DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/26 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, starting on page 11, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 and 19-20 have been fully considered and in light of amendment are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hao2 (US 20220224488 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao (US 20220038969 A1) in view of Hao2 (US 20220224488 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hao discloses:
“An uplink positioning reference signal SRS configuration method, comprising: sending, by a first network-side device, uplink positioning SRS configuration related information to a second network-side device” ([¶ 0241]: “A source access network device sends positioning related information to the target access network device.”; [¶ 0243]: “Further, the positioning related information further includes information about an SRS and/or fifth indication information, where the information about the SRS is used to indicate a transmission characteristic of the SRS, and the fifth indication information is used to indicate that the target access network device configures the SRS for a terminal device.”)
“in a process of changing a serving cell or camp-on cell of a terminal; wherein” ([¶ 0246]: “Optionally, the source access network device may send the positioning related information to the target access network device in a handover process of the terminal device.”)
“the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information is used to assist the second network-side device to configure an uplink positioning SRS for the terminal…” ([¶ 0003]: “Positioning is one of important functions of a 5th generation (5G) (also referred to as new radio (NR)) communication system, and a plurality of positioning technologies including uplink positioning is defined in the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) R16.”)
Hao does not explicitly disclose “wherein the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information comprises at least one of the following: session identification information for the first network-side device and a third network-side device; a new radio positioning protocol A transaction ID (NRPPa transaction ID) between the first network-side device and the third network-side device; or a third information field, used for reconfiguring an uplink positioning SRS, wherein the third information field comprises at least one of the following: third request information, used to request for a time domain resource type for the uplink positioning SRS; wherein the time domain resource type comprises periodic, aperiodic, or semi- static; or sixth request information, used to request for a spatial relation forth uplink positioning SRS.”
However, Hao2 discloses the missing feature “wherein the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information comprises at least one of the following: session identification information for the first network-side device and a third network-side device; a new radio positioning protocol A transaction ID (NRPPa transaction ID) between the first network-side device and the third network-side device; or a third information field, used for reconfiguring an uplink positioning SRS, wherein the third information field comprises at least one of the following: third request information, used to request for a time domain resource type for the uplink positioning SRS; wherein the time domain resource type comprises periodic, aperiodic, or semi- static; or sixth request information, used to request for a spatial relation forth uplink positioning SRS.” ([¶ 0127]: “The first request message may include one piece of indication information, which is denoted as third indication information. The third indication information is used to indicate a type of the requested reference signal configuration. For example, the type of the reference signal configuration includes one, or any combination of a plurality, of the following: a configuration for sending a periodic reference signal by the to-be-positioned terminal, or a configuration for sending an aperiodic reference signal by the to-be-positioned terminal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Hao and Hao2, to modify the uplink positioning SRS configuration as disclosed by Hao, to indicate periodic or aperiodic as disclosed by Hao2. The motivation for doing so is that it allows consistency across the network, thus preventing errors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hao with Hao2 to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the first network-side device is a network-side device corresponding to the serving cell or the camp-on cell of the terminal before changing, and the second network-side device is a network-side device corresponding to the serving cell or the camp-on cell of the terminal after changing.” ([¶ 0246]: “Optionally, the source access network device may send the positioning related information to the target access network device in a handover process of the terminal device.”)
Regarding claim 3, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the sending, by a first network-side device, uplink positioning SRS configuration related information to a second network-side device in a process of changing a serving cell of a terminal comprises: initiating, by the first network-side device, a handover request specific to the terminal to the second network-side device, wherein the handover request carries the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information.” ([¶ 0247]: “In a possible implementation, the source access network device may include the positioning related information in a handover request message.”; [¶ 0253]: “S602: The target access network device determines that the terminal device is handed over to the target cell.”)
