DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on April 01, 2024.
Inventorship
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/13/2024, 12/06/2024 and 02/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were filed on April 01, 2024. These drawings are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-Khayat et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0008741 A1).
In re claim 9, Al-Khayat discloses (Figs. 1-2) a method for controlling a power converter (14), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, using a current sampling circuit (using current sensors 59, 61, 62), an inductive current of an output inductor (output inductors 38, 39, 41) of the power converter (Para. 0032-0036); and
obtaining an output current of the power converter based on the inductive current (Para. 0032-0036).
In re claim 10, Al-Khayat discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein obtaining the inductive current and obtaining the output current comprises: obtaining the inductive current when both a second-phase bridge arm (46-47) of the power converter and a third-phase bridge arm (48-49) of the power converter are in a working state (Para. 0032-0036); and further obtaining, based on a capacitive current of an output capacitor of the power converter, the output current (Para. 0032-0036).
In re claim 11, Al-Khayat discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein obtaining the inductive current and obtaining the output current comprises: obtaining the inductive current when a bypass branch (bypass branches 66, 67, 68) of the power converter is in a working state (Para. 0032-0036); and determining the inductive current as the output current (Para. 0032-0036).
In re claim 12, Al-Khayat discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein obtaining the inductive current and obtaining the output current comprises: obtaining the inductive current when both a second-phase bridge arm of the power converter (46-47) and a third-phase bridge arm of the power converter (48-49) are in a working state; and further obtaining, based on a capacitive current of an output capacitor, the output current (Para. 0032-0036).
In re claim 13, Al-Khayat discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein before both the second-phase bridge arm and the third-phase bridge arm are in the working state, the method further comprises controlling a first switch of the power converter to be off and a second switch of the power converter to be on through the second switch (Para. 0032-0036).
In re claim 14, Al-Khayat discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein obtaining the inductive current and obtaining the output current comprises: obtaining the inductive current when a bypass branch (bypass branches 66, 67, 68) of the power converter is in a working state (Para. 0032-0036); and determining the inductive current as the output current (Para. 0032-0036).
In re claim 15, Al-Khayat discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein before the bypass branch (bypass branches 66, 67, 68) is in the working state, the method further comprises controlling a first switch of the power converter and a second switch of the power converter to be off (Para. 0032-0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Design and implementation of a single phase three-arms rectifier inverter, Published in September 2000 (NPL copy provided as part of the Information Disclosure Statement “IDS”, hereinafter “Chiang”) in view of Al-Khayat et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0008741 A1).
In re claim 1, Chiang discloses a power converter (Fig. 1) comprising:
a power converter first input end (input terminal connected to VU+);
a power converter second input end (input terminal connected to VU-) configured to couple to a neutral line (neutral line terminal);
a power converter first output end (upper output terminal of the converter);
a power converter second output end configured to couple to the neutral line (lower terminal of the converter);
an output inductor (output inductor L) comprising:
an output inductor first end (left side terminal of output inductor L); and
an output inductor second end (right side terminal of output inductor L);
an output capacitor (output capacitor C) comprising:
an output capacitor first end (upper terminal of output capacitor C) coupled to the power converter first output end; and
an output capacitor second end (lower terminal of output capacitor C) coupled to the power converter second output end;
a first-phase bridge arm (TC+, TC-) comprising a first midpoint (midpoint C) coupled to the power converter first input end;
a second-phase bridge arm (TA+, TA-) comprising a second midpoint (midpoint A) coupled to the output capacitor second end and the power converter second input end;
a third-phase bridge arm (TB+, TB-) comprising a third midpoint (midpoint B) coupled to the output capacitor first end through the output inductor, wherein the first-phase bridge arm, the second-phase bridge arm, and the third-phase bridge arm are coupled in parallel to each other (all bridge arms are parallel to each other, See Fig. 1).
Chiang fails to disclose a current sampling circuit disposed on a connection line between the second midpoint and the output capacitor second end and configured to collect an inductive current of the output inductor; and a controller communicatively coupled to the current sampling circuit and configured to: obtain the inductive current from the output inductor; and obtain, based on the inductive current, an output current of the power converter.
