DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 26, 2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Mirror Apparatus Enclosure”.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2 “wherein the projection portion is disposed between the magnet unit and a side surface of the recess in one direction perpendicular to the first direction” particularly “one direction perpendicular to the first direction” has clarity issues. It is unclear if the “one direction perpendicular to the first direction” is the second direction (perpendicular to the first direction) introduced in claim 1 or is a new direction or is a plane perpendicular to the first direction. In light of the specification, the projection portion is on four sides (e.g. 71-72 & 73) in a ring shape (paragraphs [0031 & 0083]). The examiner suggests and for purposes of examination will use “wherein the projection portion is disposed between the magnet unit and a side surface of the recess
Regarding claim 19 “the axis” has antecedent issues. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the predetermined axis introduced in claim 1 (assumed), or if it is a new/different element. For purposes of examination the examiner will use “the predetermined axis”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0174247 in view of Yeh US Patent Application Publication 2014/0126127.
Regarding claims 1-6 Suzuki discloses a mirror apparatus (title e.g. figures 1 & 3 optical module 100) comprising: a base portion (e.g. base 42) including a disposition surface (e.g. inner surface 42a), the base portion being formed with a recess that is open to the disposition surface (e.g. see figure 3); a magnet unit (e.g. MEMS mirror 1) disposed in the recess (e.g. see figure 3); a mirror unit (e.g. figure 4 mirror 7) including a movable portion (e.g. movable portion 3 or 4) configured to swing around a predetermined axis (e.g. axis X1 or X2), a coil (e.g. coil 11 or 12) which is provided to the movable portion (e.g. paragraph [0039] “first drive coil 11 is provided on the second part 32 of the first movable portion 3” or paragraph [0042] “second drive coil 12 is provided on the second movable portion 4”) and on which a magnetic field generated by the magnet unit acts (axiomatic e.g. see paragraph [0039 & 0042]), and a mirror surface (e.g. 7) provided on the movable portion (e.g. see figure 4), and disposed on the magnet unit (e.g. 1); a frame member (e.g. side wall 43) including a first surface (e.g. top of 43) facing one side in a first direction and a second surface (e.g. bottom of 43) facing the other side in the first direction, and disposed on the disposition surface (e.g. 42a) of the base portion at the second surface (e.g. see figure 3); and a window member (e.g. window member 44) disposed on the frame member (e.g. see figure 3), wherein the frame member (e.g. 43) includes a first wall portion (e.g. left 43 in figure 3) and a second wall portion (e.g. right 43 in figure 3) facing the first wall portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (e.g. left-right in figure 3), a height of the first wall portion (e.g. left 43 in figure 3) is lower (e.g. see figure 3) than a height of the second wall portion (e.g. right 43 in figure 3), the window member (e.g. 44) is disposed on a top surface of the first wall portion and a top surface of the second wall portion (e.g. see figure 1), and is inclined with respect to the mirror surface (e.g. see figure 1 & 3), and at least a part of a portion of the first surface of the frame member, the part overlapping the projection portion in the first direction, is an inclined surface inclined with respect to the mirror surface, and the window member is disposed on the inclined surface (e.g. see figure 1 inclined front/read side 43).
Suzuki does not disclose a projection portion is formed on the second surface of the frame member, the projection portion is disposed between the magnet unit and an opening edge of the recess when viewed in the first direction, as required by claim 1; and wherein the projection portion is disposed between the magnet unit and a side surface of the recess, as required by claim 2; and wherein the projection portion includes a first portion formed on a bottom surface of the first wall portion, as required by claim 3; and wherein the first portion extends along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, as required by claim 4; and wherein the projection portion further includes a second portion formed on a bottom surface of the second wall portion, as required by claim 5; and wherein the second portion extends along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, as recited in claim 6.
Yeh teaches a similar apparatus (title e.g. see figure 2) including a base portion (e.g. second housing member 130) being formed with a recess (e.g. space 140), a frame member (e.g. side wall 113), a window member (e.g. upper lid 111) on top of the frame member (e.g. see figure 2), wherein the frame member includes a first wall portion (e.g. left 113) and a second wall portion (e.g. right 113); and further teaches a projection portion (e.g. engaging potion 115) is formed on the bottom of the frame member (e.g. see figure 2) including a first portion (e.g. left 115) formed on a bottom surface of the first wall portion (e.g. left 111) in a plane perpendicular to the first direction (e.g. see figure 2), the projection portion is disposed in a recess (e.g. recess 135), wherein the first portion (e.g. left) extends along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (e.g. see figures 1-2); and projection portion further includes a second portion (e.g. right 115) formed on a bottom surface of the second wall portion (e.g. right 111), wherein the second portion extends along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (e.g. see figures 1-2) for the purpose of securely positioning the cover onto to the base and allowing for a waterproof seal (paragraph [0007]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by Suzuki to have a projection portion is formed on the second surface of the frame member, wherein the projection portion is disposed in the recess, wherein the projection portion includes a first portion formed on a bottom surface of the first wall portion, wherein the first portion extends along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, wherein the projection portion further includes a second portion formed on a bottom surface of the second wall portion, and wherein the second portion extends along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction as taught by Yeh for the purpose of for the purpose of securely positioning the cover onto to the base and allowing for a waterproof seal.
