DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, the claims recite “a self-expanding stent delivery structure”. It is unclear whether this intends to mean that a) the delivery structure is for delivering a self-expanding stent, or b) the delivery structure is made of a self-expanding stent, therefore rendering the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, it will be presumed that it means it is a delivery structure for delivering a self-expanding stent.
Claims 2-18 are indefinite by virtue of their dependency on indefinite base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 14-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0182475 A1 to Jen et al. (hereinafter “Jen”).
Regarding claim 1, Jen discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1A-9; and [0050]-[0101]) a stent delivery apparatus (see at least [0050]-[0051]) comprising: a plurality of individual strands (at 114, see Figs. 8C-D & [0099]) braided together (see [0099]) to form a self-expanding stent (see [0051]) delivery structure (90) having a proximal end (94) and an opposing distal end (98), the delivery structure forming an elongated primary shape (see Figs. 8A/8C/9) fully capable of being inserted into a catheter (sheath 90 is a tubular elongated member and thus is fully capable of being inserted into another catheter if one desired to do so); and an at least one radiopaque marker (40 and/or 76, see Figs. 5/9 and [0064]-[0065] & [0086]-[0090])) coaxially positioned within and secured to a circumferential inner surface of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9); whereby, the delivery structure has a primary outer diameter that is substantially uniform along an entire length of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9 and [0092]-[0096]).
Jen further discloses (claim 2) wherein the distal end of the delivery structure provides an end cap (outer layer 112 present at distal end 98 of sheath 90 over layer 114) for maintaining the braided arrangement of the strands of the delivery structure (see Fig. 8C and [0098]-[0101]); (claim 3) wherein the end cap is constructed out of an at least one radiopaque material (see [0101]); (claim 4) wherein at least one of the strands of the delivery structure is comprised of an at least one radiopaque material (see [0099]/[0101]); (claim 5) further comprising a plurality of markers (40 + 76, see Fig. 9) coaxially positioned within the delivery structure and longitudinally spaced apart from one another along a length of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9 and [0086]-[0089]) (claim 6) wherein the at least one marker has an outer diameter that is relatively smaller than a primary inner diameter of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9, marker 76 is smaller than inner diameter of sheath 90 by virtue of presence of sleeve member 51); (claim 7) wherein the at least one marker has an outer diameter that approximates a primary inner diameter of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9, marker 40 abuts the inner surface of sheath 90 and thus has an outer diameter approximating the inner diameter of sheath 90); (claim 8) wherein a circumferential outer surface of the at least one marker is permanently secured to the inner surface (80) of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9 and [0087]-[0090]); (claim 9) wherein the at least one marker is substantially tubular in structure (see Fig. 5); (claim 10) wherein the at least one marker has a substantially cylindrical shape (see Fig. 5); (claim 12) further comprising an at least one elongate guide wire coaxially positioned within and extending longitudinally through the at least one marker along with the delivery structure (see Fig. 9 and [0057]/[0060]); (claim 14) further comprising an at least one substantially tubular protective outer barrier (112) circumferentially engaged about an outer surface of the delivery structure, in substantially the same position as the at least one marker, such that the at least one outer barrier, delivery structure, and at least one marker are concentrically positioned (see Figs. 8C-9 and [0098]-[0101]); (claim 15) wherein each of the at least one outer barrier has a barrier length that is greater than or equal to a marker length of the corresponding at least one marker over which said outer barrier is positioned, such that said outer barrier substantially covers said marker (see Figs. 8C-9 and [0098]-[0101]); (claim 16) wherein the at least one outer barrier is permanently secured to the outer surface of the delivery structure (see [0101]); (claim 17) wherein the at least one outer barrier is constructed out of a heat-shrink material (see [0101]); and (claim 18) wherein opposing ends of the at least one outer barrier are tapered (see [0101]).