Regarding claim 4, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the sending, by a first network-side device, uplink positioning SRS configuration related information to a second network-side device in a process of changing a camp-on cell of a terminal comprises: sending, by the first network-side device, a context of the terminal to the second network-side device in a case that a retrieve UE context request message sent by the second network-side device is received, wherein the context of the terminal comprises the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information.” ([¶ 0249]: “After receiving the retrieve UE context request message, the source access network device sends a retrieve UE context response message to the access network device to which the second target cell belongs, and includes the context of the terminal device and the positioning related information in the retrieve UE context response message.”)
Regarding claim 5, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the terminal; first information field, used for a current first uplink positioning SRS configuration of the terminal; second information field, which is a maintenance indication used for the current first uplink positioning SRS configuration of the terminal; identification information of a third network-side device, wherein the first uplink positioning SRS configuration is a configuration generated by the first network-side device after being requested by the third network-side device; session identification information for the first network-side device and the third network-side device; a routing identifier (Routing ID) of the third network-side device; a new radio positioning protocol A transaction ID (NRPPa transaction ID) between the first network-side device and the third network-side device; or a third information field, used for reconfiguring an uplink positioning SRS.” ([¶ 0242]: “The positioning related information includes identifier information of a location management function network element. The identifier information of the location management function network element may be a routing identifier (Routing ID).”)
Regarding claim 6, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein before the first network-side device sends the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information to the second network-side device, the method further comprises: configuring, by the first network-side device, the first uplink positioning SRS configuration of the terminal in a case that an uplink positioning SRS configuration request of the third network-side device is received; wherein the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information at least comprises the first uplink positioning SRS configuration.” ([¶ 0245]: “Optionally, the information about the SRS may be information sent to the source access network device before the terminal device is handed over to the target cell and when the location management function network element requests the source access network device to configure the SRS for the terminal device.”)
Regarding claim 7, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the first information field comprises at least one of the following: first configuration information, used to configure resource set identification information for an uplink positioning SRS; second configuration information, used to configure resource identification information for an uplink positioning SRS; third configuration information, used to configure a time domain resource type for the uplink positioning SRS; fourth configuration information, used to configure power control information for the uplink positioning SRS; fifth configuration information, used to configure the number of ports for the uplink positioning SRS; sixth configuration information, used to configure a time domain resource for the uplink positioning SRS; seventh configuration information, used to configure a frequency domain resource for the uplink positioning SRS; or eighth configuration information, used to configure a spatial relation for the uplink positioning SRS.” ([¶ 0181]: “The SRS configuration information may include but is not limited to: time domain resource configuration information, frequency domain resource configuration information, a quantity of antenna ports for sending the SRS, periodicity information, and the like.”)
Regarding claim 8, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the second information field comprises at least one of the following: first maintenance information, used for enabling maintenance of the uplink positioning SRS configuration; or second maintenance information, used for indicating preferred uplink positioning SRS configuration maintenance.” ([¶ 0268]: “Based on this solution, after the terminal device is handed over, the target access network device may send the identifier information of the target cell to the location management function network element, so that the location management function network element perceives the handover of the terminal device; and send a second message to the access network device for measuring based on the identifier of the target cell, to request the access network device for measuring to measure the SRS of the terminal device, so that the location management function network element can finally determine, based on a measurement result reported by the access network device for measuring, the location of the terminal device after the terminal device is handed over to the target cell, thereby completing positioning, maintaining positioning continuity, and improving a positioning success rate.”)
Regarding claim 9, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the third information field comprises at least one of the following: first request information, used to request for resource set identification information for an uplink positioning SRS; second request information, used to request for resource identification information for the uplink positioning SRS; third request information, used to request for a time domain resource type for the uplink positioning SRS; fourth request information, used to request for a time domain resource for the uplink positioning SRS; fifth request information, used to request for a frequency domain resource for the uplink positioning SRS; or sixth request information, used to request for a spatial relation for the uplink positioning SRS.” ([¶ 0181]: “The SRS configuration information may include but is not limited to: time domain resource configuration information, frequency domain resource configuration information, a quantity of antenna ports for sending the SRS, periodicity information, and the like.”)