Regarding the projection portion being disposed between the magnet unit and an opening edge of the recess as further required by claims 1 and 2 – there is a limited number of places to arrange the protrusion that fitting into a groove. It has been held that where there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within his or her technical grasp. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) see MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have the projection portion being disposed between the magnet unit and an opening edge of the recess since there are a limited number of places to arrange the protrusion that fitting into a groove and since there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within his or her technical grasp and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 7-8 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1 including projection portions formed on bottom surfaces of the wall portions, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the frame member (e.g. 41) further includes a pair of third wall portions facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction and that extend along the second direction (e.g. see figure 1 two wall of 41 on front and back with inclined top surface parallel with cross sectional view of figure 3).
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. The combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh further discloses wherein the frame member further includes a pair of third wall portions facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above), the projection portion includes a first portion formed on a bottom surface of the first wall portion (as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above), a second portion formed on a bottom surface of the second wall portion (as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above), and a third portion formed on one bottom surface of the pair of third wall portions (as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above), and the third portion extends along the second direction (as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above).
Suzuki does not disclose the third portion is connected to the first portion at one end in the second direction, and is connected to the second portion at the other end in the second direction.
Yeh further teaches the third portion is connected to the first portion at one end in the second direction, and is connected to the second portion at the other end in the second direction (e.g. see figures 1 and 3 & paragraph [0030] noting the structure circumferentially extends around an axis C) for the purpose of securely positioning the cover onto to the base and allowing for a waterproof seal (paragraph [0007]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have the third portion is connected to the first portion at one end in the second direction, and is connected to the second portion at the other end in the second direction as further taught by Yeh for the purpose of securely positioning the cover onto to the base and allowing for a waterproof seal.
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki does not disclose wherein the projection portion includes a portion disposed at a location corresponding to a corner portion of the recess when viewed in the first direction.
Yeh further teaches wherein the projection portion includes a portion disposed at a location corresponding to a corner portion of the recess when viewed in the first direction (e.g. see figures 1 and 3 & paragraph [0030] noting the structure circumferentially extends around an axis C) for the purpose of securely positioning the cover onto to the base and allowing for a waterproof seal (paragraph [0007]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have the projection portion includes a portion disposed at a location corresponding to a corner portion of the recess when viewed in the first direction as further taught by Yeh for the purpose of securely positioning the cover onto to the base and allowing for a waterproof seal.
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki does not disclose wherein the projection portion is formed in a ring shape to surround the magnet unit when viewed in the first direction.
Yeh further teaches the projection portion is formed in a ring shape to surround the central elements when viewed in the first direction (e.g. see figures 1 and 7 & paragraph [0030] noting the structure circumferentially extends around an axis C) for the purpose of securely positioning the cover onto to the base and allowing for a waterproof seal (paragraph [0007]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have the projection portion is formed in a ring shape to surround the magnet unit when viewed in the first direction as further taught by Yeh for the purpose of securely positioning the cover onto to the base and allowing for a waterproof seal.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1 including the projection portion and the recess, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the frame member (e.g. 43) is fixed to the base portion (e.g. 42 – paragraph [0030] “base 42 is joined to the side wall 43”), and the frame member and the base portion are fixed over an entire circumference (paragraph [0030] “base 42 is joined to the side wall 43 … such that the other opening in the side wall 43 is hermetically sealed”).
Suzuki and Yeh do not disclose said fixing is by a first adhesive material disposed between the surfaces of parts being adhered together.
Suzuki further teaches elements are fixed to each other using adhesives (inter alia paragraphs [0004, 0064 & 0086]) where said adhesive is disposed between the surfaces of parts being adhered together (e.g. paragraph [0086] figure 3 adhesive resin R), which is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), see MPEP 2143. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have fixing is by a first adhesive material disposed between the surfaces of parts being adhered together as a method of bonding elements together as further taught by Suzuki and would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the frame member (e.g. 43) is fixed to the base portion (e.g. 42 - paragraph [0030] “base 42 is joined to the side wall 43”), and the frame member and the base portion are fixed over an entire circumference (paragraph [0030] “base 42 is joined to the side wall 43 … such that the other opening in the side wall 43 is hermetically sealed”).
