DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Determining Mobile Unit Position Based On Disparity Image of Markers Having Known Positions
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows:
Claim 1 recites an “image capturing device … the image capturing device being configured to capture images of a marker disposed in a movement environment of the mobile unit; and … wherein the image capturing device is a stereo camera unit” which functionally defines the elements. Moreover, while an image capturing device may be considered to denote structure to one of ordinary skill, the clarity of the claim interpretation waters are muddied by the further defining this purported “device” using a nonce term “stereo camera unit” which also does not denote structure.
Claims 2-4 inherit the 112(f) interpretation based on their dependency upon claim 1.
In contrast, claim 5 recites structure for the “stereo camera unit” as including a first camera; and a second camera and the term “camera” is an art-recognized term denoting structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites
“the image data includes: a reference image obtained by the first camera; and a comparison image obtained by the second camera, and
the processing circuitry is configured to associate a disparity with pixels of the reference image, and
derive a positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker from the pixels capturing a target section of the marker.”
First of all, it is not clearly understood what is meant by “associate a disparity with pixel of the reference image” particularly because “disparity” involves a difference/distance between a pair of stereo images (e.g. the reference image and comparison image). Moreover, the term “associate” appears to be a mistranslation or is an otherwise inaccurate term that does not include, e.g., calculating or actually determining disparity. In other words, “associate” implies the passive data relationship with pixels that does not denote or otherwise imply actually determining the disparity.
Claim 5 suffers from similar issues as claim 4 by reciting a similar, unclear expression as follows: “processing circuitry is configured to detect the marker from the reference image, and associate a disparity with pixels of the reference image.
Furthermore, the markers need to be detected in both the comparison image and the reference image in order to determine disparity and such detection is wholly missing from claim 4 and partially missing from claim 5 (only detects marker in reference image, not the comparison image).
Still further, the “associated disparity” of claim 4 forms no part of the positional relationship determination which is confusing and an inaccurate statement of the disclosed method of deriving a positional relationship between the camera and marker.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kojima (US 20210312661).
Claim 1
In regards to claim 1, Kojima discloses a mobile unit control system, comprising:
an image capturing device attached to a mobile unit, the image capturing device being configured to capture images of a marker disposed in a movement environment of the mobile unit {mobile unit (forklift) 1 shown in Fig. 2 to which is attached imaging capturing device 11 capturing images of markers 4 disposed in a movement environment as shown in Figs 1, 4, and 7}; and
processing circuitry {Figs. 2, 3 including processor 21 and positioning apparatus 11, [0058], [0061]},
wherein the image capturing device is a stereo camera unit {image capturing apparatus 11 may be a stereo camera in order to detect distance to the marker objects, [0159]},
and the processing circuitry is configured to
acquire image data from the image capturing device {Fig. 8, obtain captured images step S1, [0080]},
detect the marker from the image data {Fig. 8, absolute position calculator 34 extracts/detects the markers 4s which are disposed at known positions (Fig. 5), [0165], [0080], Fig. 11, [0097] image recognizer 33 detects marker 4 from image};
estimate a position of the mobile unit in the movement environment from a positional relationship between the mobile unit and the marker based on the marker {see [0080], [0165], Fig. 8 including (optional) correction process S4, output position of vehicle; Fig. 11 including S23 calculate position of image capturing apparatus as seen from marker, [0099]-[0106]}, and
execute a control based on the estimated position {see [0163]-[0164], [0054]-[0061]}.
Claim 2
In regards to claim 2, Kojima discloses
wherein the marker defines an absolute position of the marker in the movement environment, and the processing circuitry is configured to acquire the absolute position from the marker {see Fig. 8 absolute position calculation process S3, output position of vehicle; Fig. 11 including S23 calculate position of image capturing apparatus as seen from marker, [0099]-[0106]}
acquire a relative position of the mobile unit with respect to the marker {Fig. 8 including relative position calculation process S2, [0080], Fig. 9, [0087]-[0095]}, and
derive an absolute position of the mobile unit in the movement environment from the absolute position of the marker and the acquired relative position of the mobile unit {see Fig. 8 correction process S4, [0080]}, Figs. 14-15, [0107]-[0116]}.
Claim 3
In regards to claim 3, Kojima discloses
a storage unit, wherein the storage unit is configured to store map data representing the movement environment using coordinates in a map coordinate system {See Fig. 6 showing stored map data including ID identification of markers and their corresponding positions in a map (world) coordinate system, [0064]-[0066], [0111], [0165], [0175], [0192]}, and
the processing circuitry is configured to acquire coordinates in the map coordinate system as the absolute positions of the marker and the mobile unit {[0064]-[0066] for acquiring position of marker. As to absolute position of the mobile unit see Fig. 8 absolute position calculation process S3, output position of vehicle; Fig. 11 including S23 calculate position of image capturing apparatus as seen from marker, [0099]-[0106]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Ishizaki (US 20200311964 A1.
