DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIG. 2 is unclear. Going forward with examination, FIG. 2 is interpreted to be:
FIG. 8 appears to contain an editorial error. Going forward with examination, FIG. 8 is interpreted to be:
Specification
The disclosure (specification) is objected to because the following paragraphs appear to contain editorial errors. Note that, referring to the application’s figs. 1 and 2, when there is no leaked fluid in the region 35, an open electrical circuit exists between conducting points 23 and 24. As a result, there would be an electrical potential between the conducting points 23 and 24, thereby a voltage between them would not be zero (i.e., V > 0). On the contrary, when there is a leaked fluid in the region 35, a short electrical circuit exists between conducting points 23 and 24, thereby a voltage between them would be zero (i.e., V = 0).
Going forward with examination, the following specification paragraphs are interpreted to be:
--[0076] In the liquid cooling server, an ADC 32 of the liquid leakage detection circuit 25 considers that a resistor is disposed between the ADC 32 and a VDD 31, and the ADC 32 continuously obtains a voltage on the resistor, that is, a first voltage between the ADC 32 and the VDD 31. When no liquid leakage occurs, an open circuit exists between the ADC 32 and the VDD 31, and the first voltage is not 0, and when liquid leakage occurs, a short circuit exists between the ADC 32 and the VDD 31, and the first voltage is 0.--
--[0077] Step 802: When the first voltage is 0, the liquid cooling server obtains a liquid leakage occurrence signal.--
--[0078] When the first voltage is not 0, an open circuit exists between the corresponding ADC 32 and VDD 31, indicating that no liquid leakage occurs, and when the first voltage is 0, the ADC 32 sends the liquid leakage occurrence signal to a control circuit of the liquid cooling server, so that the liquid cooling server obtains the liquid leakage occurrence signal.--
--[0082] In this embodiment of this disclosure, a first voltage is obtained, when the first voltage is zero, a liquid leakage occurrence signal is obtained, and the liquid cooling server performs a preset action based on the liquid leakage occurrence signal, thereby improving implementability of the liquid leakage detection method.--
--[0084] FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a structure of a liquid cooling server according to this disclosure. The liquid cooling server includes an obtaining unit 901 configured to obtain a first voltage, the obtaining unit 901 being further configured to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is zero, and an executing unit 902 configured to perform a preset action based on the liquid leakage occurrence signal.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 20 are objected to because they appear to contain editorial errors. Going forward with examination, the claims are interpreted to be:
--1. A liquid leakage detection apparatus comprising:
a first liquid cooling pipe comprising a coolant and configured to dissipate heat of an electronic element using the coolant, wherein the coolant has a characteristic of conductivity;
a liquid cooling plate having an edge, wherein the liquid cooling plate is coupled to the first liquid cooling pipe and comprises a second liquid cooling pipe, and wherein the second liquid cooling pipe comprises the coolant;
a liquid leakage detection circuit configured to detect whether the liquid leakage detection apparatus has leaked;
flow guiding apparatuses coupled to the edge and the liquid leakage detection circuit and configured to guide first leaked liquid or second leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit when the first leaked liquid occurs in the first liquid cooling pipe or the second leaked liquid occurs in the second liquid cooling pipe; and
a sleeve sleeved outside the first liquid cooling pipe and configured to form a gap between the sleeve and the first liquid cooling pipe to accommodate the first leaked liquid and guide the first leaked liquid to the flow guiding apparatuses.--
--20. A method implemented by a liquid cooling server, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining a first voltage;
obtaining a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is
performing a preset action based on the liquid leakage occurrence signal.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it is directed to a judicial exception relating to an abstract idea without significant more.
The claim recites a method implemented by a liquid cooling server, the method comprising steps which all together appear to be a process practice-able mentally but not physically. Those steps all together are not integrated into any of the physical statutory patentable categories: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. One would not be able to physically practice the claimed invention. Note that, although the claim recites additional elements like “a liquid cooling server,” those additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, but appear to be just an attempt to convey the abstract idea per se (MPEP 2106).
