DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicants’ assertion regarding whether Kim (US 20250267028) is prior art.
While it does appear that the priority document KR 10-2024-0022139, from which the above Kim reference claims priority, is unavailable, when the above priority document number is entered into the Korea Intellectual Property Rights Information Service (KIPRIS) database the above Kim reference is produced as an output. This means that the content and subject matter of KR 10-2024-0022139 is the same or substantially similar to the subject matter or content of the above Kim reference and thus provides support for said Kim reference. The Kim reference is therefore prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7 – 15, 17 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2025/0267028) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0124840) and in further view of Saha et al. (US 2025/0081160).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: a processor, wherein the processor (Figure 1, Section 0054, typical UEs comprise processors) is configured to: receive an indication of one or more session identifiers (IDs) (Section 0200, 0201); determine that a service area associated with the WTRU is a valid service area (Abstract, Section 0007, valid range for service area), wherein being configured to determine that the service area associated with the WTRU is the valid service area comprises the processor being configured to at least: determine that a time is within a service period (Section 0210, broadcast service times), and determine that one or more access requirements have been satisfied (Section 0168, location information is an access requirement); send, based on the determination that the service area associated with the WTRU is the valid service area, an access request to a network node (Section 0168, there will be some kind of handshaking, which would comprise access requests, between the UE and the network node in order to receive the desired broadcast or multicast service).
Kim does not teach receive a message, wherein the message indicates a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a second RNTI, wherein the first RNTI is associated with a first period of validity and the second RNTI is associated with a second period of validity, and wherein the first RNTI and the second RNTI are associated with a same service; determine that a first time is within the first period of validity; decode data via use of the first RNTI based on the determination that the first time is within the first period of validity; determine that the first period of validity expired or is within a threshold of expiration; determine that a second time is within the second period of validity, wherein the second time is at or after expiration of the first period of validity; and decode the data via use of the second RNTI based on the determination that the second time is within the second period of validity.
Li, which also teaches multicast technology, teaches receive a message, wherein the message indicates a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a second RNTI, wherein the first RNTI and the second RNTI are associated with a same service (Section 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim with the above features of Li for the purpose of improving communication efficiency as taught by Li.
Kim combination does not teach receive a message, wherein the message indicates a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a second RNTI, wherein the first RNTI is associated with a first period of validity and the second RNTI is associated with a second period of validity, and wherein the first RNTI and the second RNTI are associated with a same service; determine that a first time is within the first period of validity; decode data via use of the first RNTI based on the determination that the first time is within the first period of validity; determine that the first period of validity expired or is within a threshold of expiration; determine that a second time is within the second period of validity, wherein the second time is at or after expiration of the first period of validity; and decode the data via use of the second RNTI based on the determination that the second time is within the second period of validity.
Saha, which also teaches multicast technology, teaches wherein the first RNTI is associated with a first period of validity and the second RNTI is associated with a second period of validity (Section 0116); determine that a first time is within the first period of validity; decode data via use of the first RNTI based on the determination that the first time is within the first period of validity (decoding the pre-paging data via use of the RNTI (Sections 0103, 0108), period of validity for RNTI (0116) renders a scenario wherein the decoding occurs during a time within the period of validity); determine that the first period of validity expired or is within a threshold of expiration (Section 0116, timer can expire thus rendering a scenario wherein the period of validity expired); determine that a second time is within the second period of validity, wherein the second time is at or after expiration of the first period of validity (Section 0116, there can be multiple periods of validity thus rendering a scenario wherein a second time is at or after expiration of a first period of validity); and decode the data via use of the second RNTI based on the determination that the second time is within the second period of validity (decoding the pre-paging data via use of the RNTI (Sections 0103, 0108), period of validity for RNTI (0116) renders a scenario wherein the decoding occurs during a time within the period of validity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Kim combination with the above features of Saha for the purpose of enabling the paging of UE in a deep coverage zone as taught by Saha.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches a method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving an indication of one or more session identifiers (IDs) (Section 0200, 0201); determining that a service area associated with the WTRU is a valid service area (Abstract, Section 0007, valid range for service area), wherein determining that the service area associated with the WTRU is the valid service area comprises: determining that a time is within a service period (Section 0210, broadcast service times), and determining that one or more access requirements have been satisfied (Section 0168, location information is an access requirement); sending, based on the determination that the service area associated with the WTRU is the valid service area, an access request to a network node (Section 0168, there will be some kind of handshaking, which would comprise access requests, between the UE and the network node in order to receive the desired broadcast or multicast service).
Kim does not teach receiving a message, wherein the message indicates a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a second RNTI, wherein the first RNTI is associated with a first period of validity and the second RNTI is associated with a second period of validity, and wherein the first RNTI and the second RNTI are associated with a same service; determining that a first time is within the first period of validity; decoding data via use of the first RNTI based on the determination that the first time is within the first period of validity; determining that the first period of validity expired or is within a threshold of expiration; determining that a second time is within the second period of validity, wherein the second time is at or after expiration of the first period of validity; and decoding the data via use of the second RNTI based on the determination that the second time is within the second period of validity.
