DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recited acronym TPU needs to be spelled out as to what it stands for. For purposes of examining, TPU is interpreted as a thermoplastic polyurethane Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A control unit in claim 1 wherein the term “control” is a functional language with the term “unit” being a generic placeholder for means.
A heating unit in claim 1 wherein heating is a functional language with the term “unit” being a generic placeholder for means.
A control unit is interpreted as a switch/temperature controller as disclosed in the specification (page 15, line 27 to page 16, line 2), or its equivalents thereof.
A heating unit is interpreted as a heating wire circuit as disclosed in the specification (page 3, lines 26-27), or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanzic (US 5,288,974) in view of Ohashi et al (US 2009/0032518) and Self (US 2023/0157383).
Hanzic discloses the heating piece claimed including a main heating piece, a subsidiary heating piece, and a power wire wherein the main heating piece comprises a flexible printed circuit board (8; column 4, lines 4-19) and a first heating unit (5), the flexible printed circuit board further comprises a solder pad (shown by a solder bonding area 11, 12 and 13), the subsidiary heating piece comprising a second heating unit, the first heating unit, the second heating unit, and the power wire that are connected to the flexible printed circuit board through the solder pad.
But, Hanzic does not disclose a control unit connection wire and the first and second heating unit each including a carbon fiber heating wire as claimed.
Ohashi discloses it is known to provide a heating piece (20) having a circuit board (9) that is connected with a control unit (11) via a connection wire (para 0043 and 0054) for controlling a heating element on the heating piece.
Self discloses it is known to provide the heating piece having a heating element that is made of carbon fiber heaters (para 0003) that can provide with increased heat and/or stretchability. Also, see para 0003-0004. .
In view of Ohashi and Self it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Hanzic with a control unit (e.g., thermostat) that is connected to the flexible printed circuit board for controlling the heating wires of the first and second heating piece to a desired preset heating temperature via the control unit as taught by Ohashi wherein the heating wires can be made of carbon fiber wires as taught by Self as an alternative heating wire material that is known to provide an effective heating capabilities while providing a good flexibility used in a flexible fabric or wearable garments.
With respect to claim 5, Hanzic in view of Ohashi further discloses a temperature detecting element (5 shown in Ohashi) such as a thermistor (para 0062) that is connected to a temperature control circuit (1) having the printed circuit (9) wherein the thermistor of Ohashi would also have been connected to the flexible printed carboard board via the solder pad where the electrical connection is made as shown by Hanzic.
With respect to claim 7, Self further discloses by a plurality of carbon heaters (para 0064 and Figures 6A), and it would have been obvious to provide more than two subsidiary heating pieces as a matter of a design choice to provide for multiple heating areas as desired by the user.
Claim(s) 2-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanzic in view of Ohashi and Self as applied to claims 1, 5 and 7 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US 2011/0108545).
Hanzic in view of Ohashi and Self discloses the heating piece claimed including with Hanzic further showing the main heating piece further including a first layer (2) and a second layer (3) with the flexible printed circuit provided therebetween that are glued together, and Hanzic further shows the first layer having an upper space or area where the first heating unit (5) with the flexible printed circuit board with the solder pad are disposed therein and that the flexible printed circuit board would have an upper position/surface and a lower position/surface that are each in contact with the glue as the heating piece pressed and glue together (column 4, lines 1-3) wherein the second layer corresponds or faces the first layer as the second layer covers the first layer as illustrated in Figure 1. But, Hanzic as modified by Ohashi and Self does not show a first film layer and second film layer along with a first hot melt adhesive layer and a second hot melt adhesive layer as claimed.
Self, however, shows a thin film (310, a thermoplastic polyurethane TPU layer) with a hot melt adhesive (para 0062) that is provided to a fabric layer (304) wherein Self discloses that the thin film layer is flexible and stretchable (para 0062). Also, see Figure 5.
Wang shows it is known to provide a heating piece having a first layer (122 made of a fabric layer) with a first hot melt adhesive sheet (124; para 0033), a second hot melt adhesive sheet with a second layer (102 made of a fabric layer) wherein a heating unit (110 in the form of a carbon nanotube wire; para 0018) is disposed between the first and the second hot melt adhesive sheet.
In view of Self and Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Hanzic the main heating piece that is provided with a lower and upper fabric layer that is each provided with a respective first and second film layer that can further provide not only a good protection for the heating unit/wire but that also provides a flexibility and a good stretchability as the heating piece is subjected to a stretching or expanded situation.
With respect to claim 3, Hanzic, as modified by Ohashi, Self and Wang discloses the carbon fibers heater/wire as wearable heating conductors wherein there can be more than two first melt adhesive sheets and more than two second hot melt adhesive sheets as there can more than two different heating pieces, each having the first and second adhesive sheets, to form a plurality of heating pieces (as illustrated by Self) as a matter of a design choice to provide for multiple heating areas as desired by the user.
With respect to claim 4, Wang shows the heating piece having a lower fabric layer (122) and an upper fabric layer (102) each with its respective hot melt adhesive (122 and 104) wherein a bottom surface of the first film layer, as modified by Self, would be fastened to the lower fabric layer via the adhesive layer, and a top of the second film layer, as modified by Self, would be fastened to the upper fabric layer via the adhesive layer to form the heating piece having a laminated heating piece structure with a good stretchability and flexibility for its heating application as desired.
With respect to claim 6, Hanzic, as modified by Ohashi, Self and Wang teaches for the first and second film layers wherein Self further discloses that the film layer is made of TPU (thermoplastic polyurethane) film (para 0062).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maxey et al (US 2018/0317597) discloses for a flexible printed circuit provided in a heating piece.
Mangoubi (US 2013/0001212) discloses for a heating piece having a main heating piece and a subsidiary heating piece that each utilizes carbon fibers as wearable heating conductors.
Rock et al (US 2009/0134145) discloses for a laminated heating piece with a carbon fiber heating element with an adhesive layer interposed between a fabric body.
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761