Going forward with examination, the claim is interpreted to be:
--A method implemented by a liquid cooling server, wherein the method comprises:
using a liquid detection circuit (25) of the liquid cooling server to obtain between a first conduction point (23) and a second conduction point (24) which are disposed in an open circuit region (35) where a leaked liquid is guided onto;
using the liquid detection circuit (25) to obtain
using the liquid detection circuit (25) to perform
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomioka et al (US 2004/0188069 A1; hereinafter “Tomioka”).
Tomioka teaches:
1. A liquid leakage detection apparatus comprising (See figs. 1, 8, reproduced below):
a first liquid cooling pipe (33) comprising a coolant (e.g., water; Par. 0044) and configured to dissipate heat of an electronic element (e.g., CPU 12; Par. 0036) using the coolant, wherein the coolant (water) has a characteristic of conductivity (Par. 0044);
a liquid cooling plate (17/21) having an edge, wherein the liquid cooling plate (17/21) is coupled to the first liquid cooling pipe (33) and comprises a second liquid cooling pipe (34), and wherein the second liquid cooling pipe (34) comprises the coolant;
a liquid leakage detection circuit (comprising a pair of electrodes 51a, 51b and CPU 12) configured to detect whether the liquid leakage detection apparatus has leaked (Fig. 8, Pars. 0062-0063);
flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of packing 47) coupled to the edge and the liquid leakage detection circuit (51a, 51b) and configured to guide first leaked liquid or second leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit (51a, 51b) when the first leaked liquid occurs in the first liquid cooling pipe (33) or the second leaked liquid occurs in the second liquid cooling pipe 34 (Pars. 0062-0063); and
a sleeve 39 (Fig. 8) sleeved outside the first liquid cooling pipe (33) and configured to form a gap between the sleeve (39) and the first liquid cooling pipe (33) to accommodate the first leaked liquid and guide the first leaked liquid to the flow guiding apparatuses 47 (so that a liquid leakage detection circuit comprising the pair of electrodes 51a, 51b and CPU 12 can detect the liquid leakage; Pars. 0062-0063).
2. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a joint (having a connector; Fig. 8; Par. 0023) between the first liquid cooling pipe (33) and the liquid cooling plate (17/21), wherein the flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of the packing 47) comprise a first flow guiding apparatus (a first section of the packing 47) located below the joint and configured to guide the first leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit 51a, 51b (as is evident from at least fig. 8).
3. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 2, wherein the liquid leakage detection circuit (51a, 51b, 12) comprises a first conduction point (51a) and a second conduction point (51b), wherein the first leaked liquid flows to the first conduction point (51a) through the first flow guiding apparatus (47) and couples the first conduction point (51a) to the second conduction point (51b) to enable the liquid leakage detection circuit (51a, 51b, 12) to learn that the first leaked liquid exists (Pars. 0062-0063).
4. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the liquid cooling plate (21/17) further comprises (See figs. 4, 5, reproduced below):
a support (13, 14);
an enclosure (21) disposed on the support (13, 14) for liquid storage and comprising a liquid leakage outlet (25); and
a water-holding pan (22) formed using the enclosure (21) and configured to:
accommodate the second leaked liquid (water coolant); and
enable the second leaked liquid (water coolant) to flow from the liquid leakage outlet (25) to the liquid leakage detection circuit 51a, 51b (as is evident from at least figs. 4, 5, 8).
5. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 3, wherein the flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of the packing 47) comprise a second flow guiding apparatus (a second section of the packing 47) disposed between the liquid cooling plate (17/21) and the liquid leakage detection circuit (51a, 51b) and further at the liquid leakage outlet (25) and configured to guide the second leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit 51a, 51b (as is evident from at least figs. 3, 8).
6. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein an included angle between the flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of the packing 47) and a horizontal plane is not 0 degrees (as is apparent in at least figs. 3, 8).
7. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB 9; Figs. 1, 4), wherein the liquid leakage detection circuit (51a, 51b) and the electronic element (12) are deployed on the PCB 9 (as seen at least in fig. 1).
8. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein an included angle between the first liquid cooling pipe (33) and the liquid cooling plate (17/21) at a connection position is not 0 degrees (as is apparent from at least fig. 8).
9. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first liquid cooling pipe (33) is further configured to dissipate heat of at least one of a central processing unit (CPU 12; as is evident from at least figs. 3, 4), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic device (PLD), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), or a generic array logic (GAL).