Claim 4
In regards to claim 4, Kojima discloses
wherein the stereo camera unit includes: a first camera; and a second camera {image capturing apparatus 11 may be a stereo camera with first and second cameras in order to detect distance to the marker objects, [0159]},
the image data includes:
a reference image obtained by the first camera device {Fig. 8, obtain captured images step S1, [0080]} and
derive a positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker from the pixels capturing a target section of the marker {absolute position calculation may calculate a distance from the vehicle (camera) to the marker 4 based on the image data captured by stereo camera 11 and use that positional relationship (distance) to determine positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker, [0159], [0173].
Although Kojima derives a positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker from the pixels capturing a target section of the marker based on distance measured by a stereo camera, Kojima does not use highly conventional disparity calculations based on reference and comparison images to determine distance (disparity).
Ishizaki is a highly analogous reference from the same field of detecting positional relationships using captured images in order to control a mobile unit and otherwise execute control based on estimated positions. See Figs. 1, 2, abstract, [0001]-[0020].
Ishizaki also teaches the conventional nature of determining distance (disparity) using a stereo camera 31 having first and second cameras 32, 33, fig. 2, [0021]-[0025] gathering image data, wherein the image data includes:
a reference image obtained by the first camera device {[0025]} and
a comparison image obtained by the second camera {[0025]}, and
the processing circuitry is configured to associate a disparity with pixels of the reference image {Fig. 4, obtain disparity image S1, [0030], and
derive a positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker from the pixels capturing a target section of the marker {Fig. 4, S2 object detection device 41 derives distance to the object and the coordinates of the feature points of the object in the camera coordinate system and then converted to world coordinate system, [0030]-[0038]}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Kojima which already derives a positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker from the pixels capturing a target section of the marker based on distance measured by a stereo camera, such that Kojima employs highly conventional disparity calculations (stereo matching) based on reference and comparison images to determine distance (disparity) as taught by Ishizaki and including wherein the captured images also include a comparison image obtained by the second camera, and the processing circuitry is configured to associate a disparity with pixels of the reference image as also taught by Ishizaki’s because doing so efficiently leverages the Kojima’s stereo camera to determine distance (disparity) to detected markers which also reduces complexity, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 5
In regards to claim 5, Kojima discloses
wherein the stereo camera unit includes: a first camera; and a second camera {image capturing apparatus 11 may be a stereo camera with first and second cameras in order to detect distance to the marker objects, [0159]},
the image data includes:
a reference image obtained by the first camera device {Fig. 8, obtain captured images step S1, [0080]}, and
the processing circuitry is configured to detect the marker from the reference image {Fig. 8, absolute position calculator 34 extracts/detects the markers 4s which are disposed at known positions (Fig. 5), [0165], [0080], Fig. 11, [0097] image recognizer 33 detects marker 4 from image}; and
Although Kojima derives a positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker from the pixels capturing a target section of the marker based on distance measured by a stereo camera, Kojima does not use highly conventional disparity calculations based on reference and comparison images to determine distance (disparity).
Ishizaki teaches the conventional nature of determining distance (disparity) using a stereo camera 31 having first and second cameras 32, 33, fig. 2, [0021]-[0025] gathering image data, wherein the image data includes:
a reference image obtained by the first camera device {[0025]} and
a comparison image obtained by the second camera {[0025]}, and
associate a disparity with pixels of the reference image {Fig. 4, obtain disparity image S1, [0030], and
derive a positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker from the pixels capturing a target section of the marker {Fig. 4, S2 object detection device 41 derives distance to the object and the coordinates of the feature points of the object in the camera coordinate system and then converted to world coordinate system, [0030]-[0038]}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Kojima which already derives a positional relationship between the image capturing device and the marker from the pixels capturing a target section of the marker based on distance measured by a stereo camera, such that Kojima employs highly conventional disparity calculations (stereo matching) based on reference and comparison images to determine distance (disparity) as taught by Ishizaki and including wherein the captured images also include a comparison image obtained by the second camera, associating a disparity with pixels of the reference image as also taught by Ishizaki’s because doing so efficiently leverages the Kojima’s stereo camera to determine distance (disparity) to detected markers which also reduces complexity, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Emanuel (US 20060184013 A1) discloses marker-based position determination using markers at known positions, fig. 7, detecting markers, decoding position of marker based on marker ID and determining relative position of marker in the image, Fig. 8
Munich (WO 2016085717 A1), discloses a stereo camera and identifying disparity between images to locate markers. See [0010]-[0020], [0103]-[0130].
/MICHAEL ROBERT CAMMARATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667