Al-Khayat teaches (Fig. 2) a power converter (14), comprising a current sampling circuit (59, 61, 62) disposed on a connection line between the second midpoint and the output capacitor second end and configured to collect an inductive current of the output inductor (Para. 0032); and a controller (65) communicatively coupled to the current sampling circuit and configured to: obtain the inductive current from the output inductor (Para. 0032-0036); and obtain, based on the inductive current, an output current of the power converter (Para. 0032-0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chiang to include a current sampling circuit disposed on a connection line between the second midpoint and the output capacitor second end and configured to collect an inductive current of the output inductor; and a controller communicatively coupled to the current sampling circuit and configured to: obtain the inductive current from the output inductor; and obtain, based on the inductive current, an output current of the power converter as disclosed in Al-Khayat to protect an electrical power supply system of the kind referred to hereinbefore which is incorporated in an electrical power generating system from the consequences of a short circuit when the external load is connected across the AC power output or to provide a motor starting system with overcurrent protection, to be tripped with minimal delay after short circuit or overcurrent conditions are sensed whilst allowing low cost, low current rated electronic components (Para. 0007).
In re claim 5, Chiang fails to disclose wherein the controller (65) is further configured to: further obtain the inductive current when both the second-phase bridge arm and the third-phase bridge arm are in a working state; and further obtain, based on a capacitive current of the output capacitor, the output current.
Al-Khayat teaches (Fig. 2) a power converter (14), wherein the controller is further configured to: further obtain the inductive current when both the second-phase bridge arm and the third-phase bridge arm are in a working state (Para. 0032-0036); and further obtain, based on a capacitive current of the output capacitor, the output current (Para. 0032-0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chiang wherein the controller is further configured to: further obtain the inductive current when both the second-phase bridge arm and the third-phase bridge arm are in a working state; and further obtain, based on a capacitive current of the output capacitor, the output current. as disclosed in Al-Khayat to protect an electrical power supply system of the kind referred to hereinbefore which is incorporated in an electrical power generating system from the consequences of a short circuit when the external load is connected across the AC power output or to provide a motor starting system with overcurrent protection, to be tripped with minimal delay after short circuit or overcurrent conditions are sensed whilst allowing low cost, low current rated electronic components (Para. 0007).
In re claim 7, Chiang fails to disclose a bypass branch comprising: a bypass branch first end coupled to the power converter first input end; and a bypass branch second end coupled to the power converter first output end, wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain the inductive current when the bypass branch is in a working state; and determine the inductive current as the output current.
Al-Khayat teaches (Figs. 1-2) a power converter (14), comprising a bypass branch (66, 67, 68) comprising: a bypass branch first end coupled to the power converter first input end (Fig. 1); and a bypass branch second end coupled to the power converter first output end (Fig. 1), wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain the inductive current when the bypass branch is in a working state (Para. 0032-0036); and determine the inductive current as the output current (Para. 0032-0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chiang to include a bypass branch comprising: a bypass branch first end coupled to the power converter first input end; and a bypass branch second end coupled to the power converter first output end, wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain the inductive current when the bypass branch is in a working state; and determine the inductive current as the output current as disclosed in Al-Khayat to protect an electrical power supply system of the kind referred to hereinbefore which is incorporated in an electrical power generating system from the consequences of a short circuit when the external load is connected across the AC power output or to provide a motor starting system with overcurrent protection, to be tripped with minimal delay after short circuit or overcurrent conditions are sensed whilst allowing low cost, low current rated electronic components (Para. 0007).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Design and implementation of a single phase three-arms rectifier inverter, Published in September 2000 (NPL copy provided as part of the Information Disclosure Statement “IDS”, hereinafter “Chiang”) in view of Al-Khayat et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0008741 A1) and further in view of Taimela (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0085785 A1).
In re claim 2, the combination of Chiang and Al-Khayat fails to disclose wherein the current sampling circuit comprises: an iron core; a primary winding coupled to the iron core and comprising: a primary winding first end coupled to the second midpoint; and a primary winding first second end coupled to the output capacitor second end; and a secondary winding coupled to the iron core.
