Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not in narrative form (i.e., short sentences) and not directed to the process of forming the heat exchanger. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD OF FORMING LAMINATED HEAT EXCHANGERS.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In specification, paragraph [0001], insert the US Patent number corresponding to the parent application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 5 recites the limitation of “non-flat end cap” which is unclear what criteria is used to determine the flatness of the end caps. In specification, paragraph [0008] discloses the following (with emphasis added):
[0008] The term “non-flat” means that the end cap is not flat, even when the heat exchanger is not in operation. That is to say, the end cap has been deliberately formed with a radius of curvature during manufacture of the end cap and the ratio of the length of the arc formed by the end cap curve and the chord of the curve is substantially greater than 1.
However, relying on a relative term of “substantially” it is unclear how substantial the radius of curvature should be and what value the ratio of length to arc should be in order to satisfy the “substantially greater than 1.” It is unclear if the 2x, 5x or 100x for the ratio of length to arc be sufficient to be considered as non-flat based on instant disclosure. For examination purposes, any part of the end caps having a radius would read on this limitation.
Claim 2, lines 3-4 recites the limitation “the core comprising a manifold.” However, claim 1 which claim 2 depends from recites in lines 4-5 the limitation of “form a manifold,” It is unclear if the manifold in claim 1 and manifold in claim 2 are the same or different ones.
Claim 2, line 7 recites the limitation “core end caps” while claim 1 which claim 2 depends from recites in line 4 “using end caps to seal the void” which is unclear if the end caps in claims 1 and 2 are the same of different ends caps.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the base plate” and “the top plate” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the plurality of laminate members" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitations “a plurality of laminate members” and “the plurality of laminate members” while claim 2 which claim 3 depends from earlier recites the limitation of “the plurality of laminate members.” It is unclear if the plurality of laminate members claims 2 and 3 are the same of different.
For examination purposes, the examiner considers only one set of end caps and one set of laminated members being claimed.
Claim(s) 1-6, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bachmann et al. (WO 2011039563 A1, hereinafter “Bachmann”).
As applied to claim 1, Bachmann teaches a method of forming a heat exchanger (Figs. 1-9), the method comprising forming a core (heat exchanger core 1, Fig. 1); and providing a void within the core (openings 13, Fig. 2); using end caps (end caps are cavities of the end plates that closes the manifolds 5 and 6, see the annotated Fig. 6 below) to seal the void (opposite ends of the heat exchanger as shown in Annotated Fig. 6 below are sealed), wherein the void and the end caps together form a manifold (5 and 6, Annotated Fig. 6 below), and wherein at least one of the end caps is a non-flat end cap (the cavity shape of the caps is a non-flat structure).
As applied to claim 2, Bachmann teaches the invention cited including wherein the base plate and the top plate are end plates of the core (see Annotated Fi. 6 above), the base plate being a first plate of the core and the top plate being a last plate of the core, the core comprising a manifold in communication with the at least one flow path (channel 15 and flow channels between the channels 15 and manifold 5 and 6 section of the heat exchanger 1), wherein the manifold comprises the void provided in the core (end caps are cavities of the end plates that closes the manifolds 5 and 6, see the annotated Fig. 6 above); and core end caps, wherein the void extends fully through the plurality of laminate members (the heat exchanger 1 is formed by laminating plates 3a and 3b, see Annotated Fig. 6 above), and the core end caps are configured to seal the void at both ends of the core (opposite ends of the heat exchanger as shown in Annotated Fig. 6 below are sealed), each core end cap being a non-flat end cap, and each non-flat end cap forms a curved manifold end (the cavity shape of the caps is a non-flat structure).
As applied to claim 3, Bachmann teaches the invention cited including wherein the heat exchanger is a laminate heat exchanger (plates 3a and 3b shown in Annotated Fig. 6 above), wherein forming the core includes stacking a plurality of laminate members (plates 3A, 3B), and wherein the void (13) extends through the plurality of laminate members (Figs. 2 and 6), and wherein the plurality of laminate members comprises a plurality of fluid enclosures arranged to at least partially define at least one flow path (inner space of the channels 15); at least one separating plate for separating each of the plurality of fluid enclosures (plates 3a and 3b with openings 13); a base plate (see Annotated Fig. 6 above); and a top plate (see Annotated Fig. 6 above).
As applied to claim 4, Bachmann teaches the invention cited including wherein the at least one non-flat end cap is ellipsoidal, torispherical, hemispherical, or any other curved shape (the caps have a curved shape at their bends, see Annotated Fig. 6 above).
As applied to claim 5, Bachmann teaches the invention cited including wherein the heat exchanger is a laminate heat exchanger (plates 3a and 3b shown in Annotated Fig. 6 above), wherein forming the core includes stacking a plurality of laminate members (plates 3A, 3B), and wherein the void (13) extends through the plurality of laminate members (Figs. 2 and 6), and wherein the plurality of laminate members comprises a plurality of fluid enclosures arranged to at least partially define at least one flow path (inner space of the channels 15); at least one separating plate for separating each of the plurality of fluid enclosures (plates 3a and 3b with openings 13); a base plate (see Annotated Fig. 6 above); and a top plate (see Annotated Fig. 6 above).
As applied to claim 6, Bachmann teaches the invention cited including wherein the at least one non-flat end cap is ellipsoidal, torispherical, hemispherical, or any other curved shape (the caps have a curved shape at their bends, see Annotated Fig. 6 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martin et al. (US 7,195,060) teaches a method of forming a stacked-tube heat exchanger (abstract, Fig. 2).
Cameron (US 2010260459A1) teaches a method of forming a curved cross-flow heat exchanger (abstract, Fig. 1).
Palanchon (US 20090260786A1) teaches a U-flow heat exchanger with curved end caps (abstract, Figs. 1-2).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 11/13/2025