The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/18/2025 with request for continued examination. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the filing of 12/18/2025, claims 1-20 were also pending in the previous filing of 6/12/2025.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2025 have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant’s Amendments / Arguments Regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103
The applicant’s remarks, on pages 6-9 of the response / amendment, the applicant argues the features which allegedly distinguish over the previously cited references cited in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 12-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180120892 to von Badinski et al. (hereinafter von Badinski), in view of US 10701067 Ziraknejad et al. (hereinafter Ziraknejad), in view of US 20140267024 to Keller et al. (hereinafter Keller).
Regarding claim 1, von Badinski teaches,
A method performed by a smart ring for enabling multi-factor authentication, the method comprising: ([0221] teaches two-factor authentication shown in fig. 25. Fig. 25 includes wearable computing device (WCD) 2510. [0013] and fig. 25, 2510 teach the WCD as a ring.)
storing, in a memory of the smart ring, a known authentication movement during an enrollment mode in which the smart ring learns the known authentication movement from ([0133] teaches WCD 110 that learns particular gestures, and also the WCD 110 being trained to recognize gestures, and storing the recognized patterns in memory 260 of the WCD / ring. fig. 2 teaches the components of the WCD including the memory 260. [0130] teaches the accelerometer 220 can detect movements in multiple dimensions.)
von Badinski, fig. 25 and [0221-224] teaches two factor authentication including the use of a gesture,
performing a first authentication operation by: ([0221] teaches two factor authentication. [0222] teaches the first factor being the passing information during a handshake, where the information may be a MAC address or identifier, where the handshake is between the WCD 2510 and the access node 2530.)
collecting, by one or more sensors of the smart ring, (fig. 25 and [0222] teach WCD collecting the information used in the communication / handshake. See also fig. 2 and [0125] teaching the functional components of the WCD 200, which includes accelerometer 220, memory 260, and processor 210. It is well known in the art that the radio (“sensor”) may detect information from the other device and provide information to the other device in a handshake operation.)
(fig. 25 and [0222] teach performing the handshake, which is the first signal and is also the first authentication factor.)
transmitting the first signal to a second device, wherein the second device controls access to a resource; (fig. 25 and [0222] teach passing the collected information (e.g., MAC address or identifier) from the WCD 2510 to the access node 2530 as part of the handshake, which is the first signal of the first factor.)
performing a second authentication operation by: (fig. 25 and [0221] teach two factor authentication of fig. 25. [0223] teaches once the first factor (MAC address or identifier) is verified using the handshake, then performing gesture identification as the second factor of authentication.)
detecting, by the one or more sensors of the smart ring, contact between the smart ring and a component external to the smart ring, wherein the contact, as detected, represents a second authentication factor; ([0223] teaches a gesture as the second authentication factor, where the gesture is sensed by an accelerometer. See fig. 2 and [0125] teaching the functional components of the WCD 200, which includes accelerometer 220. [0337] teaches that a gesture may include a tap / “contact”. Abstract teaches the WCD internally matching movement information to stored movement information within the WCD, as an alternative to sending the movement information to another device for matching / comparing. In detail, [0122-123] teaches that the WCD 110 can perform gesture recognition, and [0133] teaches that the WCD can learn gestures from internal sensors 220 and store the learned gestures in memory 260 of the WCD, shown in fig. 2.)
in response to detecting the contact between the smart ring and the component, generating, by the processor in the smart ring, a second signal indicating that the candidate has been authenticated as the known user based at least in part upon the second authentication factor; and (fig. 25 and [0223] teach providing gesture information to access node 2530 of fig. 25.)
transmitting the second signal to the second device; and (Fig. 25 and [0223] teach WCD 2510 providing gesture information to access node 2530 of fig. 25, as the second signal.)
when the second device receives the first signal and the second signal, causing the second device to grant the known user access to the resource. (Fig. 25 and [0222-223] teach a handshake between WCD 2510 and access node 2530, as a first signal, and gesture information sent from WCD 2510 to access node 2530, as a second signal. [0223] teaches unlocking door 2520 in response to the handshake and the gesture information..)
von Badinski, fig. 29a and [0233-234] teach sensing two different gestures sensed by the WCD / smart ring, to send a command to another device,
performing a first (fig. 29a and [0234] at 2910 and 2920 detecting user gesture of snapping fingers.)
