DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/1/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 and 14 recites the variable "R.” However the variable R is not defined by claims 8-10 or claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo JP 7-26018 in view of Rome US 20140135448A1.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7, Matsuo teaches a polyimide comprising this structure: (Paragraph [0007]).
Matsuo teaches the diamine comprising the diamine to form the structure can have the following formula where X and Y each represent an oxygen atom (p. 5, [0006]):
This reads on the structure of W where m = 1. Matsuo’s examples include 1,3-bis(4-(4-aminophenoxy)phenoxy)benzene (p. 15-16, [0031]) which reads on the structure where m = 0.
Matsuo teaches that R in the dianhydride component has a structure of
where W can be CH2. This structure differs from the claimed structure by the presence of a single repeating phenyl group. Nevertheless, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP 2144.09.
The first claimed dianhydride differs from Matsuo only by the successive addition of a single phenyl group and therefore possesses similar structure. The claimed dianhydride and Matsuo’s dianhydride have similar utilities in that both are used to react with structurally similar diamines to obtain polyimides. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the first claimed dianhydride in Matsuo’s polyimides based on close structural similarity and similar utility, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting polyimides will have similar properties.
Matsuo teaches the composition can comprise a reinforcing agent such as glass fiber or carbon fiber. This reads on the claimed filler.
Matsuo is silent on the end capping agent of the composition.
Rome teaches that acetylenic end-cappers like PEPA are generally lead to polyimides with improved heat resistance and mechanical strength (p. 3, [0037] and [0042]). Rome teaches a polyimide comprises a reaction with the diamine 1,3-bis(4-aminophenoxy)benzene (Paragraph [0047) and a dianhydride with the structure of
where G is a divalent group (Paragraph [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to end cap Matsuo’s polyimide with Rome’s PEPA for the advantage of improved heat resistance and mechanical strength. This reads on the claimed Z where Z is an alkyne group.
Matsuo is also silent regarding the number of repeating units and the molecular weight of the composition.
Rome teaches that polyimide include at least 1 but less than 20 residues of an aromatic di-amine (Claim 11). Rome also teaches that the polyimide comprises at least one residue of an aromatic non-acetylenic di-anhydride (Claim 11). This overlaps with the claimed range of n from 6-18.
It would have been obvious for the polyimide of Matsuo to comprise the number of residues as taught by Rome because Matsuo teaches a substantially structurally similar polyimide with a majority of the components taught in Rome and Rome teaches a suitable number of residues for a polyimide with this structure. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
Therefore, Matsuo in view of Rome reads on the limitations of claims 1-3 and 7.
Regarding claims 4-6, the R group of claims 4-6 is not a required component of the polyimide. Therefore the limitations of this R group are additionally optional. Therefore, Matsuo in view of Rome read on the limitations of claims 4-6.
Regarding claim 16, the microparticle of claim 15 is not a required component of the composition, therefore the limitations of the microparticle or nanoparticle of claim 15 is optional.
Double Patenting
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending application No. US 18/299353 (henceforth called ‘353) in view of Rome US 20140135448A1.
.
‘652 teaches the exact structure of claims 1-14:
where W is
and m is zero or 1 and,
where m is one or 2. ‘652 also teaches Ar is
and Z is
or a hydrogen.
However the claims are silent on the polyimide being a composite comprising a filler. Rome teaches a polyimide comprises a reaction with the diamine 1,3-bis(4-aminophenoxy)benzene (Paragraph [0047). and a dianhydride with the structure of
where G is a divalent group (Paragraph [0050]). Rome also teaches the incorporation of the acetylenic end-cappers like PEPA (Paragraph [0036]). Rome teaches that polyimide include at least 1 but less than 20 residues of an aromatic di-amine (Claim 11). Rome also teaches that the polyimide comprises at least one residue of an aromatic non-acetylenic di-anhydride (Claim 11). Therefore, Rome teaches a substantially similar polyimide to the one taught in the claims of ‘353.
Rome teaches that a filler can be added to this substantially similar polyimide (Paragraph [0130]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of the substantially similar polyimide of Rome which is blended with a filler with the polyimide taught in ‘353 as this added filler is recognized as a suitable additive substantially similar polyimides. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07
Therefore, though the filler is not referenced in the claims, ‘353 reads on the limitations of claim 1-14.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the 112(b) and nonstatutory double patenting rejections presented above re overcome and claim 8 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, and all dependent claims, neither JP JP07-026018 A(1995) nor Rome US 20140135448 A1 teach the limitations of claim 8.
Relevant Prior Art
Katano US 20150275089 teaches a polymer used for liquid crystal alignment comprising the structure of dianhydride PAN-1
(Paragraph [0027]). Katano also teaches the polymer comprises a diamine
(DI-7), (Paragraph [0046]) where G can be -O-. Katano also teaches that this diamine is present in addition to a photopolymerization diamine (Paragraph [0046]). Because this second diamine is present with a second diamine, this does not read on the claimed structure.
Tamura KR20100088072A teaches a polyimide for a liquid crystal alignment film comprising the dianhydride structure
(Paragraph [0039]). Tamura also teaches that the composition comprises a diamine
(Paragraph [0121]). Tamura teaches this diamine is the second diamine used, therefore this does not read on the structure of claim 1 or claim 8 (Page 7).
Oguchi CN104059227A teaches a liquid crystal alignment film comprising the structure
where G22 can be -O- (Page 5) and a dianhydride with the structure of formula 1. Oguchi also teaches the liquid crystal alignment film has the anhydride of
(Page 4). However Oguchi teaches two dianhydrides in the film (Paragraph [0001]).
Shoji JPH05112644A teaches a polyimide film comprising 2 types of amine components (Paragraph [0030]). Shoji also teaches the polyimide film comprises a dianhydride component and an amine component where the amine component can have the structure of
(Paragraph [0010]). Shoji also teaches the dianhydride component has a structure of
where R is
. Shoji does not read on the limitations of claim 1 or claim 8 because of the two types of amine components required resulting in a fundamentally different structure.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762