Note: The recited at least one of a central processing unit (CPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic device (PLD), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), or a generic array logic (GAL) doesn’t appear to be any part of the liquid leakage detection apparatus being claimed, thus are irrelevant. They fail to add further limitation to the apparatus, but appear to be merely an intended use unpatentable. Tomioka however indeed teaches the claim.
10. The liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the liquid cooling plate (17/21) is disposed above the electronic element (CPU 12) and is in contact with the electronic element PCU 12 (as is evident from at least figs. 1, 3).
12 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
A computer device comprising:
an electronic element (CPU 120) configured to generate heat; and
a liquid leakage detection apparatus coupled to the electronic element (CPU 12), configured to dissipate the heat, and comprising:
a first liquid cooling pipe (33) comprising a coolant (e.g., water) and configured to dissipate the heat using the coolant, wherein the coolant has a characteristic of conductivity;
a liquid cooling plate (17/21) having an edge, wherein the liquid cooling plate (17/21) is coupled to the first liquid cooling pipe (33) and comprises a second liquid cooling pipe (34), and wherein the second liquid cooling pipe (34) comprises the coolant;
a liquid leakage detection circuit (comprising a pair of electrodes 51a, 51b and CPU 12) configured to detect whether the liquid leakage detection apparatus has leaked (Pars. 0062-0063);
flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of packing 47) coupled to the edge and the liquid leakage detection circuit (51a, 51b) and configured to guide first leaked liquid or second leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit (51a, 51b) when the first leaked liquid occurs in the first liquid cooling pipe (33) or the second leaked liquid occurs in the second liquid cooling pipe 34 (Pars. 0062-0063); and
a sleeve (39) sleeved outside the first liquid cooling pipe (33) and configured to form a gap between the sleeve (39) and the first liquid cooling pipe (33) to accommodate the first leaked liquid and guide the first leaked liquid to the flow guiding apparatuses 47 (so that a liquid leakage detection circuit comprising the pair of electrodes 51a, 51b and CPU 12 can detect the liquid leakage; Pars. 0062-0063).
13-19 (essentially equivalent to claims 2-8).
The computer device of claim 12, wherein the liquid leakage detection apparatus further comprises all the recited features (See discussions above in claim 2-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomioka.
11. Tomioka teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, but is silent about: wherein the liquid cooling plate (17/21) and the first liquid cooling pipe (33) are configured to form integrally.
However, it has been held that making a known structure to be integral (or vice versa, to be multiple parts) is an obvious variation, thus unpatentable. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 967, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Wolf, 251 F.2d 854, 855, 116 USPQ 443, 444 (CCPA 1958).
Therefore, the liquid cooling plate (107/412) and the first liquid cooling pipe (406) configured to form integrally (or vice versa, to be multiple parts) would be considered an obvious variation of Tomioka teaching, thus unpatentable. As for the present case, the liquid cooling plate (17/21) and the first liquid cooling pipe (33) may be configured to form integrally to reduce chances of leakage between the liquid cooling plate (17/21) and the first liquid cooling pipe (33) for example.
20 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
Tomioka teaches a method implemented by a liquid cooling server, wherein the method comprises:
using a liquid detection circuit (comprising a pair of electrodes 51a, 51b and CPU 12) of the liquid cooling server to obtain a first voltage between a first conduction point (51a) and a second conduction point (51b) which are disposed in an open circuit region (of the sleeve 39) where a leaked liquid is guided onto (obviously. See Note below);
using the liquid detection circuit (51a, 51b, 12) to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is 0 (obviously, when a short electrical circuit exists between the first and second conducting points 51a, 51b. See Note below); and
using the liquid detection circuit (51a, 51b, 12) to perform a preset action (e.g., shutting down a computer 1 equipped with the liquid cooling server) based on the liquid leakage occurrence signal (Par. 0066-0067, 0069).
Note: Similar to the discussions in the objections to the specification, when there is no leaked fluid in the circuit region, an open electrical circuit exists between conducting points 51a and 51b. As a result, there would be an electrical potential between the conducting points 51a and 51b, thereby a voltage between them would not be zero (i.e., V > 0). On the contrary, when there is a leaked fluid in the circuit region, a short electrical circuit exists between conducting points 51a and 51b, thereby a voltage between them would be zero (i.e., V = 0).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomioka in view of Onodera et al. (US 5,537,291; hereinafter “Onodera”).