Suzuki and Yeh do not disclose said fixing is by a first adhesive material disposed between parts being adhered together.
Suzuki further teaches elements are fixed to each other using adhesives (inter alia paragraphs [0004, 0064 & 0086]) where said adhesive is disposed between the surfaces of parts being adhered together (e.g. paragraph [0086] figure 3 adhesive resin R), which is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), see MPEP 2143. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have fixing is by a first adhesive material disposed between the surfaces of parts being adhered together as a method of bonding elements together as further taught by Suzuki and would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 3 including the first portion formed on a bottom surface of the first wall portion, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the first wall portion (e.g. left 43) is located on a side of the mirror unit with respect to an outer edge of the window member (e.g. 44) in the second direction (see figure 1), an edge of an opening of the frame member (see figure 1) is located on a side of the mirror unit (e.g. 1) with respect to the outer edge of the window member in the second direction (see figure 3), and when viewed in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, a position of the edge of the opening of the frame member in the second direction overlaps a position of the first wall portion in the second direction (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. The combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh further discloses wherein the frame member further includes a pair of third wall portions facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above). Suzuki further discloses the window member (e.g. 44) is fixed to top surfaces of the pair of third wall portions (e.g. paragraph [0030] “window member 44 is joined to the side wall 43” see figure 1).
Suzuki and Yeh do not disclose or teach said fixing is by a second adhesive material disposed between parts being adhered together.
Suzuki further teaches elements are fixed to each other using adhesives (inter alia paragraphs [0004, 0064 & 0086]) where said adhesive is disposed between the surfaces of parts being adhered together (e.g. paragraph [0086] figure 3 adhesive resin R), which is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), see MPEP 2143. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have fixing is by a second adhesive material disposed between the surfaces of parts being adhered together as a method of bonding elements together as further taught by Suzuki and would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses wherein when viewed in the first direction (see figure 4), an outer edge of the mirror unit (e.g. 7) is located inside an outer edge of the magnet unit (e.g. 1).
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the predetermined axis (e.g. X1 or X2) is parallel to a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (see figures 1 & 3-4).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0174247 in view of Yeh US Patent Application Publication 2014/0126127 and in further view of Kitazawa foreign patent document JP2016009557A, of record.
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki and Yeh do not disclose or teach wherein the second wall portion includes a portion in which a width of the top surface in the second direction is narrower than a width of a bottom surface in the second direction.
Kitazawa teaches a similar mirror apparatus (title e.g. see figures 1 & 12-13); further teaches wherein the second wall portion (e.g. wall on left side of figures 12-13) includes a portion in which a width of the top surface in the second direction is narrower than a width of a bottom surface in the second direction (figures 12-13 illustrate right wall is stepped) for the purpose of providing sufficient mechanical strength with a wider base and reducing weight with a narrower top. Further, it has been held that shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 CCPA 1966; see MPEP 2144.04 IV. B. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have the second wall portion includes a portion in which a width of the top surface in the second direction is narrower than a width of a bottom surface in the second direction as taught by Kitazawa for the purpose of providing sufficient mechanical strength with a wider base and reducing weight with a narrower top.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0174247 in view of Yeh US Patent Application Publication 2014/0126127 and in further view of Fukuoka foreign patent document JP2018017859A.
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh discloses the mirror apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki and Yeh do not disclose or teach wherein a gap is formed at least one of between the window member and the top surface of the first wall portion and between the window member and the top surface of the second wall portion.