Regarding claim 10, Hao discloses:
“An uplink positioning reference signal SRS configuration method, comprising: receiving, by a second network-side device, uplink positioning SRS configuration related information from a first network-side device” ([¶ 0241]: “A source access network device sends positioning related information to the target access network device.”; [¶ 0243]: “Further, the positioning related information further includes information about an SRS and/or fifth indication information, where the information about the SRS is used to indicate a transmission characteristic of the SRS, and the fifth indication information is used to indicate that the target access network device configures the SRS for a terminal device.”)
“in a process of changing a serving cell or camp-on cell of a terminal; and” ([¶ 0246]: “Optionally, the source access network device may send the positioning related information to the target access network device in a handover process of the terminal device.”)
“configuring, by the second network-side device, an uplink positioning SRS configuration of the terminal based on the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information; wherein” ([¶ 0264]: “It may be understood that, if the target access network device sends the first SRS configuration information to the terminal device, after receiving the first SRS configuration information, the terminal device sends the SRS based on the first SRS configuration information, so that an access network device for measuring performs measurement.”)
“the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information is used to assist the second network-side device to configure an uplink positioning SRS for the terminal…” ([¶ 0003]: “Positioning is one of important functions of a 5th generation (5G) (also referred to as new radio (NR)) communication system, and a plurality of positioning technologies including uplink positioning is defined in the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) R16.”)
Hao does not explicitly disclose “wherein the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information comprises at least one of the following: session identification information for the first network-side device and a third network-side device; a new radio positioning protocol A transaction ID (NRPPa transaction ID) between the first network-side device and the third network-side device; or a third information field, used for reconfiguring an uplink positioning SRS, wherein the third information field comprises at least one of the following: third request information, used to request for a time domain resource type for the uplink positioning SRS; wherein the time domain resource type comprises periodic, aperiodic, or semi- static; or sixth request information, used to request for a spatial relation forth uplink positioning SRS.”
However, Hao2 discloses the missing feature “wherein the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information comprises at least one of the following: session identification information for the first network-side device and a third network-side device; a new radio positioning protocol A transaction ID (NRPPa transaction ID) between the first network-side device and the third network-side device; or a third information field, used for reconfiguring an uplink positioning SRS, wherein the third information field comprises at least one of the following: third request information, used to request for a time domain resource type for the uplink positioning SRS; wherein the time domain resource type comprises periodic, aperiodic, or semi- static; or sixth request information, used to request for a spatial relation forth uplink positioning SRS.” ([¶ 0127]: “The first request message may include one piece of indication information, which is denoted as third indication information. The third indication information is used to indicate a type of the requested reference signal configuration. For example, the type of the reference signal configuration includes one, or any combination of a plurality, of the following: a configuration for sending a periodic reference signal by the to-be-positioned terminal, or a configuration for sending an aperiodic reference signal by the to-be-positioned terminal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Hao and Hao2, to modify the uplink positioning SRS configuration as disclosed by Hao, to indicate periodic or aperiodic as disclosed by Hao2. The motivation for doing so is that it allows consistency across the network, thus preventing errors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hao with Hao2 to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the first network-side device is a network-side device corresponding to the serving cell or the camp-on cell of the terminal before changing, and the second network-side device is a network-side device corresponding to the serving cell or the camp-on cell of the terminal after changing.” ([¶ 0246]: “Optionally, the source access network device may send the positioning related information to the target access network device in a handover process of the terminal device.”)
Regarding claim 12, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the receiving, by a second network-side device, uplink positioning SRS configuration related information from a first network-side device in a process of changing a serving cell of a terminal comprises: receiving, by the second network-side device, a handover request specific to the terminal from the first network-side device, wherein the handover request carries the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information; or, wherein the receiving, by a second network-side device, uplink positioning SRS configuration related information from a first network-side device in a process of changing a camp-on cell of a terminal comprises: sending, by the second network-side device, a retrieve UE context request message to the first network-side device, and receiving a context of the terminal sent by the first network-side device, wherein the context of the terminal comprises the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information.” ([¶ 0247]: “In a possible implementation, the source access network device may include the positioning related information in a handover request message.”; [¶ 0253]: “S602: The target access network device determines that the terminal device is handed over to the target cell.” ; [¶ 0249]: “After receiving the retrieve UE context request message, the source access network device sends a retrieve UE context response message to the access network device to which the second target cell belongs, and includes the context of the terminal device and the positioning related information in the retrieve UE context response message.”)