Taimela teaches (Fig. 2), a power converter (200) , wherein the current sensor or current sampling circuit can be a current transformer (CT) or a Hall effect sensor (Para. 0016).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang and Al-Khayat wherein the current sampling circuit is a current transformer or a hall effect sensor as disclosed in Taimela since this are well known equivalents of a current sampling or current sensor circuit.
In re claim 3, Chiang fails to disclose wherein the controller (65) is further configured to: further obtain the inductive current when both the second-phase bridge arm and the third-phase bridge arm are in a working state; and further obtain, based on a capacitive current of the output capacitor, the output current.
Al-Khayat teaches (Fig. 2) a power converter (14), wherein the controller is further configured to: further obtain the inductive current when both the second-phase bridge arm and the third-phase bridge arm are in a working state (Para. 0032-0036); and further obtain, based on a capacitive current of the output capacitor, the output current (Para. 0032-0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chiang wherein the controller is further configured to: further obtain the inductive current when both the second-phase bridge arm and the third-phase bridge arm are in a working state; and further obtain, based on a capacitive current of the output capacitor, the output current. as disclosed in Al-Khayat to protect an electrical power supply system of the kind referred to hereinbefore which is incorporated in an electrical power generating system from the consequences of a short circuit when the external load is connected across the AC power output or to provide a motor starting system with overcurrent protection, to be tripped with minimal delay after short circuit or overcurrent conditions are sensed whilst allowing low cost, low current rated electronic components (Para. 0007).
In re claim 4, Chiang fails to disclose a bypass branch comprising: a bypass branch first end coupled to the power converter first input end; and a bypass branch second end coupled to the power converter first output end, wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain the inductive current when the bypass branch is in a working state; and determine the inductive current as the output current.
Al-Khayat teaches (Figs. 1-2) a power converter (14), comprising a bypass branch (66, 67, 68) comprising: a bypass branch first end coupled to the power converter first input end (Fig. 1); and a bypass branch second end coupled to the power converter first output end (Fig. 1), wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain the inductive current when the bypass branch is in a working state (Para. 0032-0036); and determine the inductive current as the output current (Para. 0032-0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chiang to include a bypass branch comprising: a bypass branch first end coupled to the power converter first input end; and a bypass branch second end coupled to the power converter first output end, wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain the inductive current when the bypass branch is in a working state; and determine the inductive current as the output current as disclosed in Al-Khayat to protect an electrical power supply system of the kind referred to hereinbefore which is incorporated in an electrical power generating system from the consequences of a short circuit when the external load is connected across the AC power output or to provide a motor starting system with overcurrent protection, to be tripped with minimal delay after short circuit or overcurrent conditions are sensed whilst allowing low cost, low current rated electronic components (Para. 0007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “a first switch, wherein the power converter first input end is coupled to the first midpoint through the first switch; and a second switch, wherein the output capacitor first end is coupled to the power converter first output end through the second switch, wherein the controller is further configured to control the first switch to be off and the second switch to be on before both the second-phase bridge arm and the third-phase bridge arm are in the working state” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “a first switch, wherein the power converter first input end is coupled to the first midpoint through the first switch; and a second switch, wherein the output capacitor first end is coupled to the power converter first output end through the second switch, wherein the controller is further configured to control the first switch and the second switch to be off before the bypass branch is in the working state” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “a first switch coupled to the power converter first input end; […..]; a second switch coupled to the power converter first output end; […..]; a first current sampling circuit disposed on a first connection line between the second midpoint and the output capacitor second end and configured to collect a first inductive current of the output inductor; a second current sampling circuit disposed on a second connection line between the power converter second input end and the second midpoint and configured to collect a second inductive current of the input inductor; and a controller communicatively coupled to the first current sampling circuit and configured to: obtain the first inductive current; obtain the second inductive current; and obtain, based on the first inductive current and the second inductive current, an output current of the power converter” in combination with other limitations of the claim. Claims 17-20 depend directly or indirectly from claim 17, and are therefore, also indicated as allowable at least for the same reasons set above.
Conclusion
/RAFAEL O DE LEON DOMENECH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838