Tomioka teaches a method implemented by a liquid cooling server, wherein the method comprises:
using the liquid detection circuit (122, 140) to perform a preset action (e.g., shutting down an electronic element, e.g., IC 132/420) based on the liquid leakage occurrence signal (Par. 0026-0027).
Tomioka is silent about:
using a liquid detection circuit (comprising a pair of electrodes 51a, 51b and a CPU 12) of the liquid cooling server to obtain a first voltage between a first conduction point (51a) and a second conduction point (51b) which are disposed in an open circuit region (of the sleeve 39) where a leaked liquid is guided onto; and
using the liquid detection circuit (51a, 51b, 12) to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is 0.
Onodera teaches a method implemented by a liquid cooling server, wherein the method comprises essentially (See fig. 3, reproduced below):
using a liquid detection circuit (comprising a pair of electrodes 24) of a liquid cooling server to obtain a first voltage between a first conduction point (24) and a second conduction point (24) which are disposed in an open circuit region (22) where a leaked liquid is guided onto; and
using the liquid detection circuit (24) to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is 0 (Col. 4, line 63 – Col. 4, line 16. Note that the predetermined reference voltage in Onodera may be zero).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Onodera teaching to Tomioka method by using a liquid detection circuit (comprising a pair of electrodes 51a, 51b and a CPU 12) of the liquid cooling server to obtain a first voltage between a first conduction point (51a) and a second conduction point (51b) which are disposed in an open circuit region (of the sleeve 39) where a leaked liquid is guided onto; and using the liquid detection circuit (51a, 51b, 12) to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is 0, in order to detect a leakage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 2023/0061298 A1).
1. Gao teaches a liquid leakage detection apparatus comprising (See figs. 1 and 4A-4C, reproduced and annotated below):
a first liquid cooling pipe (406) comprising a coolant (e.g., water; Par. 0031) and configured to dissipate heat of an electronic element (e.g., IC 132/420) using the coolant, wherein the coolant (water) has a characteristic of conductivity (Par. 0025);
a liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) having an edge, wherein the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) is coupled to the first liquid cooling pipe (406) and comprises a second liquid cooling pipe (406’), and wherein the second liquid cooling pipe (406’) comprises the coolant;
a liquid leakage detection circuit (comprising a conductive sensor 122 and a controller 140; Fig. 1, Pars. 0025-0026) configured to detect whether the liquid leakage detection apparatus has leaked;
flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of a floor 114 and a detection channel 120) coupled to the edge and the liquid leakage detection circuit (122, 140) and configured to guide first leaked liquid or second leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit (122) when the first leaked liquid occurs in the first liquid cooling pipe (406) or the second leaked liquid occurs in the second liquid cooling pipe 406’ (as illustrated in fig. 1); and
a cooling chassis (102/403) outside the first liquid cooling pipe (406) and configured to form a gap between the cooling chassis (102/403) and the first liquid cooling pipe (406) to accommodate the first leaked liquid and guide the first leaked liquid to the flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of the floor 114 and the detection channel 120, so that conductive sensor 122 can detect the liquid leakage; Pars. 0025-0026).
Gao is silent about: the cooling chassis (102/403) is in a form of a sleeve sleeved outside of the first liquid cooling pipe (406).
However, referring to figs. 4A-4C for example, it appears that one may provide the cooling chassis (102/403) with a top cover to protect at least the first and second liquid cooling pipes 406, 406’ (which may be flexible and have joints with connectors; Par. 0023) inside of the cooling chassis (102/403). As such, the cooling chassis (102/403) would essentially be in a form of a sleeve sleeved outside of the first liquid cooling pipe 406 (as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide the cooling chassis (102/403) with a top cover to protect at least the first and second liquid cooling pipes (406, 406’) inside of the cooling chassis (102/403). As such, the cooling chassis (102/403) would essentially be in a form of a sleeve sleeved outside of the first liquid cooling pipe 406 (as claimed).
2. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a joint (having a connector; Par. 0023) between the first liquid cooling pipe (406) and the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412), wherein the flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of the floor 114 and the detection channel 120) comprise a first flow guiding apparatus (a first section of the floor 114) located below the joint and configured to guide the first leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit 122 (as illustrated in fig. 1).