Regarding claim 20, Jen discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1A-9; and [0050]-[0101]) a stent delivery apparatus (see at least [0050]-[0051]) comprising: a plurality of individual strands (at 114, see Figs. 8C-D & [0099]) braided together (see [0099]) to form a self-expanding stent (see [0051]) delivery structure (90) having a proximal end (94) and an opposing distal end (98), the delivery structure forming an elongated primary shape (see Figs. 8A/8C/9) fully capable of being inserted into a catheter (sheath 90 is a tubular elongated member and thus is fully capable of being inserted into another catheter if one desired to do so); an at least one radiopaque marker (40 and/or 76, see Figs. 5/9 and [0064]-[0065] & [0086]-[0090])) coaxially positioned within and secured to a circumferential inner surface of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9); an at least one substantially tubular protective outer barrier (112) circumferentially engaged about an outer surface of the delivery structure, in substantially the same position as the at least one marker, such that the at least one outer barrier, delivery structure, and at least one marker are concentrically positioned (see Figs. 8C-9 and [0098]-[0101]); whereby, the delivery structure has a primary outer diameter that is substantially uniform along an entire length of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9 and [0092]-[0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jens in view of US 2023/0293295 A1 to Neumann et al. (hereinafter “Neumann”).
Jen discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above, however, with respect to claim 11, Jens fails to specifically disclose wherein the least one marker has a substantially coil shape, and with respect to claim 13, wherein the at least one marker is not tubular in structure, but Jens does disclose the marker is a tube (see Figs. 5/9). Neumann discloses, in the same field of endeavor of radiopaque features for delivery devices (see abstract), the known interchangeability of a radiopaque marker to be shaped as either a tube or a coil (where the coil is interpreted as "not tubular in structure" since it is distinguished by Neumann as compared to the tube) (see Figs. 58/61 and [0213]/[0214]/[0227]), where the shape does not change the purpose or function of the marker as being radiopaque to improve visualization (see [0006]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a radiopaque marker for visualization which could be shaped either as a tube or as a coil since the change in shape is known in the art to not affect the radiopaqueness of the marker and still predictably allows for visualization.
Regarding claim 19, Jen discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1A-9; and [0050]-[0101]) a stent delivery apparatus (see at least [0050]-[0051]) comprising: a plurality of individual strands (at 114, see Figs. 8C-D & [0099]) braided together (see [0099]) to form a self-expanding stent (see [0051]) delivery structure (90) having a proximal end (94) and an opposing distal end (98), the delivery structure forming an elongated primary shape (see Figs. 8A/8C/9) fully capable of being inserted into a catheter (sheath 90 is a tubular elongated member and thus is fully capable of being inserted into another catheter if one desired to do so); and an at least one radiopaque marker (40 and/or 76, see Figs. 5/9 and [0064]-[0065] & [0086]-[0090])) coaxially positioned within the delivery structure (see Fig. 9); the at least one marker having a circumferential outer surface that is permanently secured to a circumferential inner surface (80) of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9 and [0087]-[0090]) whereby, the delivery structure has a primary outer diameter that is substantially uniform along an entire length of the delivery structure (see Fig. 9 and [0092]-[0096]).
Jen discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above, however, with respect to claim 19, Jens fails to specifically disclose wherein the least one marker has a substantially coil shape, but Jens does disclose the marker is a tube (see Figs. 5/9). Neumann discloses, in the same field of endeavor of radiopaque features for delivery devices (see abstract), the known interchangeability of a radiopaque marker to be shaped as either a tube or a coil (see Figs. 58/61 and [0213]/[0214]/[0227]), where the shape does not change the purpose or function of the marker as being radiopaque to improve visualization (see [0006]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a radiopaque marker for visualization which could be shaped either as a tube or as a coil since the change in shape is known in the art to not affect the radiopaqueness of the marker and still predictably allows for visualization.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached PTO-892 Notice of References cited for additional relevant prior art disclosing stent delivery devices having radiopaque marker bands.
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771