Regarding claim 13, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “wherein the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the terminal; first information field, used for a current first uplink positioning SRS configuration of the terminal; second information field, which is a maintenance indication used for the current first uplink positioning SRS configuration of the terminal; identification information of a third network-side device, wherein the first uplink positioning SRS configuration is a configuration generated by the first network-side device after being requested by the third network-side device; session identification information for the first network-side device and the third network-side device; a routing identifier (Routing ID) of the third network-side device; a new radio positioning protocol A transaction ID (NRPPa transaction ID) between the first network-side device and the third network-side device; or a third information field, used for reconfiguring an uplink positioning SRS.” ([¶ 0242]: “The positioning related information includes identifier information of a location management function network element. The identifier information of the location management function network element may be a routing identifier (Routing ID).”)
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 1 with the differences amounting to that claim 1 is directed towards a method while claim 19 is directed towards an apparatus containing generic hardware. Such hardware is taught by Hao in paragraph 70. Thus, claim 19 is rejected by Hao for similar reasons to claim 1, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 20, Hao in view of Hao2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Hao further discloses “A network-side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor,” ([¶ 0070]: “According to an eighth aspect, a communication apparatus is provided, including a memory and at least one processor. The memory is configured to store computer instructions. When the processor executes the instructions, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform the method according to any one of the foregoing aspects.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, of the closest prior arts Hao (US 20220038969 A1) in view of Hao2 (US 20220224488 A1) discloses all the features of the parent claim. However, Hao in view of Hao2 does not disclose “wherein in a case that a maintenance indication of the uplink positioning SRS configuration is used to enable maintenance of the uplink positioning SRS configuration, the configuring, by the second network-side device, an uplink positioning SRS configuration of the terminal based on the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information comprises: if the second network-side device determines that the first uplink positioning SRS configuration is usable, sending, by the second network-side device, a first update configuration to the third network-side device based on the identification information of the third network-side device, wherein the first update configuration is used to update the serving cell of the terminal; and if the second network-side device determines that the first uplink positioning SRS configuration is unusable, sending, by the second network-side device, a second update configuration to the third network-side device based on the identification information of the third network-side device, the second update configuration being used to indicate that an updated uplink positioning SRS configuration is empty, and to update the serving cell of the terminal.” The cited references fail to anticipate or render the above limitations in combination with all the recited limitations of claims 14 obvious, over any of the prior art of record, alone or in combination. Claims 16-18 depend on claim 14 and contain allowable subject matter based on their dependence.
Regarding claim 15, of the closest prior arts Hao (US 20220038969 A1) in view of Hao2 (US 20220224488 A1) discloses all the features of the parent claim. However, Hao in view of Hao2 does not disclose “wherein in a case that a maintenance indication of the uplink positioning SRS configuration is used to indicate preference for maintenance of the uplink positioning SRS configuration being yes, the configuring, by the second network-side device, an uplink positioning SRS configuration of the terminal based on the uplink positioning SRS configuration related information comprises: if the second network-side device determines that the first uplink positioning SRS configuration is usable, sending, by the second network-side device, a third update configuration to the third network-side device based on the identification information of the third network-side device, wherein the third update configuration is used to update the serving cell of the terminal; and if the second network-side device determines that the first uplink positioning SRS configuration is unusable, generating, by the second network-side device, a second uplink positioning SRS configuration based on the third information field; sending a fourth update configuration to the third network-side device based on the identification information of the third network-side device, the fourth update configuration comprises the second uplink positioning SRS configuration; and updating the serving cell of the terminal.” The cited references fail to anticipate or render the above limitations in combination with all the recited limitations of claims 15 obvious, over any of the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412