Fukuoka teaches a similar mirror apparatus (title e.g. figure 3 optical scanner package 10B) including a base (e.g. base substrate 11) with a recess (e.g. depression/recess 111), a mirror (e.g. mirror 113) oscillating around a predetermined axis (e.g. AX1 or AX2), a frame (e.g. frame 13B) with a top surface (e.g. end surface 130B) and having a first wall portion (e.g. left 13B) that is shorter than a second wall portion (e.g. right 13B), and a window member (e.g. plate-shaped transparent member 15B) bonded to the top surface (paragraph [0022] “bonding of the frame member 13B to the flat glass 15B”); and further teaches a gap is formed at least one of between the window member and the top surface of the first wall portion and between the window member and the top surface of the second wall portion (paragraph [0026] teaches while the description is that the cover member is “sealed” that the cover member does not have to be a sealed and may be open to the outside through vents or the like) for the purpose of having the enclosed region open to the outside (paragraph [0026]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mirror apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Suzuki as modified by Yeh to have a gap is formed at least one of between the window member and the top surface of the first wall portion and between the window member and the top surface of the second wall portion as taught by Fukuoka for the purpose of having the enclosed region open to the outside.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 12, 14, 16-17 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 8-10, 12-13 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/623,385 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because are claiming different aspects of the same invention, see identical figures 1-7 of the instant application and ‘385.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant application
18/623,385
1. A mirror apparatus comprising: a base portion including a disposition surface, the base portion being formed with a recess that is open to the disposition surface; a magnet unit disposed in the recess; a mirror unit including a movable portion configured to swing around a predetermined axis, a coil which is provided to the movable portion and on which a magnetic field generated by the magnet unit acts, and a mirror surface provided on the movable portion, and disposed on the magnet unit; a frame member including a first surface facing one side in a first direction and a second surface facing the other side in the first direction, and disposed on the disposition surface of the base portion at the second surface; and a window member disposed on the frame member, wherein the frame member includes a first wall portion and a second wall portion facing the first wall portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, a height of the first wall portion is lower than a height of the second wall portion, the window member is disposed on a top surface of the first wall portion and a top surface of the second wall portion, and is inclined with respect to the mirror surface, a projection portion is formed on the second surface of the frame member, the projection portion is disposed between the magnet unit and an opening edge of the recess when viewed in the first direction, and at least a part of a portion of the first surface of the frame member, the part overlapping the projection portion in the first direction, is an inclined surface inclined with respect to the mirror surface, and the window member is disposed on the inclined surface.
1. A mirror apparatus comprising: a base portion; a mirror unit including a movable portion configured to swing around a predetermined axis, and a mirror surface formed on the movable portion, and disposed on the base portion in a first direction; a frame member disposed on the base portion; and a window member disposed on the frame member, wherein the frame member includes a first wall portion, a second wall portion facing the first wall portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a pair of standing wall portions facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, a height of the first wall portion is lower than a height of the second wall portion, the window member is disposed on a top surface of the first wall portion and a top surface of the second wall portion, and is inclined with respect to the mirror surface, a top surface of each of the pair of standing wall portions includes a flat portion, a width of the top surface and a width of a bottom surface of each of the pair of standing wall portions in the third direction are wider than a width of the first wall portion and a width of the second wall portion in the second direction, and at least a part of the bottom surface of each of the pair of standing wall portions is in contact with the base portion.
13. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a magnet unit, wherein the base portion includes a disposition surface on which the frame member is disposed, and a recess that is open on the disposition surface is formed in the base portion, and the magnet unit is disposed in the recess.
12. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second wall portion includes a portion in which a width of the top surface in the second direction is narrower than a width of a bottom surface in the second direction.
5. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second wall portion includes a portion in which a width of the top surface in the second direction is narrower than a width of a bottom surface in the second direction.
14. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the frame member is fixed to the base portion by a first adhesive material, and the first adhesive material is disposed between the frame member and the base portion over an entire circumference.
8. The mirror apparatus according to The mirror apparatus according to wherein the frame member is fixed to the base portion by a first adhesive material, and the first adhesive material is disposed between the frame member and the base portion over an entire circumference.
7. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the frame member further includes a pair of third wall portions facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, and the projection portion includes a pair of third portions formed on bottom surfaces of the pair of third wall portions respectively.
9. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the frame member further includes a pair of third wall portions facing each other in the third direction, and the pair of standing wall portions are disposed outside the pair of third wall portions when viewed in the first direction.
16. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the frame member further includes a pair of third wall portions facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, and the window member is fixed to top surfaces of the pair of third wall portions by a second adhesive material.
9. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the frame member further includes a pair of third wall portions facing each other in the third direction, and the pair of standing wall portions are disposed outside the pair of third wall portions when viewed in the first direction.
10. The mirror apparatus according to claim 9 wherein the window member is fixed to top surfaces of the pair of third wall portions by a second adhesive material.
17. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a gap is formed at least one of between the window member and the top surface of the first wall portion and between the window member and the top surface of the second wall portion.
12. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a gap is formed at least one of between the window member and the top surface of the first wall portion and between the window member and the top surface of the second wall portion.
19. The mirror apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the axis is parallel to a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
16. The mirror apparatus according to The mirror apparatus according to wherein the axis is parallel to the third direction.
Regarding any differences between the claims noted above – the invention claimed by the instant application and ‘385 are not mutually exclusive and read on the mirror apparatus seen in figures 1-7 of by the instant application and/or ‘385, which are identical.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki et al. international patent document WO2021100301, using US Patent Application Publication 2022/0404614 as an English translation; in regards to an enclosed mirror unit with a ventilation port (abstract e.g. see figure 2 ventilation port G1 & G2) for the purpose of curbing condensation (paragraph [0007]).
Ide US Patent Application Publication 2024/0329391; a pre-grant publication of co-pending Application No. 18/623,385 noted above
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 April 7, 2026