Li, which also teaches multicast technology, teaches receive a message, wherein the message indicates a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a second RNTI, wherein the first RNTI and the second RNTI are associated with a same service (Section 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim with the above features of Li for the purpose of improving communication efficiency as taught by Li.
Kim combination does not teach receiving a message, wherein the message indicates a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) and a second RNTI, wherein the first RNTI is associated with a first period of validity and the second RNTI is associated with a second period of validity, and wherein the first RNTI and the second RNTI are associated with a same service; determining that a first time is within the first period of validity; decoding data via use of the first RNTI based on the determination that the first time is within the first period of validity; determining that the first period of validity expired or is within a threshold of expiration; determining that a second time is within the second period of validity, wherein the second time is at or after expiration of the first period of validity; and decoding the data via use of the second RNTI based on the determination that the second time is within the second period of validity.
Saha, which also teaches multicast technology, teaches wherein the first RNTI is associated with a first period of validity and the second RNTI is associated with a second period of validity (Section 0116); determine that a first time is within the first period of validity; decode data via use of the first RNTI based on the determination that the first time is within the first period of validity (decoding the pre-paging data via use of the RNTI (Sections 0103, 0108), period of validity for RNTI (0116) renders a scenario wherein the decoding occurs during a time within the period of validity); determine that the first period of validity expired or is within a threshold of expiration (Section 0116, timer can expire thus rendering a scenario wherein the period of validity expired); determine that a second time is within the second period of validity, wherein the second time is at or after expiration of the first period of validity (Section 0116, there can be multiple periods of validity thus rendering a scenario wherein a second time is at or after expiration of a first period of validity); and decode the data via use of the second RNTI based on the determination that the second time is within the second period of validity (decoding the pre-paging data via use of the RNTI (Sections 0103, 0108), period of validity for RNTI (0116) renders a scenario wherein the decoding occurs during a time within the period of validity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Kim combination with the above features of Saha for the purpose of enabling the paging of UE in a deep coverage zone as taught by Saha.
Regarding Claims 2, 12, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 11. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more access requirements comprise: a requirement that the WTRU verify that the WTRU is in a location associated with allowing access to the data; or a requirement that the network node verify a WTRU location (Section 0168).
Regarding Claims 3, 13, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 11. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more session IDs comprise a first session ID and a second session ID, and wherein: the first session ID indicates one or more of: a first service area, a first service period associated with the first session ID, or a first access condition associated with the first session ID (Sections 0012, 0168, session IDs associated with MBS service which has associated access conditions (0168)), and the second session ID indicates one or more of: a second service area, a second service period associated with the second session ID, or a second access condition associated with the second session ID (Sections 0012, 0168, session IDs associated with MBS service which has associated access conditions (0168)).
Regarding Claims 4, 14, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 3, 13. Kim further teaches wherein the first or second access condition comprises: a condition that a time associated with access by the WTRU is a time when the WTRU is allowed to at least one of: access the data or decode the data; or a condition that the network node verify a WTRU location (Section 0168).
Regarding Claims 5, 15, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 3, 13. Kim further teaches wherein the service arca associated with the WTRU is the first service area or the second service area (Section 0164, multiple service areas), and wherein being configured to determine that the service area associated with the WTRU is the valid service area comprises the processor being configured to: determine one or more of: that the time is within the first service period, that a location associated with the WTRU is within the first service arca, or that the first access condition is satisfied, or determine one or more of: that the time is within the second service period, that a location associated with the WTRU is within the second service area, or that the second access condition is satisfied (Section 0168, satisfied access condition is the location).
Regarding Claims 7, 17, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 11. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more session IDs are one or more multicast broadcast service (MBS) IDs (Section 0200), wherein the service area is an MBS service area, wherein the service period is an MBS service period, and wherein the data is MBS data (Section 0007, MBS system thus there will be wherein the service area is an MBS service area, wherein the service period is an MBS service period, and wherein the data is MBS data).
Regarding Claims 8, 18, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 11. Kim further teaches wherein the data is MBS-type data (Section 0007, MBS system thus there will be wherein the data is MBS-type data).
Regarding Claims 9, 19, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 11. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more session IDs are one or more service area IDs (Section 0143).
Regarding Claims 10, 20, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 11. Kim does not teach wherein being associated with the same service comprises being associated with a same session.
Li, which also teaches multicast technology, teaches wherein being associated with the same service comprises being associated with a same session (Section 0017, a session is setup to facilitate the service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim with the above features of Li for the purpose of improving communication efficiency as taught by Li.
Claim(s) 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2025/0267028) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0124840) in view of Saha et al. (US 2025/0081160), as applied to Claim 1 set forth above, and in further view of Baek et al. (US 2022/0417709).
Regarding Claims 6, 16, Kim combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 11. Kim combination does not teach wherein the access request indicates one or more of: a session ID, wherein the session ID is one of the one or more session IDs, WTRU location information, or measurement information associated with measurements performed by the WTRU.
Baek, which also teaches MBS, teaches wherein the access request indicates one or more of: a session ID, wherein the session ID is one of the one or more session IDs, WTRU location information, or measurement information associated with measurements performed by the WTRU (Section 0012, session ID to an access and mobility management).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kim combination with the above features of Baek for the purpose of providing an MBS that takes mobility of the UE into account as taught by Baek.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
August 18, 2026