collecting, by one or more sensors of the smart ring, body movement representing a candidate movement, wherein the candidate movement corresponds to ring movement while a candidate is wearing the smart ring; ([0234] teaches using a first gesture, such as a finger snap, by using accelerometers, at 2910 and 2920. See also fig. 2 and [0125] teaching the functional components of the WCD 200, which includes accelerometer 220 and processor 210.)
comparing, by a processor in the smart ring, motion data and orientation data from the one or more sensors representing the candidate movement to the known (fig. 29a and [0234] teaches using a first gesture, such as a finger snap, by using accelerometers, that is detected at 2920, which causes processor to start monitoring. Thus, a match with a snap gesture has been accomplished. Beginning at [0275] teachings regarding orientation sensing begin, which are sensed by the WCD 200. See also, Abstract teaches the WCD internally matching movement information to stored movement information within the WCD, as an alternative to sending the movement information to another device for matching / comparing, and the discussion of fig. 2 and [0122-123] included above.)
when the candidate movement is determined to correspond to the known (fig. 29a, 2930, 2940, and 2950 and [0234] teaches processor detects finger snaps and begins monitoring for second gesture.)
transmitting the first signal to a second device, wherein the second device controls access to a resource; ([0233] teaches the WCD instructs another device to perform commands.)
performing a second (fig. 29a and [0234] at 2950 and 2960 detecting second gesture.)
detecting, by the one or more sensors of the smart ring, contact between the smart ring and a component external to the smart ring, wherein the contact, as detected, represents a second (fig. 29a and [0234] at 2950 and 2960, after second gesture is detected, a command is performed. [0337] teaches that a gesture may include a tap / “contact”. See discussion above of Abstract and [0122-123] describing fig. 2 regarding how authentication / gesture sensing and recognition is performed internally by the WCD.)
in response to detecting the contact between the smart ring and the component, generating, by the processor in the smart ring, a second signal indicating that the candidate has been (fig. 29a and [0234] at 2950 and 2960, after second gesture is detected, a command is performed. [0233] teaches that the command may be sent to another device, where the other device performs and operation.)
transmitting the ([0233] teaches the WCD instructs another device to perform commands. It would be obvious to have the command be unlock the door, as taught in [0223] of fig. 25. )
when the second device receives the first signal ([0233] teaches the WCD instructs another device to perform commands. It would be obvious to have the command be unlock the door, as taught in [0223] of fig. 25.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of von Badinski’s fig. 25 described in [0221-224], which teaches multi factor authentication using a first factor of radio handshake including identifiers with a second factor of a user gesture to authenticate a user for providing access, with von Badinski’s fig. 29a described in [0233-234], which teaches using two movements (first gesture and second gesture) to perform a command that can be passed to another device to perform the command, where the two gestures are sensed by the WCD / smart ring, to arrive at a two factor authentication of fig. 25 that uses the two gestures of fig. 29a to authenticate a user. It would be obvious to modify the command of fig. 29a in [0233] that are issued to another device to perform, to instead have the command to unlock the door in [0223] of fig. 25. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide von Badinski multi factor authentication of fig. 25 with the ability to perform authentication using two gestures as taught by fig. 29a, to allow a WCD / smart ring to perform two factor authentication based on two gestures, for the purpose of increasing user convenience while increasing security by using biometric / gestures to authenticate a user, as taught by figs. 25 and 29a..
von Badinski fails to teach the wearable device receiving an indication from another device that authentication is successful and that access is granted,
However, Ziraknejad teaches,
receiving, from the second device, an indication that the known user is authorized to access the resource. (Abstract and Col. 7-21 teach the wearable device receiving an indication / notification that the authentication / access is successful. Col. 2, lines 49-54 teaches that the notification causes the wearable device to display the approval.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of von Badinski’s fig. 25 described in [0221-224], which teaches multi factor authentication using a first factor of radio handshake including identifiers with a second factor of a user gesture to authenticate a user for providing access, with von Badinski’s fig. 29a described in [0233-234], which teaches using two movements (first gesture and second gesture) to perform a command that can be passed to another device to perform the command, where the two gestures are sensed by the WCD / smart ring (wearable device), to arrive at a two factor authentication of fig. 25 that uses the two gestures of fig. 29a to authenticate a user, with Ziraknejad, which also teaches wearable devices being used for authentication and accessing (Abstract and Col. 1 line 32 to Col. 2, line 21), and additionally teaches the wearable device receiving an indication of the approval of the authentication (Abstract and Col. 2, lines 49-54). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide von Badinski multi factor authentication of figs. 25 & 29 with the ability to provide an indication to the wearable of a successful authentication, for the purpose of increasing user convenience while increasing security by informing the user that the authentication / access was granted.
