face of the four walls (mitered edge is sloping inward)); a lid comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base and the four walls, wherein the lid is placed on the enclosure to substantially seal the enclosure from the outside environment; a perimeter of the lid comprising an outer point and an inner point, wherein the perimeter of the lid is at the outermost portion of the lid, wherein the outer point is positioned at an upside of the lid and the inner point is at an underside of the lid, wherein when the lid is placed on the top rim of the four walls of the enclosure, the outer point and upper point are adjacent to one another, and the inner point and lower point are adjacent to one another, and wherein the top rim of the four walls and the perimeter of the lid form a ninety degree angle when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least four walls (Fig. 1 and Abstract, where there is a lid 112/114 comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base and the four walls, wherein the lid is placed on the enclosure to substantially seal the enclosure from the outside environment, where a perimeter of the lid 112/114 comprising an outer point and an inner point (mitered edges of the), wherein the perimeter of the lid is at the outermost portion of the lid, wherein the outer point is positioned at an upside of the lid and the inner point is at an underside of the lid (mitered edges slope toward bottom surface of lid), wherein when the lid is placed on the top rim of the four walls of the enclosure, the outer point and upper point are adjacent to one another (the mitered edges are flush such that the outer point and the upper point are adjacent), and the inner point and lower point are adjacent to one another (similarly, the mitered edges are flush such that the inner point and the lower point are adjacent), and wherein the top rim of the four walls and the perimeter of the lid form a ninety degree angle (when mitered edges are joined) when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least four walls); wherein the lid is vertically supported and laterally stabilized solely by direct complimentary engagement between the mitered top rim of the four walls and the mitered perimeter of the lid (Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0032], where the lid 112/114 is vertically supported and laterally stabilized solely by direct complimentary engagement (connection of top edges of walls and lid are at least directly and complimentarily engaged at a portion of the respective mitered edges) between the mitered top rim of the four walls and the mitered perimeter of the lid). Ritzow et al. and MokhtarzadehBahadorani are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include enclosures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. such that the base comprises geometric dimensions of at least one of a square, a rectangle, a rhombus, a parallelogram, a trapezoid, and a kite; a top rim of the four walls that is mitered into the upper-horizontal side of each of the four walls, wherein the top rim comprises an upper point and a lower point, wherein the upper point of the rim is at an outside face of the four walls, and the lower point is at an inside face of the four walls; a lid comprising geometric dimensions substantially corresponding to the geometric dimensions of the base and the four walls, wherein the lid is placed on the enclosure to substantially seal the enclosure from the outside environment; a perimeter of the lid comprising an outer point and an inner point, wherein the perimeter of the lid is at the outermost portion of the lid, wherein the outer point is positioned at an upside of the lid and the inner point is at an underside of the lid, wherein when the lid is placed on the top rim of the four walls of the enclosure, the outer point and upper point are adjacent to one another, and the inner point and lower point are adjacent to one another, and wherein the top rim of the four walls and the perimeter of the lid form a ninety degree angle when the lid is placed on the top rim of the at least four walls, wherein the lid is vertically supported and laterally stabilized solely by direct complimentary engagement between the mitered top rim of the four walls and the mitered perimeter of the lid in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani. The motivation would have been to allow the lid to close flush to the upper most edge of the side walls, in order to provide an aesthetic closure configuration. Additionally, such a configuration would further prevent the lid from easily sliding off of the upper edge of the sidewalls.
Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani is silent on a top rim of the four walls that is mitered into the upper-horizontal side of each of the four walls at a forty-five degree angle, the upper point and the lower point are positioned forty-five-degrees from one another; wherein the outer point and inner point are positioned forty-five-degrees from each other. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the top rim of the walls and the perimeter of the lid of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. The motivation would have been to use angles which together form 90 degrees and create a flush joint between the mitered edges of the lid perimeter and the wall top rims.
Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani is silent on a spacer removably attached to at least one of the perimeter of the lid and the top rim of at least one wall of the four walls of the enclosure, wherein the spacer separates the lid from the enclosure and accommodates airflow into the enclosure to maintain consistent humidity and temperature, wherein the spacer comprises a body having a shape at least partially complementary to at least one of the perimeter of the lid and the top rim of at least one wall of the four walls of the enclosure; a ventilation opening cut into the lid to allow for air exchange between the enclosure and the area outside of the enclosure while maintaining moisture levels suitable for the habitat within the enclosure. Parker discloses a spacer removably attached to at least one of the perimeter of the lid and the top rim of at least one wall of the four walls of the enclosure, wherein the spacer separates the lid from the enclosure and accommodates airflow into the enclosure to maintain consistent humidity and temperature (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0013] and [0044-0045], where a spacer 20 removably attached to at least one of the perimeter of the lid and the top rim of at least one wall of the four walls of the enclosure, wherein the spacer 20 separates the lid from the enclosure and accommodates airflow into the enclosure to maintain consistent humidity and temperature), wherein the spacer comprises a body having a shape at least partially complementary to at least one of the perimeter of the lid and the top rim of at least one wall of the four walls of the enclosure (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0013] and [0044-0045], where the spacer 20 comprises a body having a shape at least partially complementary to at least one of the perimeter of the lid and the top rim of at least one wall of the four walls of the enclosure); a ventilation opening cut into the lid to allow for air exchange between the enclosure and the area outside of the enclosure while maintaining moisture levels suitable for the habitat within the enclosure (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0044-0046], where there is a ventilation opening 17 cut into the lid allowing for air exchange from the enclosure into the exterior environment while maintaining the structural integrity and moisture levels suitable for the habitat within the enclosure). Ritzow et al. and Parker are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include enclosures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani such that a spacer removably attached to at least one of the perimeter of the lid and the top rim of at least one wall of the four walls of the enclosure, wherein the spacer separates the lid from the enclosure and accommodates airflow into the enclosure to maintain consistent humidity and temperature, wherein the spacer comprises a body having a shape at least partially complementary to at least one of the perimeter of the lid and the top rim of at least one wall of the four walls of the enclosure; a ventilation opening cut into the lid to allow for air exchange between the enclosure and the area outside of the enclosure while maintaining moisture levels suitable for the habitat within the enclosure in view of Parker. The motivation would have been to allow for air flow into the enclosure, even when the lid is in a closed position.