Note: It has been held that making a known structure to be integral (or vice versa, to be multiple parts) is an obvious variation, thus unpatentable. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 967, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Wolf, 251 F.2d 854, 855, 116 USPQ 443, 444 (CCPA 1958). Therefore, the first liquid cooling pipe (406) and the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) may be made to be integral (without a joint therebetween), or to be multiple parts (with a joint therebetween), and still be within the scope of Gao teaching.
3. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 2, wherein the liquid leakage detection circuit (comprising the conductive sensor 122 and the controller 140) comprises a first conduction point and a second conduction point, wherein the first leaked liquid flows to the first conduction point through the first flow guiding apparatus and couples the first conduction point to the second conduction point to enable the liquid leakage detection circuit to learn that the first leaked liquid exists (all of those features are well-known characteristics of a typical conductive sensor; Par. 0025).
4. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) further comprises:
a support (which may be the floor 114);
an enclosure (which may be the cooling chassis 102/403) disposed on the support for liquid storage and comprising a liquid leakage outlet (124/416); and
a water-holding pan (the floor 114 of the cooling chassis 102/403) formed using the enclosure and configured to:
accommodate the second leaked liquid; and
enable the second leaked liquid to flow from the liquid leakage outlet (124/416) to the liquid leakage detection circuit 122 (as illustrated in figs. 1, 4A-4C).
5. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 3, wherein the flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of the floor 114 and the detection channel 120) comprise a second flow guiding apparatus (a second section of the floor 114) disposed between the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) and the liquid leakage detection circuit (122) and further at the liquid leakage outlet (124/416) and configured to guide the second leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit 122 (as illustrated in figs. 1, 4A-4C).
6. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein an included angle between the flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of the floor 114 and the detection channel 120) and a horizontal plane is not 0 degrees (as illustrated in figs. 1, 4A-4C).
7. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB 134/422), wherein the liquid leakage detection circuit (122) and the electronic element (IC 132/420) are deployed on the PCB (134/422).
Note: It has been held that merely shifting location of parts of a known structure is an obvious variation, thus uninventive and unpatentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 1023, 86 USPQ 70, 73 (CCPA 19500). Therefore, referring to fig. 1 for example, both the liquid leakage detection circuit (122) and the electronic element (IC 132/420) may be deployed on the PCB (134/422), and still be within the scope of Gao teaching. For instant, the PCB (134/422) may be made wider to accommodate the detection channel (120), the liquid leakage detection circuit (122), and the electronic element (IC 132/420).
8. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein an included angle between the first liquid cooling pipe (406) and the liquid cooling plate (412) at a connection position is not 0 degrees (as seen at least in fig. 4A).
9. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first liquid cooling pipe (406) is further configured to dissipate heat of at least one of a central processing unit (CPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic device (PLD), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), or a generic array logic (GAL) (all of which may be considered to be equivalent to the integrated circuit 132/420).
Note: The recited at least one of a central processing unit (CPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic device (PLD), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), or a generic array logic (GAL) doesn’t appear to be any part of the liquid leakage detection apparatus being claimed, thus are irrelevant. They fail to add further limitation to the apparatus, but appear to be merely an intended use unpatentable.
10. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) is disposed above the electronic element (IC 132/420) and is in contact with the electronic element (as shown in figs. 1, 4A-4C).
11. Gao as modified teaches the liquid leakage detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) and the first liquid cooling pipe (406) are configured to form integrally.
Note: As discussed above in claim 2, it has been held that making a known structure to be integral (or vice versa, to be multiple parts) is an obvious variation, thus unpatentable. Therefore, the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) and the first liquid cooling pipe (406) may be configured to form integrally (or vice versa, to be multiple parts) and still be within the scope of Gao teaching.