von Badinski and Ziraknejad fail to teach repeated performance of a movement during enrollment / registration of the movement / gesture,
However, Keller teaches,
storing, (fig. 1 & [0054] teaches the ring / interface including housing 120 which includes sensors. [0008] teaches using a gesture to gain access, and also teaches “Registering the gesture for the user profile may include prompting a user to perform multiple instances of the gesture;” and recording each instance of the gesture using an accelerometer, and determining cross correlations between gesture recordings to meet a threshold. [0083-85] teaches the (computing) interface / ring being trained / “learns” based on tendencies of the user, where [0037] teaches the interface ring. [0049] teaches computing interface includes a sensor module attached to the ring.)
collecting, by one or more sensors of the smart ring, motion data and orientation data from the one or more sensors representing body movement representing a candidate movement, wherein the candidate movement corresponds to ring movement while a candidate is wearing the smart ring; (Keller, [0011] teaches the use of orientation data as well as gesture / “motion data”. See also discussion of at least [0008] above.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of von Badinski’s fig. 25 described in [0221-224], which teaches multi factor authentication using a first factor of radio handshake including identifiers with a second factor of a user gesture to authenticate a user for providing access, with von Badinski’s fig. 29a described in [0233-234], which teaches using two movements (first gesture and second gesture) to perform a command that can be passed to another device to perform the command, where the two gestures are sensed by the WCD / smart ring (wearable device), to arrive at a two factor authentication of fig. 25 that uses the two gestures of fig. 29a to authenticate a user, with Ziraknejad, which also teaches wearable devices being used for authentication and accessing (Abstract and Col. 1 line 32 to Col. 2, line 21), and additionally teaches the wearable device receiving an indication of the approval of the authentication (Abstract and Col. 2, lines 49-54), with Keller, which also teaches a ring with accelerometer being used to register and a gesture to control access (fig. 1 & [0008]), and additionally teaches “prompting a user to perform multiple instances of the gesture” during registration ([0008]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide von Badinski and Ziraknejad with the added ability to register a gesture by using multiple instances of the gesture to increase accuracy of the registered gesture using cross correlations, as taught by Keller, for the purpose of increasing security by increasing the accuracy of the registered gesture used for access.
Regarding claim 3, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein the resource is a physical resource. (von Badinski, fig. 25 teaches accessing locked door 2520, in [0223]. See fig. 25 details in [0221-224])
Regarding claim 5, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
collecting, by the one or more sensors of the smart ring, initial body movement of the known user while the smart ring is operating in the enrollment mode; and (von Badinski, [0133] teaches the WCD learning gestures for performing functions (i.e., performing commands of fig. 29a. second half [0233-234] teaches customizing a command by learning gestures and registering a gesture.)
wherein comparing the motion data and orientation data from the one or more sensors further comprises determining the known authentication movement for the known user based at least in part upon the initial body movement. (von Badinski, [0234] teaches using a snap gesture and another gesture to issue a command, where [0233] teaches that the command may be issued by the WCD to another device that performs the command.) (Keller, [0011] teaches the use of orientation data as well as gesture / “motion data”. See also discussion of at least [0008] above in the rejection of claim 1.)
Regarding claim 6, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein the known authentication movement is at least one of a wave, a thumbs-up, a pointing, or a sequence of taps. (von Badinski, [0337 ] teaches double taps. [0213] teaches a gesture as “.. points a ring finger, …” [0243] teaches the gesture being waving.)
Regarding claim 7, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein the detecting the contact comprises:
detecting the contact between the smart ring and the component external to the smart ring while the candidate is wearing the smart ring. (von Badinski, [0337] teaches “… performs a tap, double taps, or clap action with the finger wearing the WCD 5310, …” See also fig. 25.)
Regarding claim 8, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
A smart ring for enabling multi-factor authentication, the smart ring comprising:
a housing configured to be worn by a user; (von Badinski, [0022] and fig. 4 teach WCD housing 412.)
one or more sensors included in the housing; and (von Badinski, [fig. 2, sensors 220, of WCD 220.)
a processor included in the housing and configured to: (von Badinski, [fig. 2, processor 210, of WCD 220.)