In regard to claim 13, Ritzow et al. in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein when the four walls are connected at the forming edges (MokhtarzadehBahadorani, Fig. 1 and Abstract, where when the four walls are connected at the forming edges), adjacent ones of the forming edges are directly bonded along complementary mitered glass surfaces using a continuous silicone sealant such that the connection forms a load-bearing glass-to-glass joint without any intervening molding member or frame (Ritzow et al., Figs. 1-3 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where adjacent ones of the forming edges are directly bonded along complementary mitered glass surfaces using a continuous silicone sealant (“a silicone type adhesive is utilized to securely fasten the panels together”) such that the connection at least forms a load-bearing glass-to-glass joint without any intervening molding member or frame).
In regard to claim 14, Ritzow et al. in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the ventilation opening is circular (Parker, Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0044-0046], where the ventilation opening 17 is circular). Ritzow et al. in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker is silent on the ventilation opening is positioned substantially at the center of the lid such that the opening is spaced inwardly from the complementary mitered perimeter portion of the lid, thereby maintaining continuous load-bearing engagement between the lid perimeter and the top rim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker to have the ventilation opening be positioned substantially at the center of the lid such that the opening is spaced inwardly from the complementary mitered perimeter portion of the lid, thereby maintaining continuous load-bearing engagement between the lid perimeter and the top rim, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The motivation would have been to allow for even air flow into the enclosure through a central opening, even when the lid is in a closed position.
In regard to claim 16, Ritzow et al. in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the four walls and the base are sealed to each other with a water-tight material, the water-tight material comprises the continuous silicone sealant applied between mitered glass surfaces without any intervening molding member or frame, making the apparatus suitable for use as an aquarium (Ritzow et al., Figs. 1-3 and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, the forming edges are sealed with a water-tight material 13 and where the water-tight material comprises the continuous silicone sealant (“a silicone type adhesive is utilized to securely fasten the panels together”) applied between mitered glass surfaces without any intervening molding member or frame, since the enclosure is suitable for use as an aquarium (“suitable for use as an aquarium”)).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritzow et al. (U.S. Pat. 3927643) in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani (U.S. Pub. 20200180845), and Parker (U.S. Pub. 20230055899) as applied to claim 12, and further in view of Callan (U.S. Pat. 3651975).
In regard to claim 15, Ritzow et al. in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani and Parker discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the four walls and the base are made of transparent material (Ritzow et al., Figs. 1-3, Claim 1, and Column 1 line 19 – Column 2 line 50, where the four walls and the base are made of glass, allowing for clear visibility into the interior of the enclosure and through the enclosure), wherein the transparent material is configured to directly engage along complementary forty-five degree mitered surfaces such that the glass forms a sole load-bearing interface between the lid and the enclosure without any molding member, frame, channel, bracket, or shelf (MokhtarzadehBahadorani, Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0032], where the lid 112/114 is configured to directly engage (connection of top edges of walls and lid are at least directly engaged at a portion of the respective mitered edges) along complementary forty-five degree mitered surfaces (as mapped in the rejection of claim 12 above) such that the glass forms a sole load-bearing interface between the lid and the enclosure without any molding member, frame, channel, bracket, or shelf). Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani is silent on the lid is made of transparent material. Callan discloses the lid is made of transparent material (Fig. 2 and Claim 2, where the lid 12 is made of a transparent material (glass)). Ritzow et al. and Callan are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include enclosures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ritzow et al. as modified by MokhtarzadehBahadorani such that the lid is made of transparent material in view of Callan. The motivation would have been to allow the user to see through the lid structure and enable light to enter the enclosure from above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (filed 03/04/2026) with respect to the rejection of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Ritzow et al. (U.S. Pat. 3927643) in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani (U.S. Pub. 20200180845) discloses the applicant’s claim 1 as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above. Ritzow et al. (U.S. Pat. 3927643) in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani (U.S. Pub. 20200180845), and Parker (U.S. Pub. 20230055899) discloses the applicant’s claim 12 as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above.
In regard to claims 1, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 16, the portion 24 of Ritzow, as a whole, is considered to be a top cover structure. The combination with MokhtarzadehBahadorani replaces this top cover structure with a different top cover structure. This does not destroy the function of Ritzow. Therefore, the combination is maintained as proper.
In regard to claim 2, the design change in angle is considered to be minimal, as the mitered angle shown in the prior art is close to 45 degrees as seen in the figures of MokhtarzadehBahadorani. The function of the device is not destroyed by such a minimal change and the exact specification of 45 degrees, as originally disclosed, does not have specific function over the mitered edges shown in MokhtarzadehBahadorani.
In regard to claims 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 14, and 15, Parker and Callan, respectively, are used in the rejections to solely teach the limitations mapped to those references. They are not relied upon to teach limitations present in the parent claims. Therefore, the combinations recited in the 35 USC § 103 above, are maintained as proper, in light of the applicant’s arguments that Parker and Callan do not teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited, for the full list of prior art made of record. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of enclosures.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647