12 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
Gao as modified teaches a computer device comprising:
an electronic element (IC 132/420) configured to generate heat; and
a liquid leakage detection apparatus coupled to the electronic element, configured to dissipate the heat, and comprising:
a first liquid cooling pipe (406) comprising a coolant (e.g., water) and configured to dissipate the heat using the coolant, wherein the coolant has a characteristic of conductivity;
a liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) having an edge, wherein the liquid cooling plate (106, 107, 412) is coupled to the first liquid cooling pipe (406) and comprises a second liquid cooling pipe (406’), and wherein the second liquid cooling pipe (406’) comprises the coolant;
a liquid leakage detection circuit (comprising a conductive sensor 122 and a controller 140; Fig. 1, Pars. 0025-0026) configured to detect whether the liquid leakage detection apparatus has leaked;
flow guiding apparatuses (comprising sections of a floor 114 and a detection channel 120) coupled to the edge and the liquid leakage detection circuit (122, 140) and configured to guide first leaked liquid or second leaked liquid to the liquid leakage detection circuit (122) when the first leaked liquid occurs in the first liquid cooling pipe (406) or the second leaked liquid occurs in the second liquid cooling pipe 406’ (as illustrated in fig. 1); and
a sleeve sleeved (cooling chassis 102/403) outside the first liquid cooling pipe (406) and configured to form a gap between the sleeve (cooling chassis 102/403) and the first liquid cooling pipe (406) to accommodate the first leaked liquid and guide the first leaked liquid to the flow guiding apparatuses (and the conductive sensor 122 detects the liquid leakage, as discussed above in claim 1).
13-19 (essentially equivalent to claims 2-8).
Gao as modified teaches the computer device of claim 12, wherein the liquid leakage detection apparatus further comprises all the recited features (See discussions above in claim 2-8).
20 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
Gao as modified teaches a method implemented by a liquid cooling server, wherein the method comprises:
using a liquid detection circuit (comprising a conductive sensor 122 and a controller 140; Fig. 1, Pars. 0025-002625) of the liquid cooling server to obtain a first voltage between a first conduction point and a second conduction point (of the conductive sensor 122) which are disposed in an open circuit region (of the conductive sensor 122) where a leaked liquid is guided onto (obviously. See Note below);
using the liquid detection circuit (122, 140) to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is 0 (obviously, when there is a short electrical circuit between the first and second conducting points of the conductive sensor 22. See Note below); and
using the liquid detection circuit (122, 140) to perform a preset action (e.g., shutting down an electronic element, e.g., IC 132/420) based on the liquid leakage occurrence signal (Par. 0026-0027).
Note: Similar to the discussions in the objections to the specification, when there is no leaked fluid in the circuit region, an open electrical circuit exists between conducting points of the conductive sensor 122. As a result, there would be an electrical potential between the conducting points, thereby a voltage between them would not be zero (i.e., V > 0). On the contrary, when there is a leaked fluid in the circuit region, a short electrical circuit exists between conducting points of the conductive sensor 122, thereby a voltage between them would be zero (i.e., V = 0).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Onodera et al. (US 5,537,291).
Gao as modified teaches a method implemented by a liquid cooling server, wherein the method comprises:
using the liquid detection circuit (122, 140) to perform a preset action (e.g., shutting down an electronic element, e.g., IC 132/420) based on the liquid leakage occurrence signal (Par. 0026-0027).
Gao as modified is silent about:
using a liquid detection circuit (122, 140) of the liquid cooling server to obtain a first voltage between a first conduction point and a second conduction point (of the conductive sensor 122) which are disposed in an open circuit region (of the conductive sensor 122) where a leaked liquid is guided onto; and
using the liquid detection circuit (122, 140) to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is 0.
Onodera teaches a method implemented by a liquid cooling server, wherein the method comprises essentially:
using a liquid detection circuit (comprising a pair of electrodes 24) of the liquid cooling server to obtain a first voltage between a first conduction point (24) and a second conduction point (24) which are disposed in an open circuit region (22) where a leaked liquid is guided onto; and
using the liquid detection circuit (24) to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is 0 (Col. 4, line 63 – Col. 4, line 16).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Onodera teaching to Gao method by using a liquid detection circuit (122, 140) of the liquid cooling server to obtain a first voltage between a first conduction point and a second conduction point (of the conductive sensor 122) which are disposed in an open circuit region (of the conductive sensor 122) where a leaked liquid is guided onto; and using the liquid detection circuit (122, 140) to obtain a liquid leakage occurrence signal when the first voltage is 0, in order to detect a leakage.
Conclusion
/Nguyen Q. Ha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 March 17, 2026