storing, in a memory of the smart ring, a known authentication movement during an enrollment mode in which the smart ring learns the known authentication movement from repeated performance by a known user;
perform a first authentication operation by:
collecting, by the one or more sensors of the smart ring, body movement representing a candidate movement, wherein the candidate movement corresponds to ring movement while a candidate is wearing the smart ring;
comparing, by a processor in the smart ring, motion data and orientation data from the one or more sensors representing the candidate movement to the known authentication movement for the known user to determine whether the candidate movement corresponds to the known authentication movement;
when the candidate movement is determined to correspond to the known authentication movement, generating, by the processor in the smart ring, a first signal indicating that the candidate has been authenticated as the known user based at least in part upon a first authentication factor; and
transmitting the first signal to a second device, wherein the second device controls access to a resource;
perform a second authentication operation by:
detecting, by the one or more sensors of the smart ring, contact between the smart ring and a component external to the smart ring, wherein the contact, as detected, represents a second authentication factor;
in response to detecting the contact between the smart ring and the component, generating, by the processor in the smart ring, a second signal indicating that the candidate has been authenticated as the known user based at least in part upon the second authentication factor; and
transmitting the second signal to the second device;
when the second device receives the first signal and the second signal, cause the second device to grant the known user access to the resource; and
receiving, from the second device, an indication that the known user is authorized to access the resource.
Claim 8 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The smart ring of claim 8, wherein the resource is a physical resource.
Claim 10 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 12, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The smart ring of claim 8, further comprising:
collecting, by the one or more sensors of the smart ring, initial body movement of the known user while the smart ring is operating in the enrollment mode; and
wherein comparing the motion data and orientation data from the one or more sensors further comprises determining the known authentication movement for the known user based at least in part upon the initial body movement.
Claim 12 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 13, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The smart ring of claim 8, wherein the known authentication movement is at least one of a wave, a thumbs-up, a pointing, or a sequence of taps.
Claim 13 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The smart ring of claim 8, wherein:
detecting the contact between the smart ring and the component external to the smart ring while the candidate is wearing the smart ring.
Claim 14 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
A smart ring for enabling multi-factor authentication, the smart ring comprising:
a housing configured to be worn by a user;
one or more sensors included in the housing; and
storing, in a memory of the smart ring, a known authentication movement during an enrollment mode in which the smart ring learns the known authentication movement from repeated performance by a known user;
a processor included in the housing and configured to:
perform a first authentication operation by:
collecting, by the one or more of the sensors of the smart ring, body movement representing a candidate movement, wherein the candidate movement corresponds to ring movement while a candidate is wearing the smart ring;
comparing, by the processor in the smart ring, motion data and orientation data from the one or more sensors representing the candidate movement to the known authentication movement for the known user to determine whether the candidate movement corresponds to the known authentication movement;
when the candidate movement is determined to correspond to the known authentication movement, generating, by the processor in the smart ring, a first signal indicating that the candidate has been authenticated as the known user based at least in part upon a first authentication factor; and
transmitting the first signal to a controller to provide access to a resource;
perform a second authentication operation by:
detecting, by the one or more sensors of the smart ring, contact between the smart ring and a component external to the smart ring, wherein the contact, as detected, represents a second authentication factor;
in response to detecting the contact between the smart ring and the component, generating, by the processor in the smart ring, a second signal indicating that the candidate has been authenticated as the known user based at least in part upon the second authentication factor; and
transmitting the second signal to the controller to provide access to the resource;
when a second device receives the first signal and the second signal, cause the controller to provide access to the resource to grant the known user access to the resource; and
receiving, from the second device, an indication that the known user is authorized to access the resource.
Claim 15 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claims 1 and 8 above.
Regarding claim 17, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The smart ring of claim 15, wherein the second device controls access to a physical resource.
Claim 17 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The smart ring of claim 15, further comprising:
collecting, by the one or more sensors of the smart ring, initial body movement of the known user while the smart ring is operating in the enrollment mode; and
wherein comparing the motion data and orientation data from the one or more sensors further comprises determining the known authentication movement for the known user based at least in part upon the initial body movement.
Claim 19 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 20, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The smart ring of claim 15, wherein the known authentication movement is at least one of a wave, a thumbs-up, a pointing, or a sequence of taps.
Claim 20 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 6 above.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over von Badinski, in view of Ziraknejad, in view of Keller, in view of US 20180262505 to Ligatti (hereinafter Ligatti).
