CTNF 18/623,475 CTNF 92397 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed after the mailing date. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 5, 8, 14-16, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (“Jung”) (WO 2024135882 A1, Examiner citing from English translation provided) in view of Faxer et al. (“Faxer”) (WO 2020144624 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches: A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE [¶49, terminal] to: receive first control signaling indicating a set of channel measurement resources comprising one or more channel measurement resources [¶49, CSI measurement configuration, including CMR] and a set of interference measurement resources comprising a plurality of interference measurement resources [¶49, IMR configured] , the set of channel measurement resources and the set of interference measurement resources corresponding to a first channel state information report [¶49, terminal transmits CSI based on measured CMR and IMR] , and a channel measurement resource corresponding to the interference measurement resources of the plurality of interference measurement resources [¶52, IMR and CMR correspond, identical IDs (IDs 1 and IDs 2 for CMR, IMR used)] ; perform one or more channel state information measurements via the set of channel measurement resources according to the first control signaling [¶49, ¶52 terminal measures channel and interference using CMR and IMR] ; perform cross-link interference measurement via the set of interference measurement resources, wherein the plurality of interference measurement resources corresponds to a plurality of UEs [¶65, UE measures CLI using IMR, CLI based on terminal 210 and another arbitrary terminal, thus plurality of UEs] ; and transmit a channel state information report comprising one or more channel state information metrics [¶49 transmit CSI to base station] , a channel state information metric based at least in part on the one or more channel state information measurements [¶72 report all CSIs, ] and one or more of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [¶43, ¶72, report N CSIs, after measuring CLI ¶65 thus based on CLI] . Jung teaches cross-link interference but not necessarily plurality of measurements however Faxer teaches perform a plurality of cross-link interference measurements via the set of interference measurement resources, wherein the plurality of interference measurement resources corresponds to a plurality of UEs [¶0038, CLI measurements performed based on uplink of one or more other devices on plurality of CLI resources configured by RRC, see also ¶0087 and claims 1-2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung the plurality of measurements as in Faxer. Jung teaches CMR and IMR resources for measuring CSI including CLI and it would have been obvious to expressly specify multiple CLI as in Faxer who teaches this allows for enabling scheduling coordination by reporting CLI, and addresses issues in flexibility and reporting overhead ¶0065. Regarding claim 2, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: derive the one or more channel state information metrics based at least in part on a single channel state information measurement of the one or more channel state information measurements and one or more cross-link interference measurements of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [Jung ¶43, ¶72, report N CSIs, based on measuring CMR as in ¶49, ¶052, and CLI ¶65, see also Faxer ¶0038 plurality of CLI measurements as in the rationale for claim 1] , wherein the set of channel measurement resources comprises a single channel measurement resource [Jung ¶49, set k CMR resources, wherein k is a positive integer, i.e. it may be 1] . Regarding claim 3, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 2. Jung teaches reporting CSI information using IMR resources for CLI measurement but does not teach the claimed indexing. Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: include, in an interference measurement resource index field in the first channel state information report, an indication of an interference measurement resource index value indicating a first interference measurement resource of the plurality of interference measurement resources that corresponds to a first cross-link interference measurement, of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements, from which the one or more channel state information metrics are derived [¶0105 “In another embodiment, the UE is configured (e.g., in the measurement report configuration as described above) to only report the strongest K RSRP/RSSI values as well as the indices of the corresponding CLI-IMRs within the CLI-IMR set” ¶0092 and ¶0104 indicating these are CLI measurements] , wherein the first cross-link interference measurement corresponds to a smallest amount of measured cross-link interference of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [¶0105 teaches reporting measurements in order of weakest to largest (smallest to largest) any of which may be the “first” measurement] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the index of the IMR as in Faxer. Jung teaches reporting CSI based on CMR and IMR measurements and it would have been obvious to send corresponding index as in Faxer who teaches this allows for enabling scheduling coordination by reporting CLI, and addresses issues in flexibility and reporting overhead ¶0065. Regarding claim 5, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 2. Jung teaches reporting CLI but not index values of the corresponding IMR. Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: include, in a plurality of interference measurement resource index fields in the first channel state information report, a set of interference measurement resource index values indicating a first subset of interference measurement resources of the plurality of interference measurement resources that corresponds to a subset of cross-link interference measurements, of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements, from which the one or more channel state information metrics are derived [¶0105 “In another embodiment, the UE is configured (e.g., in the measurement report configuration as described above) to only report the strongest K RSRP/RSSI values as well as the indices of the corresponding CLI-IMRs within the CLI-IMR set” ¶0092 and ¶0104 indicating these are CLI measurements” and “Here, it is assumed that the relative ordering of the CLI-IMRs from strongest to weakest is known.”] , wherein each of the subset of cross-link interference measurements corresponds to smaller amounts of measured cross-link interference than a remainder of cross-link interference measurements of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [¶0105 teaches reporting measurements in order of weakest to largest, or smallest to largest, any of which may be the “first” measurement] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the index of the IMR as in Faxer. Jung teaches reporting CSI based on CMR and IMR measurements and it would have been obvious to send corresponding index as in Faxer who teaches this allows for enabling scheduling coordination by reporting CLI, and addresses issues in flexibility and reporting overhead ¶0065. Regarding claim 8, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: derive the one or more channel state information metrics based at least in part on multiple channel state information measurements of the one or more channel state information measurements and one or more cross-link interference measurements of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [Jung ¶43, ¶72, report N CSIs, based on measuring CMR as in ¶49, ¶052, and CLI ¶65, see also Faxer ¶0038 plurality of CLI measurements as in the rationale for claim 1] , wherein the set of channel measurement resources comprises a plurality of channel measurement resources [Jung ¶49, set k CMR resources, wherein k is a positive integer, i.e. it may be greater than 1] . Regarding claim 14, 20 see the similar rejection for claim 1 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding steps. Regarding claim 15, see the similar rejection for claim 2 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding steps. Regarding claim 16, see the similar rejection for claim 3 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding steps. Regarding claim 18, see the similar rejection for claim 5 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding steps . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (“Jung”) (WO 2024135882 A1, Examiner citing from English translation provided) in view of Faxer et al. (“Faxer”) (WO 2020144624 A1) and Matsumura et al. (“Matsumura”) (WO 2020202394 A1) . Regarding claim 4, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 2. Jung teaches reporting CLI and IMR but not the index of the IMR. Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: include, in a channel state information reference signal resource indicator field of the first channel state information report, an index value indicating a first interference measurement resource of the plurality of interference measurement resources that corresponds to a first cross-link interference measurement, of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements, from which the one or more channel state information metrics are derived [¶0105 “In another embodiment, the UE is configured (e.g., in the measurement report configuration as described above) to only report the strongest K RSRP/RSSI values as well as the indices of the corresponding CLI-IMRs within the CLI-IMR set” ¶0092 and ¶0104 indicating these are CLI measurements] , wherein the first cross-link interference measurement corresponds to a smallest amount of measured cross-link interference of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [¶0105 teaches reporting measurements in order of weakest to largest, or smallest to largest, any of which may be the “first” measurement] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the index of the IMR as in Faxer. Jung teaches reporting CSI based on CMR and IMR measurements and it would have been obvious to send corresponding index as in Faxer who teaches this allows for enabling scheduling coordination by reporting CLI, and addresses issues in flexibility and reporting overhead ¶0065. Jung-Faxer teaches reporting index but not in the CSI reference signal resource indicator. Matsumura teaches include, in a channel state information reference signal resource indicator field of the first channel state information report, an index value indicating a first interference measurement resource [page 11-15, “The IMR may be a zero power (ZP) CSI-RS resource, a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource, or an SSB resource. The IMR index (ID) for identifying the IMR may be a CSI-RS index (CRI)”]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the index reported in the CRI as in Matsumura, page 13-15, “NW can reduce interference by performing beam selection and scheduling using L1-SINR and IMR index.” Regarding claim 17, see the similar rejection for claim 4 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding steps . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6, 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (“Jung”) (WO 2024135882 A1, Examiner citing from English translation provided) in view of Faxer et al. (“Faxer”) (WO 2020144624 A1) and Rahman et al. (“Rahman”) (US 20200084006 A1) . Regarding claim 6, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 5. Jung teaches reporting but not via PUSCH. Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the channel state information report via a physical uplink shared channel based at least in part on the one or more channel state information metrics being based at least in part on the subset of cross-link interference measurements [Faxer ¶0025, ¶0101, PUSCH may be used for CSI reporting, based on CLI reporting ¶0038] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the index of the IMR as in Faxer in PUSCH. Jung teaches reporting CSI based on CMR and IMR measurements and it would have been obvious to send via PUSCH as in Faxer who teaches this allows for enabling scheduling coordination by reporting CLI, and addresses issues in flexibility and reporting overhead ¶0065. Jung-Faxer teaches PUSCH reporting but not two-part. Rahman teaches wherein the channel state information report comprises a second portion of a two-part channel state information report [¶0176 CSIs comprise two parts on either PUSCH] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the report via two parts as in Rahman as it would have been a simple substitution of parts to replace the unspecified reporting in Jung with two-part as in Rahman who teaches this also achieves the goal of feeding back information to select appropriate communication parameters ¶0003. Regarding claim 11, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 8. Jung teaches reporting but not via PUSCH. Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the channel state information report via a physical uplink shared channel based at least in part on a quantity of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [Faxer ¶0025, ¶0101, PUSCH may be used for CSI reporting including quantity of CLI measurements] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the index of the IMR as in Faxer in PUSCH. Jung teaches reporting CSI based on CMR and IMR measurements and it would have been obvious to send via PUSCH as in Faxer who teaches this allows for enabling scheduling coordination by reporting CLI, and addresses issues in flexibility and reporting overhead ¶0065. Jung-Faxer teaches PUSCH reporting but not two-part. Rahman teaches wherein the channel state information report comprises a second portion of a two-part channel state information report [¶0176 CSIs comprise two parts on either PUSCH] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the report via two parts as in Rahman as it would have been a simple substitution of parts to replace the unspecified reporting in Jung with two-part as in Rahman who teaches this also achieves the goal of feeding back information to select appropriate communication parameters ¶0003. Regarding claim 19, see the similar rejection for claim 6 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding steps . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (“Jung”) (WO 2024135882 A1, Examiner citing from English translation provided) in view of Faxer et al. (“Faxer”) (WO 2020144624 A1) and Kang et al. (“Kang”) (US 20200178223 A1) . Regarding claim 7, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 5. Kang teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the channel state information report via a physical uplink control channel based at least in part on the one or more channel state information metrics being based at least in part on a quantity of cross-link interference measurements in the subset of cross-link interference measurements satisfying a threshold, the channel state information report comprising a wideband channel state information report, a sub-band channel state information report, or any combination thereof [¶0388, PUCCH for CSI reporting, includes wideband CSI] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the report via PUCCH as in Kang who teaches ¶0026 this allows “to perform both CSI-RS reception and CSI reporting within a short time or within one transmission unit” 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9-10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (“Jung”) (WO 2024135882 A1, Examiner citing from English translation provided) in view of Faxer et al. (“Faxer”) (WO 2020144624 A1) and Matsumura et al. (US 20220286175 A1, hereinafter ‘175) . Regarding claim 9, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 8. Jung teaches reporting CLI but not the index of IMR. Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: include, in an interference measurement resource index field in the first channel state information report, an indication of an interference measurement resource index value indicating a first interference measurement resource of the plurality of interference measurement resources that corresponds to a first cross-link interference measurement, of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements, from which the one or more channel state information metrics are derived [¶0105 “In another embodiment, the UE is configured (e.g., in the measurement report configuration as described above) to only report the strongest K RSRP/RSSI values as well as the indices of the corresponding CLI-IMRs within the CLI-IMR set” ¶0092 and ¶0104 indicating these are CLI measurements] , wherein the first cross-link interference measurement corresponds to a smallest amount of measured cross-link interference of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [¶0105 teaches reporting measurements in order of weakest to largest, or smallest to largest, any of which may be the “first” measurement] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the index of the IMR as in Faxer. Jung teaches reporting CSI based on CMR and IMR measurements and it would have been obvious to send corresponding index as in Faxer who teaches this allows for enabling scheduling coordination by reporting CLI, and addresses issues in flexibility and reporting overhead ¶0065. Jung-Faxer teaches IMR index but not CMR index in CRI field. ‘175 teaches include, in a channel state information reference signal resource indicator field of the first channel state information report, an index value indicating a first channel measurement resource of the plurality of channel measurement resources [¶0073, ¶0088-89] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the index reported in the CRI as in ‘175, ¶0083, 13-15, “NW can reduce interference[.]” Regarding claim 10, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 8. Jung teaches reporting CLI but not index values of the corresponding IMR. Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: include, in a plurality of interference measurement resource index fields in the first channel state information report, a set of interference measurement resource index values indicating a first subset of interference measurement resources of the plurality of interference measurement resources that corresponds to a subset of cross-link interference measurements, of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements, from which the one or more channel state information metrics are derived [¶0105 “In another embodiment, the UE is configured (e.g., in the measurement report configuration as described above) to only report the strongest K RSRP/RSSI values as well as the indices of the corresponding CLI-IMRs within the CLI-IMR set” ¶0092 and ¶0104 indicating these are CLI measurements” and “Here, it is assumed that the relative ordering of the CLI-IMRs from strongest to weakest is known.”] , wherein each of the subset of cross-link interference measurements corresponds to smaller amounts of measured cross-link interference than a remainder of cross-link interference measurements of the plurality of cross-link interference measurements [¶0105 teaches reporting measurements in order of weakest to largest, or smallest to largest, any of which may be the “first” measurement] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the index of the IMR as in Faxer. Jung teaches reporting CSI based on CMR and IMR measurements and it would have been obvious to send corresponding index as in Faxer who teaches this allows for enabling scheduling coordination by reporting CLI, and addresses issues in flexibility and reporting overhead ¶0065. Jung-Faxer teaches IMR index but not CMR index in CRI field. ‘175 teaches include, in a channel state information reference signal resource indicator field of the first channel state information report, an index value indicating a first channel measurement resource of the plurality of channel measurement resources [¶0073, ¶0088-89] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the index reported in the CRI in Jung as taught in in ‘175, ¶0083, 13-15, “NW can reduce interference[.]” Regarding claim 13, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 1. Jung teaches CSI measurements but not sending capability information. ‘175 teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit capability information indicating a computational capability for processing the channel state information report, the computational capability based at least in part on a quantity of the set of channel measurement resources, a second quantity of the set of interference measurement resources, or both [¶0110, “Note that the UE may transmit, to a base station, UE capability information related to whether at least one of an L1-SINR and an IMR index can be reported. The base station may configure, to the UE having the UE capability information, the report quantity information including at least one of an L1-SINR and an IMR index”] , wherein receiving the first control signaling is based at least in part on the computational capability [¶0110 based on capability information] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify capability information being reported for CSI measurements as in Matsumura. Jung teaches CSI measurements and it would have been obvious to specify capability reporting as in Matsumura who teaches this enables appropriately configuring the L1-SINR reporting to the UE, depending on the capability ¶0110 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (“Jung”) (WO 2024135882 A1, Examiner citing from English translation provided) in view of Faxer et al. (“Faxer”) (WO 2020144624 A1) and Chen et al. (“Chen”) (US 20170006491 A1) . Regarding claim 12, Jung-Faxer teaches: The UE of claim 8. Jung teaches reporting but not via PUCCH. Chen teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the channel state information report via a physical uplink control channel based at least in part on the one or more channel state information metrics being based at least in part on a quantity of transport blocks corresponding to the channel state information report satisfying a threshold [¶0005, If the combined uplink payload (e.g., the combined payload size of the HARQ and the SR or P-CSI report) is above a threshold, the UE may select a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format, payload corresponding to an amount of transport blocks (at least one)] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in Jung sending the report via PUCCH based on a threshold of data as in Chen who teaches this addresses issues of insufficient resources for transmission of CSI reports with other control information ¶0004 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230136620 A1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAY L. VOGEL whose telephone number is (303)297-4322. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8AM-4:30 PM MT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached at 571-272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 9 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 10 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 11 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/623,475 Page 12 Art Unit: 2478