Regarding claim 2, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The method of claim 1,
von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller fail to teach cryptographic operations being provided by a resource,
However, Ligatti teaches,
wherein the smart ring performs a cryptographic operation to provide access to the second device. ([0063] teaches a smart ring used to access a resource. [0060-61] teaches a verifier that sends an encrypted authentication challenge to user devices, where [0063] teaches that user uses a smart ring as one of the devices. See also fig. 5.) (See also, Ziraknejad teaches access to the resources is granted based on the wearable device, as taught by Abstract and Col. 1 line 32 to Col. 2, line 21.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of von Badinski’s fig. 25 described in [0221-224], which teaches multi factor authentication using a first factor of radio handshake including identifiers with a second factor of a user gesture to authenticate a user for providing access, with von Badinski’s fig. 29a described in [0233-234], which teaches using two movements (first gesture and second gesture) to perform a command that can be passed to another device to perform the command, where the two gestures are sensed by the WCD / smart ring (wearable device), to arrive at a two factor authentication of fig. 25 that uses the two gestures of fig. 29a to authenticate a user, with Ziraknejad, which also teaches wearable devices being used for authentication and accessing (Abstract and Col. 1 line 32 to Col. 2, line 21), and additionally teaches the wearable device receiving an indication of the approval of the authentication (Abstract and Col. 2, lines 49-54), with Keller, which also teaches a ring with accelerometer being used to register and a gesture to control access (fig. 1 & [0008]), and additionally teaches “prompting a user to perform multiple instances of the gesture” during registration ([0008]), with Ligatti, which also teaches a smart ring [0063] that uses an encrypted authentication challenge from a resource / authenticator to authenticate, and then provide access to the resource. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller, including von Badinski multi factor authentication, to additionally perform encrypted authentication using a smart ring, as taught by Ligatti, for the purpose of increasing security by utilizing encrypted communications during the authentication process.
Regarding claim 9, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, Keller, and Ligatti teach,
The smart ring of claim 8, wherein the resource performs a cryptographic operation.
Claim 9 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 16, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, Keller, and Ligatti teach,
The smart ring of claim 15, wherein the smart ring performs a cryptographic operation to provide access to the second device.
Claim 16 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 2 above.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over von Badinski, in view of Ziraknejad, in view of Keller, in view of US 10944745 to Kursun et al. (hereinafter Kursun).
Regarding claim 4, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller teach,
The method of claim 1,
wherein the known authentication movement is (fig. 25 and [00222-223] teaches measuring a movement to authenticate a user, where the movement is hand movement / gestures.)
von Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller fail to explicitly teach sensing the movement being user gait using the wearable device / smart ring,
However, Kursun teaches,
wherein the known authentication movement is a user gait. (col 14, lines 56 to col. 15, line 15 (51) teaches the wearable device that detects movement, which includes user gait, which is used for authentication of the user.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of von Badinski, which teaches a wearable computing device (WCD), such as a smart watch, that performs multi-factor authentication based on two gestures made by the user, where the WCD senses the gestures and processes the gestures as being performed / authenticated against gestures stored in the WCD, where von Badinski’s fig. 25 described in [0221-224], which teaches multi factor authentication using a first factor of radio handshake including identifiers with a second factor of a user gesture to authenticate a user for providing access, with von Badinski’s fig. 29a described in [0233-234], which teaches using two movements (first gesture and second gesture) to perform a command that can be passed to another device to perform the command, where the two gestures are sensed by the WCD / smart ring (wearable device), to arrive at a two factor authentication of fig. 25 that uses the two gestures of fig. 29a to authenticate a user, with Ziraknejad, which also teaches wearable devices being used for authentication and accessing (Abstract and Col. 1 line 32 to Col. 2, line 21), and additionally teaches the wearable device receiving an indication of the approval of the authentication (Abstract and Col. 2, lines 49-54), with Keller, which also teaches a ring with accelerometer being used to register and a gesture to control access (fig. 1 & [0008]), and additionally teaches “prompting a user to perform multiple instances of the gesture” during registration ([0008]), with Kursun, which also teaches a wearable device being used for authentication, and further teaches the wearable device measures gait for authentication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide Badinski, Ziraknejad, and Keller, including von Badinski multi factor authentication, to additionally perform gait measurement to authenticate a user, as taught by Kursun, for the purpose of increasing security by providing gait authentication.
Regarding claim 11, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, Keller, and Kursun teach,
The smart ring of claim 8, wherein the known authentication movement is a user gait.
Claim 11 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18, von Badinski, Ziraknejad, Keller, and Kursun teach,
The smart ring of claim 15, wherein the known authentication movement is a user gait.
Claim 18 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 4 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN WILLIAM AVERY whose telephone number is (571) 272-3942. The examiner can normally be reached on 9AM-5PM.
/B.W.A./
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495